I'll fight to move Australia Day, says legend http://www.optuszoo.com.au/article/news/news_latest/news_latest_ndm/835 If you don't know who he is - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ron_Barassi |
| #0 07:58pm 25/01/09 |
haha, what a moron.
| #1 08:00pm 25/01/09 |
stfu it's tomorrow, leave it at that you stooge. The Aboriginals get the day off as well!
HAHA im such a good aussie. last edited by Skitza at 20:14:22 25/Jan/09 |
| #2 08:14pm 25/01/09 |
May 27, a very black day for Australia.
| #3 08:03pm 25/01/09 |
stfu it's today, leave it at that you stooge. The Aboriginals get the day off as well! Actually, it's tomorrow. |
| #4 08:04pm 25/01/09 |
lol skitza noob
Also, I think it's a good idea to have a holiday to commemorate that stuff for the Aborigines, but let's make a whole new holiday so we get the best of both worlds :p |
| #5 08:15pm 25/01/09 |
They were standin' on the shore one day,
Saw the white sails in the sun Wasn't long before they felt the sting, white man, white law, white gun Don't tell me that it's justified, 'cause somewhere, someone lied Thats what 26th January means to Indigenous Australians. Just like the Australian Flag it celebrates Englands reach during the time when it was a Great Imperialist Power. We should have a day that represents Australians. |
| #6 08:17pm 25/01/09 |
white man, white law, white gun puts some spin on it why don't you? of all the indigenous peoples who met with western imperials they got the best treatment. european diseases and alcohol killed far more aborigines than violence by settlers. the real tragedy for aborigines isn't how they were treated, but more because they were ignored. they didn't get the vote and they weren't counted in censuses because thats what the governments believed was best for them. as in leave the noble savages to their own devices and they'll be happier for it. its not action that lead to their current sorry state, its inaction. |
| #7 08:36pm 25/01/09 |
Abo's don't need another holiday. They already have 365 of them a year.
| #8 08:41pm 25/01/09 |
yeah the date should be moved and his alternative is an interesting idea
surely we aren't that attached to january 26 specifically |
| #9 08:45pm 25/01/09 |
I think he took a few too many hits to the head on New Years Eve.
| #10 08:47pm 25/01/09 |
No to change, leave it as is..
| #11 09:06pm 25/01/09 |
We need a new flag and a new Australia day that represents all of us.
and a Bill of Rights. |
| #12 09:23pm 25/01/09 |
Bats***
...like America?
| #13 09:37pm 25/01/09 |
Yes let's keep wringing our hands over past misdeeds. Please continue, it's so helpful.
Also all public holidays are s***. If you want a day off from work do it on your oiwn time. |
| #14 09:41pm 25/01/09 |
We dont serve your country Dont serve your king Know your custom dont speak your tongue White man came took everyone thread needed midnight oil for authenticity |
| #15 09:45pm 25/01/09 |
and a Bill of Rights. whats so wrong with polititians (who get democratically elected every 3-4 years) defining human rights, rather than putting some vague description down on paper and having judges interpret that without any comprehension of what public opinion says on the matter. and judges aren't voted into place, they are appointed. yet judgements they make become law. how is that better for the people? |
| #16 11:17pm 25/01/09 |
lets just have another holiday on his proposed date.
now that would be truly Australian evil post last edited by tequila at 23:26:42 25/Jan/09 |
| #17 11:26pm 25/01/09 |
Abo's don't need another holiday. They already have 365 of them a year. ROFL that's call of the year right there. |
| #18 12:09am 26/01/09 |
Well i support poor old Ron's idea we already said sorry whats the big deal ??? |
| #19 12:18am 26/01/09 |
here's hoping the bogans are extimct before the abos so some social justice can get done
| #20 12:39am 26/01/09 |
I'm not aboriginal, the day they got the right to be counted really doesn't mean much to me. Sure its great, I'm not putting it down, but I don't really feel the need to celebrate it, and I don't really want to celebrate it.
| #21 03:02am 26/01/09 |
I vote for an entirely new holiday, that always falls on a week day.
| #22 08:00am 26/01/09 |
Nathan
According to wikipedia: The Commonwealth of Australia Constitution Act (UK) passed on 5 July 1900 and was given Royal Assent by Queen Victoria on 9 July 1900. If we HAVE to move Australia day I say, we still need a day that represents the creation of this nation in its current form, so I propose 5th July. As Khel says, May 27 means nothing to 97.5% of us. |
| #23 09:45am 26/01/09 |
sparrow
Nathan has a point, but who the tuck wants Australia day in winter??? +1 for an extra holiday. |
| #24 11:13am 26/01/09 |
exactly, australia day needs to be in Summer and cant be around april/may too many holidays there already.
IF you think about it, it has to be january or february. The rest of the months are either not summery enough, have too many holidays already, or are too close before christmas. IT also has to have Australia playing a cricket match, so cant be too late in february becuase the one-dayers would be finished. 26th of jan seems about the right date. Why would we move it to a date that is just for aboriginals, yeah they were here first, but thats not what its about, its about all australians. As for calling it invasion day, get over it we are here now, none of you (aboriginals) were even born when it happened. last edited by `ViPER` at 13:51:49 26/Jan/09 |
| #25 01:51pm 26/01/09 |
IF you think about it, it has to be january or february. The rest of the months are either not summery enough, have too many holidays already, or are too close before christmas. ^ that's why my vote is for january 25 commemorating the last day that everything was still fine and dandy for the natives |
| #26 02:19pm 26/01/09 |
If we're gonna move Australia Day then it needs to be into the latter half of the year - there's not enough public holidays in the 2nd half. Right around September/October which makes it perfect for a grand final long weekend.
How much more Australian can you get than 3 nights on the piss and a massive footy game? |
| #27 02:21pm 26/01/09 |
Just bloody leave it as is..
Stuff those buggers.. |
| #28 02:29pm 26/01/09 |
January 25 sounds good to me, that would stick it to all those people having a cry saying its invasion day etc.
Hows this, give the aboriginals a choice, they can have that other day off for whatever they f*** they want to call it day, and the rest of us can have the 25th. It wouldnt realy matter anyway, you have to have a job to have a day off, ohh thats harsh. |
| #29 02:41pm 26/01/09 |
Well old mate ruddy has said piss off to calls to move australia day. Good on ya. Unless you want to move it to the day after the NRL grand final it can stay.
| #30 03:00pm 26/01/09 |
viper, they dont deserve it..Stuff them and stuff anyone who wants to change it.
AUSTRALIA DAY IS JANUARY 26..ALWAYS HAS AND ALWAYS WILL BE! |
| #31 03:28pm 26/01/09 |
kruddler sort of ignored the entire objection but on him for being direct I guess
| #32 03:30pm 26/01/09 |
Ross
f*** Australia! What s*** hole!
| #33 07:30pm 26/01/09 |
so I propose 5th JulyWhich due to timezones, is the 4th of July in the US. Hooray. also infi, f*** off you c***. |
| #34 08:14pm 26/01/09 |
MatchFixer
f*** Australia! What s*** hole!That's gonna go down well ^. |
| #35 08:19pm 26/01/09 |
only if someone bites, but its a little too obvious
| #36 08:37pm 26/01/09 |
MatchFixer
I know, i just wanted to quote it for accuracy.
| #37 10:18pm 26/01/09 |
If the aboriginals wanted to really become part of australia, they'd just accept the heritage and importance of the day that is, jan 26th.
the day they got the vote or what ever, has no significance to me or to the nation as a whole, it has importance to a minor subset of the population. Once again, a minority speaking out about acceptance and integration, with out doing either. |
| #38 10:17am 27/01/09 |
"Let me say a simple, respectful, but straightforward no," lol |
| #39 10:25am 27/01/09 |
If the aboriginals wanted to really become part of australia, they'd just accept the heritage and importance of the day that is, jan 26th. lol, can't tell if this is a troll or not .. |
| #40 10:30am 27/01/09 |
No, it isn't a troll post at all. For once a minority (particularly this minority) should probably realise that not everything done in the entire world is done as a slight against them, and that they're not the most important people in the entire country, nor that they represent a majority.
| #41 11:09am 27/01/09 |
yeah those abbos should be grateful we let them migrate here.
| #42 01:41pm 27/01/09 |
dRanged
I think the best thing about Australia Day is it is a day, really, about nothing.
If we moved it, what would it achieve? Ivory tower types would be pleased, but personally I might harbor a bit of malcontent about the move. Plus it's smack bang in Summer! |
| #43 01:57pm 27/01/09 |
thank you faceman
| #44 02:03pm 27/01/09 |
MatchFixer
Faceman your ideas are intriguing to me and I'd like to sign up to your news letter.
What's your nationality? feel free to pm me. |
| #45 03:41pm 27/01/09 |
| #45 |