I'm tossing up whether to buy it or not. Especially cos cash is tight at this time of year. Has anyone been playing it a lot? After playing the demo I question it's replayability value. |
| #0 11:05pm 14/12/08 |
it's s*** dont bother.
| #1 11:06pm 14/12/08 |
I've played it through from start to finish at a lan, was f***ing fun as, but not playing it much now... had a few games of infected vs survivors was "ok"... they need survivors vs survivors.. that would be awesome, traditional style TDM...
but that's just me... |
| #2 11:07pm 14/12/08 |
i played it for a little while then went back to far cry 2
| #3 11:10pm 14/12/08 |
yep i still play. versus is the most fun. just wish all 4 campaigns had versus
| #4 11:11pm 14/12/08 |
I play almost every night, good fun.
Still find it challenging to finish a campaign on Advanced, so that's still keeping me going. Will be great if they'd release more campaigns soon, having only 4 is a bit limiting. Visit: http://store.steampowered.com/stats/ Click on "View Steam players per game". It's still beating TF2 by raw player count. |
| #5 11:20pm 14/12/08 |
It's f***ing awesome.
EDIT: But your mileage may vary if none of your mates play it (or if you don't have any mates). It can still be fun with randoms, but you NEED to work together, otherwise you will die. There are a lot of d*******s on the internet that don't realise this yet. Something to keep in mind. last edited by Midda at 23:26:49 14/Dec/08 |
| #6 11:26pm 14/12/08 |
It's f***ing awesome. +1 And being Valve you know it's going to get more content, and being on the source engine, you know the modders will love it. |
| #7 11:26pm 14/12/08 |
Yah I'm still playing it most days. Doesn't bother me most of the time playing with randoms, but as mentioned it's really s*** when they don't realise that you have to work together.
| #8 11:31pm 14/12/08 |
finding servers is s***... Other than that it's not bad.
| #9 11:33pm 14/12/08 |
^Use the server browser and join any node, ga or 3fl server, then use call vote to change it to what you want. Too easy.
| #10 11:34pm 14/12/08 |
l4d it's too repetitive as a stand alone game. cod5 zombie mod is better imo for simple zombie slaying fun. it's also 4 player co-op (and free).
| #11 11:36pm 14/12/08 |
They should really just add a button to open the server browser. I don't understand how the auto-search can take ages, then it puts you on a US server when there's like 40 empty Australian servers available.
| #12 11:37pm 14/12/08 |
They should really just add a button to open the server browser. Add the -serverbrowser parameter to the game's Launch Options to enable the button, but agreed that it should be enabled by default (and the standard way of doing things!). I don't understand how the auto-search can take ages, then it puts you on a US server when there's like 40 empty Australian servers available. Not sure why it takes ages but to increase your chance of getting an Australian one try: sv_search_max_ping 150 ... or lower number. But I keep it at 150 because the way it ping-floods dozens of servers, even some of the local ones end up showing in the low 100's of ms instead of ~30-50ms. I still stick to the server browser anyway. last edited by parabol at 23:49:23 14/Dec/08 |
| #13 11:49pm 14/12/08 |
Ah cool, I was typing openserverbrowser into the console all the time. Cheers.
| #14 11:51pm 14/12/08 |
eP
it's s*** dont bother. ^^ He is a dick monkey who probably didn't buy it and has no clue. +1 for l4d. sick game, I still play every chance I get away from the missus. (LIKE NOW GOGOGOGO) |
| #15 12:05am 15/12/08 |
+1 for l4d. sick game, I still play every chance I get away from the missus. Buy her a copy, that's why I did with my other half. She's not half as bad as I expected, though she's still gotta figure out this whole friendly-fire thing. |
| #16 12:20am 15/12/08 |
eP
lol, if friendly fire is her only problem then she is doing better than most of the people playing =P
| #17 12:39am 15/12/08 |
My girlfriend played it as her first ever fps. She got pretty good, but her computer can't run it so can't buy it for her.
| #18 12:58am 15/12/08 |
cod5 zombie mod is better imo for simple zombie slaying fun. it's also 4 player co-op (and free). Haha you say some hilarious things. ^^ He is a dick monkey who probably didn't buy it and has no clue. Whatever if you can actually join a server all you do is shoot zombies over and over. You can't even buy weapons or plant the bomb. Its s*** I played it like once for 5 mins and never again. |
| #19 12:58am 15/12/08 |
Man people are retarded. We were all on the lift on 1st mission before the hospital, and while i heal my entire team goes across the street, one gets a smoker attack, the other blows up the petrol station and gets knocked down, then the other 2 hunters come out and i have to deal with it.
I bloody raged. |
| #20 12:59am 15/12/08 |
Man people are retarded. My annoyances? People ... 1. shooting at me as much as the zombie next to me (half of my lost health is due to team damage) 2. pumping several rounds into me even after they've got the hunter/witch/tank off me. 3. throwing a molotov at my feet when a tank has incapacitated me 4. running off by themselves then whinging about the lack of rescue 5. saying "hang on, I'll get the witch", then getting stuck on a ledge and needing rescue 6. standing still when a tank is running at them, then crying when they get punched off the map This is on advanced servers too :/ I think there should be a minimum-time-played counter that enables you to join higher-difficulty servers. Some of these guys don't even know how to pick up a medkit. /wrist Though when you do get a good team, the game is freaking awesome. last edited by parabol at 01:13:31 15/Dec/08 |
| #21 01:13am 15/12/08 |
Silly people, all the 3 stuff that happens that makes you loose as survivors is what makes it fun!
| #22 07:05am 15/12/08 |
been playing for a couple of days and loving it :]
| #23 07:13am 15/12/08 |
Seven
+1 for still playing. Tops game.
| #24 07:34am 15/12/08 |
Don't play on advanced parabol, not only is it extremely easy and boring but you're setting yourself up to play with complete douches.
Provided you don't TK, just play expert, you will get better teammates and a better experience. Played with doob the other night, 2 f***sticks shot a bunch of fuel cans that got me trapped, then when ONE zombie started running for me, he shot the fuel can DIRECTLY next to me. I called them retards and they started votekicking me... did a bunch of 2 yes/2 no (<3 doob) before they realised doob wasn't going to kick me. After a bit of raging we started playing again, 30% through a level. Some guy walks DIRECTLY in front of me while I'm shooting, takes 20hp damage, doesn't even drop out of the green and starts screaming. I said "sorry, don't walk in front of people when they're shooting". Then his mate headsdhots me from across the map with the hunting rifle and instant death, "oh sorry, you walked in front of me". doob proceeds to kill both the blokes and we restart from the saferoom again. They both start mic screaming. One bloke left, the 3 of us completed like 4 levels of Dead Air after the f***wit f***ed up and started playing. f***ing idiots. VS is just unplayable, too many s*** c***s, I'm starting to like normal but I hate that it groups all players into the same difficulty. Played a map the other day where I didn't get ONE single spawn of boomer. Out of 7 (YES SEVEN!!!) boomer spawns, not 1 single person got 1 single vomit on them. I mean f***. If you can't get 2 - 4 people per boomer spawn you shouldn't be allowed to play boomer at all. |
| #25 08:05am 15/12/08 |
i play whenever i can get mates to play, pub is balls imo.
i'm with chub, if you got people who know what they're doing playing on anything but expert is pointless. |
| #26 08:12am 15/12/08 |
Python
Still playing it!
Mostly playing it with friends. |
| #27 08:27am 15/12/08 |
... but her computer can't run it so can't buy it for her. Yeah, I know what you mean. I've been playing through Sacred 2 with my g/f but she gets my hand-me-down computers and hers struggles with the gfx set on anything other than ultra-low, so she can't even appreciate how good the game looks. Anyway, judging by the above looks like I will buy l4d then :-) Cheers |
| #28 09:36am 15/12/08 |
Advanced is getting pretty boring for me now, so I have move on to expert. I only play with friends because playing with randoms is too painful.
| #29 10:02am 15/12/08 |
Don't play on advanced parabol, not only is it extremely easy and boring Maybe extremely easy and boring for you, but not for me - I've had the game for only a week. I usually find the final level of a couple of the campaigns challenging on this difficulty - especially No Mercy. |
| #30 10:11am 15/12/08 |
they need survivors vs survivors.. that would be awesome, traditional style TDM... That's the dumbest idea I've read on QGL in a while. |
| #31 10:18am 15/12/08 |
hadn't played it until saturday, lanned it nearly all night with my sons, had a blast. superbly designed game I thought, aside from a couple of tiny annoyances that I can't even remember
they need survivors vs survivors.. that would be awesome, traditional style TDM... I reckon it's a good idea actually, especially with zombies in the mix. the engine is pretty decent, player movement is pretty decent, weapons are simple and some of the maps would be great for it |
| #32 10:58am 15/12/08 |
I reckon it's a good idea actually, especially with zombies in the mix. I don't know, I think the idea was that it doesn't make much sense from a storyline point of view. Why would humans shoot each other? Competing for resources? Not enough helicopter/APC space for rescue? Plus the weapons aren't anything special (compared to other FPSs), they are deliberately overkill and simple to take down a large number of zombies in a short amount of time. I'd imagine it would be pretty gumby running around shooting other humans with those weapons. If they could find a way to fit it into the story and have gameplay that doesn't end up with everyone using the overkill quick-shooting sniper rifle for close and long-range combat .. |
| #33 11:07am 15/12/08 |
fkn, if you want to play DM, who bother play L4D. It is a Co-op game. Live with it.
| #34 11:09am 15/12/08 |
storyline what?
"damn that quake bastard" is all the storyline you need! |
| #35 11:10am 15/12/08 |
CSIRAC
CHUB: why do you seem to attract all the SK's and noobs when you play? hmmm how interesting :P
I usually only play when I have 1 or more friends that are willing to play. and the many many many times that we have gone in its been with fairly competent ppl (yes, on expert). Nothing to the extent that you've raved and ranted on about chub :P Same goes with vs. usually I do play with 7 other ppl i know which is an experience which everyone should try because its basically awesome. but even then you can just go in solo/duo and play it just to noob bash ppl and see how much chaos you can cause even if you're the only competent one. Of course there are some total f***sticks out there but I think you have to get off that high horse of yours :P |
| #36 11:19am 15/12/08 |
I don't know, I think the idea was that it doesn't make much sense from a storyline point of view. Why would humans shoot each other? Competing for resources? Not enough helicopter/APC space for rescue? Maybe because THERE'S FREAKING ZOMBIES AND WE'RE GOING CRAZY OMG MAYBE THIS HUMAN IS ALSO A ZOMBIE WHO KNOWS WE ARE SCARED CIVILIANS WITH GUNS THIS s*** IS CRACKERJACK WHACK! .... or just what jim said, f- the storyline~ |
| #37 11:39am 15/12/08 |
For the most part I reckon people in versus mode try to be cooperative. I really hope valve do something about the camp closet tactics. Parts of the campaign where you have to fight off hordes have become the easiest parts of the game.
| #38 11:58am 15/12/08 |
I still think it's a ridiculous idea. I don't get why you'd want to turn a game that's entirely focused on co-op into death-match. There's essentially only 4 types of weapons, and the levels made to be a linear progression. It just doesn't make sense. Just play a death-match game, there's plenty of them.
| #39 12:57pm 15/12/08 |
D-Sub
There really needs to be a name and shame for team damage.. People might might become aware that you can melee a hunter instead of shooting them and me at point blank with a shotgun.
Oh and people who do really stupid s***, get hurt and then ask for your kit like you're their personal f***ing medic. But really, I could probably go on all day. last edited by D-Sub at 13:27:59 15/Dec/08 |
| #40 01:27pm 15/12/08 |
I still think it's a ridiculous idea. I don't get why you'd want to turn a game that's entirely focused on co-op into death-match. There's essentially only 4 types of weapons, and the levels made to be a linear progression. It just doesn't make sense. Just play a death-match game, there's plenty of them. none of what you said, means that a person shouldn't say they'd like to play it as deathmatch just cos you don't get old style raw deathmatch, doesn't mean it's a ridiculous idea |
| #41 01:50pm 15/12/08 |
kos
There really needs to be a name and shame for team damage.. People might might become aware that you can melee a hunter instead of shooting them and me at point blank with a shotgun. There is team damage stuff in the credits/stats at the end, friendly-fire incidents I think it's called, but yeah it's not really much of a shaming... |
| #42 02:04pm 15/12/08 |
CSIRAC
There really needs to be a name and shame for team damage.. People might might become aware that you can melee a hunter instead of shooting them and me at point blank with a shotgun. You know that when your smoked/jumped on people can shoot at you with out worry of FF, right? Different situations call for different tactics to be used. Sometimes its better to just lay 5 autoshotty rounds into the hunter that has pounced your friend then it is to punch the hunter off. |
| #43 02:14pm 15/12/08 |
Hellerphant
I think it really depends on how many people you know who has the game I know a fair few of my mates who play it, so I tend to jump on regularly and blast through it again. The big question will be how much DLC they release for it |
| #44 02:19pm 15/12/08 |
You know that when your smoked/jumped on people can shoot at you with out worry of FF, right? Different situations call for different tactics to be used. Sometimes its better to just lay 5 autoshotty rounds into the hunter that has pounced your friend then it is to punch the hunter off. You know you're completely wrong, right? |
| #45 02:22pm 15/12/08 |
CSIRAC
No? I dont have anything to quote, but just from play experience on expert, when a hunter jumps on a mate I pump a few rounds of the shotgun into it wihtout much aim and he takes no dmg. assuming that you stop shooting once the hunter is actually dead..
Go check for yourself :P its blaringly obvious on expert since any FF takes a huge chunk of ur HP off. |
| #46 02:32pm 15/12/08 |
CSIRAC speaks the truth.
| #47 02:34pm 15/12/08 |
The hitboxes are also fairly rooted for incap'd. Try headshotting a team mate who is on the ground.
| #48 02:43pm 15/12/08 |
CSIRAC
OH and its 10x more obvious when someone gets smoked and you just lay a whole clip of your assault rifle into them to free them instead of shooting the smoker (for whatever reason)
| #49 02:48pm 15/12/08 |
If I have a hunter on me, I'd much rather people shot at it then wasted time running over to hit it off and then it pounces again..
There is team damage stuff in the credits/stats at the end, friendly-fire incidents I think it's called, but yeah it's not really much of a shaming... Also, that doesn't really mean much in terms of team damage. I played 3 campaigns one day. First two I had 1 and 4 friendly fire incidents. Third game some new guy came in and kept running in front of everyone as we were shooting. Suddenly I'm up to 14 friendly fire incidents. |
| #50 04:28pm 15/12/08 |
A zombie game? *horrid flashback of zombie mod for counter-strike source* pass...
| #51 04:52pm 15/12/08 |
^^ Yeah, because that's totally what Left 4 Dead is like.
| #52 04:57pm 15/12/08 |
MatchFixer
^^ Yeah, because that's totally what Left 4 Dead is like.well if that's the case then i will pass thnx for the heads up! |
| #53 05:00pm 15/12/08 |
What you do to save a survivor is really up to the situtation. Sometimes melee is the way to go, sometimes shooting.
Also you can melee a captured survivor to free him, some people don't seem to know this. |
| #54 05:01pm 15/12/08 |
well if that's the case then i will pass thnx for the heads up! Yeah don't bother its pretty much the worst game of the year. Stick to consoles thats where the real gaming is at. |
| #55 05:06pm 15/12/08 |
Yea it does get a bit annoying when people don't realise they can melee a smoker's tongue off you instead of wasting time running around everywhere trying to get an angle to shoot it
| #56 05:16pm 15/12/08 |
f*** I can't stand playing versus mode with s*** clueless c***s. You should have to pass a test before you are allowed to join a server.
| #57 08:04pm 15/12/08 |
People might might become aware that you can melee a hunter instead of shooting them and me at point blank with a shotgun. most of the time when this happens they dont bother killing it after hitting it off, so the hunter gets away or jumps on someone else. i just shoot the damn f***ers when they are on a teammate since they dont take any ff damage. |
| #58 11:09pm 15/12/08 |
f*** I can't stand playing versus mode with s*** clueless c***s. You should have to pass a test before you are allowed to join a server.That's the biggest problem with the "Normal" setting, every noob that plays coop on Easy/Normal gets lumped in with anyone that wants a more challenging game. |
| #59 08:02am 16/12/08 |
f*** I can't stand playing versus mode with s*** clueless c***s. You should have to pass a test before you are allowed to join a server +1 f***ing s*** CARNTS so frustrating... getting 2 ppl on the team TK'd by the petrol station is biggest fail i seen yet :( |
| #60 08:25am 16/12/08 |
Python
Played 2 hours worth last night!
Seems like there are some map changes either last night or the night before...bathroom in the house at the end of blood harvest has now disappeared. |
| #61 09:10am 16/12/08 |
FINALLY beat a campaign on Expert last night. Took us THREE AND A HALF HOURS. My housemate should be banned from using the shotgun. Just about every time we were overwhelmed, he had incapacitated one of us. So f***ing annoying.
| #62 11:55am 16/12/08 |
atleast you didnt do it the easy way by getting into a corner or a closet.
has anyone tried killing a horde by jumping on their heads? i tried doing it. when i was jumping i got hit by the zombies which caused me to fly into the air, hit the skybox then land on the ground and become incapped. i couldnt stop laughing. |
| #63 12:05pm 16/12/08 |
Kimbo
cod5 zombie mod is better imo for simple zombie slaying fun. it's also 4 player co-op (and free).Haha you say some hilarious things.^^ He is a dick monkey who probably didn't buy it and has no clue.Whatever if you can actually join a server all you do is shoot zombies over and over. You can't even buy weapons or plant the bomb. Its s*** I played it like once for 5 mins and never again. Yeah Camper Strike. Oh but you can't even buy weapons and plant the bomb. http://www.war3ft.com/ http://www.moddb.com/mods/kreedz-climbing http://mods.counter-strike.com/css/GunGame.php The above links? Is Crapper Strike even the original game anymore? Answer. No. Cause no one took a fancy to Source cause all the supposed game play features were fixed. If any in Crapper Strike were available in the first place. Most CS people have moved on to COD4 and are now bitching about the noob tube. Unfortunately kids there's always a weapon thats overpowered. Let alone the Crapper Strike version http://zombiemod.com/ of zombie mod is a failed attempt compared to Left 4 Dead. That and TF2 doesn't involve knowing how to 'go pro', 'do clutch', 'cover corners' and throw flashbang into sky. Strats? Teamwork? LOLWUT? Left 4 Dead also has a lot more 'team work' than Minh Le's failed bastard child. Only reason people still play it is cause of Gun Game and WC3 if it didn't have that it wouldn't have jack. Give Left 4 Dead time people will make more Versus maps and Versus is a darn devil when it comes to team work, REAL COORDINATION. Just needs more maps. |
| #64 01:46pm 17/12/08 |
Kimbo
If you think about it CS is 8 years old and there are far better shooters out there. The lack of cooperative games on a PC platform is very open to interpretation as well. We need more coop games that incorporate a good sense of structure and gameplay. |
| #65 01:52pm 17/12/08 |
What the hell are you ranting about?
| #66 04:44pm 17/12/08 |
The lack of cooperative games on a PC platform is very open to interpretation as well. We need more coop games that incorporate a good sense of structure and gameplay. Yeah, yeah. I can only think of the following short list of 79 coop games on PC (of course, some are pretty old): Age of Booty Age of Empires Aliens: Colonial Marines America's Army: Special Forces Audiosurf Bionic Commando: Rearmed Borderlands Call of Duty: World at War Codename: Outbreak Conflict Global Storm Conflict: Denied Ops Dawn of War 2 DemiGod Diablo Diablo 2 Diablo 3 Doom3: Last Man Standing (MOD) Doom3: OpenCoop (MOD) Duke Nukem 3D Dungeon Lords Dungeon Siege 2 Eragon Flock Full Spectrum Warrior Gears of War (Windows) Ghost Recon: Advanced Warfighter Ghost Recon: Advanced Warfighter 2 Grand Theft Auto IV Ground Control II: Operation Exodus Hidden and Dangerous 2: Sabre Squadron Joint Operations: Escalation Joint Operations: Typhoon Rising Kane & Lynch: Dead Men Left 4 Dead LEGO Batman LEGO Indiana Jones: The Original Adventures Loki Lord of the Rings: Conquest Lord of the Rings: Return of the King MadBalls: Babo Invasion Mercenaries 2: World In Flames Monster Madness: Battle For Suburbia Monster vs. Aliens Neverwinter Nights Neverwinter Nights 2 No One Lives Forever Obscure: The Aftermath Overlord Quake Rainbow Six Vegas 2 Rainbow Six: Vegas Red Alert 3 Rogue Warrior Sacred Sacred 2: Fallen Angel Saint's Row 2 Serious Sam Serious Sam 2 Shadowgrounds Shadowgrounds: Survivor Soldiers: Heroes of World War II Soldner-X: Himmelssturmer Space Siege Splinter Cell 3 - Chaos Theory Star Trek: Legacy Starlancer Supreme Commander Sven Co-Op (MOD) Swat 4 Synergy (HL2 mod) System Shock 2 Titan Quest Tom Clancy's HAWX Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six 3: Raven Shield Total Annihilation Two Worlds Typing of the Dead UT2004: Killing Floor (mod) Source: http://www.co-optimus.com/system/4/pc.html |
| #67 04:52pm 17/12/08 |
add the delta force series to that list! and OpFlash (the original ARMA)
coop rules |
| #68 05:30pm 17/12/08 |
Age of Booty All I could see was Call of Booty. |
| #69 05:35pm 17/12/08 |
huh ?
Diablo 3 its not out yet is it ? |
| #70 07:52pm 17/12/08 |
Kimbo
The lack of cooperative games on a PC platform is very open to interpretation as well. We need more coop games that incorporate a good sense of structure and gameplay.Yeah, yeah. I can only think of the following short list of 79 coop games on PC (of course, some are pretty old): In many ways DOOM was coop. There was X-COOP mod for AvP2. It was buggy but it just worked. Original version of AvP had a mode where you could go coop with the predator + marines vs aliens. Not to say I DON'T like realistic shooters, but CS just grinds my case. With the RTS games it comes back to what your definition of coop is. If you mean pre-mechnical gameplay where the AI is just like in the single player or where the game is a drop in and drop out affair. As for my gameplay mechanical evolution of coop I'd say it goes something like: Diablo / Diablo 2-> Neverwinter Nights (original with the whole DM thing) -> Dungeon Siege Series. DOOM / Heretic / Quake / Insert it here -> Codename Outbreak -> Serious Sam -> Sven Coop -> UT2k4 Zombie Mod + Brain Bread-> Left 4 Dead Ones that stand out: Splinter Cell Chaos Theory SWAT 4 If anything for coop coordination. Where it will go: Mercenaries 2 and quite possible that the Colonial Marine thing. What I was ranting about was the fact that the guy said 'that you cannot buy guns' or 'plant bomb' in Left 4 Dead. More to the point you don't need to. The idea is that the automated event sequences are the equivalent of a coop arena. In single player games the mechanic is just called 'an arena' (locking a player in a room or section to fight it out with the monsters) But then again as I always say since 2005 Counter Strike hasn't been the real Counter Strike true game-play mechanic its been this warped into this hybrid bastard step child. Gun Game, Surf maps, Warcraft 3 server side mod (AMX) and that zombie mod. So technically planting the bomb and buying guns in Counter Strike has no value as a game play idea anymore. Even when they tried to change it with the riot shield issue people still had issues so you're left with the pile of stuff you had to begin with. |
| #71 03:19am 18/12/08 |
TomTom
I'm still playing L4D - I don't prefer playing online though because of the people who don't "help out" as mentioned :P It's way more fun playing with people you know. I think it's worth the cost of the game though, in terms of replay value. If you get bored enable cheats and add some more tanks and bigger hordes :) |
| #72 07:49am 05/01/09 |
wtb DLC already valve :(
| #73 11:21am 05/01/09 |
f*** that, I want free content like TF2, I'm not paying more for this game. It took the sale discount recently for me to purchase it as I didn't think it was worth it for 4 levels. I have been enjoying it but I'm kinda relying on them bringing out more maps and making all the currently ones available for vs mode. Otherwise I'd feel ripped off.
| #74 11:32am 05/01/09 |
tf2 is free?
| #75 11:42am 05/01/09 |
I think he means free upgrades and extra maps, etc.
| #76 11:49am 05/01/09 |
yes by free content I mean free content not free games
| #77 12:04pm 05/01/09 |
The pricing is messed up. TF2 with a huge number of maps, continuously released addons, high replayability, was never more than $30US? Then L4D came in with a handful of campaigns, simplified gameplay, misconfigured online play (Normal mode in Versus, no server browser by default), much more repetitive experience ... $50US?
What gives. |
| #78 12:22pm 05/01/09 |
Python
There is going to be new content released "soon".
Taken from a podcast So one of the things we're going to be announcing really shortly is some DLC on the PC and the 360. We'll be having both the Versus maps and some new stuff coming out. |
| #79 01:12pm 05/01/09 |
I'd like to see them add in new zombie enemies with new abilities. Adding 1 new one would mix things up considerably and as the life of the game progresses it would keep things fresh.
But I think we'll mainly see new maps Carnival\Theme Park set campaign please. |
| #80 01:15pm 05/01/09 |
im still playing but tanks in versus are annoying the f*** out of me. especially early tanks that spawn just after you leave the safe room.
| #81 01:24pm 05/01/09 |
I would like to see a game where survivors are so good even against good infected players, that they need the added challenge of expert zombies in vs mode
| #82 01:28pm 05/01/09 |
yeh the games with early tanks can be a bit gay depending on how good the players are, specially if it means you don't actually get to play the level cos of it. But it doesn't happen enough of the time that it's that big a deal. Maybe something like less than 5% of games, but usually several levels in a row.
| #83 01:30pm 05/01/09 |
early tanks happen about 70% of the time for me.
| #84 01:38pm 05/01/09 |
whacky
how much do you play? is it always a specific server or provider? I played copious amounts of it over the past couple of weeks for long periods across a lot of aussie/nz servers and would see it 2-3 levels in a row tops, once one day here and there |
| #85 01:41pm 05/01/09 |
Tim Tibbetts
I still play for an hour or two here and there. I had a few awesome games last night though in VS mode.
The long term replayability for this game is huge, but I can't see it as a game I would play continuiously. |
| #86 01:46pm 05/01/09 |
Really need some new content. I am expecting maps, it would be cool for them to add a new boss zombie or attack abilities and maybe a new weapon for the humans.
| #87 02:52pm 05/01/09 |
Tim Tibbetts
I think a new boss zombie and new maps would be great, I don't think they really need to add new weapons in though.
| #88 03:32pm 05/01/09 |
a faster firing boomy that doesn't need reloading, does more damage and is more accurate over longer distances would be good
| #89 03:35pm 05/01/09 |
a faster firing boomy that doesn't need reloading, does more damage and is more accurate over longer distances would be good Yes perhaps he can be equipped with a Rotten Sandvich that he eats, making him sick and allowing him to do all of those things you listed. |
| #90 03:44pm 05/01/09 |
Python
The ability to play as one of the 'normal' infected instead of having to wait to spawn would be good if its possible!
New maps are all that's needed for me |
| #91 03:51pm 05/01/09 |
Needs flamethrower and hand held mini guns, then I'd buy it.
| #92 03:56pm 05/01/09 |
I meant the tier2 shotgun (boomstick) parabol =]
| #93 04:00pm 05/01/09 |
I meant the tier2 shotgun (boomstick) parabol =] Haha. Well .. non-reloading, extra damage, long-range accurate Boomer vomit is also welcome :) last edited by parabol at 16:08:41 05/Jan/09 |
| #94 04:08pm 05/01/09 |
actually playing a normal zombie would be cool
what would be even cool would be allowing 1 person to play as a small group of 5-6 zombies, you're the head zombie and the others all follow you, effectively becoming your health, lose one, lose 20% of your health |
| #95 05:02pm 05/01/09 |
Jum
im still playing a few games a week
burst firing the assault rifle is just too good over long distances to ever bother with the normal tier 2 rifle imo. i think it would be pretty cool if they changed it so the tier 2 rifle bullets passed through zombies so you could kill multiple zombies in one shot. i don't think it would over power it, but it would make it a lot more fun to play with |
| #96 06:04pm 05/01/09 |
I'm pretty sure the sniper rifle does go through multiple zombies.
| #97 06:50pm 05/01/09 |
I'm pretty sure the sniper rifle does go through multiple zombies. I think so too. I can mow down zombies in a narrow corridor faster than with any other weapon, with less shots fired than there are zombies! |
| #98 06:57pm 05/01/09 |
ugh just logged on for the first time in ages to play a bit of versus..
1st game - level 1 hospital before we are even out of the start zone some wanker just jumps off the edge and kills himself on purpose crippling the team. we proceed to kick him.. about 10 times but he keeps joining and shooting team mates wtf.. so i leave that server 2nd game - another wanker just start pissbolting ahead of everyone gets creamed again crippling the team and then starts abusing everyone else for not keeping up wtf.. 3rd game - 2 guys leave the safe room then go afk argh :( |
| #99 09:03pm 05/01/09 |
use your friends list, randoms usually suck
| #100 09:55pm 05/01/09 |
I bought it early DEC when it came out. At first i loved the game-play and the coop mode provided.
The only problem with the campaigns is they got boring after a while. Versus mode though is fun. I only play once every few days but whenever I do i always enjoy it. I usually play with friends also, makes it better. The best way to do it is to join the GA steam group and only ever play on GA servers, best pings in there. I saw there is a QGL group as well. I guess it would be fun to play with some QGL'ers as well. So to answer your question...yes i still play :) |
| #101 10:01pm 05/01/09 |
insert tiny fat joke here
| #102 11:13pm 05/01/09 |
BandwidthBandito
Good mindless fun, but just small doses or it does get boring |
| #103 09:15am 15/02/09 |
L4D is fun...but gets old fast. Not enough maps...its just too repetitive. |
| #104 02:18pm 15/02/09 |
DM
I'm glad I bought it. it's always fun and will get even better with the DLC pack that is supposed to be coming soon. If things get a little stale all you have to do is chuck in some skin packs and a sound pack. For example
- My tank music is benny hill music - new weapon sounds - new survivor skins. officer zoey suits her much better than some collage girl |
| #105 02:25pm 15/02/09 |
Infected vs survivors is really growing on me, can't get enough of it!
| #106 02:46pm 15/02/09 |
- My tank music is benny hill music LINK PLEASE !! |
| #107 02:50pm 15/02/09 |
- My tank music is benny hill music I just did this as per your suggestion. Best idea ever, I laughed my arse off. |
| #108 03:07pm 15/02/09 |
DM
The place I got all my mods is here. Just read the instructions pretty well and it'll be fine. The ones i've come across work online as well.
Oh and there was a Survivor Mode mod for it as well. No special zombies, no AI friendlies, many more normal zombies and normal zombies only able to be killed with a headshot. Havn't tried it out yet but it sounds fun. It involves messing with your map files so I CBF backing up my entire L4D folder to try it |
| #109 06:04pm 15/02/09 |
dude, there's some pretty dodgy mods there that'll surely get ya banned via VAC... (the headshot one rings some bells)
have you got a link handy to a VAC friendly mod like te one you described? last edited by koopz at 20:52:33 15/Feb/09 |
| #110 08:52pm 15/02/09 |
DM
I don't, but there are console commands to do most of those things except for more zombies and headshots only. Infact there is a command that is supposed to trigger an infinate zombie horde, but doesn't seem to work. Man it'd be fun if that worked. Turn off friendly bots, special zombies and try and reach the end on your own.
| #111 12:15am 16/02/09 |
Bats***
How do you get the console working? I couldn't find any option in the... options to turn it on.
| #112 12:39am 16/02/09 |
| #113 01:24am 16/02/09 |
reverse mouse enabled ... wtf
| #114 02:05am 16/02/09 |
seef you wouldn't play with inverted mouse, it's all about being a jet fighter not wandering windows (can anyone think of an older "debate" in pc fps gaming history?)
| #115 02:30am 16/02/09 |
kos
Inverted mouse is retarded but oldschool. Do people new to FPS PC gaming ever start using inverted mouse these days? |
| #116 07:03am 16/02/09 |
inverted mouse is normal, people that dont invert are not normal
| #117 07:22am 16/02/09 |
blahnana
(can anyone think of an older "debate" in pc fps gaming history?) Mouse vs Keyboard in DooM |
| #118 08:35am 16/02/09 |
d-pad vs keyboard is the obvious one
| #119 08:48am 16/02/09 |
2 reasons I use inverted mouse:
* Played many flight sims back in the day (Falcon 3.0, Tornado, Apache Longbow) * Rocket-jumping is quicker as a forward wrist flick from rest + pulling mouse back from extended position is inherently faster and more controlled than pulling towards you from rest position and pushing forward from cramped position. |
| #120 10:31am 16/02/09 |
I've used inverted mouse from day dot cos it just seemed better.
However last year sometime I hopped into an old game (think it was daoc) and ran around quickly testing something else without inverting the mouse cos I couldn't be assed going into the config menu at the time. I got used to it and then when I went to play the next game I didn't want to have to get used to inverted again so for the time being I'm no longer an inverted mouser. Also dragons, ninjas and kat.zip |
| #121 10:49am 16/02/09 |
i <3 inverted mouse.
| #122 11:06am 16/02/09 |
Python
I'm still playing l4d, only playing versus though!
http://img9.imageshack.us/img9/646/team4tress2copygh3.jpg |
| #123 12:08pm 16/02/09 |
Why is invert mouse even a debate? Some people like it inverted, some don't. Who cares?
| #124 12:09pm 16/02/09 |
y is religion even a debate? who cares?
| #125 12:50pm 16/02/09 |
because my imaginary zombie worship idol is better than yours
| #126 01:00pm 16/02/09 |
haha that pic is awesome, got a wallpaper sized version?
| #127 01:14pm 16/02/09 |
kos
It's a debate because it's a convenient opportunity to belittle people, duh. |
| #128 01:29pm 16/02/09 |