Anyone got any good removalists?
Looking to move a house full of s*** on thursday this week. Need a truck and 2x removalists. While I could hire a truck and do it myself....im lazy and will be at work. |
| #0 08:39pm 22/09/08 |
I use Minimovers all the time and they're awesome. They can be a bit expensive depending on how you do it - if you get them to do everything (like I did last time because I was hungggggggggggover) it can add up, but they're happy for you to help - if you're really organised and have a couple friends to help it shouldnt be too bad. They're also fully insured so you dont have to worry about anything getting busted.
I've used them several times in the last couple years and have always been impressed with their professionalism, care and speed, so they definitely get the double trog thumbs up |
| #1 08:44pm 22/09/08 |
wicked! Good to know they are fully insured, i'd be pissed if they broke my s***!
Actually, they even do a quote online. $150 an hour. Trog how long did it take them to move your s*** when you helped out? |
| #2 08:51pm 22/09/08 |
when I moved into my place it was me and my sister - we had to travel about 5-10 minutes only in the truck between the two places so most of the time was packing up and unpacking at each end. We had a few people helping so it was only like 1.5 hours all up i think?
When I moved out recently and put all my stuff in storage it took way longer cuz it was basically just me and I didn't do s***, so it took maybe almost 2.5 hours or something - ended up being around $400 in total. But it was totally worth it, I just sat back and tried to recover and they did all the hard yards. I suppose I would recommend assuming its going to take longer than you think as it always ends up costing more than I would have thought :) but it really depends on how much time you can save by helping out, which is a function of a) how many people you have helping b) how much stuff you have and obviously c) whether or not your are hungover |
| #3 08:56pm 22/09/08 |
épic™
make sure all your s*** is packed before they get there and it will be a quick job
| #4 09:00pm 22/09/08 |
épic™
also moving is a good excuse to purge all your useless s***. seriously if you haven't used it in the last 12mths bin it, give it away or sell it.
| #5 09:02pm 22/09/08 |
Give WridgWays a call i use them all the time to do our office moves @ the gold coast hospital.
| #6 09:20pm 22/09/08 |
I'm using Wridgeways to move to Melbourne and they have been ace and reasonably priced.
| #7 09:32pm 22/09/08 |
EPIC DOUBLE POST OF TRUTH.
he is experienced mover. also, get a girlfriend, they are really good at packing/unpacking. all you have to do is move it move it. i like to, move it. |
| #8 10:24pm 22/09/08 |
Pack absolutely everything you can fit into a box into a box and call minimovers. They can do hourly rate. Put all on kerb so they can load the truck faster and save too.
| #9 10:34pm 22/09/08 |
also, get a girlfriend, they are really good at packing/unpacking. all you have to do is move it move it. i like to, move it. Already sorted :) Bringing boxes home for her tonight :D She f***ing pwns! That said, i have to take apart beds and desks and lift all sorts of stuff. We are a team! |
| #10 08:50am 23/09/08 |
Furgle
+1 for minimovers. I'm moving next week and have a truck and 4 guys lined up. $250 an hour, but they get it done pretty quick.
I had the same setup for my last move, only cost about $800 total. |
| #11 08:56am 23/09/08 |
minimovers are ok;
they certainly moved our s*** pronto, but i was pretty unimpressed with getting slugged for the time to and from the depot, which nearly doubled the total cost of our move . .. . . |
| #12 09:02am 23/09/08 |
Nathan
I've used minimovers several times in the past and they've always been great
| #13 09:11am 23/09/08 |
wtf?! To and from the depot?!
Thats definately something I will have to check up about, thanks spooky! :) |
| #14 09:12am 23/09/08 |
wtf?! To and from the depot?!That's standard for all/most removalists i think. |
| #15 09:18am 23/09/08 |
yeh they sting you for that, but i was ~10-15 mins from the depot so it wasn't that big a deal for me. Again, something you should factor in from the start, but almost certainly worth it. Packing your s*** in advance is the key thing, especially if you can get it all so when they arrive you just need to throw it into their van.
| #16 09:21am 23/09/08 |
Yeah it's definately something I need to ask how much it is from depot to my place. Thanks QGL! :) This is why I made this thread :)
ps Spook got stung because he lives in woop woop. |
| #17 09:54am 23/09/08 |
i was moving from annerley to salisbury you goon
| #18 09:59am 23/09/08 |
removalists are for people who are extremely lazy. |
| #19 10:00am 23/09/08 |
and people that dont own large trucks?
| #20 10:03am 23/09/08 |
It's not what you own, it's who you know who own's the stuff ;) |
| #21 10:19am 23/09/08 |
Find a mate with a Box trailer?
A trailer, 2 Utes and 3 4WD's in the family will make moving easier... when I actually get about to doing it. |
| #22 10:21am 23/09/08 |
Sifnt have 2x isuzus in your family! |
| #23 12:43pm 23/09/08 |
we're not all wogs
| #24 12:45pm 23/09/08 |
Another +1 for minimovers
| #25 02:00pm 23/09/08 |
removalists are for people who are extremely lazy. Yep! Exactly! I'd much rather pay someone 300 bucks to come in and move my s*** for me, than having to get my dad to drive down with his truck from the coast (that'd be like $40 bucks in fuel by itself) and have him hurt his shoulder etc. Or impose on my friends to help me out. Besides, if they drop/break my TV/stereo etc on the way they are paying for it rather than me! |
| #26 02:47pm 23/09/08 |
removalists are for people who are extremely lazy. or ppl that have no friends with utes Or impose on my friends to help me out u must have mad friends if ur scared of "imposing" on them to help u move.. or ur just gay? |
| #27 02:56pm 23/09/08 |
girlfriend 1, man 0
| #28 03:04pm 23/09/08 |
also,
if they drop/break my TV/stereo etc on the way they are paying for it rather than me! if ur so scared ur friends are goin to drop ur tv and stereo... then y the f*** dont u carry it urself. |
| #29 03:06pm 23/09/08 |
u must have mad friends if ur scared of "imposing" on them to help u move.. or ur just gay? Have had multiple offers from my friends, frankly I don't see the point, when I can afford it and it makes life easier. I know I've got heaps better things to do than moving as I am sure you do as well. if ur so scared ur friends are goin to drop ur tv and stereo... then y the f*** dont u carry it urself. I could....but then I couldn't waste my money and pay someone else to do it...right.... |
| #30 03:18pm 23/09/08 |
Gesthemene
Another vote for Minimovers.
Moved house last year and all up it cost about $800 to move from Indooroopilly to Tarragindi. Removalists are f***ing tough too. We had an old sofa bed that weighed about 80-100 kgs. It wasn't so much the weight that was the problem, but the fact that it was awkward as f*** to move, as the weight distribution was seriously screwed. Took 3 of us to move it out of the house at Indro, but only one of them to pick it up (with one arm), throw it over his shoulder and *RUN* down the ramp off the truck. Scary, scary s***. |
| #31 03:41pm 23/09/08 |
I have used minimoves several times and each time they did a great job, and each time I got charged the GDP os a small african nation. Each time I vowed to shop around next time.
We moved again in December last year and because my wife doesn't work, she went to the trouble of shopping around and we got a different company (would have to look it up to remember name) who did equally as good a job as Mini-Movers but were half the price. They were also a fixed cost, so I knew in advance what it would cost - which I also liked |
| #32 08:10pm 23/09/08 |
Crakaveli
Removalists are f***ing tough too Yeah, im pretty f***en tough. |
| #33 08:28pm 23/09/08 |