I'm thinking of buying a bike just to zip around the neighbourhood now and then, maybe go down to the shops and get some garlic bread or whatever I wouldnt mind being able to do some monos and s*** as well, so I was thinking about a BMX. Was wondering: 1. Can you get a BMX that has gears 2. Can you get a BMX with one of those giant comfy seats 3. Can you get a BMX that will be comfy for some guy whos 6'7 4. Where can I buy this magical bike for cheaps As a reward for your attention, heres a photo of myself: http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x56/maxe1/boxsocial/IMG_3893.jpg |
| #0 06:45pm 19/08/08 |
protit
don't lie you want a bmx to be like nicole kidman.
| #1 01:27pm 16/08/08 |
1. Can you get a BMX that has gears - that's a mountain bike
2. Can you get a BMX with one of those giant comfy seats - you mean with the sissy bar at the back? I'm sure you could fit one. 3. Can you get a BMX that will be comfy for some guy whos 6'7 - Maybe 4. Where can I buy this magical bike for cheaps - Bike shop I reckon a mountain bike would be the ticket, especially if you want gears. You can go way faster than a BMX. |
| #2 01:34pm 16/08/08 |
heavy_rocker
Thankyou to the random (pave?) in background, because every photo needs guns. Maxe does not cut it
| #3 01:38pm 16/08/08 |
guns are for retards, i use the crushing force of my intellect to solve problems
I dont want a bike so I can get places fast, I want one so I can get places without walking, and so I can do monos |
| #4 01:49pm 16/08/08 |
It's pretty easy popping monos on a mountain bike in first gear or whatever.
| #5 02:01pm 16/08/08 |
Mountain bikes just don't give the gansta street cred that riding low in a BMX will give.
| #6 02:05pm 16/08/08 |
1. Can you get a BMX that has gears Answers: 1. If it had gears it wouldn't be a BMX, but freeride bikes are the closest you'll come. STP-geometry bikes are basically a BMX-ish sized frame, but designed for 26" wheels and will usually have vertical dropouts and everything else required for running them in a 1x9 configuration. 2. You can put whatever saddle you want on a bike. But remember, saddle comfort is not about padding, it's about shape. A saddle which fits you properly, even if made of carbon fibre, will be way more comforable than any saddle with tons of padding which doesn't fit you properly. Haven't you noticed that Formula 1 seats are made of carbon fibre and moulded to a drivers body? 3. Haha, oh dear, a 6'7 guy on a 20" bike? uhm... I can't say, but you might want to look at an STP/Freeride bike. 4. ... Edit: Start off by looking at something like a Kona Shred ( http://www.konaworld.com/09_shred_en.cfm ) or Giant STP 2 ( http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-AU/bikes/mountain/2175/31851/ ) However, I wouldn't recommend either of these due to their componentry - I'd be recommending something with Saint gear on it. last edited by Raven at 14:54:43 16/Aug/08 |
| #7 02:54pm 16/08/08 |
Hi there maxe
I'm a bmx rider, and i solely believe BMX should only mean a 20" ungeared bike. What you're describing is like asking for a motorbike with four wheels and a roof, ie a car. Your best bet is a nice GT mountain bike, they're pretty fun. The closest thing you'll get in the BMX category is a BMX 'cruiser' (as shown below) and the main difference is a slightly larger frame to accommodate bigger wheels and tall people who still want to fit on a BMX http://www.leelikesbikes.com/wp-content/010508gtcruiser.jpg |
| #8 03:40pm 16/08/08 |
FWIW, I'm considering taking up BMX (24"), but between XCE, XCC nationals and Road Crits, it's hard to fit in yet another discipline. But 24" BMX are race bikes, not stunt bikes, and there's a big difference. What you seem to be wanting isn't a race bike. Seriously, have a look at a freeride or trials bike.
| #9 04:01pm 16/08/08 |
This is the same as what i ride, except mine's red with a few parts changed (pedals, sprocket, cranks, seat etc)
http://bmxmuseum.com/image/dscn4830_lg.jpg |
| #10 04:14pm 16/08/08 |
f#%&*$, "sprocket". It's called a freewheel ffs.
'sif flat pedals. |
| #11 04:19pm 16/08/08 |
Get a Giant STP
(street-trail-park mountain bike) It's a mountain bike with a frame that is a bit BMXish You can google for pics cause I'm lazy, there's a few different models |
| #12 04:46pm 16/08/08 |
Check out ebay, a mate has a shop on ebay and sells heaps of BMX stuff, i can ask him if he does bikes etc if you want? Ill be catching up with him tonight.
| #13 05:14pm 16/08/08 |
sprocket is perfectly appropriate, being that it has teeth and engages a chain
| #14 05:14pm 16/08/08 |
I didn't know that Jim, I always called it a freewheel but now I will call it a sprocket.
| #15 05:17pm 16/08/08 |
Speaking of STPs - Lincoln Verass (2006-2007 Victorian Elite Mens downhill State champion) occasionally turns up to Westgate on one throughout the summer months, the guy is absolutely magic to watch piloting it through the singletrack. He has to ride C grade (though we forced him up into B because he was just smashing C grade) because at 1x9 (32/11-32) he can't get top speed on the straights, but I swear the guy is way quicker on that thing than any of the A graders through the singletrack.
As for the terminology - It's a cog if it's part of a cassette or standalone with teeth where the freehub spins. It's a freewheel if it contains the mechanism allowing it to freely backpedal, but engage when pedaled normally. |
| #16 05:37pm 16/08/08 |
1. Can you get a BMX that has gears they're called 'childs mountain bikes... reinforce the frame and add better seat/tires/bars/etc 2. Can you get a BMX with one of those giant comfy seats see Q 1 3. Can you get a BMX that will be comfy for some guy whos 6'7 no - you're looking at a mountain bike 4. Where can I buy this magical bike for cheaps buy all the parts needed 2nd hand and build it yourself |
| #17 06:45pm 16/08/08 |
defcon
i think as people have stated you'd probably be looking at an stp, bmx's for big guys, its uncomfortable. I got a avanti derelikt for my ht, people say those frames crack but i dont ride it enough to care :D, i'd also recommend a norco manik my bro has one and they're a nice ride. ps I just finished building up my new dh rig yesterday, went for a ride today <3<3 so hot.
| #18 07:03pm 16/08/08 |
defcon
also checkout www.farkin.net heaps of cheap 2nd hand gear there.
| #19 07:04pm 16/08/08 |
seriously Maxe - get some inline skates dude...
more groove for your buck... |
| #20 07:15pm 16/08/08 |
f#%&*$, "sprocket". It's called a freewheel ffs. erm... what do you call the large front one then? freewheel is the one on the back that spins freely when you are coasting... hence the name If you want an oversize BMX look at some 24" racer style bikes, larger frame and larger wheels for those lanky c***s. |
| #21 07:26pm 16/08/08 |
erm... what do you call the large front one then? Chainring. |
| #22 08:40pm 16/08/08 |
sprocket and chainring/chainwheel are the normally used terms. bmx riders usually refer to them as sprockets. i've got a 25 toother on mine, nice and small.
| #23 09:10pm 16/08/08 |
sounds to me more like you want a chopper :p
| #24 01:10am 17/08/08 |
heavy_rocker
noo.. get out of the chopper
| #25 07:03am 17/08/08 |
well this thread has been hella useful
thanks QGL broest bunch of bros that ever broed |
| #26 09:59am 17/08/08 |
I always called the front one either a sprocket or disc.
Most were chunky solid 44 tooth back in my BMXing days, so they weren't rings... apart from the lightweight weaker race ones that bent super easy if you cased on some coping. I still have my last BMX which has a mini 25 toother :) |
| #27 12:47pm 17/08/08 |
seriously Maxe - get some inline skates dude... the hardest thing about this suggestion would be telling your parents you're gay. |
| #28 09:36am 18/08/08 |
^ lol
| #29 12:55pm 18/08/08 |
protit
you know what comes before bmx??
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2015/2259599635_f6e4e7e726_o.jpg aw yeah last edited by protit at 15:56:51 18/Aug/08 |
| #30 03:56pm 18/08/08 |
shame we don't get the twin turbo V8 here :(
| #31 04:14pm 18/08/08 |
http://www.bmw.com/com/en/newvehicles/x6/x6/2007/allfacts/engine/datasheet.html eu choices, we only get the 35i and 35d here
I love the twin turbo diesel but it'd still be nice to have the choice to buy a premium unleaded guzzler or the choice not to |
| #32 12:26pm 19/08/08 |
those aren't my guns, mine are bigger
| #33 12:37pm 19/08/08 |
580nm from 1750rpm
yes please |
| #34 01:07pm 19/08/08 |
same engine as mine in slightly more aggressive tune
you know you love diesel mr hardware X6 tune on the left, mine on the right: http://www.bmw.com.au/scripts/main.asp?PageID=11768&PID=16 |
| #35 01:15pm 19/08/08 |
protit
i am taking one for a test drive thurs. will give a review.
| #36 01:16pm 19/08/08 |
wow, I bet you could drive the kids to soccer real fast in that thing.
| #37 01:22pm 19/08/08 |
I got it up mitsi hill easier than your suby stinky*
*may or may not be a complete lie |
| #38 01:24pm 19/08/08 |
not at $1.80/ltr i don't
also http://www.nolancompany.com/Main/Pictures/Photos-for-web-091603/Lg-PD-1-derail-flag.jpg last edited by Mr Hardware at 13:55:35 19/Aug/08 |
| #39 01:55pm 19/08/08 |
why is it called mitsu hill anyway?
cause i've never seen a mitsubishi get up it, plus i think i'd be packing bricks to try it in mine. |
| #40 02:19pm 19/08/08 |
yeah you do love it go awwwn
how could you not dunno where you see diesel for $1.80 but they're doing it wrong $1.58 for bp diesel near my house, and 70 litres gets me over 900k's even while enjoying regular right boot and the beautiful burbly roar of german engineering - not to mention with vastly more torque and power than lpg, less carbon and particle emissions per km than your car and without voiding my warranty win! |
| #41 02:20pm 19/08/08 |
I thought you went up there the other weekend nf
| #42 02:21pm 19/08/08 |
only did the top bit where it meets the tower of terror run, and i came in from the other way.
i couldn't climb a hill like with the fuel pump the way it was. |
| #43 02:23pm 19/08/08 |
ah ok
bring on the efi |
| #44 02:30pm 19/08/08 |
yeah but that's $12/100klms
where i'm doing $8/100klms |
| #45 02:39pm 19/08/08 |
Red
and having 8/100ths the fun.
There's a BMX park thing down the road from my place, the other day they were setting off fireworks. Scallywags! |
| #46 02:45pm 19/08/08 |
even if your heavily over-estimated mileage figures on lpg compared to my under-estimated figures were true:
I guess I could drop down to a 2.0 turbo diesel and still surpass your power and torque and spend less than lpg or drop down to a turbo diesel / electric hybrid and come close to or possibly even still match your power and torque and spend an unrivaled lower amount or even ride a bike and spend nothing if the $$ were even the point, or even the only point |
| #47 02:50pm 19/08/08 |
One day at Ormeau I travelled slightly under 30km and used just under 1/2 a tank of Unleaded Fuel (70lt tank).
Do I get good fuel economy? I thought it was called Mitsu Hill because it keeps breaking Mitsu's... And most people know it as "The Chicken Track" but we have a few people calling it Mitsu Hill now :p My mate from work in a Zook just snapped a CV there too (Same place as the Challanger), so thats 4 that I know of that have snapped there, Maybe a name change to CV Smasher? |
| #48 03:00pm 19/08/08 |
stinky snapped an axle or cv there at least once that I can remember too
| #49 03:03pm 19/08/08 |
| #50 03:11pm 19/08/08 |
lucky he had a box of spares in the back and changed it out right there halfway up the hill
| #51 03:23pm 19/08/08 |
who cares if it's derailed, it's a maxe thread i'm surprised he's even read it again since the OP
and lpg bashing is more fun |
| #52 03:25pm 19/08/08 |
I thought it was called Mitsu Hill because it keeps breaking Mitsu's... yeah every time i see it, it gets worse too. i'll have to attempt it some time though, the paj might need a hose out afterwards though. |
| #53 06:34pm 19/08/08 |
stinky snapped an axle or cv there at least once that I can remember too yeah, and punctured two tyres within about 15 minutes. |
| #54 07:33pm 19/08/08 |
X6 tune on the left, mine on the right: oops didn't notice that link didn't even go to the right place fixed |
| #55 09:53pm 19/08/08 |
while not my ride yet I think it will be something similair to this tasty 19th century vehicle of transportation
http://amesterdam.info/tourism\BikesInAmsterdam_large.jpg |
| #56 10:50pm 19/08/08 |
yeh but how many chickens died to make that bike
| #57 11:15pm 19/08/08 |
Amsterdam is crazy with it's bikes. They have like this Bikepark (think carpark) with a few Thousand bikes there.
Pretty boring not that I think about it, but it seemed hell interisting at the time, other influences may have been at play though. |
| #58 08:55am 20/08/08 |
That X6 is incredibly ugly. Chris Bangle has NFI.
| #59 10:07am 20/08/08 |
I thought it looked funny at first but it grew on me after a few weeks
I woulda waited for them to come out if I didn't need the extra space in the rear seats and luggage area. They drive a little sportier than X5's due to wider track, although adaptive drive makes a world of difference for X5's. None of the X6 demos locally have adaptive drive so they actually feel wallowy by comparison. |
| #60 10:18am 20/08/08 |
if you think x6 is ugly you are probably a tit-hater too.
| #61 10:43am 20/08/08 |
its very stylish but i don't rate it at all.
looks like an M3 or something with the wrong aspect ratio. they should have given it its own look rather than copy/paste/scale an existing one imo. its a perversion of an existing look thats probablby a bit hit and miss anyway. its like a pregnant jessica alba. look is still there, but s***s all out of proportion. last edited by nF at 13:31:56 20/Aug/08 |
| #62 01:31pm 20/08/08 |
yeah its proportions are all wonky. It looks like a novelty-sized roller skate.
BMW's stopped looking good after the E46 series. Now Audis and Mercs have far better looking metal, when it used to be the other way round. The engineering in the current BMW's is still outstanding though, and I wouldn't be stupid enough to turn down an M3 or M5 if someone was handing them out :P Though I would trade the M3 on an RS4 or the M5 on an R8 ;) |
| #63 03:00pm 20/08/08 |
ive seen some FULLY HEKTIC looking audis getting around brisbane lately
| #64 03:08pm 20/08/08 |
BMW's stopped looking good after the E46 series.ugh :( totally disagree |
| #65 03:25pm 20/08/08 |
ive seen some FULLY HEKTIC looking audis getting around brisbane lately That's because all the cocks are buying Audi's these days. |
| #66 03:47pm 20/08/08 |
any e92 2 door looks awesome to me
| #67 03:57pm 20/08/08 |
| #68 03:59pm 20/08/08 |
put a nice shiny reflective marketing pic of a sedan against a bland white user pic of a coupe, and still fail to make a case
| #69 04:30pm 20/08/08 |
too much pump fakin and half steppin in this thread
http://img242.imageshack.us/img242/8884/img8445fd5.jpg By maxe1 http://img399.imageshack.us/img399/2047/img8467ym0.jpg By maxe1 |
| #70 05:14pm 20/08/08 |
f***ing hell imageshack is s***
| #71 05:16pm 20/08/08 |
| #72 05:31pm 20/08/08 |
juicy
| #73 06:04pm 20/08/08 |
actually that audi in "taken" is quite tight.
| #74 06:42pm 20/08/08 |
the S8?
was an A3 in there as well, audi have been pimpin in movies a lot |
| #75 07:59pm 20/08/08 |
so how'd you go infi
| #76 10:32am 22/08/08 |
there is an orange audi R8 getting around west end, pretty f***ing sweet
| #77 01:10pm 22/08/08 |
yer, ive seen it, its f***ing tits:
theres a stack of nice cars getting around west end these days |
| #78 01:24pm 22/08/08 |
HOLY s*** THE X6 IS MADNESS.
A quick overview - yes it is as high as an X5 - the rear view window is apain in the ass but is offset by very large win mirrors - it is appointed basically the same as a 5 series in terms of fit out. - sexy HUD into the front windscreen showing speed, and other indicators. - no parking handbrake, just a tiny little switch which gives awesome amounts of room in centre console. - i drove the 335 twin turbo petrol 3L auto and it absolutely hammered. - a little underpowered it felt in the low gears but once into third it really pulls. - it is a Sports Activity Vehicle with all wheel drive so its not a sport car as such but a multipurpose. - The rear seat roof area is a _little_ low but you would get used to it. - The boot is massive. - In terms of looks it just dominates anything else on the road. The one stand out thing was the X6's handling. This thing sticks to the road like glue and no lurching feeling when you're going around corners like other big 4WD vehicles. at $149k fully tricked out I will be waiting a while to get one but it is a dream to drive. last edited by infi at 15:03:48 22/Aug/08 |
| #79 03:03pm 22/08/08 |
another way of putting it (imo) is to say they are simply a coupe version of the X5
the differences between them are: - coupe vs wagon (duh) - lower front grill, rear exhaust and other minor skirt differences - a little less room in the back seat and lots less in the luggage area due to the coupe shape - slightly wider wheel track - slightly lower centre of gravity - twin turbo 3.0 petrol is an option and in aus, twin turbo v8 isn't (boo) - updated xdrive system the rest is practically identical, including the options list you should go back for a crack at the twin turbo diesel, it pulls harder in the low gears, and it's only slower from 0-100 by .2 of a second (on paper) and I simply couldn't tell that it was slower at all driving them both back to back - all I could tell was that it was quicker down low. |
| #80 02:57pm 22/08/08 |
yeah i reckon in that 2 tonne lump of metal the diesel would be better.
| #81 03:01pm 22/08/08 |
theres a stack of nice cars getting around west end these days yeah i dunno why, it's still a f***ing s*** hole also infi, they have probably made it so the wastegate for the turbos only closes in 3rd gear and above. new mazda 3 mps is the same dunno why, probably to stop racing and stop people from smashing gears. |
| #82 03:23pm 22/08/08 |
they're sequential turbos as well, little one for lower rpm
this is in both the petrol and diesel I think it's mainly the weight vs displacement which is why the diesel seems to shine lower down I guess the other thing too is that these vehicles have a 'learning' transmission so if you leave it in normal 'D' mode on your test drive and don't spend several minutes driving it aggressively before you start forming your opinion, you'll often get a false impression of what it's actually like to drive one all the time cos the shifting pattern adapts to your level of right boot. So if it's been for a few test drives where it was driven rather gently before you come along, it's shifting pattern will still be optimised for gentle driving and you'll think it's a slug. You've gotta tell it you want a bit of fun so it adjusts. Either that or flick the shifter over into DS mode, which infi might not have done. |
| #83 03:57pm 22/08/08 |
i tell your mother what i want jim
| #84 03:59pm 22/08/08 |
she's used to being ridden like you stole it
| #85 04:05pm 22/08/08 |
new mazda 3 mps is the same dunno why, probably to stop racing and stop people from smashing gears. Probably cause its FWD and would torque steer like a mofo. |
| #86 05:32pm 22/08/08 |
or like a mini
| #87 05:34pm 22/08/08 |
yeah i dunno why, it's still a f***ing s*** hole GENTRIFICATION |
| #88 05:59pm 22/08/08 |
misinformation alert
the petrol 6cyl and 8cyl aren't sequential turbos, they're split between cylinders. only the diesel 6 is sequential IM SORRY OK |
| #89 05:29pm 23/08/08 |
you stupid f***, I just bought one on your advise of it being sequencial.
| #90 07:08pm 23/08/08 |
I think I should take it off your hands - it's the right thing to do
| #91 07:51pm 23/08/08 |
sequinsal turbos are gay for poofs anyway.
| #92 08:01pm 23/08/08 |
but really manly for blokes
| #93 08:54pm 23/08/08 |
jim what happened to your patrol? and how much did you pay for your new toy? we all know how much you earn, so just tell us anyways you nerd.
love you. |
| #94 10:11pm 23/08/08 |
nothing happened to it :) other than getting more dents and aftermarket drivetrain components ;) I wouldn't part with the pootrol for anything
new toy was about 155k all told ~17k of that was luxury car tax which is pretty awesome |
| #95 10:16pm 23/08/08 |
| #95 |