Tim Tibbetts
I've just booked a little trip for me and my partner from Wednesday to Saturday this week.
I'm staying here and hiring a car - http://www.mangolagoon.com.au/index.htm Has anyone been up there before? Anything you would recommend doing?? Restaurants, activities? |
| #0 03:08pm 23/06/08 |
Have some mangoes and swim in the lagoon.
| #1 03:11pm 23/06/08 |
Tim Tibbetts
:P tool
| #2 03:13pm 23/06/08 |
yer, ive been to palm cove (grew up in cairns)
its ok, not really that flash: definately worth going for a drive up to port douglas and maybe explore the tableands via the rex range if you have time (and enjoy driving) worth a trip out on the reef maybe up to cape trib if you have time shame its a bit cool (not as bad as brissy, but still cool) atm, coz theres lots of nice swimming holes around as well |
| #3 03:13pm 23/06/08 |
Tim Tibbetts
It can't be as cold as Sydney! Thanks for the tips :) Might check out Port Douglas.
| #4 03:15pm 23/06/08 |
kr0wb4r
My mum used to work at the Novotel palm cove, lived a couple of beaches down from there at Trinity Beach.
I've been back up there recently and Palm Cove is still really nice. I agree with spook, hire a nice car (convertible for extra win) and take the awesome drive along the coast up to port douglas on a Sunday so your missus can have a wander through the markets (pretty decent, on every sunday) for brownie points ++ on that front. There's a pub right across the road that does good lunch/cold beer so you can leave her to spend your money on market crap while you get pisst. |
| #5 03:21pm 23/06/08 |
I grew up in Cairns too. The beaches are really kind of boring, because all of the waves break on the reef before they get to shore. I agree with pretty much everything Spook said, go out to the reef, check out Port Douglas, and maybe Kuranda Village too.
I've been to Palm Cove plenty of times, but never the resort, but I hear it's nice. |
| #6 03:32pm 23/06/08 |
Tim Tibbetts
Thanks guys. Port Dogulas sounds good, I will probably go out to the Reef from there. Is there a particular company you would recommend, I've googled about 50 :(
| #7 03:42pm 23/06/08 |
I was up there last about 5 years ago, stayed with some friends who moved there about a year prior
nice enough spot, tried a few of the restaurants down the road and had some nice tuckers |
| #8 04:23pm 23/06/08 |
predat0r
I grew up in Palm Cove. Bit too touristy now but you get that ;)
Definitely go do the reef thing, snorkeling is pretty good, but diving is that little bit better ;) Heaps of companies offering dive and snorkel trips up there. You definitely want to do the drive to Port Douglas and probably up the Kuranda range as well and check out the Atherton Tablelands some. Heaps to do up there, just a case of how much time you have. |
| #9 04:24pm 23/06/08 |
Is there a particular company you would recommend, I've googled about 50 :( The best commercial mob I've gone out to the reef with was Passions of Paradise. The boat is a fair bit smaller than the ones that Great Adventures or Quicksilver Cruises use, so they can get in a bit closer to certain reefs without damaging the coral. My ex's family knew the people who own it, and I didn't actually have to pay, so I have no idea how cheap or expensive they are. I had a great time though. EDIT: Here's their site: http://www.passions.com.au/ last edited by Midda at 17:20:08 23/Jun/08 |
| #10 05:20pm 23/06/08 |
I've been out to Low Isles off Port Douglas with this mob: http://www.sailawayportdouglas.com/. Was a good day - only a dozen or so people on the boat (that was its capacity), and no motor noise at all. Got quite rough on the way back yet no-one chucked. The snorkeling was great too - about half a dozen large turtles swimming around in the shallows along with all the usual reef life.
This was in September, so the weather wasn't stinking hot (the locals were all complaining about how cold it was) yet the water was plenty warm enough for swimming. last edited by cerb at 22:14:31 23/Jun/08 |
| #11 10:14pm 23/06/08 |
paradigm
My mum used to work at the Novotel palm cove, lived a couple of beaches down from there at Trinity Beach. Haha nice, my dad used to work at Novotel palm cove and I lived at Trinity Beach. I went to Trinity Beach State Primary and switched to Holy Cross but this was about 12 years ago. Back then fishing off Palm Cove Jetty was awesome but I haven't been back since. |
| #12 10:17pm 23/06/08 |
crazymorton
make sure you surface in time and wave your arms madly around!
either that or hold your breath as long as you can and get some $$ off ACA or TT!! |
| #13 10:21pm 23/06/08 |
chalk me up as another cairns boy, (edge hill). palm cove is nice.. good views of the coast heading back towards town. however s***ty beach, full of tourists. go check out Ellis Beach on the way to Port Douglas.. very beautiful.
Also, I've been on great adventures a few times. its not bad. but I agree finding a smaller company that can get closer to reefs is amazing. Definitely go up to Kuranda, interesting place, was like the hippy part of town. on that note don't go to Machans Beach (bogans). |
| #14 08:31am 24/06/08 |
kr0wb4r
Haha nice, my dad used to work at Novotel palm cove and I lived at Trinity Beach. I went to Trinity Beach State Primary and switched to Holy Cross but this was about 12 years ago. Back then fishing off Palm Cove Jetty was awesome but I haven't been back since. What grade were you when you left? I left after grade 6 about 11 years ago. |
| #15 08:40am 24/06/08 |
cairns state high reprezent (grad class of 90)
| #16 08:56am 24/06/08 |
head up to cape york and hunt some pigs you pack of women last edited by casa at 09:11:00 24/Jun/08 |
| #17 09:11am 24/06/08 |
cshs class of 2004! god spook your old. where u there when that block burnt down or was that after your time?
| #18 09:11am 24/06/08 |
Spook is just a few years shy of that terrible CSHS bus crash on the Gillies..
Woree class of 93 here. *cringe* |
| #19 09:35am 24/06/08 |
cairns state high reprezent (grad class of 90) LOL I STARTED school in 1990! Old Karnts! |
| #20 09:38am 24/06/08 |
Spook is just a few years shy of that terrible CSHS bus crash on the Gillies.. i think i was grade 9 when that happened knew some of the peeps that died and n block burnt down after i left i think and matty, you maybe young by age, but as an accountant i consider you old and boring long before your time |
| #21 09:51am 24/06/08 |
Gordonvale State High School. Yeah, go on, call me a bogan. At least it's not Woree. Finished 2003.
I heard about that bus crash on the Gillies, but by the time I was in high school, it was one of those things that people just said they heard about, but nobody ever said for certain that it had actually happened. Pretty terrible. |
| #22 10:33am 24/06/08 |
That was a big year for news. Big gas explosion happened that year too..
Also, in the current era, Any School > Woree. It was in decline when I was there. Now it's total s***e. |
| #23 10:48am 24/06/08 |
That was a big year for news. Big gas explosion happened that year too.. that was cool, i was wandering around the city when that gas tank at the train station went boom |
| #24 10:51am 24/06/08 |
and matty, you maybe young by age, but as an accountant i consider you old and boring long before your time You have a wife and a child, you = old. And HEY I have an IT degree too, so not only am I a boring accountant, im a NERDY boring account! And to you its MR nerdy boring accountant |
| #25 01:21pm 24/06/08 |
paradigm
What grade were you when you left? I left after grade 6 about 11 years ago. Actually would have been 13 years ago I was in grade 3 when I left Trinity Beach and don't remember anyone but small world, small world. |
| #26 01:28pm 24/06/08 |
lol, ah primary school. I went to cairns central state school before they closed it down and bulldozed it to make the oasis resort 0_o. mind you that was grade 2 in 1994. cairns north also got closed down a couple years ago.
| #27 01:37pm 24/06/08 |
X
yes ive been to palm cove, ive even seen the hotel your staying at.
its a really funky hotel. Everything is laid out feng shui styles. Would of been better had they not sold off their management rights as they used to pick people up from the airport either in a 67 mustang convertible or an M Class AMG Merc. Hotel is still good, only about 4 years old. Its a short walk down to the beach so its away from all the noise. Good choice :D |
| #28 08:37am 25/06/08 |
cairns?! pfft i grew up in airlie :)
| #29 09:37am 25/06/08 |
Would of been better had they not sold off their management rights as they used to pick people up from the airport either in a 67 mustang convertible or an M Class AMG Merc. Ah yes, I do remember seeing all of those cars parked at the front of the resort, very nice to look at. |
| #30 10:31am 25/06/08 |
Tim,
I just got back from my honeymoon which was at Port Douglas and a couple of years ago I spent a week at a resort at Palm Cove. Prot Douglas reminds me of Noosa, its quiet one main shopping area and thats about it. I thought the beach was much nicer at Palm Cove but more choice in terms of restaurants and prices at Port Douglas. Kuranda is great, maybe take the sky rail over from Cairns and walk through the rain forest then the markets at Kuranda then come back via the Sky Rail again. Some advice I'd really give you is that low isles isn't that great for snorkeling, especially if its low tide during the day. Green Island is really nice and has a long jetti so no shuttle boats near the beach or shallows, plus if you get sick of snorkeling it has a few shops including ice cream and restaurants and a decent size for a walk around the island. But definetly the best thing to do is to go to the deeper reef pontoons or somewhere without shuttle boats. What I found was that anywhere that required little shuttle boats between an island and the boat you came out on, churned up sand caused incredibly poor visibility, I almost ran into coral a number of times as a result. Crododile crusies on the Daintree River are also pretty dull, although educational, because crocs move so damned little in the wild. |
| #31 11:12am 25/06/08 |
I reckon it would still be a buzz to see wild crocs though.
| #32 04:58pm 25/06/08 |
There aren't really that many wild crocs to be seen in Cairns. You need to go to Weipa for that.
| #33 05:02pm 25/06/08 |
Thing is though fpot that as we learnt on the show, there is 1 male croc and up to 4 fems for every 5-6 KM of river and all the cruises only run for about 3km so you pretty much get to see 1 big dude, a couple of mid size if you're lucky and a bunch of tiny ones under a foot in size.
| #34 11:41pm 25/06/08 |
| #34 |