Topic: Skirmish Brisbane
I'm thinking of hitting up skirmish, been about 10 years since I last played.

Anyone got an recommendations on which place to go? I wouldn't mind organising a QGL day if we could get 10+ people going to make it worthwhile.

A quick google found the following:

Mango Hill Skirmish
http://www.mangohillskirmish.com/

Top Gun Paintball
http://www.topgunpaintball.com.au/

Skirmish Samford
http://www.skirmishsamford.com/

NPF
http://www.npf.com.au

I also remember there used to be an indoor joint called "Velocity Paintball" but the website is gone - has it closed down?
Have been to both Samford and NPF, both were pretty good. Preferred Samford out of the 2.
QGL Skirmish day, count me in, the last one was heaps of fun.

Samford is pretty sweet, the organizer gets to play for pretty much free if you get a decent group, Splat got like 200 free balls last time.
I dunno they're all run by bogans with $10 gatorade
yeah to have maximum fun it gets expensive with all the extra ammo, better guns, food + drink
sandy_sally
On this topic, does anyone know where to buy a bulk amount of paintballs for cheap? I'm not really a fan of paying $20 for 100 paintballs, when you can get 4000 for about $100 in the US
Do any of them allow you to BYO ammo?

We could order a 10,000 ball box from somewhere and divi it up
Do any of them allow you to BYO ammo?

While I could be wrong, I doubt it. That's where they would make the bulk of their cash.

We did Top-Gun a year ago and that was pretty good.
isnt there an indoor paintball place around brissie?
We could order a 10,000 ball box from somewhere and divi it up

yeah and we'll get them filled with aluminium or some other light metal instead of paint
been samford plenty of times (maybe 4 or so)

will go back as its always been top quality for half a day plus only spend 150 - 200 including byo drinks (hip flask)

wouldnt go with forum people though in fear of people actually saying 'LOL' in one word and give away position. plus all the young f***s around (mainly from my recent go at css[yes its homo as it is]) all sound young emo and or homosexual. what is it with the 'youngens today' is it just the day and age or do they all have that homo/emo/little bit girly like voice. all too lovey dovey now the little girly boys coming through now.

seriously what is a 'CHICK MATE" that is so gay. f*** her and get on with her being a mate.

ps nothing like going to war with a hip flask.

makes you feel awfully world war 2

Sover
You only get to use your own ammo if it's your own gun unless it's the same brand i.e samford uses a brand called stingers so if you use the same brand they will let you.

Samford is fun and thier masks are f***ed imo wasted a good $300 on balls as having 200 for the 8 games is not enough unless you like hiding and waiting for people to come along to shoot.

NPF is better gear wise as they have better guns and $200 for 1000 balls all up seems decent, Smaford does have the mnore fun games (except caryying a plastic barrel 100 metres to a fort to "blow it up")

But a day of paintball sounds fun no matter the price.
sleepy i think the majority of forum'ers here aren't teens. At any rate we could limit it to 18+ year olds (or older).

ravnos i mentioned that place in my original post - velocity paintball. the website is gone so i dunno if they're still around.
after going to skirmish a few times, i just dont think its worth the money. feels like a huge ripoff for the couple of hours it lasts.

edit: ahh year didnt see that line le cock

last edited by ravn0s at 23:01:32 20/May/08
I've been to NPF a few times now, Awesome fun.

ravn0s, try one of NPF's 12 hour games. it's only a little bit more expensive, but wayyyyyyyy more fun.

And to Le cock and sleepy, f*** you. I resent that.

And if you don't let me go, CHUB will never get his revenge ;)
i wanna see someone, one day, go to skirmish with a $12 coupon, like they sell you on the street, and not spend 1 dollar at the venue.

aim each shot to perfectly, load each paintball separately.
Except that's not fun.
icewyrm
You can't really aim paintballs, or maybe its just I've always used s*** pb guns. But from what I've seen, better guns just shoot more paint instead of improving accuracy.

+1 samford

dont go when its hot though, else you'll wreak like every other c*** that has played in the past month
athzhr
Haha casa, what's worse is when you grab somebody else's helmet after the recess. I swear I nearly threw up from the stench :S

Also +1 Samford
Sifn't own your own camo gear.
sif own your own
haha last time i went some dudes had their own gillie (sp?) suits, looked like absolute tossers. copped a whole lotta s*** and only lasted about 10 mins in the heat.
bjp
Samford is too hilly, the maps are all biased towards either a high ground team or a team camping in a base. It's good for days where you want to employ tactics and everyone on your team has a clue. It's not good for open days where they put 30 guys on each team and there are 4 guys behind every tree. I would only go to Samford for their SpecOps days.

TopGun is pretty good, but last time I was there they were using the cheapest s***test paint which had obviously been sitting for a long time. (ie. paintballs don't go straight) They were also fairly unorganised with replacement weapons and tending to your needs.

Mango Hill is run by a bunch of hillbillies. However, I love their fields, they're all flat, plenty of natural and built cover. Games are evenly set and the staff are very helpful. Downside is that last time I was there they didn't have enough agitated hoppers for all the top end guns they had (wtf?!)

I've only played NPF once, it was a 12 hr tournament (basically red-necks, army reserve, "pro"-skimishers, was a fantasically organised day which I thoroughly enjoyed... up until I was tagged by an Eastern Brown snake and spent 17 hrs in Ipswich emergency. Their staff had no idea what to do, and I was fortunate that there was an off-duty ambulance officer playing. Ipswich Hospital was worse than the snake bite. Good fields.
tagged by an Eastern Brown snake

n00b
I've only played NPF once, it was a 12 hr tournament (basically red-necks, army reserve, "pro"-skimishers, was a fantasically organised day which I thoroughly enjoyed... up until I was tagged by an Eastern Brown snake and spent 17 hrs in Ipswich emergency. Their staff had no idea what to do, and I was fortunate that there was an off-duty ambulance officer playing. Ipswich Hospital was worse than the snake bite. Good fields.

Holy s*** bjp, I was there! That ambulance officer was a mate of a mate. Your friends gave me and him all their leftover ammo when they left... 800 free rounds ftw!

Also not sure how much you paid 10 years ago, but if you want to have a decent day, and your a trigger happy c*** like me, your looking at paying ~$500.
I payed $180 for 12 hours and 1000 rounds at NPF. I did get a little discount from them but not much... What the hell cost you so much casa?
spamming n00b
sLiNky
I've been to samford, top gun and mango hill. Scenery wise top gun and mango hill are better. But gun wise, mango hill by far. at mango hill they are a electric trigger and the guns are a lot more accurate :)

but yes. I would be up for a qgl paintball day

cs paintball warm up?
Kilos
Also not sure how much you paid 10 years ago, but if you want to have a decent day, and your a trigger happy c*** like me, your looking at paying ~$500.

Hahaha
Casa is a spray and pray kinda shooter
i use that maneuver on his mother every night
bjp
Holy s*** bjp, I was there! That ambulance officer was a mate of a mate. Your friends gave me and him all their leftover ammo when they left... 800 free rounds ftw!

It was the least we could do. The people working there had no idea and your friend was nothing but professional. (PM for photos) The paintball field didn't even give me a courtesy call to see if I was ok!?

We weren't going to play the full 12 hrs anyway as we had tickets for the Qld Reds that night. We'd been whipping ass up until that point!

I'm glad I pay a gazillion dollars in Private Health cover and the Private hospital in Ipswich doesn't have a venomous animal unit. FFS!

last edited by bjp at 12:54:18 21/May/08

Yep. I spam the f***ing s*** out of the paintballs.
I can't see any of these 12 hour sessions on the site, most are 3 hour.

Mango Hill is $120 for 3 hours and 800 paintballs works out to about 4.5 balls a minute average.

Extra $10 for private session but need 20 people.

Who the f*** only uses average 4.5 balls a minute? I averaged like an entire canister of balls a minute. Spam that s***
athzhr
Extra $10 for private session but need 20 people.

How many you think you can round up?

I'm sure you could easily get 20, especially if some people brought a friend to make up the numbers or something.
I'll hit up Mango Hill, 15 minutes drive from me (as opposed to hours to Samford the last time) and that seems pretty cheap.

Set it up and I'll be there.
we should base where it is in relation to where chub lives
^ Base jump in dawg
I'd certainly like to go. And could probably round up a few people to go with for extra numbers.
Ok well it's all looking good. Is there uni holidays in june that would make it easier for uni people?
Yes there is. Le Cock.

NPF has a 12 hour game on the 21st june if you're up to it.

12 Hour Scenario Night Game - $45

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

The ultimate skirmish scenario game! Full Moon scenario game on whole 23 acres. Set missions be prepared for a huge night.
Play till you drop!

* $45 per player which includes Semo Auto Gun, Camos, Goggles, Gas & Scrumptious 2 Course Dinner
* Paintballs at $14 per 100 rds*
* *Prepaid paintballs & members paintballs @ $12 per 100 rds (Sorry - no walk on paint)
* Member's Special Event paint rates apply

Dates:

* Saturday 23rd February
* Saturday 19th April
* Saturday 21st June
* Saturday 16th August
* Saturday 11th October

I have no idea what the other places are like though. I think we should get a vote for which one or something?
I'd be keen if it was during the day, but not keen to do an overnighter.
It's 12 noon - 12 midnight.
I'd be keen if it was during the day, but not keen to do an overnighter.
same here. i'd be keen for a day game.
i've done one too many night missions while i was a conscript...