Hey just wondering if anyone still plays Quake 3 at all? More specifically Q3A.
My PC made a nasty zzzzzzt sound yesterday and is now in pieces awaiting a new mobo or power supply (have yet to determine which). So I fired up the old puter and saw Q3 was installed. Though I'd give it a whirl but when I try to connect to a server it says something about "version incorrect". Anyone know where to get updates etc? I guess there must be people who still play Quake...isn't there? And yes I did google it. |
| #0 11:55am 28/01/08 |
Hell yes dude ,most servers have dissapeared but the RA3 server on gamearena gets filled regularly.
http://www.gamearena.com.au/downloads/browse.php/0/7591/date/?p=1&search=quake%203 last edited by Reverend at 12:11:14 28/Jan/08 |
| #1 12:11pm 28/01/08 |
| #2 12:09pm 28/01/08 |
Thankyou. I got into a game of ffa just then so I will check out any applicable updates for RA and commence fragging.
| #3 12:13pm 28/01/08 |
I'd be keen for a weekly game of CTF (3wave preferably but vanilla Q3CTF) if anyone else would be?
| #4 12:34pm 28/01/08 |
possibly, but only if i was on trogs team
| #5 12:36pm 28/01/08 |
but theres no grapple...
| #6 01:05pm 28/01/08 |
old skool vanilla quake1 ctf with grapple ftmfw!
I'd be keen for a weekly game of CTF (3wave preferably but vanilla Q3CTF) if anyone else would be? otherwise I'm keen! |
| #7 01:09pm 28/01/08 |
old skool vanilla quake1 ctf with grapple ftmfw!Anything Q1 and I'm keen. |
| #8 01:22pm 28/01/08 |
Yer im up for some CTF just like the old days Trog ))
| #9 01:23pm 28/01/08 |
Arize
if you guys are serious im in.
| #10 01:39pm 28/01/08 |
old school ctf you say
| #11 01:41pm 28/01/08 |
I'd play a weekly game or 2. |
| #12 01:45pm 28/01/08 |
Arize
can anyone link me specif too the latest patch of q3.
| #13 01:51pm 28/01/08 |
I'm dead serious
* Latest Q3A point release * Threewave 1.6 * Threewave 1.7 patch * Threewave CTF Map Pack There's also OpenArena which I believe has CTF but I'd rather play 3wave Q3 if we can get enough people. |
| #14 02:03pm 28/01/08 |
Arize
would so laugh if we were the ones to save q3 lol :P
| #15 02:08pm 28/01/08 |
Save? i don't think you're saving anything.
But ctf is still fun. pre-aranged time and server and i'd drop in fo sho. |
| #16 02:23pm 28/01/08 |
Im there Negros |
| #17 02:28pm 28/01/08 |
Zaphod
I'm in.
| #18 02:49pm 28/01/08 |
Python
would so laugh if we were the ones to save q3 lol :P People still play quake3, ra3/ctf/duels/freezetag still go on. Freezetag caters towards the newbies more, ctf will have all the higher skilled players but newbies do come in! Some server ips by popularity. Gamespace.net.au|Q3 #1 uFreeze [B] IP Address: 203.34.186.17:27960 GameArena Rocket Arena 3 IP Address: 144.140.155.110:28015 SlashQuit.net VQ3 CTF #1 IP Address: gs4.slashquit.net:27971 SlashQuit.net VQ3 1v1 #1 IP Address: gs4.slashquit.net:27961 SlashQuit.net VQ3 1v1 #2 IP Address: gs4.slashquit.net:27962 The slashquit servers require CPMA. Here is a quick guide to setting up CPMA http://www.slashquit.net/forums/thread/870 |
| #19 03:18pm 28/01/08 |
CPMA sucks balls though, 3wave ftw
| #20 03:55pm 28/01/08 |
I'm in as long as it doesn't conflict with TF2.
hai pyth |
| #21 04:03pm 28/01/08 |
Also cool idea trog!
| #22 04:06pm 28/01/08 |
Arize
anyone got any ideas when i try too put q3 directly from a (The arena) directly to a server says my key is invalid but when i just start q3 normally go to options put it in its valid any ideas???
| #23 04:51pm 28/01/08 |
Farseeker
sounds great :D haven't played q3 in too long.. so much fun.
invalid key.. hm.. make sure you only have one 'q3key' file in your baseq3 folder, and none others in any other folders. if that's no good, maybe try delete it also and re-enter the key when you're connecting to the server. |
| #24 05:25pm 28/01/08 |
Crusty old man
I could be up for that.. it's been a long time :)
| #25 07:03pm 28/01/08 |
what folder to install the mappack into??? is it CTF or THREEWAVE folder you put the pak files into?
| #26 07:27pm 28/01/08 |
What do you guys use to find servers eg gamespy etc?
Just tried to fire up Gamespy Arcade and it wants me to update, then gives me some gheybo 'not the administrator so no permission to update' error. CBF trying to fix it. Is there a free no hassles front end like GS around nowadays? |
| #27 09:08pm 28/01/08 |
| #28 09:23pm 28/01/08 |
sandman
3wave rocks. Been a while though. |
| #29 09:43pm 28/01/08 |
hey there Sand maenz sup mate long time no see (yes im still playing ra3)
| #30 09:48pm 28/01/08 |
Server query
All good and well but how do I add servers and games? Do you need to add them individually or can it search for them itself? Not the most user friendly interface around. I presume I click on "Add lists" but every server listed has no players. Is it me, the vodka, or the fact that 'server query' is in fact queer? Wtf happened to Gamespy? edit: nevermind I found a "trial" version of gs. last edited by IncrEdible_vEgetable at 22:11:23 28/Jan/08 |
| #31 10:11pm 28/01/08 |
The Arena automagically adds games based on registry settings and has an option to manually add games that might not show up in the registry.
| #32 10:17pm 28/01/08 |
Zy
I'll play as long as it's not on a weekend. Plus 3wave has classic ctf, so grapple + techs will be available if we want them.
Also, hi rev, sandman, domino, farseeker, giri, insom, trog and whoop, ltns (except rev, who still plays ra3 with us, the rest of you should come by more often to GA RA3). Zy/vr.dice |
| #33 04:59am 29/01/08 |
old skool vanilla quake1 ctf with grapple ftmfw! +1 could never get into q3 ctf |
| #34 09:38am 29/01/08 |
So here are the options as I see them:
1) Q3 Vanilla CTF (no grapple, no runes) 2) Q3 Threewave CTF (can't remember what this is) 3) Q3 Threewave Classic CTF (grapple, runes) 4) CPMA CTF (balls) What are people's preferences? I vote 3) |
| #35 11:02am 29/01/08 |
also vote 3
| #36 11:30am 29/01/08 |
the only q3 thats worth playing is OSP instagib
| #37 12:12pm 29/01/08 |
if your gonna play a quake with grapple and runes, your better off playing the better one, which is the original quake. tardy girls and your rail gunz |
| #38 01:50pm 29/01/08 |
you're not invited anyway casa
| #39 02:36pm 29/01/08 |
I agree with casa, but at the same time, the original is bit of a PITA to go through set up on.
Oh, and if we're being bitchy, q2ctf was better. |
| #40 02:57pm 29/01/08 |
+1 vote 3
| #41 03:14pm 29/01/08 |
OSP FTW if its q3/ ctf for quake + powerup maps FTW might even use my old AOD config if i can find the Bugga i think i have Obes and bubba freddo and ET config too, aHh the good old days when a lan lasted 3 days and all we played was CTF. I vote for 2 !!!
last edited by Reverend at 17:23:16 29/Jan/08 |
| #42 05:23pm 29/01/08 |
who needs new servers running s***ty threewave?? slashquit ctf goes off on a nightly basis
| #43 05:24pm 29/01/08 |
people that want to play threewave, asshat
| #44 06:11pm 29/01/08 |
vote 3...
can we have a game of quake1 ctf too??? Edit: I can't see slashquit servers?? last edited by Martz at 18:57:29 29/Jan/08 |
| #45 06:57pm 29/01/08 |
Zy
+1 vote 3
| #46 07:19pm 29/01/08 |
trog can we have a quake2 ctf server... that game rocked
thanks man... u rock |
| #47 07:28pm 29/01/08 |
Also, hi rev, sandman, domino, farseeker, giri, insom, trog and whoop, ltns (except rev, who still plays ra3 with us, the rest of you should come by more often to GA RA3). I was on it last night as it happens, and I just finished a bash then. I suck at it too much to even bother now though. I can't seem to get my name to work either, looks like they broke something in RA3 since I last played it or I forgot how to make it work :( Oh well, what's in a name. |
| #48 08:00pm 29/01/08 |
o0o0o, this has been farkin ages for me.. I have a geforce 5 now too! fear.
+1 vote 3. Need to get back into form! |
| #49 08:04pm 29/01/08 |
sandman
Sup Rev/Dice :D
Another vote for 3. Bring on the rail whores. :P |
| #50 08:08pm 29/01/08 |
Crusty old man
I vote 2, but I'll play 3
| #51 08:20pm 29/01/08 |
yer voted 3. Threewave classic iz the shiz.
| #52 09:40pm 29/01/08 |
Thanks to QGL for helping me get Q3 up to date and sorted out. I jumped into a RA game just before and it appears all systems are go.
I installed all the Threewave stuff etc and although I haven't tried it yet, I am keen for a game. As I haven't played any of the abovementioned mods etc I will go with whatever goes ahead. |
| #53 12:54am 30/01/08 |
now all we need is server.....
can play at lunch times :) |
| #54 01:19pm 30/01/08 |
im keen too, I dont mind option 3 but i actually prefer 1. runes ftw but grapple gets to crazy imo.
so what do I need to play? I already have OA 1.7, no patches though. |
| #55 01:46pm 30/01/08 |
Mass
If I can find my Q3 Cd to install it I might be tempted. But Q1 CTF with the runes and keys (the old powerup mod) for my vote. Railguns suck ass. Vote 3
| #56 02:48pm 30/01/08 |
vote 3!!!
| #57 06:21pm 30/01/08 |
Zy
While in the spirit of Quake 3 ... here's a video of a bunch of guys shooting fireworks at each other with Quake 3 sounds over the top:
SpikedHumor Note: The video is in public uploads so it might not be available soon. |
| #58 07:05pm 30/01/08 |
MC Hawking look for "quake master".
| #59 07:26pm 30/01/08 |
Keato
Id be in that, some Q3 CTF.
Also .. rut roh, he said Quake1, Jim's gunna 7/11 his ass. |
| #60 08:49am 31/01/08 |
so is optusnet RA3 still up and running these days?
| #61 10:45am 31/01/08 |
Also, does anyone play/has anyone played Urban Terror? Any good?
I tried to connect to Threewave using ingame browser but no servers were found. Is there a way to add that mod to The Arena so I can jump on and check it out? Gamespy is not working for me at all, every time I try to install either Arcade or Full Install (free version) it says something about not being logged in with admin privileges and won't let me progress, so I decided to run The Arena which seems to work fine. Will the CTF games be announced on here (if they go ahead)? I'd be keen to have a bash on whatver's going. |
| #62 10:50am 31/01/08 |
so is optusnet RA3 still up and running these days? it was taken down years ago |
| #63 10:51am 31/01/08 |
ahh f***. show's how far out of the loop i am. We need some qld based q3 servers! Trog man pull some strings so we can have maad pingtimes for ctf and ra3!
(stick hassle ur bro man!) |
| #64 11:00am 31/01/08 |
sandman
Yeah, something like the old QGL RA3 server. That was awesome for anyone in bris, mad pings/always full.
| #65 02:06pm 31/01/08 |
sandman!
wow. look at all the old q3 players come out of the woodwork |
| #66 02:14pm 31/01/08 |
I can't find my copy :(
| #67 05:57pm 31/01/08 |
What sandy said + Hello there Free long time no See
| #68 06:03pm 31/01/08 |
Zy
Trog, you're the goto man, what's the status of this idea? I'm keen to play, got my housemate keen too. We're in when you are.
| #69 06:46pm 31/01/08 |
soz been a bit busy; will try to get something sorted next week - also wanted to give people some time to get the word out!
| #70 07:27pm 31/01/08 |
is there a server already up where we can test out if our ctf is installed properly n shiz?
| #71 07:53pm 31/01/08 |
test server coming up Thursday, 31 January 2008 @ 9:05pm
144.140.154.87:31110 hopefully! edit: updated time! I had DST last edited by trog at 21:21:55 31/Jan/08 |
| #72 09:21pm 31/01/08 |
is there a server already up where we can test out if our ctf is installed properly n shiz? just run a listen server on your own computer, easiest way I've found in the past. |
| #73 08:51pm 31/01/08 |
woohoo I'm connected to the server
| #74 10:15pm 31/01/08 |
so is this server up
| #75 10:15pm 31/01/08 |
no, I'm connected to your mother
of course with grease |
| #76 10:24pm 31/01/08 |
hmm i cant connect whats the server name?
| #77 10:40pm 31/01/08 |
test server coming up Thursday, 31 January 2008 @ 9:05pm |
| #78 10:41pm 31/01/08 |
restarting it a couple times to fix punkbuster
| #79 10:47pm 31/01/08 |
cool its connecting in server query but when i join it comes up with an error along the lines of
CLIENT_UNKNOWN_TO_AUTH any ideas? I haven't had this problem before.. |
| #80 10:49pm 31/01/08 |
i have 1.32 but it reckons punkbuster isnt there?
:( |
| #81 10:49pm 31/01/08 |
i heard there is gonna be a CPL qual for this in bris soon. You should start praccing now. I started xmas before last and constantly got sacked 50-0 by people, took 6-8 months before i could beat them. The best game ever, the winner is the better player.
| #82 10:51pm 31/01/08 |
ok its rocking along now
| #83 10:54pm 31/01/08 |
well if punkbuster is required for this ctf game I won't be there, it's not installed for q3
| #84 10:56pm 31/01/08 |
i have 1.32 but it reckons punkbuster isnt there?Only just got PB updated on the server (f*** its complictaed) - google pbsetup and download/run that (quit q3 first) to make sure your PB is up to date. |
| #85 10:59pm 31/01/08 |
sandman
Ugh can't find my Q3 cd. Might have to buy another :(
No Bris servers Trog? Hit up webcentral/melbourneit for a free 10ss :P |
| #86 11:18pm 31/01/08 |
ok I did the pbsetup thing and all is good now, I didn't realise you could install pb separate to the game, when I did that with crysis or cod4 or something it wouldn't detect pb and I had to reinstall the entire game again :(
I was on the server just then, it was empty, gimme rcon so I can have at some bots :p |
| #87 12:06am 01/02/08 |
Zy
Just a heads up, Trog, PunkBuster was disabled on Game Arena Quake 3 servers due to excessive use issues -- meaning it pretty much made the game unplayable for 80% of people due to PnkBstrB.exe continually scanning.
I've uninstalled PB for that reason. We've only had one bot come from time to time on RA3 since it's been off, so people are pretty cool these days about the game (most of the kiddies are in CS I guess?). Also, I couldn't connect just now, not sure why ... as far as I know everything is updated and ready to go. Edit: Updated PunkBuster, all works fine, and I couldn't see any of the jolting, so maybe it's not an issue anymore (here's to hoping). Cyas on the server. last edited by Zy at 00:56:04 01/Feb/08 |
| #88 12:56am 01/02/08 |
I have OA 7.1 why cant I connect to this server? I still get this error in the waiting for challenge screen:
CLIENT_UNKNOWN_TO_AUTH Ive tried searching and cant find anything! :( |
| #89 12:59am 01/02/08 |
sandman
I've never played OpenArena, but i'd assume you will need a legit copy of q3 inc. cd key. OpenArena is a free open-source package for Q3, you don't even need Q3 to play it from what I understand.
| #90 01:11am 01/02/08 |
yeah thats right, its basically free q3 and I can play online on heaps of other servers but I think I just found the problem (port problem through my router) and the server is now off line..
| #91 01:24am 01/02/08 |
Just a heads up, Trog, PunkBuster was disabled on Game Arena Quake 3 servers due to excessive use issues -- meaning it pretty much made the game unplayable for 80% of people due to PnkBstrB.exe continually scanning.Yes, I commented at the time that it was a dumb thing to do, but I gave up long ago trying to explain things to RA3 players Hopefully I'll have time over w/e to get an info thread up explaining how to get it all working for those keen. I'm thinking maybe we try to play next wed night? |
| #92 07:40am 01/02/08 |
Zy
Next Wed night is good for me, so count myself and my housemate in.
+2 Wed Night (Any Time) |
| #93 11:49am 01/02/08 |
sandman
Wednesday it is.
I think I know where my Q3 cd is, if not, I'll buy another tomorrow. |
| #94 02:00pm 01/02/08 |
I've looked a few times for new copies of quake 3 and RTCW and haven't been able to find squat around Brisbane.
If you have some sort of hook up or magical store stuck stocking games from 2000 let me know sandman. |
| #95 03:18pm 01/02/08 |
buy it on steam...
| #96 03:27pm 01/02/08 |
Xyzzy
Yes, I commented at the time that it was a dumb thing to do, but I gave up long ago trying to explain things to RA3 players You mean i missed the clueless masses figuring out that punkbuster was a big fat f***ing waste of time and resources? Now i'm sad. Not really that much though. |
| #97 03:32pm 01/02/08 |
buy it on steam... TiT, I was going to but when reading up about it steam was having issues with RTCW at the time issuing bad cd keys to it etc. Not sure if Q3 was having similar problems. |
| #98 03:34pm 01/02/08 |
sandman
I'll check it out tomorrow and let you know reso.
A store like gametraders would probably have a copy. Let's hope anyway. |
| #99 03:47pm 01/02/08 |
sandman
| #100 03:52pm 01/02/08 |
we are doing alot of talking about it... cant we just get a server up!!! its friday ffs
| #101 04:19pm 01/02/08 |
the server is up TiT...
| #102 04:40pm 01/02/08 |
Zy
GC servers only last a lil while, that server's gone now ... can we get a server up now and just still agree to meet Wed for a full game?
| #103 08:26pm 01/02/08 |
BOOST
bishes come in ere now: gs4.slashquit.net:27971
| #104 10:21am 02/02/08 |
Zy
Can't, their CPMA isn't as new as my copy or something.
| #105 01:39am 03/02/08 |
hey trog, we gonna get a server for q3 cctf ? i think ther eis plenty interest ?
| #106 08:17pm 04/02/08 |
I don't think i can use OA to join your server :( :(
| #107 09:31pm 04/02/08 |
Zy
Bumping thread to make sure it isn't forgotten.
Are we still rocking up Wed night? What time? |
| #108 03:51pm 05/02/08 |
Umm, problem - I forgot that Australia was playing soccer tomorrow night. I assume everyone else, like me, would rather watch the footy.
Is that correct? If other people are still interested though I'll still rig it all up. |
| #109 04:03pm 05/02/08 |
setup a brisbane server mang
| #110 05:20pm 05/02/08 |
I can't, we have no servers in brisbane
| #111 05:32pm 05/02/08 |
Zy
Yeah I'm not into soccer, rig it up still, I'm sure a lot of us will still play.
Also can we do it tonight as well? Are you rigging up a perm server or just one through GC? |
| #112 05:42pm 05/02/08 |
I've put up a test server at 144.140.154.33:27960 - not at home so can't test it out yet, let me know if it doesn't work
| #113 05:47pm 05/02/08 |
thanks trog testing it now
| #114 06:12pm 05/02/08 |
Zy
Server works fine, you have to have PB updated though, so make sure you download pbsetup from EvenBalance.com
Thanks, Trog. I'll jump on there at 7, anyone else available for that time? |
| #115 06:54pm 05/02/08 |
I can't play til a bit later, like 9ish unfortunately :( will try to get back earlier though
| #116 06:57pm 05/02/08 |
Zy
Ok we're trying to round up a few players to play at 8 ... anyone here interested in joining up?
| #117 08:44pm 05/02/08 |
I will be in future but I can't find my copy at the moment and haven't had time to get a new one and do all the updates etc.
| #118 09:05pm 05/02/08 |
Zy
Just had a 3v3 ... was fun, should be good to get some 8v8 games going.
| #119 10:32pm 05/02/08 |
i played tonight ... awesome mod... hopefully get more ppl playing in the future
| #120 10:32pm 05/02/08 |
what mod did you lot choose ??
| #121 10:39pm 05/02/08 |
well I was playing just fine then all of a sudden it kicked me for having an unpure client or something, I just formatted and installed q3/3wctf wtf unpure client, f***off.
| #122 12:30am 06/02/08 |
Zy
yeah whoop i get kicked off randomly too ... no idea what's going on there. in linux there's no error, it just quits straight out of quake
then i closed everything and stayed on for a fair while, not sure if that helped or what, but it's pretty bad that it happens |
| #123 12:59am 06/02/08 |
Yeh I got kicked off randomly for unpure client as well, not sure what that's about - there's no more info than that - but when I reconnect its fine!@#
| #124 09:23am 06/02/08 |
manually force an update of that stupid anti cheat mod, don't rely on it's auto-update.
I find that solves alot of the problems. |
| #125 10:27am 06/02/08 |
surely you have the hookups and know a guy who know's a guy who can make s*** happen.. Most ppl here are up in Bris too which would make for some maaaad pinged games. If there is a direct cost involved i'd be happy to chip in to have a ctf and ra3 brisbane server, i'm sure there are some mad keen q3'ers who'd also help (depending on the stingyness factor).
| #126 11:45am 06/02/08 |
Yeah I played for a bit last night, was good fun although I got raped pretty hard. Have to get used to playing Q3 again :)
Got kicked too, dunno what that was about. |
| #127 12:11pm 06/02/08 |
I can't, we have no servers in brisbaneShould run one from the office :) |
| #128 12:35pm 06/02/08 |
Zy
We ended up having a 4 vs 5 at one point I think ... then about 4 left, including veg from being kicked ... should we just try turn off PunkBuster and see what happens? Most q3 players are cool these days, as said, there's only one bot user on the RA3 server and he's rarely on (and very easily caught out, doesn't even change his name).
Oh and I have updated through pbsetup.exe, so I'd say my PB is up to date. Anyone playing tonight? Myself, resiak and ace will probably be there (maybe at 8 Bris time). |
| #129 12:37pm 06/02/08 |
Zy
Ok, Wednesday night the server was down and people were watching Soccer.
So tonight being Thursday ... who is playing and what time? |
| #130 02:14pm 07/02/08 |
| #130 |