Topic: Cool jobs
Corrupt
Hey everyone

I was wondering what jobs people know of where work hours are low and pay is good ie 25 hours a week for $500-1k net per week preferably higher.
cool thread
ToOLx
Diggin holes
Does anyone have that game dev job where they moonwalk infront of a green screen in a suit with ping pong balls all over it?
Company director
Mayor
Territory politician
non-daily TV show host
Freelance journalist (non-news)
Xyzzy
I'm gonna treat this like a serious post...

I don't know exactly what work hours they have however if you're fit(or have the willpower to get fit for a goal) and don't have a problem with putting your life on the line to save people then i once read that firefighters are essentially paid to be on-call. The general population love them (i mean seriously, who wouldn't nad someone who was badmouthing a guy whose job is to run into buildings and save people's babies...) and while they are civil service, it's still a dangerous job that requires you work odd hours so the pay is pretty decent.

Don't get me wrong, i'm sure there's plenty of reasons not to... but if those are your only criteria for the job you want then it may be something worth looking into.

[edit] out of interest, a pdf containing information about this is here[/edit]

last edited by Xyzzy at 20:13:10 27/Jan/08
$1k for 25 hours is 40 bucks an hour. What skills and/or breasts do you have to justify this?
forum hero
WreckTim
hey im working with virgin blue throwing bags around. work is atleast 20hrs a week. but u can get more if you want. i make about $1400 a fortnight. working around 28hrs a week.
Hopping around doing contract work can get you 40 an hour easily... but you do need qualifications.
Corrupt
Hey WreckTim got any more info?

Can we chat over msn? I'll pm you my msn address.

Cheers Mate
$1k for 25 hours is 40 bucks an hour

i contract out at £35-55 an hour :P
I told the OP that Aus post is 25 hours a week @ $25+/hr, BRUTAL penalties (weekends double time + meal allowance, public holidays anything from 2.5 times to 3.5 times), you get to sit around for 50% of your shift watching TV/playing pool and the actual work component is beyond a bludge.

The OP wouldn't go as far as getting a MR license to apply, FAIL.
who is the op?
step
who is the op?
Original poster aka thread creator.
This isn't a case of a guy on government welfare with no qualifications thinking he's good enough to get a job with little hours and great pay is it?
$500 to $1k per week, would that be gross or net? Because if thats the net pay you want you'd better either have some skills or be prepared to work alot more than 25hrs a week.

i contract out at £35-55 an hour :P

what do you contract out... your ass? you must actually have a trade or particular skill that people seek you for...
online pussy.
seeing mooby's website he has been creating, I would say he specialises in web development.

While I was working under contract I got paid okay(well that's a lie) but the firm was charging on behalf of me $125 dollars for my time. If only that went to my pocket :(
Amway!
marine biologist

I was wondering what jobs people know of where work hours are low and pay is good ie 25 hours a week for $500-1k net per week preferably higher.
Man whore.
ATHLETech
Phys Ed Teacher - Primary
Hey everyone

So basically, you want to work f*** all hours and earn good money? HAHAH good luck, you lazy peice of s***. I do the normal 38hr week (plus about 5-10hrs OT) and earn 50+k/yr
StopShootingMe
Haha, Burgz is poor.
what do you contract out... your ass? you must actually have a trade or particular skill that people seek you for...

developing in dot net / sql. im getting more and more into web and leaving winforms. i've posted on here a few times for poeple to help me, but with luke warm response.

thing is im getting so much work, i cant keep up & i cant get anyone relaible to help. then the client gets unhappy, but its so hard to say no.

ive also started 2 companies. www.addanevent.com (online event managment software). i just take a booking fee. thats growing nicely

and my other venture, www.clicktoprint.eu (started monday). since leaving photobox.co.uk ive taken 40 profesional photographers (like reuters.com) who do about £15-25k sales a year. i give them an ecommerce platform to sell their images from their site.

last edited by mooby at 04:52:10 28/Jan/08
< Haha, Burgz is poor.

Best comeback ever!
pro drifter
tyco water, 700 for a 12 hr shift.
what doing?
Mooby out of curiosity, what kind of help you looking for exactly?

If its backend stuff I'd pass, front end stuff is more my thing.
Oi SPoon I work at Tyco water .... wtf section are you in?
Tyco Water? I work for the transport company that delivers the containers there!
we all drink the tycoolaid!
mooby: PM'd you. Might be able to help.
I work only three days in five. Part time? no, it's the public service! lol
Fnukle
Heh Im a Forklift Mechanic, we have a few 15/16 ton SMV Forklifts out at Tyco Water.
I don't remember why, but I always thought you worked at hardly normals Fnukle.
You learn something every day.

If anyone wants to earn $20(ish, maybe more for someone with fabrication, welding experience) an hour as a driver come steel fabrication assistant, PM me. Northside business (Brendale) Must be mature (and reliable) given the nice shiny new BT50 and 7mtrs trailer you'd be driving.
pharmaceutical testing subject
Fnukle
Yea i used to E.T.
Around 4 years total at Hardlys. First Everton Park then Indooroopilly.

I like to change what i do :)
Some Fat Bastard
pharmaceutical testing subject
I thought you were already a product of such experimentation. How many heads do you have again?
³dee
im a dispatcher for telstra maintenance techies as is exo. I get $640 after tax a week for 38 hours.

I got a games programming degree but apparently couldn't get into the industry so I ended up there. Pays the bills quite easy with plenty left over. Personally cbf with the games industry for a little while since ive got loans and s*** and just need a stable full time job.

last edited by ³dee at 20:22:21 28/Jan/08
Prostitute

Low hours, money is good.
³dee
how much per hour?
... just curious....

lol taipain are you labouring?
Weekend warriors for maintenance get 700 before tax for a saturday.
Yeah mate I am on the Arvo shift in Coating in fittings. I was in the Fab shop before I went to the US on Arvo shift then spent 3 weeks in the pipe shop before moving back over to fittings.

I have had some good weeks there and my best I cracked 63 hours for the week and got $1,650 in the hand after tax. Mind you things are looking pretty damn sad atm because of the lack of overtime. It pisses me off actually because I intend to fly back to the US on the 29th of Feb and I would like to get another $3k saved. But without the usual O/T thats going to be tough. X-mas sure has a way of f***ing things up.
I'm on the maintenance crew in the pipe shop, I'm also heading over to the states in march :)

Skilled has f***ed my pays up for the shutdown so I'm working a bit longer than I really intended too. Wish I could find a company to sponsor me to work in maintenance in USA.

What pay are you guys on? I'm on 30.54 an hour, 12 hr rotating shifts so I get 2 hours every day double time plus the night shift 15% loading when I do the nights.

One of our guys has cracked I think 70k this financial year haha

last edited by spoon at 02:33:03 29/Jan/08
wow gold farmer
Well if you put everything together my base rate, casual and shift rate (15%) I am on just a fraction over $27 per hour. Of course o/t is all double time because I am on permament afternoon shift.

I was in the pipe shop doing the 12 hour shifts there for 3 weeks early last September in coatings. I was one of the guys on the beam and was suposed to take over on the crane (had a crane ticket for years). I got jack of the shift roster there pretty damn fast and asked to get sent back to fittings. Lucky for me I have a good rep over there at fittings given my 100% attendance record and always doing the o/t so they sent me back.

My intent was to save about $3k per month and I was doing fine until X-mas came along and Tyco f***ed up their pay software and Skilled then f***ed up our pays. I am guessing it might be the same issue you had. I have given myself pretty well 4 weeks to get another $3k anyway I can because come the 29th on am on that plane one way or the other.

I'll be over there for 3 months and if things go particularly well I might be able to stay for good :)

edit: On a side note one interesting thing will be how much tax I get back this year. By the time it comes around I will of only worked for 6 months of the year and paid a s*** load of tax each week during that time. So my earnings for the year won't be that great although I have paid taxes as if they would of been. So I am kind of expecting to get a nice chunk back... fingers crossed.

last edited by Taipan at 04:10:40 29/Jan/08
you can do basic maths to figure out what your rebate should be, just fyi.
Well I guess you'd have to know what the tax brackets are then I would have to know my yearly earnings(haven't finished working yet and I don't feel like guessing). Neither of which I know and I actually don't care atm because I have more pressing things to consider.

last edited by Taipan at 12:04:12 29/Jan/08
Denny
Go to the ATO website. Plug into their calculator what you expect to have earned over but the time July rolls around. It'll tell you how much tax you should pay. Guesstimate how much tax you *will* have paid (based on the normal amount shown on each pay statement * the number of pays till july). Subtract the amount you will pay against the amount you were meant to pay and that will be the amount you get back, note that stuff like medicare levy and other factors will play a small part but you should have a fair idea.
I got a games programming degree but apparently couldn't get into the industry

hah, i did that too. except i didnt really try to get into the industry, it was kinda obvious it wouldnt take me anywhere after about week 3

shoulda bailed earlier. oh well
edit: On a side note one interesting thing will be how much tax I get back this year. By the time it comes around I will of only worked for 6 months of the year and paid a s*** load of tax each week during that time. So my earnings for the year won't be that great although I have paid taxes as if they would of been. So I am kind of expecting to get a nice chunk back... fingers crossed.

Just make sure you are a non-resident for the period of time your out of Australia, otherwise they can tax you for the money you earn while out of the country as well. Make sure you put greater than 2 years on the ATO thing when you leave the country. See your accountant for more details :)
I get 22.60 an hour full time IT grad position. I took home $800 for the week??? I don't know how tax works. Might I add it is pissing down here at woolloongabba.

boba plays wow for work
^- f*** ya mum.. I DID!
hast
i went to the msy website

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://127.0.0.1:37935/xpopup.js"></script>

have they been hacked? lol

yeah i get about £133 a day, so $297 AUD a day.

I don't know how you'd expect a decent pay without relevant exp/quals.. unless it was mad danger pay.
ATHLETech
heaps of jobs out west in mines - starting pay for a truck driver (big mine trucks) is around 80k. My mate drives for 8 hours, then 16 off etc.