Topic: G'day from sunny Iraq
Sunny??.. heh.. i wish, -11 the other day, cold, windy, wet and frozen..

well.. i am still here, their hasn't been a rocket attack for a while now, the PM Mr Rudd came over to say hello and we are all stopping operations at 1st june, still won't get out of here till end of July, have to pack up and clean up..

Its like ground hog day here.. no time off, just day after day of crappy war stuff, the yanks are nice, they lub aussies, constantly asking us questions about aus.

I really miss brissie, it is a total s*** hole here, if it wasn't for the big tax free blings there would be no way in hell of me being here..

I will see if a pic works, this one is at the ziggurat on photo day, i am the bloke with the cap on, top left..

http://img251.imageshack.us/my.php?image=iraqradarcrewxq4.jpg

i don't ever post pics, so if it doesn't work.. neh..
happy australia day dude. hope you get to have bbq and a beer or two.

wow i really dropped the ball there.. tempt and precip might make bbqing a challenge

last edited by Freewheelin at 04:44:16 26/Jan/08
f*** man, happy oz day. keep your head down!

Reason: Inappropriate
Click Here to See the Profile for Superform Edit This Post Click Here to send Superform an email Users HomePage Message User
I have a couple of jobs..

The main one is to keep the radar systems going..

other ones include going outside the wire with patrols, my styr at action and if someone shoots at me i will shoot to kill..

I do not have an assult job, its just i am a very useful bloke with certin skills of value, the only bloke over here with certin skills, there are always guards protecting me.. always..

my orders are constantly changing, never know where i am going next or for how long..

it is 7 hours behind here so it is oppx. 9:45 on the 25th..

not quite assiue day yet..

last edited by Primal at 05:43:11 26/Jan/08
keach
Heya Primal,
I'm one of the cav blokes who take you outside the wire, I'm sitting in Camp Terendak atm. You're right, the cold has been s***house, and the rain dosn't help things, nice and muddy.
In a few months it's gonna get real hot though, last time i was here it was 60 deg inside the vehicles :(
Might see ya out at the Aussie Day events.
good work keach protect the aussies and keep your own head down

primal sounds your some sort of micheal jackson type vip.. dont let it go to your head :)

stay safe
holy s***, two qgl guys over there

cool!

i havent always agreed with everything you've said primal, but i am in awe of you right now (and keach too)

u guys are braver than i could ever be
Morgan

f*** yeah, good work guys.
Happy Australia Day fellas,

Keep your heads down, good luck and thanks for doing what you're doing.
LoneWolf
Yeah, it's blokes like you that allow people like us to enjoy Australia Day bbq's and stuff so my hat is off you you and all our guys over there.

HAPPY AUSTRALIA DAY MATES!
Primal, when did you go over..
I have a mate who went over a few weeks ago...
this thread proves qgl is the raddest f***ing e-hangout

ever

GW GUYS KEEP IT UP

im still drukn gg
lmnt
good luck guys, happy australia day.
we are all stopping operations at 1st june

All Australians?

GW guys hang in there.
hey primal, got any photo's of your stay over there? i'm interested in viewing them.
keach
we are all stopping operations at 1st june

All Australians?

K Rudd said it was just our Battlegroup pulling out, one of his election promises. Secdet in Baggers will stay on however.
It's gonna be a big job cleaning and packing all this gear up and getting it home.

Hope all you guys at home are having a great Aussie Day, ours it about to kick off, should be a good one with a few organised sporting events, meat pies for lunch and a possibility of a couple of beers (a real rarity on ops) :)

last edited by keach at 16:37:56 26/Jan/08

last edited by keach at 16:38:28 26/Jan/08

Happy Australia day guys, take it easy and be careful (as I'm sure you damn well are!)
press release crap..

20th Surveillance and Target Acquisition Regiment (20STAR) is currently deployed around the world in various operations.
At times the amount of available information is limited due to operational security (OPSEC) or location and duration of deployment.

Current OPSEC is SECERT.

So i can not show you pics or tell you about any war stuff..

I can tell you that we are doing a good job over here.

The fine troopers in cav (2/14 light horse) do a very good job, if they were not here then our job would not only be s***ty, but impossible to do.
My hat goes off to them.

I am no vip, just some bloke that is over here because they couldn't send anyone else, that is changing soon as there are now other blokes getting trained in my line of work, which is a good thing.

I am getting to old for this, 17 years in the army is about all i can put up with, so after i come back to aussie land it will be discharge time.

My wife and 2 kids will be very happy when that happens, i will be happy as well.

I will take a wealth of experience with me, but hey, s*** happens like that.

The army is a game for the young and single, not for the old and married.
godspeed mate
crazymorton
well done diggers...enjoy your aus day and stay safe...congrats on doing your service for us
next time join the real corp (ex grunt here)
:-)
from reading that message primal, i think you are doing the exact same thing as my mate..

Take care mate
You are champions at the highest level and you have my utter most respect for suffering in some harsh conditions for your country. No doubt everyone appreciates your efforts.
TT_Avenger
almost everyone
hey primal, got any photo's of your stay over there? i'm interested in viewing them.

its a trap
hahah f*** you matt!

also hi!!
Good work guys, hope you had a great Aussie days. Take care.
sif use steyr's

ak's ftw
TT_Avenger
and lemme guess, to buy it you've gotta do b, 4, 1, b, 6 ?

last edited by TT_Avenger at 12:59:06 28/Jan/08
haha @ tt_avenger..
hey primal ; good to hear from ya! take it easy dude
Bit belated but anyways...

http://www.users.on.net/~thevault/HERMITech/Australia-Day.jpg
My hearts go out to you blokes.

Also @ Primal; It's great to see in your pic that you're the only guy in the back row NOT pointing his gun at someones head!
^ heh, thought that myself :P