Topic: Telstra Rant
Anyone here work for telstra and can make some heads roll? if so pm me
other than that, heres my rant

I've been trying to get my phone connected in a new apartment since 19-12-2007, with 0 success
its at the point now where I'm paying the $299 for a brand new line to be put in, because I've had enough

It started with the previous owner having the line in my place connected to some little company that specialises in STD rates
He requested that service be moved to his new place and they said (To him), no worries, we'll request that through telstra.
telstra apparently told them the first date it could be done was the 21st of January 2008

Now telstra tell me that this company is lying and that they in fact requested the date of Jan 21. I have no idea who is telling fibs

Anyway, I faxed my mortgage documents off to telstra who said they could remove the line 10 days after verifying that I own the place and that the line shouldn't be connected in there
So i did that 10 days ago and now they're telling me that they cant just remove someone elses line, despite the fact that they told me they know i own the place

this has left me with the only option of getting a new line in at a cost of $300
I have been without internets at home since 19-12-07 and will be that way until 21-01-2008 at this rate

I've filed 3 seperate complaints with telstra and one with the TIO - I still dont feel as though anything is getting done
Surely theres a law that protects people like me, making someone reponsible - given that telecoms are a "must have" service, theres a requirement for your telco to connect you within a specific number of days right?

I've spent 5-10 hours on phone calls with telstra and the tio in the last month..

f*** me, I hate telstra </tear>
I feel your pain teq, i moved into my new place on the 16th of Dec and I've been without the internets too :(
I just went bugger it, Naked DSL for me. I don't want a phone line. They are the gayness and friggin expensive.
ring overseas
mscactus
Also feel your pain. When we moved, the only way we could have the internet connected was to get a new line put in...otherwise we would have had to wait for a week for it to go on.

Oh and we both work for for Telstra!!!!!
i've been waiting 3+weeks, a week would have been great for me
I use the internet for my job every day, without it has been costing me lots of $$
they're telling me that they cant just remove someone elses line, despite the fact that they told me they know i own the place

That is complete BS. We had our old tenants line when we moved in who had AAPT who wouldnt remove the line despite us working with the old tenants.

I faxed our rental agreement to telstra, next day our line was connected with them.

I say ring until you find an operator that can do it.
yeah no s*** I've dealt with at least 30 different telstra employees
I've taken down the Charlie/Delta numbers for the ones who have been abusive or rude and I've filed individual complaints against them

I even had one wanker this morning telling me "thats fine mate but the reality is you have to accept that you are not going to get the line connected before the 21st"
how arrogant

I faxed through my title deed and no one can answer why that line cant just be removed
Parents requested a phone line for their new house in mid-December.

Telstra ETA: January 29th. Seriously, wtf. They now have to sign up with Virgin Wireless Broadband for a month to fill the gap.
johnhenry
Call the telecomunications ombudsman and make a complaint to them. When you get them involved everyone amazingly starts to have immediately solutions to your problems.. or at least they did for me. For two weeks no one could solve my problems so i complained to the ombudsman and my problem was solved within 2 hours.

Goodluck :)
Call the telecomunications ombudsman and make a complaint to them.

I've filed 3 seperate complaints with telstra and one with the TIO

He has... (TIO = Telecomunications Industry Ombudsman)
yeah I've already been through them
she said theres nothing they can do until a certain date, I'm like f*** it's been 3 weeks? how much longer do i have to wait

then she said before she can do anything, I have to call telstra senior complaint line
so I did that, the arrogant f*** on the end of the lie litteraly said to me, and I quote "look mate, you're just going to have to accept that this isnt going to happen until the 21st"

2 Days ago I wanted to disconnect my Optus Mobile (Number and account) because I havent used it in ~6 months but still paid the bill (Only $25 a month)
Only reason I kept it so long incase people didn't have my new (Free work phone) number.

Anyway, I call to cancel, 3 min after Voice recognition bulls***, I get through to a person. 2min hold, 3min later I'll have to put you through to someone else. Hold for another 2min, Guy I heard you want to cancel your account?
5min of:
Why?
Dont you need your old number?
We can transfer your new number.
You can keep your number for free
It wont cost you anything
Are you leaving because you hate optus?
Are you leaving the number because someone is stalking you?

Every question I replied "No, I have a free work phone I just want to cancel everything please" But about 1/2 way though I was getting pissed off and my tone of voice was letting him know

I'm not trying to stall you or change your mind.
Are you sure you want to cancel.

Another 3 min on hold
then Ok we're going to cancel your account please hold so we can
Another 2min on hold and then the line went dead.

By the end I was getting a little pissed off and short with him so I think the last 5min (total) of hold time was just to piss me off because he knew he's lost me anyway.

Was f***ing bulls***. Would of been really pissed if it wasn't on work time :p
i just rang iinet to cancel because they've been useless through out the whole process, saying they'd call back and never actually doing it
not updating me if something happens
they gave me a connection date of the 24th!@
when I requested it on the f***ing 19th ffs

he said, before you cancel, how about i get a manager to give you a call and we will see if we can compensate you for your downtime - i agreed but said, I dont hold much hope of getting a call back due to past experiences
Is Telstra the most hated Australian company in Australia? I'd be surprised if it wasnt.
Gesthemene
Tossup between Telstra and James Hardie..

I'd probably say Telstra, because if nothing else, they've both killed people, but at least JH admitted they f***ed people over..
Dodgymon
This thread belongs on Whingepool....
3x0dus
you cant file a complaint against an individual consultant.
they where probably rude because you wre aswell.

Previous Owner didnt disconnect the service, the put in a relocation.
Relocation disconnects the old service, when the new service is connected.
usually the same day, not prior.

Telstra cannot touch a wholesale order for the other company for the transfer of service for the previous owner.

had the previous owner simply disconnected the line, and connected at the new place, and not tried to ERF/ERT, there probably wouldn't be an issue.

10 days from the 11th is the 21st so of course they can can connect it, cuz the other transfer will be completed.

Blame previous owner who did the transfer and not simply disconnect/reconnect.

As well as the fact wholesale orders cannot be touched whatsoever, the TIO will not be able to do anything because telstra is simply complying with its requirements to the ACCC.

As for long time to get connected for others.

Telstra does reduced lines work during mid/early December to early/mid January.
This is the same every year.

Linesman deserve holidays too.

Telstra i the most hated because there is not one company that almost every single Australian has dealt with at one point in time.

That being said, you only hear negatives, and based on previous statement you will always see/hear more negatives when a company deals with that many people.

last edited by 3x0dus at 01:23:37 12/Jan/08
wrong exodus

all telcos have a responsibility to connect you within 2 days, 5 days if it requires a tech visit
i faxed back my proof saying that i own the place on the 3rd so they had till the 14th at best, even if its with a wholesale provider they are legally still required to provide me with a telephone or an alternative.

in this case, they refused and i kept taking it higher and higher (or so I thought), one chick i was speaking to was being quite unhelpful so I asked for her manager, she said no worries I'll grab him.
this kid jumped on the phone and i immediately asked for his name, which he would only give me his first name, so I asked for his telstra employee ID number.

He told me theres nothing he can do, I said i want to go higher, he said no.
So i hung up, looked him up and found his myspace website, found out that he isn't infact a manager at all - so i filled a complaint against the two of them that lied to me

I have not been abusive once during these past few weeks, I just want my phone connected so I can get DSL.

anyway back on track, last night I got a call saying that they're willing to offer me a $480 credit on having a brand new line installed (monday, 1pm - $299 cost) and one months free internet ($180) because I'm a business customer (the phone line is at home)
so all in all, you couldn't have been much more wrong

I lodged a complaint with the TIO and they said I have a right to claim CSG, which as a business customer entitles me to something like $48/day for every business day from 5 days after the initial connection attempt, ie. it would cost them less to put the new line in and give me a months free internet than it would to pay my CSG claim out

just for laughs, this is what I sent to this arrogant wanker 20 year old kid at telstra, who is one of three telstra employees i've filed official complaints against (in writing and via the phone)
(I sent it to his mummy too, because he has her on his myspace)

>Hi Kisharn,
>
> Remember me?
>
> Well you probably don't, you talked down to me as though you were all
> high and mighty sitting at your telstra desk in your pleb job.
>
> Well, Kisharn (Delta 286913), turns out you're not as smart as you think
> you are.
> Treating customers like s*** is what telstra is known for, its just that
> most of the customers won't do anything about it.
>
> Not me though, see I managed to find your myspace which to my surprise
> has your occupation listed as a nobody at telstra.
> Not quite the manager you portrayed yourself to be on the phone
> yesterday now, is it?
>
> See I was pissed off that it was taking 32 days to connect my phone in
> the first place, then I had some smart ass 20 year old kid talk down to
> me and lie to me about being a manager
> Not to mention telling me I was wrong about something I had on my
> screen, from a reliable source such as the TIO.
>
> So I've filed a formal complaint, congrats on a job well done.
>
> Regards,
>
> Some guy you probably shouldn't have treated like an idiot

last edited by teq at 10:28:30 12/Jan/08
telcos seem to be really really s*** at connecting/disconnecting/moving accounts

we had issues with iinet moving our account from one house to another
3x0dus
and realistically the moral of the story is complaints manager will do anything to shut you up, even it, is completely opposite to procedure.

and once again they are going to connect a complete new line, because they cant touch the other one, so its still the previous owners fault that has caused half the issues.

Actually surprised they didn't just send you a an interim phone (mobile), then they would of provided you with the phone service till the other one is completed, but the phone part of the service is not really what you want tho.

now as per the 5day to connect policy (Working days), if you actually applied on 11th the day you posted.

Monday the 21st is 1 day over 5 working days, given the high workload atm due to faults.
Telstra would be exempt from the CSG due to mass service disruptions.

last edited by 3x0dus at 13:10:01 12/Jan/08
you're not listening, I applied on the 19th of December
3x0dus
BRISBANE REGION Friday, 14 December 2007 Monday, 31 December 200, Friday, 4 January 2008 Monday, 21 January 2008

needless to say, you should have been at least provided with an interim service.
yer not once during the entire proceedure did any member from telstra or any other company mention the words major service disruption/fault

either way, I win
oh, and why can they get someone out for $300 within 24hrs notice but not send someone out to SWAP TWO PAIRS on an exchange for 32 days?

major service disruption my ass, i bet they say that every year because they're understaffed over christmas
Denominator
Make heaps of long distance calls on the line if its not in your name you dont have to pay. O and go buy a modem and use dial up internet for a couple of weeks
im on a free/temporary dialup they gave me already
im actually on good terms with the old owner of the unit, he's been pretty helpful

allowing me access to his telephone account (ie, telling the company to talk to me) so i know he cancelled the service back in the first week of jan (04th i think)
so just to update this.

today I received a $300 credit from telstra and i will be getting further compensation from iinet for downtime etc.
I had a new phone line installed in the place and the existing one is still unable to be used for another week - but I dont care anymore

all in all, quite profitable really
goes to show you shouldn't just let telstra off the hook when they try to screw you
post his myspace!
lol i just checked it again, he's since made it private
maybe his mummy gave him a serve

http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewprofile&friendid=264862193
Cable internet at my place (Runaway Bay) has been out for a grand total of 20 hours since saturday TELSTRA suck !!!
well, just come to say that it took me 11.5 weeks to get our phone line connected to telstra after we were connected onto optus' line for some reason and had to switch as TPG only supported Telstra.

I don't want to go into much detail cos it was the worst bulls*** I've ever had to deal with, but I called countless times, spent countless hours on the phone to countless people. And each time I called they had messed up information or not filled in the correct forms even though they informed me otherwise.

I had to get a technician out three times to do the switchover (taking time off uni and work).

f***ing BULLs***!

Question; are you able to call any emergency services with the phone not connected? Cos if you can't... that's kinda dangerous...
I moved on the 12th if Dec and Optus couln't connect me until the 3rd of Jan - missed me off big time.

Worse, I'm still waiting for Foxtel (requested 12th and connection on 16th!)

well, just come to say that it took me 11.5 weeks to get our phone line connected to telstra after we were connected onto optus' line for some reason and had to switch as TPG only supported Telstra.

I was on TPG with Optus at my old place...
Cable internet at my place (Runaway Bay) has been out for a grand total of 20 hours since saturday TELSTRA suck !!!

Hey reverend where in Runaway Bay are you?

Reason: Inappropriate
Click Here to See the Profile for paveway Edit This Post Click Here to send paveway an email Users HomePage Message User
One week wasn't enough? Give the pointless flaming a rest dude.
myWhiteWolf
>Hi Kisharn,
>
> Remember me?
>
> Well you probably don't, you talked down to me as though you were all
> high and mighty sitting at your telstra desk in your pleb job.
>
> Well, Kisharn (Delta 286913), turns out you're not as smart as you think
> you are.
> Treating customers like s*** is what telstra is known for, its just that
> most of the customers won't do anything about it.
>
> Not me though, see I managed to find your myspace which to my surprise
> has your occupation listed as a nobody at telstra.
> Not quite the manager you portrayed yourself to be on the phone
> yesterday now, is it?
>
> See I was pissed off that it was taking 32 days to connect my phone in
> the first place, then I had some smart ass 20 year old kid talk down to
> me and lie to me about being a manager
> Not to mention telling me I was wrong about something I had on my
> screen, from a reliable source such as the TIO.
>
> So I've filed a formal complaint, congrats on a job well done.
>
> Regards,
>
> Some guy you probably shouldn't have treated like an idiot

now that was pretty gay, not saying he didn't deserve it. I'm just saying that your stalking / harassing someone (and their mother none the less) because you didn't get what you wanted when you wanted it.

maybe you where talking to the wrong company? i mean, they ended up paying you for a new line to be installed. thats a fair statement that they couldn't just transfer over the phone line.

seriously. what do Telstra owe you?

i just find it funny that you decide to harass someones personal life and their family just because there professional conduct wasn't how you wanted it to be.
Hey reverend where in Runaway Bay are you?

Runaway Bay Retirement Home :P
he deserved it, I stand by that
being talked to the way I did by someone whos supposed to be helping me, whilst being lied too

I hope his mummy spanked his bottom until it was red raw
it's his own fault for being entirely too stupid / ignorant, myspace has caught plenty of people out

he is just +1
myWhiteWolf
oh, no doubt he deserved it. however involving his family was probably a bit too much i think.
Sivinance
I agree with myWhiteWolf

teq overstepped the mark. Its like beating up a small girl, just like a thug.

I think you should go rape his mother and take pics teq, that would show him.
pffts to you guys, it was funny
Herron
Telstra are great! 2 weeks ago during the really windy weather a Telstra line came down that was connected to my house at 6:45am. It was dangling just low enough to be in the road of the traffic, only sedans could get through easily. I called the SES who told me to call the service provider which I did and was told someone would be there when available. It was stressed that I shouldn't touch the cable as it could have dangerous current running through it. I stayed outside warning traffic etc for 2 hours before an off duty copper walked past and got the cops to take over (I never thought of that). When they arrived I went and chased Telstra up only to be told they had no record of the incident and that my suburb didn't exist. I let them know the cops are now here managing traffic and to get someone out straight away but was just told someone would come when available. I told the police the situation and they chased it up through their contacts. Same lack of urgency was shown to them. Not until 1230pm did a Telstra rep get there. He saw the cable, said it was either Foxtel or Optus and he can't help, the cops pointed out the actual Optus line. He called a Foxtel tech who wouldn't be there for at least 1.5hrs. The cops told me the go and I went and showed them the line connected to the grey box on the house with TELSTRA written as clear as day on it. At 3:30pm 2 vehicles arrived, a Telstra bucket-truck and a Telstra Bigpond van - yeah it wasn't a Telstra line! To take 8.5hrs to fix something that is dangerous with police involved, it doesn't suprise me they take so long to connect a phone.

LOLOLOL Rav you cheecky man if i had any Q3 skill you would be in big troub mate .. Clint im in clam street do you know it ??

Haha yeah I do!

Used to have a friend lived there.. I'm in Jacaranda Ave :D
LOLOLOL Rav you cheecky man if i had any Q3 skill you would be in big troub mate ..

i havent played q3 in a while. you would probably pwn me.