Topic: Triple J Hottest 100

Time to vote.

Unforunately I haven't listened to the J's enough this year to know the names of the songs and bands that I enjoy hearing when the radio is on, so I had to fall back on what I know well. I'll be the first to admit that this list is pretty bland, but there are a few songs there that I had to vote on, and the rest are, like I said, just what I know I enjoy.

Here is my list of 10

Damien Rice - Rootless Tree
Missy Higgins - Warm Whispers
Muse - Knights of Cydonia
Silverchair - All Across The World
Silverchair - If You Keep Losing Sleep
Silverchair - Straight Lines
Tegan And Sara - Back In Your Head
Tegan And Sara - The Con
White Stripes - Icky Thump
Something For Kate - California

Songs that made the shortlist

Angus & Julia Stone - Wasted
John Butler Trio - Better Than
Jose Gonzalez - Down The Line
Jose Gonzalez - Teardrop
Kaiser Chiefs - Ruby
Missy Higgins - Steer
Something For Kate - The Futurist
hmm, i thought knights of cydonia was no 9 last year..they can have it again?
Well I definitely voted for it last year, but I can't remember it actually being in the top 100... Starlight was the highest ranking Muse song, IIRC.
You could vote for knights last year but it didnt make the 100, hope it gets number 1 this year.
groganus
i forsee silver chair taking home the cake.
Silverchair in high rotation makes me want to vomit
Lunch
Klaxons - Golden Skans
Dappled Cities Fly - Holy Chord
Calvin Harris - Acceptable In The 80s
Chemical Brothers - The Salmon Dance
Eskimo Joe - New York
John Butler Trio - Better Than
Sigur Ros - Hljomalind
Cribs - Men's Needs
Klaxons - It's Not Over Yet
Wolfmother - Pleased To Meet You
Foo Fighters - The Pretender
Shins, The - Phantom Limb
Bloc Party - Flux
Bloc Party - Hunting For Witches
Silverchair - If You Keep Losing Sleep
Chemical Brothers (Feat. Klaxons) - All Rights Reversed
Presets, The - My People
Ok wtf eskimo joe - new york definitely was in the 100 last year gg jjj.
Mitch
Cribs - Men's Needs

With a band name like that surely not
Lunch
Ok wtf eskimo joe - new york definitely was in the 100 last year gg jjj.

It was?

that whole album was on such high rotation that I refused to listen to it until recently. Not using the radio for where I get my music from definitely changes timelines that I come across songs :)

Then again I flew to the Sydney BDO last year to see Dappled Cities Might Fly and yet their stuff appears in this years voting list too, so who knows.

last edited by Lunch at 21:14:50 04/Jan/08
Mitch
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Triple_J_Hottest_100%2C_2006

There is the list :D from last year for comparison
didnt really listen to jjj this year so i have no idea of what music richard kingsmill thinks is cool

so this 100 should be full of surprises - what is the deal with songs from the last poll being allowed into this poll though?
Mitch
Panics, The - Don't Fight It
Punks Jump Up - Dance To Our Disco
Young And Restless - Police Police
British India - Tie Up My Hands
Foo Fighters - Let It Die
Jose Gonzalez - How Low
Operator Please - Leave It Alone

last edited by Mitch at 22:51:38 04/Jan/08
Kilos
My top 10 picks from the list provided (note: this isn't what I think will actually be in the top 10, just what I want to appear):

Tegan And Sara - The Con
Tokyo Police Club - Nature Of The Experiment
Trial Kennedy - The Great Escape
Aesop Rock - None Shall Pass
Against Me! - White People For Peace
Bad Day Down - Haditha: Democracy Assasinated The Family Here
Dropkick Murphys - The State Of Massachussets
Hilltop Hoods - Recapturing The Vibe (Restrung)
Iron On - One Man Band
Sigur Ros - Hljomalind
According to that wiki, "New York" was 95 last year.
There could be some bug in the system where if enough people "Add track" or whatever the extra option is, it's added to the list. When I looked yesterday Muse only had 1 song, now they have 2.
yah I voted 1 Jan (coz I was awake when the email came due to time diff) and there was defo no muse (I checked for them) - I'd say people added them.

It's going to be an all nighter for me, luckily it's a sat, 10am = 11pm here and finish at 7am (if I make it to #1) can't wait :D

last edited by HeardY at 07:15:52 05/Jan/08
is triple j still playing that abo gangstaH rap.. i kinda tuned out after listening to that for a few weeks
maybe it was a bad patch

edit
o f***yeah aussie day falls on a Saturday.. looks like i might plan a trip to cocos in Amsterdam to celebrate

or maybe a beer and bbq in the new place .. although it will be a bout -4 deg

f***in rockin

last edited by Superform at 06:21:14 05/Jan/08
phathead
Beck - Timebomb
Birds Of Tokyo - Wayside
British India - Run The Red Light
Faker - This Heart Attack
Midnight Juggernauts - Tombstone
Kisschasy - Strings And Drums
Klaxons - It's Not Over Yet
Getaway Plan - Streetlight
Gyroscope - Snakeskin
Academy Is, The - Neighbors
as much as a love muse how the hell are songs from an album 18 months old allowed to be on the hottest 100?
probably when it was released as a single
Arcade Fire - Intervention
Arctic Monkeys - Brianstorm
Bumblebeez - Dr Love
Chemical Brothers - Saturate
Fratellis - Chelsea Dagger
Go! Team - Grip Like A Vice
Living End, The - Rising Sun
Lupe Fiasco - Dumb It Down
M.I.A - Paper Planes
Urthboy - We Get Around
XandraX
Lior - Heal Me
Radiohead - House Of Cards
Sarah Blasko - Planet New Year
Shins, The - Australia
Shins, The - Phantom Limb
Shins, The - Turn On Me
Silverchair - Reflections Of A Sound
White Stripes - Rag And Bone
revival!
torn up bigtime over narrowing it down to just 10.
my taste is superior.

Art Brut - Direct Hit
Cribs - Men's Needs
Hard-Fi - Suburban Knights
Howling Bells - Cities Burning Down
Red Jezebel - More Than You'll Ever Know
Red Riders - My Love Is Stronger Than Your Love
Tori Amos - Big Wheel
Van She - Cat and The Eye
VHS Or Beta - Can't Believe A Single Word
Wombats, The - Moving To New York

narrowly missing out were

Silversun Pickups - Well Thought Out Twinkles
Urthboy (Feat. Mia Dyson) - Over Before It Began
Regina Spektor - Better
Pendulum - Granite
Lior - Heal Me
Simian Mobile Disco - I Believe
Sarah Blasko - Always On This Line
Presets, The - My People
Jose Gonzalez - Teardrop
Robyn - With Every Heartbeat

mm i could nearly use my alternate email. nahhhh

last edited by scooby at 16:59:52 10/Jan/08
AvaLon
Daft Punk - Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger (live)
Chemical Brothers - Saturate
Cut Copy - Hearts On Fire
Daft Punk - Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger (live)
Digitalism - Pogo
Feist - 1234
Hilltop Hoods - Recapturing The Vibe (Restrung)
Kasabian - Shoot the Runner
M.I.A - Paper Planes
Muscles - Sweaty
Pendulum - Blood Sugar
Regina Spektor - Real Love

ps. i know it's not cool to like muscles... but f*** you ok.

last edited by taggs at 19:05:04 10/Jan/08
Morgan
lol at caring if other people like your taste in music
lol at thinking someone cares about what other people think about their taste in music and not realising it was a light hearted jab at the people who don't share the same taste in music with the aforementioned person.

LOL!
Battles - Leyendecker
Bloc Party - Hunting For Witches
Cold War Kids - Hang Me Up To Dry
Eagles Of Death Metal - I Got A Feelin
Modest Mouse - We've Got Everything
Muscles - Ice Cream
Peeping Tom - We're Not Alone
Queens Of The Stone Age - I'm Designer
Regina Spektor - That Time
Soko - I'll Kill Her
Blue King Brown - Stand Up
Coheed And Cambria - The Running Free
Decemberists - The Crane Wife
Foo Fighters - Cheer Up Boys (Your Make-up Is Running)
Killers, The - For Reasons Unknown
Klaxons - Golden Skans
Maximo Park - Girls Who Play Guitars
Powderfinger - Head Up In The Clouds
Queens Of The Stone Age - 3's & 7's
Radiohead - Bodysnatchers

I somehow think in reality it will be full of Silverchair and Powderfinger, though.
aP
Tegan And Sara - The Con
Black Rebel Motorcycle Club - Weapon Of Choice
M.I.A - Paper Planes
Modest Mouse - Dashboard
Plug-In City - Broke On A Wheel
Queens Of The Stone Age - Suture Up Your Future
Regurgitator - Blood And Spunk
Digitalism - Pogo

A good mix I thought.
Saw Black Rebel last week, amazing 2 and half hour set.
Ok, so regardless of who we voted for, who do you think will be #1?
List only 3!!! I think either:

Silverchair - Straight Lines

Muse - Knights

White Stripes - Icky
silverchair, no doubts!
Often the #1 is a bit of an underdog, or an extremely popular song that no one thinks of because everyone gets wrapped up in the popular suggestion!
I'll kill her?? I reckon it's gotta be high.
^Any song i overly dislike i have ignored.
Ok, so regardless of who we voted for, who do you think will be #1?
List only 3!!!

1. Silverchair - Straight Lines
2. Powderfinger - Lost and Running
3. Foo Fighters - The Pretender

laaaame.
Lupe Fiasco for the win!
#1 will definately be silverchair or powderfinger, as horribly f***ing over-rated as they are

Not on JJJ, but checkout this brissie artist - http://www.myspace.com/elkesarah

I think she's awesome! :D
Soko - I'll Kill Her
Silversun Pickups - Lazy Eye
Kanye West - Stronger
Long Blondes, The - Once & Never Again
Regina Spektor - Real Love
Serj Tankian - Empty Walls
Yeah Yeah Yeahs - Down Boy

Stark contrast to previous years in which I've had a lot of Aussie bands, but this year all my favourite songs were by international artists! I had a lot lot lot less on my shortlist too.
kappa|
pretty sure powderfinger are not over-rated and s*** over the new silverchair.
nah powderfinger are overrated. Its no coincidence that PDF is a good abbreviation for powderfinger, cuz its also an abbreviation for a s*** document format.

I remember the first Powderfinger song I heard back in the day - DAF. Upon first listening I was like "hey that's a cool song" and went out and bought the single (this is back in the days when I was a retard and bought CD singles).

After I listened to it a few times I decided it wasn't actually all that. I could never put my finger on what it was but I just found it boring, and to this day I don't really enjoy a lot of PDF stuff.

I took the single back and exchanged it for Bush's single at the time (I think it was Comedown). Needless to say I have learned to a) not buy CD singles because SRSLY and b) listen to music a couple times before rushing out and giving the record industry money for it
Not on JJJ, but checkout this brissie artist - http://www.myspace.com/elkesarah

I like her!
sure silverchair and powder might get high...but i really dont think so and have changed my mind.

Top 5 should look more like this:

1. Muse - Kinights of Cydonia
2. Cold War Kids - Hang me up to dry
3. Kings of leon - On Call
4. M.I.A. - Paper planes

panics - don't fight it, foo fighters - pretender, silverchair, powderfinger, white stripe - icky thump could all make 5th
kappa|
After I listened to it a few times I decided it wasn't actually all that.

Each to their own I guess. Ive always liked them and im not a person who is big into mainstream aka nova'ism.

ps. if your into justice listen to boys noize.
Powderfinger's early work >>>>>>>>>>>> recent stuff...
I took the single back and exchanged it for Bush's single at the time (I think it was Comedown). Needless to say I have learned to a) not buy CD singles because SRSLY and b) listen to music a couple times before rushing out and giving the record industry money for it
trog admits piracy.
false, all my new music comes from one place - triplej.
all I can say is thank f*** 'straight lines' isnt number 1.

last edited by sLaps_Forehead at 18:41:00 26/Jan/08
I hear you.
I f***ing reckon...

You don't give grats to a band that has moved backwards...

That's like giving "Zebra" song of the year when JBT moved from epic 13 minute celtic guitar compositions to pop rock s***ness.
managed to wake up in time to listen to no 1 live woot
DM
Eh. For me the radio stopped being fun when tony martin and mick molloy were taken off the air. All the music I listen to now though would never be heard on radio as 90% of it is japanese or heavy metal
Mitch

Amen to that
lol just won so much moneys
aP
DM, what Japanese stuff?
stagrrr
lol r_mazing just won $3000.00 dollars by picking the winner of hottest 100 but lost by passing out first. see ya next year douche bag...
LOLOLOLLOLOLLmoney ftw
DM
Ali Project, Tainaka Sachi, Chihira Minori, Kotoko, BeForU, Maximum the Hormone (lol name), a ton of anime such as OSTs, OPs and EDs and a bit of X-Japan mainly. While I cant understand most of it, just the general sound of the music is so diffrent than what we have here that i'm hooked on it.
best nigght ever wooooooooooooooooo
thank everyone for the closest votes ever

w0ot I won $972....

UP YAS
IMO knights of cydonia was pretty undeserving, that whole album is meh... and thats coming from a massive muse fan (but obviously not the biggest)... Also.. thats probably my least favourite song on the album too..

But in saying that i can't really suggest a song that is more deserving.

Lady Lumps?
got 4 songs in the top 10. stoked.

deserving top song? Panics - Don't Fight it.
sooooooooooooooooo crook.
Zaphod
got 4 songs in the top 10. stoked.

Hmm I actually prefer it if my song choices are either lower in the chart or don't make it in at all. Less of a feeling of just going with the herd.
werd to that zaphod, hi5 for unique taste

knights of cydonia totally deserves the win, well done everybody

i am totally surprised that the daft punk live version of stronger did so well considering the kanye version is pretty much the same song

last edited by scooby at 23:32:47 27/Jan/08
Zaphod
Clearly Daft Punk's recent tour influenced the vote there (ditto Muse getting #1).
I thought what Daft Punk brought to the table was more of a youtube video than a song.

last edited by Idol at 08:11:38 28/Jan/08
Never heard of the #1 song before.
Not important enough to have it's own thread, but anyway...

Also.. thats probably my least favourite song on the album too..
You're crazy, lady! I f***in love that song. It is my fireup song when I'm going to play soccer - crank it up in the car driving to the pitch to get into the mood.

Noone's gonna take me alive!
werd Knights of Cydonia is probably the best song on the album & the album is pretty good (imo)
Kilos
false, all my new music comes from one place - triplej.

You poor bastard.
The music itself in the song is well written, i just dont like the actual sound of the song... It sounds really westerny.. or something, can't quite put my finger on it when i'm not listening to it.

It just really reminds me of something that would be played on a westen movie, during a fight scene while everyones on horse back? lol. Does that make sense to ANYONE else..? I just don't really like the image i get in my head when i hear the song... And now that i have that image it won't go away.. Much like how some CDs or songs can remind you of a place (physically, or emotionally) you were when you used to listen to it.
It just really reminds me of something that would be played on a westen movie, during a fight scene while everyones on horse back? lol. Does that make sense to ANYONE else..?
haha try skipping the first say, 20 seconds of the song :)
Monkey_Magic
OMG someone else agrees, that song gives off a stupid western-ish feel, that i got the first time i heard it, and now its stuck with me forever.

Anyway, i think lots of people (like myself) can't actually be bothered voting because it won't affect the music i like anyway, seems weird that TAB let you bet on an event you can influence too...

You poor bastard.

And where else does it come from? 4ZZZ? LOL
haha try skipping the first say, 20 seconds of the song :)

I believe the intro to a song can be the most important part. If i dont like the sound to an introduction i'm far more likely to skip the whole song when it comes on...

I've given the song (and CD) a fair enough listen to. I've probably seen Muse roughly about the same times live as you have trog. I trekked to Melbourne to see their latest album live (last january), and while i do believe its alot better live than on the album, i'm still generally not into the album at all, and particularly that song.. But i'm not saying it's a bad song, it's well written etc, and i can see why people like it.. I just don't...

But now it is stuck in my head.. pooo.

Fair enough; I love the last album and Knights in particular - I guess its a pretty different sound to their last stuff so I can see why some people aren't as into it as the old stuff, but I actually like this band's evolving sound ((for a change - generally it s***s me - see: grinspoon)
And where else does it come from? 4ZZZ? LOL

i get all my new music from the internet or recommendations of friends. jjj only plays a very limited selection of new (original) music & the flavour these days is definitely pop.
your music tastes are mental though demon, not like us young kids!
lies! i'm into what the kids like...

I think this is more your scene:

(this is like the first time I've ever embedded a youtube, hope it works)

consider this thread, over.
dom from muse came on the radio the other day and explained the song,
they came up with the riff while mucking around on the tour bus
and yea its supposed to sound like a western.... and they meant for it to make you think of riding on horseback through cydonia (which is the part of mars that looks like the face). wd muse mission accomplished
But its s***, it doesnt make me ever want to listen to it.. GG, they accomplished failure in my mind then.

Edit: I shouldn't say its s***, because i've already said the song itself is well written, but yeah you get my point.

last edited by Joanna at 16:59:55 31/Jan/08
Best song ever!