Topic: So now I'm homeless...
épic™
yay our real estate sent us a notice saying they didn't want to renew our lease.. and that we had to move out in 2 weeks. well today is the day we have to be out by and we still havn't found a new place.. me and my gf are finding it impossible to rent a place!! wtf is wrong with us lol.. fair enough we are both only 21 but still.. :/ every place we have applied for === DENIED! which is gay because we have always paid our rent on time and kept our place in perfect condition..

finding a rental atm is f***ed :(

anybody work in a real estate agency or have any hookups?? or maybe you a super rich and want to rent us your place.. ;)

any advice would be appreciated because atm we are couch surfing our parents / friends / etc etc :(

unlucky :( same thing happened to me last year. ended up just finding some s***hole.

sucks being so young and trying to find a place.
is two weeks a long enough period of notice? did you check with the RTA? it doesn't sound like a reasonable period to have to find a new place to me
http://qgl.ausforums.com/?agn=thread&id=2561024&startid=0

there is help
dude that sucks. good luck.
yer it is long enough, i checked when it happened to me
That sucks. I don't get what it is with landlords not renewing younger people leases for no apparent reason - happened to a mate of mine recently to, and he had not done anything to warrant it at all.
as best I can tell from the rta site, how much notice you've been given will depend on when they gave it to you - did they give you the notice at least 2 weeks prior to the end of your tenancy agreement expiry, or did they give you the notice after your tenancy had expired?

if the former, then yeah all they had to give you was 2 weeks :(

if the latter, and no additional agreement was entered into, it means your tenancy changed to a periodic tenancy in which case they have to give you 2 months (if I'm right in choosing the 'without grounds' box to arrive at that timeframe - call the rta for confirmation)

http://www.rta.qld.gov.au/at_the_end_of_a_fixed_term_agreement_.cfm
http://www.rta.qld.gov.au/zone_files/Fact_Sheets/noticegt.pdf

not an answer to your actual question, but it might mean you can at least push to stay where you are and have a more reasonable timeframe to find a new place

last edited by Jim at 10:13:58 13/Oct/07
Crusher
its simple.. with the rental crisis and low unemployment, landlords can jack the price of rents up and cash in.

the apartment under me had its tenants kicked out a few weeks ago. They were paying $290 a week, it has just been tenanted again for $410 a week.
Jim: I think if you're at the end of a longer term lease, it's only 2 weeks notice before the end. I do know that if you're on a month by month lease though, they have to give you a full 4 weeks notice.

An agent tried to scam us out on that one once and we hit them up for staying our last 2 weeks rent free.
Yeah rental prices are astronomical atm. And prices don't differ ALOT from inner city to 30 mins out of the city.
Dodgymon
where are you thinking of living because I might be able to hook you up?

if you have been a good tenant, try and get a reference off your current realestate agent. realestate agents don't trust tenants but they listen to other agents.

might help you with your applicaitons.

in the meantime i suggest you move your stuff into storage and crash at friends places while you look. having your stuff moved onto the footpath by the agent won't get your a reference :)
This thread makes me so f***ing glad I don't rent anymore.

Good luck mate :(
Yeah rental prices are astronomical atm. And prices don't differ ALOT from inner city to 30 mins out of the city.
Hell, even a 1 bedroom apartment in westend costs the same as one in the city... wtf?
Sorry to hear man, that really blows.. I guess you can really only do as Ara suggested. Maybe pick up a dungy s*** box in the outer suburbs for a short term lease while you find somewhere more suitable.

If all else fails, put the gf "to work" at night and sleep where she entertains.
I just moved into a 7 bedroom house at Runcorn for $150 a week. So far I've had 2 people where I work wanting to move in with me...the money I could make charging those 2 I could live rent free =)
Bullet Rain
I just moved into a 7 bedroom house at Runcorn for $150 a week.
I find that very hard to believe. s***box houses in runcorn are like 250+... let alone a 7 bedroom house.

But it definately sux to be renting out the moment.

I lub my new house up in the sunnybank hills

last edited by Bullet Rain at 15:07:54 13/Oct/07
what the hell is with these helpful replies? surely the normal qgl responce should be along the lines of :-

just choose to not be homeless. (practacalities don't factor, its a state of mind maenz.)

earn more money. if you're only earning the amount you are, you're not trying hard enough.

taser anything that makes a loud noise or disobeys a verbal command.

etc...

any advice would be appreciated

we stayed in a very temporary house for 2 months, then we bought a place.

screw renting off for a joke, every dollar i spend on this house is not going into some other wanker's pocket.

rough it for a while, save like buggery then buy.
I'm actually house sitting for my friend for the next 4-6 years. He works for customs and has been posted to cairns with his family so I got his house =)
Polished wooden floors, huge backyard, great varanda out back ideal for BBQ's.
your evil influence (the root of all qgl unholiness imo) hadn't yet manifested itself in this thread demon
we're all pretty angelic until you come along
smashcrab
It might not apply in your case, but just in case (I forgot to post this in the other thread).

Forums with food van/accom info for Brisbane
Check page 40 for updated infos http://forums.homeless.org.au/showthread.php?t=12

I had a whole bunch of links like that that we're handy for temp accomodation, but its saturday and im crunk. Check back later if you have no luck.

I went through the same s*** (real estate kicking mates and I out, not even notice etc) and ended up really roughing it for about 3 months before finding any accomodation at all. It sucked. Then it was another 4 months before I found something semi-comfortable (a bed, and my own room).

Best of luck dude. Renting sucks teh cock.
épic™
hey guys thanks for all the nice replies :D makes me feel loved.. hehe.

i cant complain too much. right now im in a nice unit down the coast watching back to the future on a 50" plasma.. :P so im not really "homeless". my sister is in japan for 2 weeks so we are gonna house sit here for a while. will be a bitch getting to work / gf getting to uni but its better then staying with the parents.. hehe.

Dodgymon we want to live annerley / greenslopes / mt gravatt etc.. but if you can hook us up anywhere at this point we would be grateful :) (as long as its not beenleigh or inala lol)

buying a place is def an option.. i have enough saved for deposit prob, and i just did a loan calc thing and i can borrow enough for a decent place i tihnk.. so that might be the way we go :/

isnt life fun??

thx again for all the love <3
every dollar i spend on this house is not going into some other wanker's pocket

... Well except for that pesky bank and their interest rates

and 4 weeks is the notice they give.

But perhaps you need to look at renting in some other suburbs. eg. Zillmere cheap, Chermside sell your grandma expensive. Yet only 2 mins apart.
record unemployment but no one can afford a roof over their heads!>!? absolutely f***ing crazy!

Howard and Costello alseep at the wheel riding the mineral boom.

gg Libs

it is hard to lump it all with the federal government.

in nsw we have a state government that constantly drags its feet releasing land for houses and which doesn't build public transport or upgrade roads and which then smashes new homebuyers with massive stamp duties to fund public infrastructure which they don't even build. the combination of which means no one wants to live in the burbs.

this in turn has forced up prices in the inner city suburbs and caused average house prices to fall in the burbs.

how can you lay that on the federal government?

last edited by ara at 01:43:49 14/Oct/07
record unemployment but no one can afford a roof over their heads!>!? absolutely f***ing crazy!

gg Libs
what can the government do about it? Isnt it a lack of houses not people charging too much?
Dodgymon
check ur PM
TufNuT
i here there are some cheap spots under the story bridge, mite wanna look there, river side view :P
I'm going to be in the same position in 4 weeks, lease is up and i cant renew cause my housemates are moving for work or going OS. Finding a place is hard enough so far let alone anyone to share it with, i can feel some couch surfing coming on - just have to store my home studio and multitute of s*** somewhere :(
Wouldn't your real estate agent get you another rental?

i'm yet to find a real estate agent that can sucessfully do anything other than take your money, or f*** up.

qft

still, there's websites around to help find others who need a new flat/housemate. it's be good if they had 'gaming/it' sections so you can find people with similar lifestyles with greater ease
People just love to complain. In a market you have buyers and sellers. Someone must have some money cause they are paying the higher prices for real estate - even the s*** boxes.

The real problem is twofold:

1. people are too picky and want to live within 10km of the CBD for a song;
2. the state government is too slow in releasing new land for development on the outskirts where poor people can afford to buy.

Consider going bush if you have no money. Australia is a pretty big place.
Don't buy a house. Don't rent one. LEASE one. It is almost a really bad idea to buy atm.
unless I am missing the point here toll - renting = leasing, you have to sign a lease/contract when you rent...

have i missed the point?
Its settled then... Epic + SquarkyD can move in together.

DEAL.
australia is over populated anyway
yeah by about -180 million
I'm with heardy, whats the diff with renting & leasing?
end of the lease you get the option to pay a small amount and own it
yeah by about -180 million

maybe in terms of person per square kilometer of space, but there are alot of other factors involved when determining over population

Leasing is different to renting in a number of ways:
a) the time frame is longer (up to 10 years or more), like commercial leases;
b) ownership can be different (eg. property trusts and superannuation funds, as well
as individuals), whereas rental premises are usually owned by individuals or
consortiums;
c) the lessee can modify the home, by agreement with the lessor.

That was taken from here.
Australia is chronically underpopulated. We need so many workers right now it's not funny. I hope whoever gets into government boosts immigration massively. I don't even care where they come from.

Regarding leasing v. renting - renting is casual tenancy governed by the Residential Tenancies Act which provides basic rights for tenants regarding certainty. A lease provides a guaranteed period of occupancy which cannot be broken e.g. even in the case of sale of the property. However in return the tenant would be subject to some form of financial penalty were they to leave the tenancy early.

So leasing is not equal to renting imo.
infi you should be a poli
I wonder how many dole bludgers would be tradies if they didn't get spoon fed the dole? None, cause they are too lazy heheh
why insult me like that?
because you think like one
buying a place is def an option.. i have enough saved for deposit prob, and i just did a loan calc thing and i can borrow enough for a decent place i tihnk.. so that might be the way we go :/

Ahh if you have the deposit it should be the ONLY way to go! Why pay off someone else's mortage unless you are a life renter in that case stop here. Do it now cause prices arent going to get cheaper. Maybe i'm missing something here? I'd rent you mine but it's rented :P :P

paveway: did you seriously just say Australia is overpopulated? Wow, retard.
alot of the time it's better to buy than rent because you are building equity in an appreciating asset.

that doesn't mean that it is always the better option. if you have the disicpline to put the same amount of money into assets while renting then effectively you are doing the same thing. in fact it in some cases can be better because you aren't paying interest, insurance, maintenance and a whole f***load of other costs that come with home ownership.

the rent vs. buy option depends on a heap of different things.

like i said, depends what you consider over population to be

if you just want to split up the amount of people over the surface of the county then sure we have plenty of space

if you look at, can we continue to produce food and have water for this apparently under populated but ever growing population thats another story

not to mention the environment in general
Paveway is poorly expressing his idea.

I think the point he is trying to make is ...

Our capital cities are too big (more in sprawl then in population). Brisbane in particular is a massive country town, where everything is in the middle and the people are on the outside. And that outside is now up to 45mins from "town".

And if it was his point, then I agree.

But we are far from over populated.

Town planning has been poor, and governments have not been overly successful in encouraging companies to setup regional industries. Brisbane is a prime example with competing public transport services. Public transport black holes, and only a limited number of ways across the river. Fringe area services are being reduced (eg. Caboluture Hospital) and super service center in the middle of town created (eg. RBH).

And Brisbane has weird areas of under development eg. Pinkenbar.

Need places like Maryborough to become major ports again. And to get new industries (they were a major steam engine production center, back in the day).