Agamemnon
Well as u guys know i got the ADSL2, got teh Billion 7404VGP-M (the M is very important when u go to update firmware :P)
I went thru the whole process with iinet about why i kept having some problems initially and the claim of mal-ware... (now sorted apparently) But why the hell does my modem keep dropping me off the net? Power recycle, back on for indeterminate length of time, but drops occurring periodically and its annoying as hell Ive updated firmware, connection speed is good when im on, "apparently" my settings are all good, but it keeps dropping... When it goes, i cant ping my modem Any suggestions guys? Thanks in advance |
| #0 10:07pm 28/06/07 |
Billion suck. get it replaced
last edited by koopz at 22:13:34 28/Jun/07 |
| #1 10:13pm 28/06/07 |
Are you using bit-torrent at the time? Lots and lots of incoming connections? Sometimes that knocks my router out too and its a total pain in the ass =\
| #2 10:15pm 28/06/07 |
dRanged
isn't this part 3
| #3 10:16pm 28/06/07 |
Agamemnon
heya khel
i got rid of bit-torrent after the damm dna.exe fiasco trying u-torrent atm, u think thats part of the problem? |
| #4 10:18pm 28/06/07 |
dRanged
some crappier routers have static nat translation tables.. but I would have thought anything recent wouldn't have this issue.
tell u-torrent to limit the number of connections, or the rate of which it acquires them |
| #5 10:19pm 28/06/07 |
billion rule, dont listen to koopz hes bittar and old
what speed have you got your connection set to on the speed manager in tool box? drop it back a notch and see how you go before my line got farxed, my billion was rock solid on iinet i could use thrillseeker, but drop outs were a little to common on standard, speed was excellent and maybe 1 drop out a month, if that and no doubt as you know, make sure you got the latest firmware for your router whirlpool has lots of info on iinet and billion gear as well if problems persist fyi, billions have no issues with bit torrents i run utorrent nonstop on my machine last edited by Spook at 22:25:57 28/Jun/07 |
| #6 10:25pm 28/06/07 |
Yeah, I meant bit-torrent as in the protocol, not necessarily the bit-torrent client. Any client like Azureus or uTorrent can cause the same problem. Limiting the connections can help, I find if I limit my global connections to 200 its fine, but if I leave it with no limit, it falls over if I get connected to more than 200 peers/seeds. I dunno exactly WHY it happens, I think its just cos my router doesn't have enough memory to remember the details for all those connections.
| #7 10:21pm 28/06/07 |
dRanged
yeah I had to drop back on iinet as well, kept dropping constantly. (broadcom meh)
| #8 10:22pm 28/06/07 |
dRanged
I think the nat table is like a fixed array, if you exceed the limit you get a null of some sort and bang cactus.
But this is like pre-bittorrent. Anything recently manufactured would account for this..? |
| #9 10:27pm 28/06/07 |
Agamemnon
ok i changed the connection limits in utorrent thingy
i dont know where to go to change the "speed in toolbox" sorry :( |
| #10 10:36pm 28/06/07 |
I think its just cos my router doesn't have enough memory to remember the details for all those connections That's right. You usually hit memory limitations way before processing-power limitations. (btw Billion are fine) |
| #11 12:11am 29/06/07 |
Billion suck. fixed (then change max tcp connections to 4000 something for B.T.) |
| #12 12:40am 29/06/07 |
i dont know where to go to change the "speed in toolbox" sorry :( log into toolbox at www.iinet.net.au select "speed connection manager" under account tools question for all the wrt54gl lovers. what are their adsl2 speeds like? coz i chose a billion for its connection speeds. last edited by Spook at 06:04:40 29/Jun/07 |
| #13 06:04am 29/06/07 |
Agamemnon
thanks spook
will see if that makes a difference... here's hoping :P |
| #14 11:15am 29/06/07 |
Agamemnon
ok i have an update ... the news i bring has confused me even more (not hard to do i admit :P)
Having updated firmware, downrated my speed, checked all cables etc i was hoping that there would be a marked improvement in this connectivity issue. during the most recent disconnect, i got my homestay studen to see if he still had internet (he uses my wireless) during the period in which my pc was supposedly disconnected.... HE has internet from my connection even when im disconnected?!!!! |
| #15 12:10pm 29/06/07 |
man, how are you determining you are disconnected?
what does 192.168.1.254 tell you on its status page? |
| #16 12:22pm 29/06/07 |
dRanged
I think you need a macintosh
| #17 12:42pm 29/06/07 |
Do you the line filter thingies connected throughout your household phones?
Alos, are you using wireless or wireD? |
| #18 01:18pm 29/06/07 |
Are you connecting to the router through a wireless or wired connection?
| #19 01:31pm 29/06/07 |
Are you using XP? There was a "feature" added in XP service pack 2 that limits the speed at which you can make new TCP connections, and if you go over the limit, it stops any new connections from being made. Ostensibly its for security, but I've had it play havoc with my PC when using a torrent client in the past just cos sometimes you could be getting heaps of connections made in a really short period of time if you're grabbing a popular torrent.
Check your event log, it should show up in there as a TCP error if thats the problem. Theres a patch you can download that increases the connection limit but I don't have the URL handy atm. If you find you have the error in your event log, google the error and you should find the patch. |
| #20 01:49pm 29/06/07 |
| #21 01:50pm 29/06/07 |
Agamemnon
heyas
when i get "disconnected" i cannot access the billion router via the 192.168.1.254 thingy i can not ping either and msn / ie do not connect i am definitely disconnected :( |
| #22 11:22pm 29/06/07 |
Agamemnon
Thanks for that idea Khel and spook, but i couldnt see the error u thought it might be The event viewer shows the following errors and all (well mostly) are either: DHCP Under this category the error is as follows: Your computer was not able to renew its address from the network (from the DHCP Server) for the Network Card with network address 001A92E5DE64. The following error occurred: The semaphore timeout period has expired. . Your computer will continue to try and obtain an address on its own from the network address (DHCP) server. and Your computer has automatically configured the IP address for the Network Card with network address 001A92E5DE64. The IP address being used is 169.254.238.65. For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp. TCPIP just says it finds the card again each time The key error seems to be the first one :( (too many in the damm list too) last edited by Agamemnon at 23:34:10 29/Jun/07 |
| #23 11:34pm 29/06/07 |
dont use dhcp then
give yourself a static ip right click network places, select network, rick click properies choose tcp/ip use the following ip address 192.168.1.10 255.255.255.0 and 192.168.1.254 try that |
| #24 07:29am 30/06/07 |
From what you have written, your internet is fine and working normally. The problem lies between your computer and your router. You are loosing the connection to your router for some reason or other. Since the other computer in the house works fine, it seems likely that the reason is your computer.
If your using a wired cable to connect to your router, try swapping it with the other computer and see if his starts to drop out. When your computer does drop connection to the router, do you need to restart or just wait a little bit? |
| #25 09:24am 30/06/07 |
Agamemnon
trying it :P
what can go wrong hehe... well it cant be any worse than what i have atm? |
| #26 09:26am 30/06/07 |
yer, what toll says
| #27 09:40am 30/06/07 |
Agamemnon
heya toll :)
mate all i have to do is do a power-recycle of the modem and im back on, no restart of pc required btw i would swap cables but he is on a laptop and wireless... so no cable to swap i was thinking that would be my next thing to do, buy a new damm cable just to swap to see if it was faulty or not last edited by Agamemnon at 10:11:44 30/Jun/07 |
| #28 10:11am 30/06/07 |
Agamemnon
ok still doing it after i gave it its own IP :(
will have to see ifi can get the cable tested next |
| #29 06:40pm 30/06/07 |
Agamemnon
ok i was at my brothers tonight to watch the Aussies cheat their way to a win over the kiwis (hehe)
Anyway he is a Electrician so we ran a multimeter over the cable and it came up ok im now officially at a loss :( |
| #30 10:11pm 30/06/07 |
Tried a different [physical] port on the router?
| #31 10:17pm 30/06/07 |
Agamemnon
trying port 2 now
i dont know wot else to check :( i can only guess it might be an actual network card problem on the motherboard or something :( |
| #32 10:36pm 30/06/07 |
as a test, can you try a wireless connection to your pc?
maybe your network card is had it; |
| #33 07:09am 01/07/07 |
| #33 |