Topic: dodgy phone line?!
iinet is my adsl and phone provider and they've been awesome
great speed, solid connection (extremely rare for drop outs)

anyway, last weekend im working from home (over poxy dial, where you at VPN?)

connect a few times at 50k, all good (still painful)

then go to dial in mid saturday morning last week, and the connection came up as 15k

weird, sometimes does that though, dial in again, takes AGES to connect, this time 20k

hmmm, not overly concerned, just do my thang and finish up

now however, internets start dropping out all the time;
then i also notice that using the phone line causes the internets to drop out (never done that before)

and then ive noticed speeds for adsl2 are way down (from 16000kbps to like 5000)

ok, unplug the phone entirely, small diff, speed up to 8000

wifey says i have to plug the phone back in, when ever we use it, it disconnects the adsl

im thinking, perhaps my line filter is had it?
replaced it, no diff (worse speeds, ive found that line filters can greatly affect adsl2 speeds, so i was using the one that gave the best speeds out of the 4 or so i have)

ive called iinet support, they say my line seems fine, but internets is still way slow and drop out prone

unhappy

anything else it mite be that i can try myself before ringing suppport again

note have also tried different phone plugs, no difference

maybe rain from the other day in the line somewhere?

new house being built around the corner and they are digging stuff up, could tha affect my line?
imo post this on whirlpool too
good man, on it
its not likely digging will affect the speed

if theyve hit something its likea 99% chance that you'll either lose ur net all together or notice nothing. if theyre wanker operators like burt and dont check its still a possibility.

it could just be your data point, do u know anything about the crimps and what numbers the cables are supposed to be in? just pop the point off the wall and have a look. if something looks wrong, go to another phone point in your house and look at it, they should be identical (im prety sure anyway, thats what its like with phones) (im definitely still drunk)
haha, ta petey

man, the house is pretty old and the phone lines are sus as

ive tried the other phone jack in the house, and it was pretty much the same deal (slow connection, drop outs when phone in use)

was quite surprised that the phone line worked so well originally (right up until last saturday), coz ive checked the telecom box under the house and it looks ancient . .. .
ok then

well

um

as far as wiring and s*** goes in your house, a rat could have chewed through half your s*** upstairs. if you wanna climb around your roof (and if its an ancient house trust me you dont) and look at the cable then go for it

id just ring a techie for sure dude. piss and moan and they get out quicksmart
probably like me, whenever it rains the phone pit gets flooded and your internet speeds go to s***. Not quite so bad since cable but back in the days of 56k when it rained I'd be lucky if I got 28.8k
roger that
yer whoop, thats sort of what i was thinking it mite be something like

just was hoping it would have dried out by now :(
well if telstra installed your lines, good luck with that. They don't know how to waterproof their s***, so the water gets in, degrades the physical connections and it all goes downhill. So far they've replaced my cable junctions twice in just about as many years. I mean surely a decent, water tight join should last for more than a year right?
habib
Sounds like your phone/dsl filter is f***ed (you are using a filter, right?)

edit: oops, re-read the post. Ok, so if you go to your modem's config page, what's your attenuation/noise margin?

last edited by habib at 10:58:37 17/Jun/07
DSP FirmwareVersion DMT FwVer: 3.5.18.0_A_TC, HwVer:T14F7_1.0
DMT Status Up
Operational Mode ADSL2+
Upstream 645 kbps
Downstream 5213 kbps
Noise Margin (Upstream) 8.6 db
Noise Margin (Downstream) 9.3 db
Attenuation (Upstream) 27.1 db
Attenuation (Downstream) 35.0

yer, ive tried a heap of different filters, and using the router without a phone or anything else plugged in at all

weird stuff, router syncs at higher speed with a phone and filter plugged in .. . .

im thinking the line is definatley cactus

iinet have logged a fault for me
habib
yeah you should be getting 11-15 Mbps with that attenuation

noise margin shows that modem doesn't want to sync higher because then the noise margin will be too low, i.e. you have a noisy line

so yeah, definitely sounds like a line fault since it's still bad when you unplug the phone. You don't have foxtel do you? The crappy line filters you get with the STUs have been known to fail and start screwing up adsl connections.

several good calls

we have foxtel and sync is usually 14000/15000
ok, phone line tested by telstra/iinet and its all good, which is bad news for me

whos best to get out to check my house wiring?

electrician?

any one organised to have their house inspected/rewired for a phoneline?
make sure the sparky is austel approved. i would send mine over but you're not eastside.
southside is close to eastside

if its just sparkys, i have one and will call him