Topic: $20 case Grolsch throwdowns @ BWS atm

Just a public service announcement
BWS's across Brisbane have cases of 24 Grolsch throwdowns (250ml bottle) for $20.

They're due to expire at the end of the month so they're getting rid of em.
$20 for a carton of these is an absolute bargain. Get on it!
Boofe
Swoit Peter swoit!
i love throwdowns, for their throwdownyness
what's the big deal it's just smaller beer
Get some bogan upya insom
nat
can anyone confirm that city or new farm stores have any left?
VB Throwdowns are the bogans choice.

I remember the good ole days of $19-20 VB throwdowns. Arhhh the memories (that was before it became winner of the bogans choice awards).
Go to Dan Murphy's, they will price match them.
Captain America
i dont know if i'd be excited ... this is pretty much the worse beer you can get in germany, and it does have that cheap unfinished taste to it
Dan Murphys wont stock them.

There is a reason they are selling cartons of grolsch throdowns at what would be cost price (20$). They must have been made thinking they would sell and they didn't. So now they are flogging them off cheap before they expire and become a dead asset.

BWS are prolly the only store selling them.

Also considering it is one of the s***ter premium/imported beers, why bother.
riot'us
Are you sure this is all stores? I checked the 2 BWS stores in coorparoo and they had $30 on it.
Captain America
you can buy a case of this beer for about 6 to 8 euro in germany retail so dont know if that really is $20 cost price
Seven euro works out at 11.70 $ australian at the moment. At work we go through HLW for our orders. In Australia we have alot more tax on alcohol, especially beer. I can tell u the cost price for a bottle shop on a carton of VB Throwdowns works out at 23 Dollars AU if you bulk buy.

I suppose grolsch would be cheap where it is brewed locally but 12 dollars is pretty cheap for a case of 24 - 375 ml stubbies. Throwdowns are 250 ml.

I am also pretty sure in europe their tax on beer etc is alot lower than it is here. The federal government increases tax on beer usually once every 6 months.
Tiny - Woolworths have a deal stitched up with Grolsch on the throwdown product, so BWS and Dan's both stock them. $30 is the standard price, but the BWS you saw them at for $20 may have had a batch about to go off.

BWS get this product from ALM and Dan Murphy's from their own warehouse. It is released in batches rather than constant production, so it may have been a case of notifying all stores with cartons that had an expiry date in March/April to get rid of them ASAP for $20. So it may not be all stores that have them for $20 - just the ones with the affected stock.

Dan's will match it if you get them to ring the store that has them for $20. They will go to $19.95 or something like that.

I've managed stores for both BWS and Dan's, and this is generally the way it works.