Topic: Average wage $52K
rv
Is that for real?

if it is, i pity you plebs.
I guess if your mum does 1000 guys a week, then yeah it seems right.
Fnukle
If you were the average guy Bah, she'd be able to
SpecialK
how much are you on strex?
dunno, once i made my first mil i stopped counting.
It's the average wage when you factor in the entire range. I.E. people getting paid 250 million dollers a year spike the averages up.

With the minimum wage being around $25,600 a year, I'd guess that there are more people on a lot less.

Im sure people getting paid $250 mil report their income properly as well.
Hashy
dunno, once i made my first mil i stopped counting.
me too but then the asteroids spawn real fast and it gets pretty hard :(
Fnukle
yea the mean would be 35-45k i reckon
maybe they should exclude us fence tycoons, we seem to jackup your stats.

fences mate, fences
maybe they should exclude us fence tycoons, we seem to jackup your stats.

fences mate, fences

I keep telling yo man, you keep fencing that s*** an soon enough, da man gonna bust yo ass foh real aight?
rv
thanks for your intelligent feedback
Hashy
and thank you for the excellent thread rv
dice
yeah watch it rv, hashy KNOWS qgl - he can tell you what's cool/what's not

just make a call about a plane on a treadmill that never gets old and you should be ok

damn, looks like im on minimum wage :S
rv
who is this Hashy loser anyway?

Word on the street he is not liked by many?
King Of Shibby!
I make 52k at 18.... Public>private
doing what shibby?
What happens once all the fences are built? What are you gunna do then? huh?! HUH?!
Hashy
who is this Hashy loser anyway?

Word on the street he is not liked by many?
jUST what street is this
It's the average wage when you factor in the entire range. I.E. people getting paid 250 million dollers a year spike the averages up.
there isn't a person on the planet with a wage of $250 million. kthnx.

19k... probably 20k all things considered.
rv
All roads lead to Rome Hashy.....
dice
is Rome a metaphor for Hashy's mother's house? coz him and i are so totally there already
Hashy
this is hot brb
King Of Shibby!
IT Service desk for public servants (department of finance and admin).

btw its gay and i want to stab some c*** branch managers.

fyi my branch manger throws chairs at people

fyi x 2 scuzzy is gay.
the other week on newsradio they were talking about the latest rate rise and how petrol prices are really affecting people, they spoke to a guy in sydney on just over $50K with a wife, 3 kids, and $300K morgage. If that's average, there's a lot more people doing it hard than i imagined, and you can see why consumer debt is considered such a problem, even if no one is prepared to do anything about it.
evinco

# 1 Richard D Fairbank
Capital One Financial
$249.42 million

f***! So close.
I blame John Winston Howard

I meant to type $25 million dollers, based off of the macquarie bank ceo's salary.
they spoke to a guy in sydney on just over $50K with a wife, 3 kids, and $300K morgage.

$50k in Sydney is probably really worth more like 35-40k in Brisbane when you consider how expensive everything there is.
im sure alot of you have lots of bling in your banks but seeing as the most ive seen in my bank account at one time is under 15k, we were totally blown away when a glassy found a reciept at work that said $94,982 or something from someones bank account!
farkk i'll take two
A while ago I was at the pub getting some ca$h out and I dropped the little receipt. Of course there was receipts all over the ground and I unknowingly picked up the wrong one and the balance was $99,xxx.xx.

I got all excited for a very short time :(
$50k in Sydney is probably really worth more like 35-40k in Brisbane when you consider how expensive everything there is.

This used to be true, but with my few last visits in sydney , its not that expensive compared to brisbane anymore. Brisbane has caught up with everything except the wages.

A while ago I was at the pub getting some ca$h out and I dropped the little receipt. Of course there was receipts all over the ground and I unknowingly picked up the wrong one and the balance was $99,xxx.xx.

Yeah but it that $99,xxx DR or CR?. Most people with mortage have DR amount bigger than that LOL.
Well you can't just withdraw money from your homeloan through an ATM nor would you have (I Hope) a credit card with a balance like that so I think it is safe to assume it was cash in the bank.
I unknowingly picked up the wrong one and the balance was $99,xxx.xx.

god that would have been s***
When you get those home loans with a line of credit associated with it, you get bank balances that look like that. My mum has one, and when she goes to the ATM, her balance is around $150k. That doesn't actually mean she has that much money, but the bank has given her a permanent line of credit based on the equity in her house, and she just gets all her pay put into that. As she pays off the house, the balance gets bigger. It's a bit scary really...

I also have a credit card with a balance of $45k, and I'm not doing too bad, but I'm not super rich either. I would imagine there are plenty of people out there with $100k credit cards easy.
well mav its pretty crazy to compare yourself to somone who more than likely is post-grad working in a corp (again, more than likely)

I mean, im at uni (or deffering whenever I can laff) and I only work part-time so its not like im worred that I dont earn 50K a year. But at the same time, if after my degree and maybe a little while to jump up the chain a bit, im not earning at least that much Ill pretty much consider myself a failure.

I dont care if that makes me materialistic or whatever. Its just realistic. (edit: To clarify, its realistic given the standards I have set as to what Ill need to earn) I am used to a certain lifestyle and if i cannot give myself that lifestyle working full time, post-grad then I dont see the point.

Part of the reason I left cheffing. Fully qualified, most chefs working on the line (ie, no manegerial role like a sous or head chef would have) earn about 25K a year. f*** working that hard for so little.

last edited by qmass at 14:17:08 19/Aug/06
are you as good as Iron Cheif Chen Kenichi ?
Crunch
That guy that is on $50k a year (we're talking gross here I would think, not net) with three kids (and I'm making the assumption his wife doesn't work) is f***ing stupid if he's borrowed that much for a house. Let's see: he would be getting about $2750 per month net, monthly repayments of about $2k (assuming 30 year loan) leaving $750 per month for living expenses.

$200 per month on fuel
$400 per month on food
$150 per month on utilities

^ doesn't take into account that they would be getting money from the government for the kids but still, not much left over at all. Pretty sad existence really.

Also, looking at someone's bank account and making the assumption they are well off based on the balance is silly. It could quite easily be funds from a loan. I think most people we that sort of spare cash would not have it sitting in a bank account earning 1% interest a year :)
Bj
<$10k month is lol

guess its only dumb c***s that cant work out how to drive manuals that are doing it hard though
i'm so rich i buy cars that automatically change gears for me.
you're making 10k a month, after tax and materials and wages or whatever else

10k in the bank yours to spend?
because of centrelink finally putting my payments through that they've screwed me around for for ages, i actually now get more money then i got working full time if you don't include commissions from sales i made, i was getting about $450 p/w after tax now i get $300 a week from work, and $400 a fortnight from centrelink so i'm getting $1k a fortnight, not a bad little sum considering i only work 2 nights a week. it's not that much, but it's pretty easy to live off.. well it will be once i clear up my all my debts.
Yep, and he drives a Nissan!
so do i joanna
You also make $120k a year, and drive a Nissan? Why?
i don't make that much

why the f*** wouldn't you drive a nissan
Because if you're earning that much, there are a fair few better options?
Bulls*** joanna, you must realise that there is no car that is better than a Nissan....soon the average r32 will cost more than any lambo or ferrari
like what laura, some zany euro car that when you open the bonnet you go wtf cause they do everything the hard way over there in euro land

i guess it just depends what you're after in a car :]
I drive an Aston Martin Vanquish S 6litre 520 horsepower V12 engine and all i do for a living is develop terminal diseases and make the government pay for it.
Hashy
I make over 12k a month and my penis is 12 stories tall and I have a highly respectable car that is red and has 4 wheels

you're all f***ing bogans get the f*** out of my thread
It's a pitty you couldn't ride pokemons otherwise you would've f***ed one already.
I earn $150 - $200/week!

Yay for being a student and centrelink not helping.

my bank account once had a balance of $400k, for about 6 hours.

now it fluctuates between $500 and $1500 at best :(
hey maverik why do you get so much centrelink when you're still earning $300/week? I thought the cutoff was about 300/fortnight then you get no payments?

I'm actually a little surprised that the average wage is that high.
rv
And I forgot to mention, the average credit card amount is $2200!!
hey maverik why do you get so much centrelink when you're still earning $300/week? I thought the cutoff was about 300/fortnight then you get no payments?

I think it depends on whether you're living at home, considered independent of parents and stuff.
rv
speaking of centrelink, here's a tip for you all.

If you need to speak to centrelink, just email them to contact you. They do within 3 days. Beats wasting time on the phone waiting for them.

Matt

You have an income bank where if you earn less than ~$200/ft (around that) the difference gets put into this 'bank'. Then on fortnights where you earn more than ~$200 that difference is taken from the 'bank'. Only when this 'bank' is empty do your centrelink payments get docked.

I only earn ~$90/w so my income bank is at the capped $6k. Study abroad scholarships are gonna decimate that though :(

At least that's how I understand it to work, I could be wrong.

PS: Dealing with centrelink is a job within itself :\
so does your bank start at 0 or 6k? i might apply for it soon *-)

study abroad scholarships are taxable income? i got a umap grant but i figured it'd just be "here's 5k enjoy" not reportable or anything

speaking of which, how's your application going? you're going to denmark or something crazy i remember? i got confirmation from uq but haven't heard from my host uni yet, just wondering if you're at the same stage
Matt
Not sure what it starts at, I'd say $0 knowing centrelink :P

As for study abroad, yep denmark! After a ton of stuff ups my application has finally been sent to the host uni so I'm playing the waiting game again. EPSA lost my subject approval notice, student services centre lost my academic transcript and then had to get my subjects changed but that's all sorted now. The host uni accepts some 400+ students every semester so I don't think I'll have any more complications :D

Won a bursery that should give me upwards of $10k so I'm stoked, but I'm not sure if it's taxable/centrelinkable. The 30 $5k study abroad offered scholarships are taxable afaik (when do we find out about them? don't think we can get them if we've already got a bursary/grant :\), but the Commonwealth Education Costs Scholarships aren't (fingers crossed on that one). If they don't ask for your TFN and just give you a phat cheque then I don't think it'll cause any problems ;)
persay - $100 or so of that is rent assistance
paveway you drive a f***ing commodore c***, nissan is justing putting it in a nicer way because you're a nissan wannabe driver.
<$10k month is lol

lol @ bj
so did they contact you and say "where is your academic transcript/subject list?" or was it you badgering them that brought that to your attention?

cos i kinda just applied and then crossed my fingers

congrats on the bursury, i got some random one i didn't even know i applied for, i doubt you can get any more assistance (wouldn't reaaaaaaally be fair/be happy with your lot etc)
Matt
[drama] Well they said 'hand in your application early in case any problems arise'. I had it in a month early and get told it won't be looked at until after the deadline and I won't find out for a month after that. So I wait two months, but it was holidays so I couldn't contact any of them for another month after that. Asked them whats up and they said hadn't received my subject selection from EPSA, who had lost it 3 months ago. Got that sorted, got the info pack, paid for an academic transcript to be sent to study abroad then found out 2 weeks later that it got lost in transit. Got a new one and handed it to them in person. So yeh I wouldn't be going overseas if I hadn't chased them up. Now hopefully the host won't stuff anything up :) [/drama]

I was the only one that applied for the bursary as it was only for electrical/cs/software engineers, got lucky there. Yeah I'm not expecting to get any more assistance apart from the $5k HECS loan. As it is I'll have more money by studying abroad than if I stayed home :D

Btw, gj on getting that UMAP grant, free money rocks!
dafugg
You see i'd say something about that average wage figure being low but I've been at work all weekend so f***it :)
I'll guess the median wage is lower.

1 CEO on few million drags the average upwards.
hmm, looking at the ABS statistics here

it looks more like the "$52K" is based on the average full-timer worker's wage. Actual average wage looks to be significantly lower.
Sucks to be an average wage earner!

not really, i make $45k, havent worked over 30hrs in a week this year, have everything that i need, and heaps of time to relax and enjoy life. I'm only 22 tho so i'll step it up a bit when i feel the need :p
not really, i make $45k, havent worked over 30hrs in a week this year

Curious, are you still living with the olds, or out on your own?
his mum still makes his rice bubbles for him.
not really, i make $45k, havent worked over 30hrs in a week this year, have everything that i need, and heaps of time to relax and enjoy life. I'm only 22 tho so i'll step it up a bit when i feel the need :p

Are you still a freelancer? You make loads of money but you have to worry about things like lack of holiday/sick pay and with AV, the 3 month dry spell which happens every year :(
on paper i'm a freelancer, however i work 95% for one mob full time. I've just been living off theatre contracts atm, been doing the same shows since january. And i'm living at home atm, i was living with mates but one got married one moved overseas so i'm at home for a bit while i look for a place of my own.

Ah nice one :)

I used to hate the AV drought after xmas.
sweet jesus it isn't hard to make ~$45k if you're motivated and know how to fix a computer without someone having to check your s***.

I just wanna know how people fit ~4 weeks holiday into their fiscal year on that kind of cash :/
try 6 weeks including 2x 10 day interstate holidays. the advantage of being young and single i guess, i got s*** all outgoing expenses.
Are you still a freelancer? You make loads of money but you have to worry about things like lack of holiday/sick pay and with AV, the 3 month dry spell which happens every year :(

45k on contract is very average for 30 hours a week. It's only about $28 dollars an hour.

I just wanna know how people fit ~4 weeks holiday into their fiscal year on that kind of cash :/

The amount of money you need per week usually increases with the amount of money you earn.
typo, please dont reply to what you dont know anything about. Maybe thats true in the IT industry, but not the brisbane Sound and Lighting industry. The general rate is $25 for bumps and $35 for ops.

It may vary very slightly company to company, but thats the normal thing.
typo, please dont reply to what you dont know anything about. Maybe thats true in the IT industry, but not the brisbane Sound and Lighting industry. The general rate is $25 for bumps and $35 for ops.

Man, you get 17 dollers an hour full time with holiday and sick pay at woolworths as a checkout chick. I'd have a pretty big sad on if I had to do more complicated work with more responsibilities and on contract.

edit: do you need qualifications to do that kind of work?
Actually you get about 14 an hour at woolies full time.
Bj

Reason: Inappropriate
Click Here to See the Profile for Bj Edit This Post Click Here to send Bj an email Users HomePage Message User
I don't know if it's just me, but I think there's a fair amount of difference between $17 and $25 an hour. It doesn't sound like much per hour, but that's 64 bucks a day, and 320 bucks in a week, and $16,000-odd a year.
25 an hour is also 47% more than 17 an hour.

I want a 47% payrise this year to keep up with inflation. Bananas are so expensive, its killing me.
Actually you get about 14 an hour at woolies full time.

Maybe if you are <= 16

I don't know if it's just me, but I think there's a fair amount of difference between $17 and $25 an hour. It doesn't sound like much per hour, but that's 64 bucks a day, and 320 bucks in a week, and $16,000-odd a year.

I'd assumed that you would only choose to take a signed contract for a skilled position. If the poster has signed a contract for non-skilled position or actually means a casual employee, then scratch everything I've said.

The pay differences between something you need qualifications, training and a minimal amount of experiance to be competent should be a decent chunk more than something you can train an heavily retarded monkey to do.
what do you get paid for being a perpetual student typo?
Maybe if you are <= 16
At target the senior casual wage was $17.50 and the senior full time wag was $14.something. Maybe it was $15.something. Woolies can only be less than that.
fpot tells the truth, lived with a full time trainee coles manager.

as for my contracts etc, i hold a cert III (sof***ingwhat) but its entirely possible to get work on no official qualifications cause its a pretty unregulated industry - and more about who you know and how good you actually are, bits of paper dont mean much. Sure i could be making heaps more in production/crew management but thats boring s***, i'll move into that in a few years after i've had a blast mixing rock bands & theatre shows etc. I'm lucky in that i enjoy going to work 9/10 times.
<3 being a glassy @ the paddo great pay

like $18 base pay and then bring on the bonuses on weekends, like $27 on sat and $33 or something sun awwww yeeee.
what do you get paid for being a perpetual student typo?

I wouldn't know, I only went to uni for 4 years. Maybe you need to ask Tung?
fpot tells the truth, lived with a full time trainee coles manager.

Our ex housemate (may you burn in hell you dirty whore) was part time at woolworths forest lake. she got paid around 16.50 an hour. My girlfiend, who, once upon a time, worked at woolworths, gets sad at the 3 doller an hour loss she had when she changed worked. She currently works for 13.50 an hour (+- 0.50).

I'm willing to accept that woolies pays less. I don't normally listen too much about how much people get paid, and in the case of the dirty slut who lived downstairs, I really didn't like talking to her in the first place. So, I could very well be wrong.

All in all $25 dollers an hour is about $52k a year, not including lunch breaks, holidays or sick leave. If you factor all that in, it gets down to about $40.5k-41k p/a (or $640ish a week after tax). Of course, how much you get entitled to depends on your contract, but assuming you've signed a contract on 25/h, I'm thinking you don't much included in your entitlements.

last edited by typo at 03:31:36 23/Aug/06
Sorry maybe i'm missing the point but if you're on 60k a year and you're happy then whats the big deal?? much if you're onj 20k a year... if you're happy and you're able to make your own way and not relying on the govt to tide you over.. you've got your s*** in line then what prey tell is the big f***ing difference?? I guess its whatever floats your boat.. lol ah well i'll stick with my Ł25,000 :p

I'm planning on going to the UK next year. Should be awesome.

like $18 base pay and then bring on the bonuses on weekends, like $27 on sat and $33 or something sun awwww yeeee.

Wow, nice!

Also I think if ur smart, u can generally find better paying jobs than the standard Woolies/Coles/Maccas - they're very general student type of jobs that only ever offer standard pay. I've always found that bar work and office work have offered better rates of pay for students and are generally a little more interesting.
i make phat bling in my student job t00t
Matt
tutoring @ $30/hr ftw
LightAssassin
$52k isn't half bad. I would like to see the mean though.

Personally on a equiv. of a $62k PA package. Contract CAD worker, oil and gas industry, and damn it's amazing who owns the pipelines in australia (hint, not australia).

Both my sister and my mate (her boyfriend) boy make 52k each a year, and I would consider them average. They live nice enough, she is a admin type person (they are all the same to me), and he is a warehouse person (something above storeperson.. I have no idea of that industry).

People usually don't make more money because of a few reasons, they are lazy (want a simple job that pays okay but reall don't care), never bothered to learn (why should they, they could die tomorrow! and live today!), don't have the mental capacity (some people just aren't all that smart) or have other issues (disability etc..). Plus, without the poor people there would be no rich ones.

Though more pay != better person/quality of life. It's all a balance, but it's good to see Australia is coping okay with it all.
tutoring @ $30/hr ftw

Danm straight, tutoring is the best possible job you can get as a uni student. I was tutoring a few classes while I was in second year - $24/hr back then, which then increased to $27/hr in my second semester there... PLUS, they paid me an hour marking per tutorial, plus an hour preparation. So for a one hour class, I was getting paid for 3 hours work ($81). Not bad for a job that's on campus.
(course, that same year I was working 12 hours for a building contractor (as a software dev), and 4 hours/week on the uni programming helldesk) - on top of tutoring two classes... and having four subjects a semster. Hm.

last edited by Raven at 16:06:09 23/Aug/06
Bj
$52k as an average salary would be bull, it would be more like $30-$40k for alot of people if they're lucky.

If you want to make any real money working for yourself is the only way to go. Sure its going to take you a few harder years to get going, but once it is its more worthwhile and I just dont mean financially wise.

Working for yourself and not having to just put up with someones s*** just to hope you keep your job is priceless. The actual work I do I wouldnt consider half of my business, I more enjoy the organsing and planning for the future, the cheques are just a bonus. After all money is the last reason you want to be going to work.

Money makes money, you want your money working for you, being you want people working for you making you a passive income, not the other way round being someone elses income.

As for the guys chasing any work they can get for what they -think- is decent pay... well, good luck.
how much do you make a year bj?
depends on how many he gives
Bj
Varies, its going up each year with more I do, im not saying exact numbers but last financial year over $100k. Its not how much you earn though its what you do with it. You can earn $150k a year but if you cant think for the future in 5 years time you could be in the same spot you are today.

I currently got 2 properties totalling around $700k with a respectable amount of that equity, planning to buy my 3rd soon to put it over 1m.

Its taken me about 5 years to get here but im only just getting started, i plan to go alot further yet. I guess its how high you set your goals and how hard your willing to work.

Ecstasy
I make 52k at 18.... Public>private

I seriously doubt that you're on 52k within the first 12 months as being an ASO4.
LightAssassin
Ahh the future, looks at his second account. Yerp, you little boys stay in there and get nice and plump.

Investing in my future while studying for the future at uni is double win. Working for somebody is minion work, all the engineers I've worked with have all told me it's pointless working for somebody, you never really make the real money.

Affording the toys, and looking into the future just takes self control. Not drinking, smoking or doing drugs helps all that too. So many ways to make a little bit of money to become a lot of money.

So does anybody know if they'll release the mean? because the average really means nothing to understand what people really are making (for those of us for don't know the difference between mean and average I suggest you learn it :)
Bj
stop being mean :(
I currently got 2 properties totalling around $700k with a respectable amount of that equity, planning to buy my 3rd soon to put it over 1m.

It's for people like you I hope the interest rate surges to 18%
If you want to make any real money working for yourself is the only way to go. Sure its going to take you a few harder years to get going, but once it is its more worthwhile and I just dont mean financially wise. Working for yourself and not having to just put up with someones s*** just to hope you keep your job is priceless.

You know i hear that 'work for yourself' thing a lot. What i don't hear is about the stress of attracting business in down times, having to be open when your customers expect not when you want and dicking about being nice to people you really shouldn't have to be in case they may one day be a paying customer. Worrying about paying suppliers and chasing debtors, wishing big business paid bills in just 45 days instead of 90, etc.

I go to work, i get paid by the hour. I don't worry if maybe i won't be going in next week or what not. If i piss someone off who's high up enough to have my contract cancelled i'll take my four weeks notice and go get another contract. When the stupidity levels at my current place reach unbearable heights I'll give them four weeks notice and move on.

i'm not worried about annual turnover, paying my suppliers or taking on debt to expand my business. After my eight hours are done i don't worry about work again until i'm back there.
LightAssassin u are teh noob, mean is a type of average...colloquially there is no difference between an average and a mean.

haha, i some times make it there on a tuesday. Keep an eye out for me, im the drunk one with the 2 hot 'veronicas', haha

last edited by Astroboy at 00:20:44 24/Aug/06
It's for people like you I hope the interest rate surges to 18%
silly billy

18% is still a lot less than ~40% - people with properties who carefully pick and choose what they borrow money for are the people who are hurt least by interest hikes - and on top of that, even more so when interest hikes ultimately result in a lot more cheap deals being available due to people having to sell cheap to offload their interest obligation

If you want to make any real money working for yourself is the only way to go.
nah working for yourself isn't that much better than working for someone else - it's still for schmoes

owning a business that's run by other people, and investments are where it's at

now if only I wasn't a schmoe who worked for myself...

not driving a 4wd is the key
Bj
You know i hear that 'work for yourself' thing a lot. What i don't hear is about the stress of attracting business in down times, having to be open when your customers expect not when you want and dicking about being nice to people you really shouldn't have to be in case they may one day be a paying customer. Worrying about paying suppliers and chasing debtors, wishing big business paid bills in just 45 days instead of 90, etc.

I go to work, i get paid by the hour. I don't worry if maybe i won't be going in next week or what not. If i piss someone off who's high up enough to have my contract cancelled i'll take my four weeks notice and go get another contract. When the stupidity levels at my current place reach unbearable heights I'll give them four weeks notice and move on.

i'm not worried about annual turnover, paying my suppliers or taking on debt to expand my business. After my eight hours are done i don't worry about work again until i'm back there.

Most people are happy living that way, hell probably 90% of people do. Its the people that like the challenge of the extra work and risk that prosper later. If you want to get ahead of everyone else you have to do something different to everyone else.

Striving to get that bigger turnover each year is something to look forward and work to, its better than knowing what your going to be paid. If you aint earning enough to pay your suppliers then business isnt for you anyway and debt is only a tool to create more wealth when you know how to use it, its nothing to worry about.

Managing your own business isnt something everyone can do though, most cases for people are probably just better off doing the safe way doing what your doing, but the safe way isnt going to get you anywhere further then the next guy.

I agree. But i assume it's not your hardwork at your business that is making you financially secure, you've said it earns you about 100K a year, so it's your investing. But there's other ways to put together sufficient savings to get your investments off the ground, and they don't involve the stress or binding of your home life and work life as running your own business.
Striving to get that bigger turnover each year is something to look forward and work to, its better than knowing what your going to be paid. If you aint earning enough to pay your suppliers then business isnt for you anyway and debt is only a tool to create more wealth when you know how to use it, its nothing to worry about.

but don't you only earn $100k and have a net worth of about $200k at most?

I fail to see how you're 'ahead' of everyone else. Plenty of other people who work for someone else earn plenty more than that, and investing isn't exclusive to people thta own businesses....

but keep patting yourself on the back!
Spidz leave him alone, he sounds like he's actually trying to give advice this time rather than his usual carrying on.

nah working for yourself isn't that much better than working for someone else - it's still for schmoes

Oh, I don't know about that...my boss seems to be doing alright.

Mind u, she is a specialist, so that might help...
No matter what you think of Bj he's got some good advice on this topic. I run several events every year under my own company, and running your own business is definitly a way to make real money. Unfornatually there isnt much space in the market up here for me to open up full time so i'm just doing whatever comes along ontop of my regular job.

Sure you could say that people make over $100k p.a working for someone else but for that kind of money you wont be in a job where you can "work for your 8 hours and forget about it till tomorrow", and i highly doubt theres many people out there who could land a job like that without a few degrees or 10+ years of exp in their field. If you want to make lots of money you have to work hard for it, full stop.

Also I think if ur smart, u can generally find better paying jobs than the standard Woolies/Coles/Maccas - they're very general student type of jobs that only ever offer standard pay. I've always found that bar work and office work have offered better rates of pay for students and are generally a little more interesting.

QFT. I work at a electrical contractor maintaining their IT networks and other IT related tasks for ~$18 (i've got no qual at all - not studying IT at uni either, law ftw) The hours suit me and uni and it gives me enough money to enjoy myself when im not doing assignments
my boss seems to be doing alright.
nah it's for schmoes
Sure you could say that people make over $100k p.a working for someone else but for that kind of money you wont be in a job where you can "work for your 8 hours and forget about it till tomorrow"

There's a few around. A couple of medical specialties are like this. Of course you don't just waltz in and say "hi i'd like to be a medical specialist"...

Quite a few trades can earn you this much at the moment if you're prepared to head out to minesites as well.

last edited by orbitor at 13:34:05 24/Aug/06
I work part time as a debt collector (i'm a uni student) and I swear to god at least 30%-40% of the people I end up dealing with are self-employed. Sure you can make lots of money being self employed, you can also make buttloads working for companies. There's money in everything as long as you're good at it.
Bj
I agree. But i assume it's not your hardwork at your business that is making you financially secure, you've said it earns you about 100K a year, so it's your investing. But there's other ways to put together sufficient savings to get your investments off the ground, and they don't involve the stress or binding of your home life and work life as running your own business.

Your exactly right. It doesnt matter if you earn $30 or $130k a year, the money you earn each month isnt going to make you rich, its the investments you make with it that will. All im saying is the higher the salary, sort of the quicker you get that money to invest, or more oppotunities you get, not saying it cant be done...

Why assume im stressed and binding work with my home life because im doing alrite? when im home im home, i dont think about work. Sure work probably takes up 90% of my time, but I love it. Id rather spend that 90% working then doing nothing just to have the "free time"

SquarkyD is doing a good thing too, starting small and running something on the side for a few years is the way to do it, im not saying quit your job and go working fulltime for yourself, it takes alot of time to build up a good business. Doing something on the side minimizes your risk and usually your outlays to get started, just dont expect to MAKE money out of it for probably a year if not longer. If you run your own business it has to be because its doing something you enjoy, not because you need the money

Spidz; didnt you say your bitch earns more then you? havnt you got some dishes you could be doing
Sure you could say that people make over $100k p.a working for someone else but for that kind of money you wont be in a job where you can "work for your 8 hours and forget about it till tomorrow",
I get to work around 8:30am. I take an hour for lunch without fail and leave at 5pm 99% of the time. I make more than $100k.

I took a paycut to take this job, because in my old role I was there 7am->7pm most days, often longer. I was always interstate or abroad and whilst it wasprofessionally stimulating, I prefer being at home and doing my own thing on weekends. Work doesn't enter my mind outside work hours.

Spidz; didnt you say your bitch earns more then you? havnt you got some dishes you could be doing
nope, but she is probably wealthier than me. she doesn't work at all anymore - she's retired at 24. (so she reckons)
Bj, I assumed that because family members and friends that run small businesses are like that. Based on these people it seems to me that running a small business does entail those and many more issues (unless your business is just a sham company to IT contract under).

Sure you could say that people make over $100k p.a working for someone else but for that kind of money you wont be in a job where you can "work for your 8 hours and forget about it till tomorrow", and i highly doubt theres many people out there who could land a job like that without a few degrees or 10+ years of exp in their field. If you want to make lots of money you have to work hard for it, full stop.

You may have to work hard but you don't need skills or any formal off-the-job training at the moment. I heard an interview with a brissy woman just this week. She's a critblower(??? drives machine that sprays quick drying cement) at a mine in WA. She does flyinflyout 2-1-2-2 which she says means she's in WA for 5 weeks then back for 2 weeks.

"What qualifications did you have that led to that role?"
"I was a mother of four"
"Yes, but what skillset did you have that made you suitable for this role?"
"I brought up four young children, yep that's it"

So a 20-something woman with no formal skills apart from spitting out some bratts is on well over 100K a year. She said the plan was to work during this upturn and put away money so her children didn't have to do the hardwork that she does.
Bj

Click Here to See the Profile for Bj Edit This Post Click Here to send Bj an email Users HomePage Message User
Hashy
JESUS CHRIST BJ, PLEASE STOP TRYING AND SAVE WHATEVER DIGNITY YOU ONCE HAD

NINJA EDIT: Whattup jim
LOL Bj was starting to sound legit up until that point. He almost had me convinced!
i missed it, but I assume it was some kind of pissing contest.

i do what i do to get by and be happy, if i wanted to be rich I would have just been an investment banker like all my mates who earn arseloads of cash but work 90 hours a week - suckers.
dRanged
Come to Sydney guys

A new IT&T contract is advertised every *4* minutes here - And there are loads of permanent positions. Hell even MCSEs can get 80K. I migrated as a grad 18 months ago, and have never looked back.

I say come to Syd, get the skills up and a good balance sheet, then piss the place off and live somewhere decent (like vegas)

Actually maybe England..

You want all of us to move down to, the gay capital of the world, Sydney?
Crunch
Pretty much any position on a mine over here will earn you over $100k, plus getting your rent paid for. If you have your HR license you will be offered a job starting at about $80k (guessing). You can also get into good rosters if you have to do FIFO and you have a bit of luck. A friend of mine who is a gas fitter works 2 on, 3 off, 3 on 6 off. Yes, *six* weeks off. Paid.

Pretty much every person working on the project I am working on at the moment would be earning well over $100k (SAP project) with the programme managers earning $1000 per day plus.

To reiterate what others have said, don't rely on your job making you rich. Borrow and invest, that's the ticket!

Also, Bj you're still a cock. All the money in the world can't fix that for you.
i heard something interesting this morning on sunrise, apparently out over crunch's way, there are UNSKILLED labour positions paying 70k starting salaries. Not mine work from what they said, just general manual labour due to an immense lack in the work force.

so

if you want lots of money quickly, go to wa and work
Bj
lol I love hearing that line from people. the whole "if I wanted to be rich, I could if I wanted to" usual excuse story.

problem I see with mine work is unless you plan to work there the rest of your life, the money isnt going to be any good to you once you go back to your "normal" work. Its all well and good earning the big money for awhile then borrowing a nice amount to go invest, but when you've had enough of it in a few years your not going to be able to afford the investments back home, if you know what I mean.

I could understand going there for a year or two and just saving it for a deposit to get you started when you come back, but unless you plan ahead you'll end up like a crack whore and not want to leave in fear of lack of funds.

that's the thing though - it's not an excuse, it's exactly how it is.
Quite a few trades can earn you this much at the moment if you're prepared to head out to minesites as well.

Yeah, apparently u can earn 100K+ a year operating machinery in mining areas.
Parag0n
Yeah, apparently u can earn 100K+ a year operating machinery in mining areas.

Apparently you can earn an exploding $1,300,000 a fortnight if you're in the right ditch.
Bj
lol, and thats just the first fortnight. probably more after that

that's the thing though - it's not an excuse, it's exactly how it is.

Dont worry jim, your not the only one to bulls*** yourself through life cause its the easiest path
bj did you start and build your company on your own, from the ground up?
bj it's my opinion that anyone can get off their ass and do something other than slog away at it for the man - if they actually want to bad enough that they change the way they do things with their livelihood and handling of money. I suspect you'd probably agree with that based on what you've said in this thread.

Thus, I don't see why you say 'lol I love hearing that line from people. the whole "if I wanted to be rich, I could if I wanted to" usual excuse story.'

I reckon that's dead true - if they really wanted to, they would. Sure, everyone likes the idea of having plenty of money, but not as many actually want it bad enough to move out of their safe, known pattern of waking up and going to work for someone for a realtively meagre wage.
NOTE: I AM NOT A TAX ADVISOR. CHECK WITH SOMEONE THAT KNOWS THEIR s***. I DON'T.

The other advantage of working a mine site is if you get fifo you may be eligible for travel allowance, which effectively means the first $75K you earn a year is tax free. It's significantly better than a "living a way from home allowance", but slightly stricter. So while you think that a skillless working a minesite is doing alright on $100K, since the first 75K is tax free, they are doing much better than ok.

But you gotta be on a fifo that has you returning home effectively every three weeks.

NOTE: I AM NOT A TAX ADVISOR. CHECK WITH SOMEONE THAT KNOWS THEIR s***. I DON'T.
LightAssassin
o_0 The engineering industry pays quite well... and running your own business pays a lot more (millions). I get direct contact with guys who are CEO's of companies making money you'd cry over per year.

These guys are hardly stressed and love what they do. They own houses on the beach front, drive porches or what ever they want. Ride the hottest bikes around and yet... they don't seem to break down into tears.

If you're willing you can do it... not really, some people honestly just don't have the ability, others are too lazy to do it. Some people are labours because they can't do anything but basic tasks (hell, some of them can't get that right).

I'm 20, I choose my hours, and without taking pay cuts. I only work 3 days a week max, and if I want to have a day off nobody asks a question or bats an eye. If I don't want to work, I don't have to. I honestly don't care if people want to rag me out for it, I'm totally happy with what I get paid.

I'm not dissing anybody, or trying to upstage them. I honestly don't mind what people make, plenty of people make heaps more then I do, and I make heaps more then others. My father grew up in marsden and my mother in woodridge, where people generally were on drugs, killed themselves, got murdered, ended up in jail or became low income workers. Yet they managed to become a Electrical Engineer and a Nurse. They just had the will and desire, also the ability.

Just enjoy what you do, but remember, what you do does effect the present and the future. So invest in your future wisely if that's what you care about, if it's here and now you care about, have all the fun you can!
i heard something interesting this morning on sunrise, apparently out over crunch's way, there are UNSKILLED labour positions paying 70k starting salaries. Not mine work from what they said, just general manual labour due to an immense lack in the work force.

go work on the oil stations. they pay $100k to people serving food and making beds...
LOL. Yeah, but go with some people u like, cos there's a reason why the work pays so well...

Also, it all does sound good but really, I think u have to think about what u want in life...imo anyway.

last edited by Agent 99 at 09:41:05 26/Aug/06
Bj
I reckon that's dead true - if they really wanted to, they would

If only getting rich were a case of "wanting" it bad enough, wanting it isnt half of what you need, like LA says you also need the ability, and that is where 90% of the people fail, then fall back on the excuse of "I could but I just dont want to".

You dont have to keep arguing with me to defend how you want to live, I couldnt care less, but by the time im your age ill be alot better off then you financially if im not already, and it wasnt just because that is where I wanted to be, its because ive worked harder then you could ever handle.

Prove me wrong, turn yourself into a millionaire in the next 10 years just because you wanted to today.. thats if you feel like doing it.
bj, the only ability you need is the willpower to get off your butt. practically everyone alive has this ability.

Prove me wrong, turn yourself into a millionaire in the next 10 years just because you wanted to today.. thats if you feel like doing it.
no probs, done

next?
but by the time im your age ill be alot better off then you financially if im not already, and it wasnt just because that is where I wanted to be, its because ive worked harder then you could ever handle.
ahh, but who will have enjoyed their life more?

I've never understood people who make $100 million by the time they're 40, but work till they're 80 to make 300 more. Different things make people tick I guess, but the moment I'm in a strong enough financial position to retire comfortably and still look after my family, I will.

and it can't come soon enough!
I guess its all about greed and how much you'd do for a dollar. My theory is if you grow up poor you are more greedy and money is more precious to you than someone who grew up well off. I've also heard of a common cycle where a generation in a family start off poor and make money, the next generation spend it and the third / fourth generation are then left poor again.

I agree with Jim - anyone's capable to be rich if they have the right determination.

Bj, there's nothing remarkable about being a greedy son of a bitch and working hard. But at least you're not selling drugs :)

Bj
the only ability you need is the willpower to get off your butt. practically everyone alive has this ability.

it takes more then just getting off the dole, your talking like all you need is the will to put in the hard work, thats not the half of it. If your lacking the intelligence it doesnt matter how hard you work if your putting in the work in the wrong places.

ahh, but who will have enjoyed their life more?

depends if you want to enjoy your life and spend all your money on yourself to leave nothing for your kids so they can start over from scratch again, or give them a better start then you had.

personally I just work for the future and for my childen when I eventually have them as I dont want them to have to work half as hard as ive had to. I could be buying myself another car or going overseas every 6 months no worries but id rather go without so they dont have to. Im making sure when I start a family money is the last thing we are going to have to worry about

but the moment I'm in a strong enough financial position to retire comfortably and still look after my family, I will.

So if your going to retire the minute you got enough money too, why dont you strive to earn more so you can retire earlier? sort of contradicts your whole "i dont want more money" attitude
Hashy
I love how you casually dodged this question

TELL US HOW YOU BECAME SO FANTASMICALLY RICH PLEASE BJ WE'RE ALL DYING TO HEAR ABOUT IT NOW RATHER THAN LATER IN YOUR TOP-SELLING AUTOBIOGRAPHY
My theory is: mo money = mo problems. No matter how much you earn there's always going to be that desire and ambition to make more and there's no such thing as completely satisfying yourself financially. You may have a better life style than others but you're also setting high standards to yourself and there's no way you'd ever turn back and accept anything less. Obvious it may be, but the fact still remains that more money doesn't always mean a happer life style and in some cases it could create more problems and stress for you then say earning enough to get you by.

That being said i wont knock back being a millionaire any day and fund my fav own charity - The El Quaida Children.

p.s. Where can i order a copy of BJ - The Edge?
Bj
My theory is: mo money = mo problems.

mo money less problems, the more I know im putting away in the bank each month means the less I have to worry about money the next month.

No matter how much you earn there's always going to be that desire and ambition to make more and there's no such thing as completely satisfying yourself financially. You may have a better life style than others but you're also setting high standards to yourself and there's no way you'd ever turn back and accept anything less.

Is that such a bad thing? you should be setting your goals high, so even if you fall a little short your still doing well.

Obvious it may be, but the fact still remains that more money doesn't always mean a happer life style and in some cases it could create more problems and stress for you then say earning enough to get you by.

I have virtually no stress with work or money, i guarentee people that are earning just enough to see the end of the week are virtually being eaten by stress, hell I lived like that for about 2 years, not from blowing money, but sacrifice to get me ahead that little bit, now im laughing. I bought my first house at age 20 and spent about $10k of my own cash to furnish the place when I moved in, without one dollar from anyone else

Where can i order a copy of BJ - The Edge?

I dont get this.. plz explain :|
Hashy
I dont get this.. plz explain :|
For someone so smart and successful you're sure slow on the uptake. Oh boy.
it takes more then just getting off the dole, your talking like all you need is the will to put in the hard work, thats not the half of it. If your lacking the intelligence it doesnt matter how hard you work if your putting in the work in the wrong places.
I didn't say anything about hard work, I said "change the way they do things with their livelihood and handling of money"

'hard work' is so arbitrary, and so perspective-based

sure, it takes intelligence - but again, this is something that the vast majority of humans posess - it just seems easier for some people to utilise it than others, or for some people to realise what they need to do than others.
there are two things i want in a job, fun and money. if you're getting both why would you retire or resign or whatever.

its goods to have a challenge every day...
So if your going to retire the minute you got enough money too, why dont you strive to earn more so you can retire earlier? sort of contradicts your whole "i dont want more money" attitude
not really, I never said I didn't want more money, it's just a matter of what I'm prepared to give up to get it. Currently, I'm prepared to give up about 35 hours of my week plus any time I spend researching investment opportunities. Anymore than that and I lose the balance of being able to enjoy the spoils.

guys, I don;t think this 'company' exists.
ace
you know what u guys need to do ? ...................

JUST SHUTUP AND SQUAT!

http://mesorx.com/store/media/ronnie-coleman/6-1.jpg
If only everyone would just get along...

Sigh :/
Then there would be no need for a forum?

Yours ungreatefully,

Bastard a******.
SpecialK
bj is too busy working in his/her company to comment at this time.

you may refer all questions to his/her lawyer, pending a fair trial.
LightAssassin
BJ has 2 companies, one he started and the other is a family business.

That theory... that's a crock. My parents are well off, and yet I still strive to make money. Their parents were poor for sure, but I'm the next generation and I'm far from poor, I earn more per hour then my mother and much less then my father.

Everybody is different, so some people never can be rich, others don't have the desire. Saying that you don't enjoy life more because you work harder or have a higher pay bracket is again... a crock. Of course there are the extremes where the workaholics destory their lives and the lazy guys never make the cash, but for all those there are the people who make a nice living greatly enjoy their job and don't mind a work week with has more then 40 hours.

Next time you're traveling in business class, ask some of the guys if they enjoy what they do and if it has destoryed their life....

Money is just apart of living, how you use it is probably more important then how you get it anyway. I know well off storepersons who are on low wages who live better than engineers.

There is the ability to do your job, and the ability to handle money. If you do both you'll be very well off, if only have the ability to handle money then you will be just well off. But if you don't have the ability to handle your money then you have no chance how much cash you're earning.
niklaos
SpecialK
so his rich family footed him the money to get started. . . It all begins to make sense. ..
Working is a fact of life, so is money.

Almost all of us are going to have to work a significant portion of our lives. It is stupid, in my mind anyway, to work at a place you dislike or hate, it isnt worth the money if you spend 8 hours of your day doing something you dispise, your effectivly killing yourself. I'd rather be paied much less and do something I enjoy, then be paid well doing something I hate.

Money is such a low driving factor for me.

EDIT: My parents are well off. I have two sisters, we all encourage our Mum and Dad to spend their money on themselves, go on holidays and whatnot. We dont expect them to leave an inheritance for us, they worked hard to earn it, they should work hard to spend it :D

last edited by Tollaz0r! at 11:13:35 28/Aug/06
JUST SHUTUP AND SQUAT!
Lightweight baby! Lightweight!

This thread is very amusing :D
SpecialK
however, whoever said that people with poor parents are greedy and visa versa is fkn nuts!

I strongly believe it is the opposite. In my experience, the richer people (thanks to their parents) display more greed (ie. stingy bastards), and the people with poorer parents are more willing to share what little they have.

It is like in the days of Jesus. The poor lady giving what little she had was looked upon far more favorably then the rich guy giving lots, because she was giving out of her want, and not out of her need. Also, she didn't want any credit for doing it, unlike the rich snob. ;)

edit: rich snobs have the money to get laid whenever/wherever they want to.

rich snob ftw!!!

last edited by SpecialK at 11:35:36 28/Aug/06
I strongly believe it is the opposite. In my experience, the richer people (thanks to their parents) display more greed (ie. stingy bastards), and the people with poorer parents are more willing to share what little they have.
Yeah, 100% true in my experiences.
you're both on crack
SpecialK
and u r Jim. Good work Jim. Good work for a retard.
no u r
LightAssassin
SpecialK, who said his parents are well off? I never did.

He could be doing the very same with another business that wasn't family owned. So your point is useless. You're saying for his work to be valid he has to start the business from the ground up, and that because he already had a base company his work ethic is less?

So I shouldn't use the fact that my father has good contacts in the engineering industry to help me get jobs because that will lower my work ethic? You're an idiot.

I take every chance I get, regardless of how they come to me (legal only of course). That's good business, it's what you know and who you know. Not just how hard you're willing to work from stratch. Seriously, get a clue.

And calling jim a retarded without an actual reply... man, you got him... Jim look out, you must be a retard with all that evidence and points he provided. Sorry Jim, he has got you now...
ahahahaha the days of f***ing jesus nice one d*******
SpecialK
ahahahaha the days of f***ing jesus nice one d*******

your point being?

This example is no less truthful today. Or do you think someone giving money out of their surplus and gloating about it is better then someone giving out of their want because they have a true form of kindness and love in their heart? U r also a retard, just like retard jim.

Hahaha, jim. Hahaha, mate. Good one.
LA it's not about his work ethic.
He keeps talking about how hard he worked to get where he is and how s*** everyone else is because they're not as smart as he is and didn't work as hard as he has.
The point is without the family business he wouldn't have done so well this early in his life. I don't have a problem with his success, just the way he implies he achieved that success purely on his own as if he is some amazing rags to riches story.
Bj
back in the days of jesus, SpecialK's family were too stupid to be able to make money from a business, so they lived as peasants working for people like my family.

these days, SpecialK's family is STILL too stupid to work out how to run a business so to this day continue to live as peasants working that hourly rate.

I know in the future when im making more in a year then you will in 10, when my children are old enough i'll be teaching them everything ive learnt and give them an idea on how to take it to the next level, so they are even better off then what I am

I wont be taking the advice of "successful qgl business advisors" such as yourselves and just throw the business down the drain, and tell them to start again from scratch. lol classic..

you certainly are one "special" little boy specialK

http://www.einstein-syndrome.com/house/img/evan.jpg

dont stress too much just yet special K, maybe one day when your old enough your dad will hand down his fluorescent yellow factory workers jacket for you to continue the family legacy on $18/hr
just because people work for an hourly rate doesn't make them peasents. i know plenty of people who work on hourly rates and get paid metric f***tons of cash. much more than you. anyway if you judge people by their pay cheque you've failed at life anyway. lighten up chumps.
nicely avoided once more bj
For example, my missus is paid $95 per hr casual rate.
hope specialk has a waterproof keyboard
SpecialK
how old are you, jim? you sound like a young teenager? don't get me wrong, you are welcome here to post your views. I just pity you if you are actually in your 20's like most people here, but still posess the intelligence of an adolescent.

As for Bj's comments, I think they were summed up nicely by reload.

Bj, you don't seem to have much upstairs, but your mummy and daddy had plenty in the bank. Think yourself lucky and stop making a fool of yourself here, by braggin about how mum and dad looked after you financially.

I personally gain a lot of fulfillment in life looking after my mum. She is the best person I have known my whole life, and the feeling I get when I give her money gives me a satisfaction you couldn't even dream of.
actually jim is in his 50s
I'm nearly 34, and have never made any pretences whatsoever about my mental maturity. So pity away, pitying boy!

Something I found amusing (and maybe it's just my adolescent intelligence that finds it amusing) is you making calls about people's maturity after posts like:

and u r Jim. Good work Jim. Good work for a retard.
nuke his ass Jim for good and for LAWL
Bj
oh oes. taggs and reload got angry peasant syndrome

sure she does orbitor, thats why the pair of you combined could only afford what, a $400k house? and your still stuck driving a $10,000 car. bit lousy for $95 an hour off one income isnt it?

SpecialK; I get alot of fulfillment out of life from your mum working for me, and the feeling I get when she gives me money earnt with work from those lips of hers, you couldn't ever understand.
my name is BJ and I am stupid

thanks
Person 1: NO I'M BETTER
Person 2: NO I'M BETTER
Person 3: NO I'M BETTER

I see a trend developing in this thread.

PS: Lol at Jim being 34 - he's easily 63.

don't get me wrong, you are welcome here to post your views.

hahah! lucky the noobs say you are welcome to post on qgl forum jim, or you'd have to go! :P noob #10025360 pwtnd'd you good!
sure she does orbitor, thats why the pair of you combined could only afford what, a $400k house? and your still stuck driving a $10,000 car. bit lousy for $95 an hour off one income isnt it?

maybe they have magnificent plans ... for the future! you know.... duty now, for the future! ;P~
Bj
maybe, but unlikely.

dont worry he'll come up with an excuse for it soon
funny being called a peasant from a blue collar shmoe like you.

you're also still constantly avoiding the issue that you didn't do s*** to get where you are today, but rather rode on the success of your dad's business.

well done you uneducated peasant.
How did you get $700k worth of property by age 20 bj? Or did I not read it correctly (couldn't be bothered going through the whole thread).
negative gearing, he doesn't own it.
oh, and because daddy gave him a job

last edited by reload! at 15:34:43 28/Aug/06
SpecialK
so it's his dads' headache, not his. . . still happy to gloat over it though.
Bj
CHUB, just bought my first property when I was 20, have over that now with an additional property and just the equity going up over the last 4 years, going to buy one more in the coming months then try things over then investment properties anyway.

might be negative gearing reload, but its earnt more then you will in your lifetime and I havnt even started yet, why else would you be such a bitter little boy?

just curious reload, where are you renting with your parents and what do you do for work?
I don't work, I'm at uni.
I don't work because I don't have to. I live at home with my parents in Hamilton.

I'm not bitter, I couldn't give a s*** how much you earn, I just don't like the way you make it seem like you did all the hard work to get where you are.

lol bj, you just got lucky... there's nothing 'smart' about what you're doing

LightAssassin
Jim is old... poor old bugger. I remember the first time at a QGL lan electoad (the admin who is like bigfoot, comes and goes, but you're never quite sure you've sighted him) pointed him out and he was angsty at somebody for doing something stupid. I laughed and though "That's an angry old man".

I was 15 then, I'm 20 now... poor old jim, still got the angst I see ;)

SpecialK, you really are an idiot. That's about all I can say to that.

Reload! I see your point, I can't defend him even though I know about him as it isn't my place and it's really his personal information.

I haven't made it big yet, but only advantages I got from my parents were a loan of 2.5k for my first car (which I paid back), and a place to live while I study. Ohh and lots of understanding (myself and my father didn't see eye to eye for a long time). I earn more then my mother as a part time job due to an excellent agent whom my father knew. I'll be working in my chosen career for somebody else until I earn enough to get my own projects off the ground.

However, my parents would have given me more for sure, but they have 6 children to care for. So it's hard to spread the money that far. Currently I am the highest earner of the children, but 2 are still early years of high school so that's a given.

If I keep saving at the rate I am, by the time I leave uni I'll have the deposit for my first place (a s*** cheap one, but you got to start somewhere) and some presents for myself in the meantime. But I can see how people spend their money, and can be earning twice myself and still not get anywhere... just depends on how you live your life.
beware, I am radiating angst right now
haha, bj you always make me laugh. so you make fences and do alright for yourself, that's fine. really it is. what isn't fine is your hilarious attitude where you think that because you do alright for yourself (and believe me it is only alright) that you're some how better than other people. being rich doesn't make you smart. being smart doesn't make you rich.

so you know how to take loans and buy houses. congrats, you really can't lose in the property market in SE QLD so that really isn't much of an acheivement. good that you have the brains to invest unlike most chumps but it really doesn't make you special.

i have a family member who makes as much as your investment properties are worth in a year from his salary alone, he also writes university textbooks and speaks at seminars all over the country and overseas (completely his achievement, not bragging as it has f*** all to do with me just using as an example). his name is in the papers on a regular basis, at least once a year about his salary (becuase the company he is CEO of used to be state owned) and lots of other times about his opinions about economic conditions and junk. does that make him a better person than anyone else? no, it's just a job and it's just money. he'll be the first person to tell anyone that. a long time ago he was a uni professor lucky to push $80k a year and he had just as much fun, loved life just as much and was exactly the same guy he is today. you really are pathetic, and i get the impression that you'll never work out why. which is sad and i don't mean that in a condescending way, it really is just sad.

last edited by taggs at 16:44:12 28/Aug/06
I love internet forums.
if you love them so much why don't you MARRY them
Bj
I don't work, I'm at uni.

Yeah, its a good excuse though you will find the people who will get somewhere are the ones who will still take on a job or two even while at uni, the fact you dont even want to work means your parents cover your ass with every dollar you spend, when you could be out working. I was working on my days off and weekends while I was studying even though "I didnt have to"

Add to the fact that even once you finish uni you will be flat out finding a job, and end up bumming off your parents as long as possible after giving up trying to find work.

I don't work because I don't have to.

Thats a good bums attitude, did you inherit that from your father?

I just don't like the way you make it seem like you did all the hard work to get where you are.

My dad went through several labourers who were all slack c***s with no work ethic much like yourself and couldnt take the nature of the work before I started, they all could be where I am now if they had stuck with it.

Even if I were to offer you my position today - 1) your a typical student who wouldnt want to work 2) your bitch like body wouldnt even be able to lift half of the timber and 3) if you had to run the business side of things you would be broke after the first quarter.

dont be bitter cause your family took the lazy easy route like your going down and have nothing to hand over, much the same positon your going to put your childen in the day you can find a bitch stupid enough to sleep with you.

keep up the good work - if "work" is the correct term :)

(and believe me it is only alright)

and believe me, a internet random knows what I earn... haha

last edited by Bj at 16:57:26 28/Aug/06
SpecialK
you are probably right, lightassasin. I got no angst towards you.

props to you for speaking your mind. My mates would even agree with you!

Good luck saving for your first house! I was never that responsible to even dream of owning my first house while at uni. Still another a few years away yet minimum. Want to have a fairly decent deposit though. How much you thinking you want as a deposit, lightassasin?

I did put myself a few years behind you though, seeing and experiencing the world before I settled down.
bj, no offence but i would confidently wager his family's house in hamilton is worth at least double, probably triple or more of what everything you own is worth. no s***. and both his parents are very well educated and extremely well off. seriously, you need to get a clue.

edit: gawd im a retarded typist.

last edited by taggs at 16:57:48 28/Aug/06
bj you said earlier in the thread how much you earned. over 100k.
I’m 19. I spent the last 10months working as a debt collector and 10months before that delivering pizza. I can hold down a job while studying. I also currently do unpaid work experience at a PR firm in the city 9-5.30 every Monday (I am here now).

My parents don't pay for anything except meals I eat at home and clothes on my back. I pay for everything else myself because I get youth allowance.

Like you can even talk about living off parents.

You’ve admitted you didn’t start and build your company on your own, from the ground up.
You wouldn’t be s*** without your parents.
I’m happy to admit it, why can’t you?
if you love them so much why don't you MARRY them

I would marry them, but I'm far too rich to settle for just any old forum.
You’ve admitted you didn’t start and build your company on your own, from the ground up.
For anyone joining, that sums the entire thread up.
Bj
I’m 19. I spent the last 10months working as a debt collector and 10months before that delivering pizza. I can hold down a job while studying. I also currently do unpaid work experience at a PR firm in the city 9-5.30 every Monday (I am here now).

I don't work because I don't have to.

Like you can even talk about living off parents.

I havnt lived off my parents since I was your age - 5 years ago.. difference being your going to be there alot longer

I eat at home and clothes on my back

You eat the clothes of your back? f*** you are doing it tough
Wow BJ, you're rich AND smart!
ace
you guys may have alot of money ...

but i have a formidable lat spread that could cast a shadow on the q1 tower on the gold coast.
well done.
you are a lower middle class snob that thinks they are better than everyone else because they own investment property in goodna.

keep building those fences champ, you might be able to buy your next one in inala.
Don't be hatin' on Goodna, other than the people that live there it's quite a nice place lol.
SpecialK
don't diss goodna or inala. top places for unemployed povo lazy bumms!!

also, the residents often drive home drunk and knock their fences over.
GOLD MINE for bj!!!
Bj
top places for unemployed povo lazy bumms!!

when you and reload heading there?
ace
what sorta business do u own bj ?
SpecialK
already squat in your place when you are at work.

While we are on the topic, buy some better beers, you cheap bum! I am sick of this XXXX and VB s***e.

last edited by SpecialK at 17:56:26 28/Aug/06
Bj
that wasnt beer, that was the dogs urine sample for the vet

howd you find movies on the 42" lcd, bit better than your 30cm black and white?
lcd screens are s***.
Crunch
God bless the internet! This is comedy GOLD.

ps I'm with you on the retiring thing spidz :)
Matt
Bj, so basically you're just a labourer who owns his own business? There is more to life than making money.

I am at uni doing something I enjoy and that will earn me a respectable income (with a near guaranteed job at the end), but that is about as far as my money-obsession goes. In fact, I am tempted to go down the PhD road despite there being more money immediately available in the private sector. I want enough for a nice house, bike and a little extra spending money. To me, anymore is not worth the extra effort. I would rather put that ‘money-making’ effort into further education or, gasp, having fun.

PS: You can give your kids the wealth you've amassed; I'll give mine my intellect and they can make their own money ;)

PPS: Exaggerated obnoxiousness only used to counter Bj’s :P
he could be more than a labourer, he just doesn't want to.
SpecialK
that wasnt beer, that was the dogs urine sample for the vet

xxxx tastes like dog piss. I say again: buy something better, cheap bum!

howd you find movies on the 42" lcd, bit better than your 30cm black and white?

Don't have a remote for my 30cm b&w tv and can't figure out how to use yours. . .
Where is the instruction manual? - please advise!
No but bj has without doubt secured his future, and his kids' future. Not only that but with the amount of money he makes, him and his wealth are everlasting, granting him near immortality status. But in order for him to become imortal he's gotta have insurance on everything and that includes his own life, which really shows how paraniod he is about all his assets that could all be lost when he suddenly trips over his dad's fence one day and dies a painful death. But it's ok, his money will save him then because at least he'll be enjoying the lush coffin that he'll be rotting in when he's turning in his own grave. Though the assests wont be going to waste since his fake ass shallow girlfrield will take over his money and spend it on shopping and doing her nails.

Yes you will undoubtedly lead a perfect life, but where you fail is when you boasted about how much you earn on a gaming internet forum.
http://img7.exs.cx/img7/8835/epenis.jpg
this is gold, please continue.
Bj
spend it on shopping and doing her nails.

thats why I got her running her own business as a nail technician, its one less thing she can spend money on :D

when your girlfriend evolves from your imagination on the internet, let me know i'll give you a discount on her first set.
SpecialK
got her running her own business as a nail technician

isn't this job usually for asian immigrants as a first job until they learn enough english to get a real job?

. . . wait a second!!!. . . bj, you dirty dog, you. got yourself a mail order. ;)

Go you good thing!!!
thats why I got her running her own business as a nail technician

Sheesh, lucky she's got you to set her up for life.
I'm married.

I guess i'm one step ahead of you relationship wise, but either way i'm sure your girlfriend is handing out nails in more than one way.

last edited by Booyah at 19:38:53 28/Aug/06
I don't have much money and probably never will..... wait what was this thread about again?
so no 72 virgins for ya then booyah?
f*** your a retard Jim f***ing
rv
will 30k deposit get me much in the way of a decent deposit on a house?

Who else here owns or knows someone who owns their own business??
beware, I am radiating angst right now
Stay away from the carpark!!
Jim is a director of a company, and angsty.

I used to have my own company, and I'm old and crusty.

30k is a good deposit, but not as good as 40k.

The sky is blue, except when it isn't.
Have 20% for a house deposit and you will be laughing

The sky is blue, except when it isn't.

Yeah that's like saying VB is a real programming language, except it isn't. LOL

Hehe, you'll have to do better to rev me up BJ :)

1. She just got that job ~3 months ago, and it is a casual position she does outside of her normal specialist training program. We'd obviously make a lot more right now if she worked that 95/hr job 40hrs a week. But as you'd say, we're moving towards bigger and better things. Ring and ask what private pathology labs pay pathology registrars if you find it hard to believe that medical specialists could possibly earn money like fence putter uppers :)

2. We've bought a 2nd more expensive car since. Not really interested in upgrading the s13 as I don't drive it very often, I like it, and it's fast besides. And you know I've spent quite a bit on top of the original cost of the car.

3. 400K ish yes. We bought that when only I was working full time and my wife was still a med student :) There's a difference between 'affording' a house and buying one well within one's means by the way. Now we're paying it off rapidly. We like it, and will probably purchase other investment properties when we feel it's a good time.
I don't program anymore Opec, I have people for that. I'm so successful at not programming that I make more money than BJ ;)
SpecialK
fence putter upper

lol!!

what is this country coming to when the person braggin about their great wealth is a putter upper of fences?

I now call my jobbie an info to brain putter.
err dude, you didn't help my putdown there ok?
PS: You can give your kids the wealth you've amassed; I'll give mine my intellect and they can make their own money ;)
seriously the best point made by far...
I am a person kicker outterer (in a few weeks)
he sure must make alot of coffee for all those guys putting up fences, or is he just a labourer for his old man?

hey BJ, I recently had a fence put up around my place in graceville. The fence at my place at Caloundra is a bit rickety, wanna see if you can beat the quote?
Ring and ask what private pathology labs pay pathology registrars if you find it hard to believe that medical specialists could possibly earn money like fence putter uppers :)
You can do your specialist training/registrar years in private practice? I've been seriously misinformed...
this is a funny thread!

and now here's some pics of my new radius arms, just finished fitting them up:

http://jason.qgl.org/images/4wd/random/3rds_radius_arms/002-small.jpg
http://jason.qgl.org/images/4wd/random/3rds_radius_arms/004-small.jpg
And what do radius arms do? The new ones look slightly longer... and bluer...
they maintain the position of the axle in relation to the front/back of the car, while allowing it to travel up and down - or in an arc, technically!

oh and they also dictate the caster

last edited by Jim at 00:52:53 29/Aug/06
Awesome!
positively spiffy!
Yeah that's like saying VB is a real programming language, except it isn't. LOL

It's beer mate!
If you want to make lots of money you have to work hard for it, full stop.

QFT. Also, I'd like to hear more about how you acquired your job, Fade. That sounds pretty cool to me. I make around $20 an hour in my current job, but I wouldn't mind taking a slight pay decrease if I could find a more fun or interesting job. I'm a hardcore nerd so fiddling around with PCs and other techy stuff sounds like my cup of tea.
Crusher
its funny how bj says that anyone working for an hourly rate is a peasant, but doesnt a laboring/building business charge at an hourly rate for work for their customers? :)

also, its interesting how he says hes negative gearing his properties, but goes in how he is increasing his equity in these properties. By definition, negative geared properties lose money so you will never gain equity in them, until their ongoing cost is less than their rental income, or unless he is putting extra cash of his own into it over and above the negative gear hit.

So I would be interested to see how the investment strategy is... to ride capital growth or to pay off principal.

last edited by Crusher at 03:43:01 29/Aug/06
Have 20% for a house deposit and you will be laughing

not too many peeps around have 60g for a deposit

u can buy a house these days with 0 deposit
What was it they say - never discuss money, religion or politics...

Also, much lol at this thread. Instead of trying to prove a point ppl, why don't u just be happy with what u have. Money isn't everything...
Money isn't everything...

only a poor person would say that

(lolz)
Nice blue arms Jim!

fence putter uppers :)

orbs wins heh
You can do your specialist training/registrar years in private practice? I've been seriously misinformed...

Generally no. I'm talking about a separate job.

I see Jim's blue arms and raise him some blue arms:
http://members.iinet.net.au/~m.holmes/silvia_project/suspension/sways_and_arms.jpg

last edited by orbitor at 09:17:41 29/Aug/06
haha awesome
toss those dirty swaybars away though :D
your 4wd is so rice now jim
LightAssassin
Jim on the drag track videos next week? haha

Specialk, I'll probably start with a s***ty little house to build up from and move on. Probably stay in my local area where the houses are ~200k now. I doubt I'll get a deposit better than 20k (there is the ideal of more, but then the realisitic view of s*** going bad).

I'm only just starting uni in 2007 as I have been working since finishing high school.

If anybody here wants a job that pays well and has decent learning skills, be a drafter. Got a friend who is making 100k a year at age 24 (and it only goes up from there) and he works 7-4 for 5 days a week. It's nice enough work, a bit of down time, but that just gives you time to surf the net and send those crappy emails everybody sends around.
SpecialK
I would like to have about 40k for my house loan, but with house prices always on the up (slowed down now a little) I think you can save money by getting in as soon as possible.

200k for a house? where r u???
LightAssassin
I live near Browns Plains, it's well... a craphole :) Plus I know some people who can help me.

Not quite as bad as Woodridge... but only 10min drive. I'm not after anything fancy, it's just a first house which will end up rented anyway.. hell if things go well enough I don't expect I'll be in this country :)
Bj
building business charge at an hourly rate for work for their customers

haha.. are you serious?

Got a friend who is making 100k a year at age 24

while learning drafting, isnt that all your doing? you should ask em for a $70k raise next year

I would like to have about 40k for my house loan, but with house prices always on the up (slowed down now a little) I think you can save money by getting in as soon as possible.

haha oh man
SpecialK
yeah, I have the same attitude as you, LightAssasin.

First House: nothing flash. Would like to even find something that I can throw my hand at renovating a bit, however a carpenter I am not. I think it would be a lot of fun though! Very rewarding to improve your own property to increase it's value both for re-sale and for my own enjoyment. My parents bought a pretty average place some years back, and now it has the best garden in town. :)

Don't know if I will end up renting it out, or sell it to get my dream house quicker. Either way, I will be very happy with my mrs and some kiddies (eventually).

Bj, I will never be a multi-millionaire, (most likely never even a millionaire) but I will be richer in ways that you can never hope to experience. I will live happier and longer without the stress and hardships that you will inevitably face with your attitude/greed for money. Here is a short conversation between Bj and his dad:

Bj: Power. . . Money. . . Fence Putter Uppering. . . Nothing.

Bj's Father: Nothing?

Bj: NOTHING!!! Father, I learnt how to lust for money from you. I learnt how to rub what I have in other peoples faces the way mother did when she had friends. However, the people I try and do this with seem to take pity on me, and I don't understand why.

Bj's Father: You didn't give them any money, did you?

Bj: No, Father, of course not.

Bj's Father: f***ing thank God. Now piss off and put up some more fences, you fence putter upperer.

last edited by SpecialK at 07:25:08 30/Aug/06

Property market has slowed right down in Sydney and Melbourne, Brisbane is on the verge of slowing. In fact, most of the really good places have slowed considerably and it is the outlying areas of Brisbane that are are still climbing well.

I'm not saying that you're wrong, I'm just saying that the property market isn't going to continue to climb as fast as it has.
Captain America

heheh BJ thinks he's the only that knows about this stuff ... in the end its just a mum & dad investment :]
King Of Shibby!
lollllllllll

Builders charging hourly rates? God damn I wish, you charge labour for the job, not "I'LL SEE HOW MANY HOURS IT TAKES ME THEN YOU CAN PAY FOR IT". You'd have to be on crack to think that.

And you don't have to work hard to make money, its call the public service.

Labourers work hard for their money, I've worked rooves with my old man and you'll know what work is after spending 12 hours putting up fascia and gutter in the sun.
Public Service Represent'
And you don't have to work hard to make money, its call the public service.

Because so many have made their millions working for the public service...

In my experiance, public service pays less but has better benifits, less responsibility and less stress than private industry.

Unless you are talking about being a member of parliment. In which case, I agree :P
Bj
In my experiance

Did you mean: experience

Stick with your dungeons and dragons ya oversize rednut

Hahaha BJ correcting spelling. In that case, for future reference, "you are" is abbreviated to "you're". But I guess as a fence builder you don't have to worry about things like that...
Just out of interest nubbin, what speciality you looking at pursuing?
No idea but psychiatry, paediatrics and obstetrics are up there at the moment.
Unless you are referring to a previous post nubbin his use of your in his latest post was correct :P

Still funny watching him correct spelling though.
Hashy
Unless you are referring to a previous post nubbin

Yeah I was - about 6 times in previous posts... IF we were being pedantic ;)
fpot, you've always been good value you know that
you always crack me up
Hashy
Are you content with your life in any way other than your ability to "make" large amounts of money and subsequently bragging in the guise of dispensing valuable advice about how to get rich off lucky investments of your parents' hard work on forums?

If so, why the f*** are you on here and S1 doing this? All the time.

Seriously, all the f***ing time.

Also internet threats of violence because, let's face it, you can't compensate for your dysmally depraved life or miniscule manhood by bragging about your income alone.

Man that's so deep... it like works on so many levels..... and stuff.
I dont think this thread has asked the hard questions yet.

If a millionaire was on a treadmill and started to move forward, would he stay stationary or take off?
LightAssassin
BJ I can't get a 70k pay rise :P I'm already on 62k pa (equiv of, I don't do enough hours).

Specialk, you got it on the head, except I plan to make plenty of money later (I won't give up on life to do so, but I'll work for it). You can work hard and not stress, I bearly stress about anything work related. That said, I have about zero responsibility for anything.

I've done a few jobs, pizza boy, drafter, dabbled as a roadie, farm hand and a couple others. I've been in the office, in the sun and driving a car. There is ways to make money from them all, and I live nice enough from it all. I've spent this time finding the job that suits me, while studying (studying general things that help me regardless of what I choose).

Of course like all people I wish I could have it sooner rather then later, but I hate the ideas of loans and debt. I don't get loans for anything (most guys my age have a loan for a car or similar), Only loan I plan to get is for a house, as it builds a solid foundation (rather be paying for the house then renting). I just do all the "common sense" things, but people don't usually tend to care, or don't want to care.

Looks like the thread will be locked sooner rather then later at this rate. Have fun, and watch out... Jim's angsty! :D
Bj
Its ok to be jealous hashy - one day you'll get off that poverty line :D or will you!?

I cant remember the last time I even bothered to read S1, nice try though

fpot; must be bout time you hit your mum up for another xbox game isnt it
SpecialK

Click Here to See the Profile for SpecialK Edit This Post Click Here to send SpecialK an email Users HomePage Message User
Bj

asif you'd pay people out about their jobs - you'll never know when you're about to start shovelling s*** for a living
SpecialK
as if you would gloat about having rich parents. you never know when the economy is going to go to s***.
Your insults are boring so I'll set some things straight for you so there is the slight (slight) possibility of you saying something new after about 5 odd years of posting in this forum -

1) no-one is jealous of you. Get that through that thick skull of yours.
2) no-one buys me anything
3) you'd be nothing without your parents
4) most of the people you have attempted to insult in this thread are smarter than you (typo, orbitor, hashy) and to the casual observer (me) it really shows. I can tell just by looking.

Also (I know this is old bj but not many people here would have seen it) here is an old thread on maxe that links to an even older thread where klayman/burt/bj is just about to buy his gtst (whoops, I mean his dad is just about to buy his gtst). It is a nice chronology of bj turning into a complete wanker. Read the thread linked in the thread first for maximum effect.

last edited by fpot at 15:28:23 29/Aug/06
Bj
haha. I love the effort you go through, shows just how angsty you are.

my dad bought me my first car about 6 years ago, holy smokes! im sure im the only kid to ever get helped by their parents in that department.. oh me and maxe of course (but thats a secret)

or are you bitter my dad had the money for a decent car, or your mum had to get a cash advance from cash convertors for your new xbox? if your dad had done something more then bludge through life as a s***kicker like you will, maybe he could of given you a better start also, not that you would have the brains to go anywhere on your own even if he did anyway.

sure they dont, just like all the other kids here unemployeed living with their parents

I can tell just by looking

Just like a photoshop! cant fool you slugman (damn you've got the life)

last edited by Bj at 15:41:55 29/Aug/06
You seriously are a tool.
Bj
Has the bandwagon picked you up yet chub? you've been trying to hail it for awhile now
Seems like you built and maintained it so you should probably know.
Now I have to ask the question; was that last post of yours (#301) a mockery of my attempt to try and get you to say something new and witty or was that a genuine attempt at a retort?

1) no-one is jealous of you. Get that through that thick skull of yours.
haha. I love the effort you go through, shows just how angsty you are.

or are you bitter my dad had the money for a decent car

your mum had to get a cash advance from cash convertors for your new xbox?

sure they dont, just like all the other kids here unemployeed living with their parents

3) you'd be nothing without your parents

my dad bought me my first car about 6 years ago

slight (slight) possibility of you saying something new after about 5 odd years of posting in this forum

Just like a photoshop! cant fool you slugman (damn you've got the life)

That's why I ask.

last edited by fpot at 16:04:38 29/Aug/06
LightAssassin
"Parents buying/handing down their children their first car is not uncommon, maybe it is in kingston where you come from because your parents have never known hard work to earn anything, so dont have anything to give."

Aww BJ, my mum comes from there... my grandma lives there... why do you hurt me so :'(

For the sake of me giving my mum props (she's mad for a old person), she grew up in that area, lived in house and trained to become a nurse. Met my father while scrubbing the gravel from his bones (motorbike accident, coppers hit him while they were doing an illegal u-turn). She's gone on to have 6 kids, she helps us all out plenty. I owe my first car to my parents (sure it was a 2k s***box). Mum is now doing her masters in hospital management and recently got the promotion to do so. She earns around the 60k mark per year, and that will go up with the masters and more experience doing the management (keeping on topic y0!).

So if you end up in greenslopes private hospital in ward 40 or 43 say Hi to my mum! Say you know me and she'll be extra nice (I don't mind if I hate you or what ever, it's nursing, it's about helping everybody).

To me you're all as bad as each other, in person I don't care what you said on QGL forums. A lot of assuming and trolling. Maybe the old klayman/burt/bj that nobody sees is more what he's like and he baits you? Not liking a person when you've met them is different from the internet. I'd hate to see posts of me when I first joined, think that was 99 or similar haha!
everybody loves me, but thats because im tung
According to BJ I'm most superior to all of yous cause cause my parent didn't buy me my 1st car or 2nd car or 1st house LOL
haha trog is bitter cos he doesn't have his own office
haha that old thread is awesome fpot.
So, lets get this really clear. You bag people out for living at home, not owning their own company, having their parents buy them a car, modding your car and a whooooole bunch of other s***, yet

* Your parents bought your Skyline
*Your Parents bought your company (or do you still work for them)
* You couldnt get a job so worked for them?

Now, im not big city lawer, but you sire, are a Hypocrite!

Now, I know your going to come back at this post telling me how rich you are and how poor I am and that I work for "The Man" and not myself etc, but honestly, all this forums wants, is for you to go back to fist f***ing your exhaust pipe on your penis extention of a car.

Also, Hi Mantra!
it's extension ... LOL! laern to spell!
You seriously should of stopped 10 pages ago Bj, you honestly just look like a knob now.
http://www.observationdeck.org/lip_images/stemcell.jpg
If Honest Eds says it, it must be true!

http://xesla.ro/static/images/eds.jpg
http://capntwitch.mypicgallery.com/arrrrrrPIRATE/piratebitches.jpg

this thread has fallen apart.
I don't think he's trying anymore :(
I think Hashy really nailed it with the "You wouldn't be s*** without your parents" bit. BJ should read Rich Dad Poor Dad, just to realise how wrong he is.

The most important asset parents can pass onto their children is not material wealth, but the knowledge of how to USE it. Having parents who can buy you cars, houses, businesses etc is worthless if you don't know how to manage money and assets wisely. My parents came to Australia as immigrants. Both left highschool before completion, and the only kind of qualifications they had was that my father was a boiler maker. Through hard work, budgeting and wise investments, they went from being poor to making around a quarter of a million between them P.A (before tax). They now own several investment properties and an impressive investment portfolio. While these things may help me in the future and grants me the ability to offer my descendants a good life, the most important thing I've gained is the knowledge of how to use money. My dad may be a high school drop out with nothing more than qualifications as a tradesman, but he's damn smart with money and finance and I intend to learn as much as I can from him.

You can live quite comfortably working for 'the man'. If you can find a job that you love doing and pays enough, go for it. How much you make doesn't matter, it's how you use it that matters most.

/rant
haha trog is bitter cos he doesn't have his own office
He has his own office, it's just super big to hold his mini trogs.
Also, Hi Mantra!
Hey dude!

This has been an amusing thread. BJ reminds me of Hunter (or is it Hunter?). I don't hang around enough anymore to keep up...
ace
lol, fence builders are f***ing wankers.... i had one have a bitch when i turned the power off...

sucked in, hope it was bj.
Hashy
I think Hashy really nailed it with the "You wouldn't be s*** without your parents" bit.
Reload!, not me. It definitely bore repeating though.
asif you'd pay people out about their jobs - you'll never know when you're about to start shovelling s*** for a living
or building fences for that matter!
crizane tribunal wins
Crizane has probably posted the best thing in this thread yet.
Kudos my friend, well done.
I think blowjob just got mega told in this last page but in his mind he's all like "but i got more money therefore i win"

lolf***wank.
I don't know, being compared to hunter must cut pretty deep....
Matt
Bj, you never responded to me. Was it because I didn't make any spelling mistakes in my last post for you to highlight whilst avoiding any real discussion?

Intelligence and quest for knowledge are far more important than money. I'd rather give my kids a passion for learning over a couple of bucks.

But if you actually enjoy putting up fences day after day, and that's mentally challenging, then good on ya ;)
hay guys you mind if i post in this thread?
Go right ahead.
rv
How many of you people in here actually own or buying property?

I still don't own property but saving hard to.

My advice to you younger guys, start saving for it now, it's well worth it.
But why do I want to help you lot. I'll be just competing against you when I buy my house in the future.

So go and do what I did, spend it all, piss it up the wall and travel :)

Go right ahead.

BJ your gay.
I approve of the above post with all its glory and deliberate spelling mistakes.
rv
Petrol will be $1.15 by xmas. Will be good for a change

According to stats, comparing to Singapore fuel, we're getting ripped off with fuel prices right now.

I know you know this, but I'm just reminding you.
BJ your gay.
you're

Also, rv, the idea with spam is to not be too informative, otherwise people might think you're odd.
rv
where did I spam? What the?
Posting in epic thread LOL.

Ahhh Burt. <3

Think I'm gonna ride my bobcat down the street now.
You don't have a dingo?
dingoes are soo 2002
rv
oh i didn't know that posting in own thread was classed as spam.

sorry guys
Think I'm gonna ride my bobcat down the street now.
I bet your dad paid for that bobcat you poor uneducated f***, lol.
OMGZ eK someone paid for something for you to do something liek when you were younger and stuff and now your life is ruined because you're not building fences lol?
Hashy
My epeen shrunk 10 sizes because of this thread
now u have a vagina?
I, bj, have a dream, that one day this forum will rise up and live out the true meaning of fence fist f***ing.
Did you mean: experience

Woops, I did. Still, it doesn’t detract from my point that working for public service pays less than enterprise. I’d be surprised if you can find one comparable job that pays more in public service than you can find in private enterprise. Of course, this excludes politicians, as I don’t think there are any positions that are comparable outside of politics.

Next time, you might want to try making a counter argument to my points instead of making a s***ty deflection based on spelling mistakes.

Stick with your dungeons and dragons ya oversize rednut

1) who plays Dungeons and Dragons?
2) How does a spelling mistake, on QGL, suggest that I do?
3) Why is it an insult?

The firm I work for does extensive consulting with state government organisations. I get to talk to a lot of people on both sides of the line; as such, private enterprise offers much more in terms of fiscal remuneration (bonuses, cash incentives) while public usually offers non-fiscal remuneration (flexi time, long holidays, leave loading).

I don’t imagine that many people enter public service with the goal of becoming a millionaire.
Crusher
its interesting to see how bj laughed at me for suggesting that builders work for an hourly rate, as though a job lot to build a house/fence/goat pen/whatever doesnt ever boil down to a $/hour figure.

If you cannot see how it does, then you are certainly not the business guru that you think you are.

Building a house = $X in income
Building a house = Y in hours of total labour
Therefore, $X / Y = hourly cost to provide your labour service.

Or do you have a magic labour company where work happens in a mystical fantastic way?

last edited by Crusher at 04:51:29 30/Aug/06
Oh dear ppl...

We live in a country with opportunity to the best educational resources in the world, and where rich parents are not a necessity...

Everyone is responsible for their own standing in life...we're all adults (I think...) so why don't u all start acting like it a bit!

If u don't like ur job/wage/place in life, work on changing it. And for Christ's sake, STOP WHINGING!!! (This thread stopped being funny about 18 pages ago).

And we all lived happily ever after. The end.
SpecialK
thanks for your insight.

. . . back onto any random topic. Are there any tax tricks when you have a second income living with your girlfriend?? Is it better to appear single for your tax return?

I earn about $200p/a from finding loose change under Bj's cusions while squatting at his house. My girlfriend on the other hand does much better and makes at least $250p/a. She is imaginary, but I love her.

Am I eligable for any tax free threshold?

Bj went to work early today, so I could get an early start using his computer. He seemed to be in a pretty s***ty mood this morning. . That time of the month?
your gay
also, i dont know about public service not paying so well

all my mates seem to earn pretty good coin working for public service

especially when u factor in all their days off

I'm paid by the government, work 7 days a week most of the time for terrible pay with no overtime and haven't taken a holiday since jan 2004.
It does depend on your career choice tho ^

I imagine at least u enjoy (well, as much as one can) ur job (unlike a lot of ppl).
That's the only reason I keep going back.
also, i dont know about public service not paying so well

all my mates seem to earn pretty good coin working for public service

especially when u factor in all their days off

My main points where “that in two comparable jobs the public service job pays less”, and “I don’t think anybody would sign up for the public service with the intention of becoming a millionaire”.

If you’re getting “less” than someone with comparable experience in public service, you need to get a new job.

I'm paid by the government, work 7 days a week most of the time for terrible pay with no overtime and haven't taken a holiday since jan 2004.

I don’t think going to centrelink once a fortnight qualifies as working 7 days a week :P
im glad typo is here to answer everyone's questions about everything related to all topics in life

WHAT A FONT OF KNOWLEDGE
im glad typo is here to answer everyone's questions about everything related to all topics in life

WHAT A FONT OF KNOWLEDGE

I’d like thank Jesus as my personal saviour. I’d never have made it this far without love of Jesus in my heart.

Anyway, the reason I appear to be so awesome compared to you is because you are, so very, retarded.
what a know-it-all
Yeh, but you don't even know what a virus is
what a know-it-all

Compared to Persay, that's not hard :P
I’d like thank Jesus as my personal saviour. I’d never have made it this far without love of Jesus in my heart.

haha jesus was just a loser being supported by his dad ... I mean if my dad was god I'd be pretty well set up too!
Yeh, but you don't even know what a virus is

Don't start this s*** with me again trog!
what's a virus ?
I think I'm winning this thread with my radius arm pics, closely followed by orbitor
Hashy
haha jesus was just a loser being supported by his dad ... I mean if my dad was god I'd be pretty well set up too!
o man oll

hahah, oh dear, so many Jew jokes come to mind. Unfortunately political correctness will mod me out of existence :(
i lol at bj

Bj
^ was that before or after you kissed my ass and begged me to take you to your formal? haha

its amazing what a peasant will do when they need help
Dude, you build fences.

I believe your the f***ing peasant. Off to work then!

http://www.warcraft3.sk/pics/races/human/units/peasant.jpg