Anyone know where I can get frozen and/or concentrated lemon juice? Not those little squeeze bottles, but like the way you buy concentrated orange juice - only with lemon.
I've been Googling margarita recipes and most of them seem to reckon this is the stuff you want in it, but my local stores don't have anything like it :( |
| #0 03:27pm 29/12/05 |
whats wrong with the squeeze bottles? just open the lid and pour away :p
| #1 03:35pm 29/12/05 |
you can get good margarita mixes from most bottle shops. just add tequilla!
| #2 03:50pm 29/12/05 |
That is, according to the Internets, how common peasants drink their margaritas!
I've had that margarita mix stuff and quite like it (like you can taste anything after a couple of drinks anyway), but I've set myself a mission to try and make a Good Margarita(tm) so I want to try and get the real shizzle. I've since read a few other recipes that say just using fresh lime juice is the way to go - pity limes are $10/kg at the moment. |
| #3 03:54pm 29/12/05 |
i had the best maragritas ever the other night at this place down in new farm. pity it was my gf's work xmas party and i drank about 12 of them and well you know how it goes....
trog are you using the recipe 3 parts tequilla, 1 part tripple sec, on the rocks. the rim only has lime squezzed on it, so lime slices would be the way to go. warning! unless this is weakend with a mixer you will get f***eyed. last edited by infi at 16:31:34 29/Dec/05 |
| #4 04:31pm 29/12/05 |
You can get lime juice in a squeezie bottle like you can lemon juice, is probably heaps cheaper than buying fresh lime juice. As for lemon concentrate, how about getting lemon cordial? may work ...
| #5 04:30pm 29/12/05 |
Lunch
that new building complex at indooroopilly where coles (and hogsbreath I think) is that is on the railwayline has an awesome deli next to that coffee shop chain that sells stuff like concentrated lemon and lime juice and heaps of other stuff for cooking. Isnt cheap though.
| #6 04:45pm 29/12/05 |
that new building complex at indooroopilly where coles (and hogsbreath I think) is that is on the railwayline has an awesome deli next to that coffee shop chain that sells stuff like concentrated lemon and lime juice and heaps of other stuff for cookingHmm, I went there too and couldn't find anything. They did have an interesting-looking margarita mix though |
| #7 05:05pm 29/12/05 |
Surly bottle shops would have some sort of mixer stuff you could use
| #8 05:22pm 29/12/05 |
"an awesome deli" ... if by awesome you mean vastly overpriced then yeah your right.
$10 a kg for limes! gawd ... everyone I know has a lime tree in their backyard I could bath in the things |
| #9 06:34pm 29/12/05 |
Lunch
Maybe puree your own lemon zest mixed with the lemon juice if you have one of those handheld blenders?
I paid $10 a kilo at woolworths sunnybank hills yesterday for limes :/ Damn coronas. last edited by Lunch at 19:19:19 29/Dec/05 |
| #10 07:19pm 29/12/05 |
Yeah, and don't forget kaffir lime leaves ... they're just as good as lime zest ... could probably pound the crap out of them and soak them in lemon juice for a day or so then strain them out ... but seriously it'd be less effort to pay $10/kg :)
| #11 11:18pm 29/12/05 |
just use sorbet
| #12 11:54pm 29/12/05 |
I thought you just get this stuff from supermarkets? It comes in a carton and is best frozen - it may even be in the freezer section of the supermarkets. Might even be home brand too.
| #13 08:26am 30/12/05 |
have you tried (non wanky fruit requiring) beer?
i hear its nice cold when the days are hot i recommend vb |
| #14 09:00am 30/12/05 |
have you tried (non wanky fruit requiring) heterosexuality?
ZING! |
| #15 09:01am 30/12/05 |
I thought you just get this stuff from supermarkets? It comes in a carton and is best frozen - it may even be in the freezer section of the supermarkets. Might even be home brand too.Woolies have a couple brands of orange, home brand orange, orange and mango, and "tropical" - but no lemon :( |
| #16 10:47am 30/12/05 |
Juice a whole lot of lemons and freeze them yourself
| #17 10:51am 30/12/05 |
The reason it's probably in a lot of recipes online is that it's a pretty common commodity in North America.
During my time in Canada and I imagine the US is the same, I noticed they didnt have much of the regular style cordial that we have here (2 litre bottles of cottees etc) but rather fridges full of these little coke can sized carboard frozen concentrates. There's dozens of different flavours, including orange and lemon and all the usual cordial flavours. All the home-made margaritas I witnessed while there were made using the various flavours of these. |
| #18 11:11am 30/12/05 |
Dan, totally true. Also, in the US "lemonade" isn't the same as we have over here, but its literally "lemon-ade" - just basically sugared up lemon drink. If you want what we call lemonade, you have to ask for Sprite.
| #19 11:27am 30/12/05 |
I'd say the lemon concentrate is merely sold out. Try again next week.
| #20 11:40am 30/12/05 |
I asked for no salt on the margarita, but there was salt, salt! Huge grains of salt around the glass. I won't be leaving a tip!
| #21 12:31pm 30/12/05 |
FCOJ is where its at.
| #22 01:45pm 30/12/05 |