Topic: My night - new car
defi
Well today i picked up my new import, a 1989 180sx, fresh from japan. Got it registered by about 1 o'clock, went and got my exhaust fitted, and picked up my brothers at high school by 3. Everything was great car was fast, looked great, and sounded awesome (pics to come sometime). i drove around the rest of the arvo just gettin used to the car, after all i had been driving a s***ty bommodore for the last year. At about 8pm tonight i went for a drive to subway with a mate. On the way home, i see a mate in his car and get him to pull over so i can show him my new car.

Everything was all good untill i started it again to drive away when i hear this awful noise coming from the engine bay. Ring racq, with my free2go card and 30mins later he comes and within 5 mins he tells me my water pump is completely f***ed and he will send a tow truck. tow truck comes, 30mins later......but my front bar is to low.....cant get it on. sends for another truck, an hour later it comes and we get the car on eventually. unload it easily into my front yard.

yer so i think i have the worst luck ever. and im soo cut atm, who else has luck like me
So is the car actually insured?
defi
yer my cars insured, and i have a month warrenty, it just s***s me, that this sorta stuff always seems to happen to me, just after something good happens

last edited by defi at 22:42:09 24/May/04
mattamon
not sure on the prices of water pumps, but im assuming they arent too much. just be glad its not ur turbo or something else more expensive on its way out :)

how much did ya pick the 180 up for? cheap im guessing since its 15yrs old :D
lol, bad luck man
defi
yer the racq dude rekons $120 for a new pump...

mate sells imports for a company and got me an awesome deal....my mate got a 4 door r32 through him aswell for a crazy price
:|

I'm in the process of buying an S15 200sx... hope I don't have this sort of luck... :|

Did you get a mechanical inspection when the car arrived? Was there any sort of warranty/guarantee with it (I think most reputable importers will provide a limited warranty - maybe 6 months)

I'm just waiting on the mech inspection on the S15 - got finance and insurance all teed up and ready to go... on a 3 yr old car (40k on the clock) I don't expect much to be wrong, especially given the look of the car (immaculate), but just in case I'm still getting it checked for peace of mind in the hopes that this doesn't happen...

last edited by cerb at 22:48:37 24/May/04
defi
cerb: the 180 is in immaculate condition aswell, only 70k kms. i got it checked over, and test drove b4 hand. it drove perfect till it went. its just me seriously, my luck sucks.
Oh nos a water pump... seriously dude its just a water pump. That said, the car is what, 15 years old?? Who knows how old the pump is/was. Sif buy an import anyway. If you ever crash it you will be 1) waiting ages for parts and 2) paying a s***load for them. I've seen a few imports sitting at work waiting for MONTHS for parts.
70k on a 1989 car?

You sure about that?
its just me seriously, my luck sucks.

This is what worries me - I seem to have s*** luck with things too...

I initially wanted to get an R34 GT-T (had one picked out and all) - applied for finance, telling them what I wanted, they then approved it and told me it'd depend on the car, for instance I couldn't use it for an import... duh, I said from the start that's what I was getting! :(

But anyway, I'm still getting a nice car, and the insurance etc is much cheaper cos it's technically not an import. :D

But I'm just waiting for something to go wrong.... *touch wood*

At least I'll still have my old car for a little bit for transport or quick cash if needed.
My pops bought an 89 camry station wagon in very good condition from the auctions and apparently that had 63000 k's on the meter.

Rewinded back you ask ? Prolly.
70k on an '89 car? I doubt it. But yeah its only a water pump and no biggie.

If you ever crash it you will be 1) waiting ages for parts and 2) paying a s***load for them.

Its a Nissan, not a Ferrari.

fat
70k on a 1989 car?

You sure about that?
Dude its possible easily - my car is an 81 model and just clicked over 60 000 k's. Just gotta look for a while :)
1974, mine reads 4441 ^_^
Its great only having an odo that goes to 100,000 =|
rember, water pumps rust because of time, not kms.
Dude its possible easily - my car is an 81 model and just clicked over 60 000 k's. Just gotta look for a while :)
Thats like 7km's a day, average...
Seems way to small to me (at a random guess)

Most people would probably drive that far to get milk...
fat
mines genuine :) , and my water pump is cool.

last edited by fat at 23:17:37 24/May/04
haha, count your lucky stars man.

much more expensive s*** has blown up on imports aside from water pumps.
Trapper
and don't forget if he got it from japan its even easier to be 70k, the previous owner might not have driven it much. the emission laws over there is why alot of the imports get here. but then i am not saying anything here you all wouldn't know already
Low k's on older cars is possible, but uncommon.

An older person may drive it merely to go to work and back.
Be wary of cars used for "going to church" or "shopping"... usually cars like that aren't driven for long enough to allow the engine to properly warm up. This leads to all sorts of stresses, particularly since oil takes a while to warm up to a level where it flows sufficiently.

Also, Skitza, it may not be a Ferrari but if the list price for the parts is too expensive or too difficult to get, insurance companies will often force you to wait. I work within the smash industry btw. There's something like the parent's poster's car at work, its been there for ages while they wait for stuff.
Also,

my S13 was a 91' and was imported here in 2001, only had 85,000 on the clock.

If that provides any perspective.

..maybe it dosnt.
brett
my missus gemini has an origional 50,500k's on the clock.
they bought it off her old mans, old mans next door neighbour (her grand dads next door neighbour)

she was like 83 years old and litteraly drove it to and from church, every sunday.
they bought it for $2600~ with rego and 49,900k's on the clock.

oh and, it was garaged all its life.

bargains are out there, you just have to be lucky.
DigitaL
cars = money magnets
AvengeR
have a look at the odometer, see if every number lines up nicely, and when clocking over.

i doubt the 70000kms is genuine but yes you may have just got lucky

sounds like a sweet ride good luck on the purchase
nat
cars from japan typically have much lower k's on the clock for their age. but dont be fooled! these cars have spent most of their times in traffic jams! they are probably just as worn out as a car with twice the km's!
have a look at the odometer, see if every number lines up nicely, and when clocking over.
Nothing is ever perfect from factory, so I wouldnt rely on that.
nat
AvengeR
true loki but 6-7 misaligned numbers on the odometer is never a good sign

sorry i am just suspicious of imports....personal experience
Had my 1989 BMW 318i coupe last serviced 11,000km ago. The guys said it was in great condition.

Took it in today, now they tell me it's f***ed and needs $2000 worth of repairs.

Load of s*** - i reckon they missed something last time and it caused everything to blow up. I drive like a grandpa.
my grandma's car is an 89 camry and 585,000 k's on the clock, my great grandmas car is an 87 camry and has 42,000k's on the clock - so it IS possible :P
if you bought it from direct auto imports in springwood then the clocks been wound.
lmnt
from memory, my utes water pump cost a couple of hundred to replace. the pumps can go when the car overheats or has been overheated.
couple of hundred?
Mine cost $20 to replace, and literally 5 minutes of my time :)
and that was nearly 4 years ago :)

last edited by Loki at 00:32:10 25/May/04
DigitaL
I don't think that assesing (sp) a car on how many k's its done is really a good judgement on the state of the car.
My friends old ford laser ( i know nothing about them) has done 715 THOUSAND k's and is still running well!
The only things that have been done to it are consistant servicing and one engine rebuild or some s***. It really depends on how the car is/was driven and what the limits of it are.
yeah If the car has been driven mostly on long stretchy highways than ususally there's less wear and tear on the engine compared to another car thats be driven in built up areas of traffic and what not.

As long as you dont buy your parts from REPCO you should be right.

Recommend Every Piece Comes Off.
lmnt
couple of hundred?
and that was nearly 4 years ago :

really?! *sigh*, grease munkeys..... always overcharging...
posting a "my new car" thread without pictures is lame
It's law for every car yard to provide a statuatory 3 month warranty, found that out when I bought mine.

Surely importers would still be considered car yards?
couple of hundred?
and that was nearly 4 years ago :

$20! wouldn't be a new water pump be a second hand one.

Water pumps for Toranas = cheap!
Is it a CA18DET or an SR20DET? I have workshop manuals for both if you need them. Replacing a water pump is a fairly straightforward job.

However, won't you have some sort of warranty to cover this?
pics, with defi in the car ;)

iv seen it too he came and picked me up from school, leetest of cars

edit 2, orbs its a ca18det

http://users.bigpond.net.au/existence/180_d_2.jpg

http://users.bigpond.net.au/existence/180_d_3.jpg

and our other mates new car, (mine and defis good mate)

edit.. fark. soz 4 forum ownage... i cant remember how to resize.. if someone wants to do it then ill edit it in.. lol

last edited by existence` at 10:11:35 25/May/04

last edited by existence` at 10:12:49 25/May/04

last edited by Khel at 12:34:18 25/May/04
hehe, defi, take those freckin mud guards off already, you're not driving out bush :P
the car needs to get dumped on its nuts!
Danjor
defi how much did the car set you back?

last edited by Danjor at 21:11:08 25/May/04

last edited by Danjor at 21:11:57 25/May/04
and our other mates new car, (mine and defis good mate)

I see that almost every morning at chermisde.

Also, looks like the ol' 180 needs a fuel refill there champ ;)
leave the mudguards on!

was driving on the western freeway yesterday, and it's being resurfaced.

some old c*** in some old c*** car was ahead of me, and kicking up f***en a million rocks n s*** at me. c***.
f*** me, I thought my car was riding high at the moment (too lazy to put front springs/shocks in).

Needs a body kit, and painted silver =D
180's with body kit + silver = awesome.

Check out the super impractically low 180sx that shows up at Harry's diner on a friday night, silver with nice body kit and tinted windows, that thing would be my goal for a 180 (cept usin bags to jack the suspension up when needed).
I might have a pic of it somewhere, I'll see if I can dig it up
f***it, nup dont have it, but here's a nice crowd at harry's many months ago:

http://members.optushome.com.au/jmarton/Pictures/Harrys/Crowd1.jpg
http://members.optushome.com.au/jmarton/Pictures/Harrys/Crowd2.jpg
http://members.optushome.com.au/jmarton/Pictures/Harrys/Crowd4.jpg

RUH ROH busted being a d******* =)
http://members.optushome.com.au/jmarton/Pictures/Harrys/Ruh-Roh.jpg

And for the hell of it: My "I'm too lazy to lower it" s***box

Oh yeah, chuck some wider rubber on those rims defi, you can see that your rims for those profiles could go a bit wider, have a little bit of rubber overhang (or at least in line) looks better than a receeding tyre line from the rim =)

Otherwise, nice dude, 180's can look good or they can look s***, do it once and do it right mate :)

last edited by Loki at 13:31:09 25/May/04
Of all rice cars, I only like one, a riced up kitted 180 :)

Orrr yeah.
iliketomoveitmoveit
defi
its not 70k exactly.... its in the shop today getting fixed on warranty, yayayaya. should get it back this arvo.

km's are legit if u have seen the car in real life u can see it is in mint condition. looks soo f***ing high in those photo's, but dont worry it will be getting dumped on its nuts in a few weeks.

car set me back under 8.5k, im the first owner from japan. i got it through the importer's themselves, my mate works for them and finds buyers for the cars, such as dealerships and shizzle. mags are 17" x 9.5 on the back, and 17" x 8.5" on the front. with 235's shaved on atm. will go over to exis's later when i get the car back for better pics

my interior,

http://www.digitalfunk.net/Martin/180sx/DSCN0335.jpg
yer i know its auto but not for long

last edited by defi at 15:44:59 25/May/04
brett
would have been alot cheaper importing an already manual job..
km's mean f***-all when you're buying a performance car. 120,000km worth of easy driving and good maintenance is far, far better than 50,000km worth of thrashing and poor maintenance.

Anyway, defi, your car looks pretty mint. Have fun, don't lose your licence.
defi
would have been alot cheaper importing an already manual job..

not neccerally in my case
tominator
How much is the conversion going to set you back? I assume there would be a fair bit of labour involved, unless you are doing that?

Oh and nice car :P

last edited by tominator at 16:12:45 25/May/04
true maxe yeah jimmy works there, hes a labourer. pretty phat car

should see his sound system :P.. or maybe you've heard it haha.

he's even got the little rice bass detectors that flash when the subs go doof.

come over already ders u noob c*** i just went to ur house and ur car wasnt there, but seb's was.. gg
Talkin of cars and rice and what not, this is my friend's originally black silvia (Sorry about the size of the blurry pics):

http://img34.photobucket.com/albums/v104/zeezee/My car and friends/Picture_005.jpg

http://img34.photobucket.com/albums/v104/zeezee/My car and friends/Picture_009.jpg

http://img34.photobucket.com/albums/v104/zeezee/My car and friends/Picture_006.jpg

He's got Mp3, DVD, and PS2 hooked up inside. Damn rich ricer.

last edited by Booyah at 17:05:43 25/May/04
Oh and by the way he's looking to get rid of those rubber and rims to get something bigger sometime soon:

17 inch brow

fully myght

sik habib

So if your interested i think he wants em for something like $750

last edited by Booyah at 17:18:26 25/May/04
Water pumps for Toranas = cheap!

Copy that. There like $5 cost price for after market ones. A504 if i rember right
bobbly_bob
Yeah, umm. Pretty good indication of whether ot not clock has been wound:

Did ad say it has done so many kms, or so many kms are showing on dial?

Was told thats a big thing to do with imports and auctioned stuff
shrapse
heh, ricers..

http://members.optusnet.com.au/arimac/yenkocamaro.jpg

last edited by shrapse at 17:35:51 25/May/04
How much is the conversion going to set you back? I assume there would be a fair bit of labour involved, unless you are doing that?
last i heard it was around $1200 for an sr20 auto > manual so i dare say its around the same.

that includes all parts and labor.
Furgle

http://www.fishprofiles.net/files/~adam/temp/car1.jpg

Almost bought a RZ Supra, but sif that's gonna tow my boat.

nice
riot'us
nice car defi, but that ute is one of the gayest things i've ever seen.
Damn I love it! One day I'll have me a nice car...
what's in the ute?
CA?
1j?

iliketomoveitmoveit: which mountain?

defi: wanna buy a T28BB?
defi
blobby i got a picture of the dash from when it was in japan showing the amount of k's on the clock. there is no way i can tell for sure that they are legitimate, but by th elook of the exterior/interior, it seems like 70k is about right.
enigma

in the lowwy, its a 1995 econovan engine

apparently theyre really good for all of the dualcabs that are dropped on their asses, nfi why

f***, nice cerb

engine mods?

ooh spoiler is gone, f***ing sexy. i hate the spoilers on the s15

last edited by existence` at 18:45:59 25/May/04

last edited by existence` at 18:47:54 25/May/04
This is what I'm hoping to pick up before the weekend:

http://www.aaron-77.com/200sx/spec_r.jpg

Didn't get any other photos.

It's in for the Safety Certificate and Mechanical Inspection tomorrow. Once that gets the all-clear I'll be onto the bank like a fat kid on a chocolate bar to get them moving on writing out a phat cheque for the guy so I can pick it up. :D

Edit: I'm so gonna look like a pimp in that thing, particularly with my hair bleached at the moment. ;)

last edited by cerb at 18:43:14 25/May/04
Glenny
Remember in Japan there are no rules or laws regarding winding the km clock back.
The S15's look awesome. They also have a weak gearbox :( The 5 Speed off the S14 is much stronger. I think i'll go for an s14a :) Or I dont know haha. So many choices.
The S15's look awesome. They also have a weak gearbox :(

This guy's running 12's on the quarter: http://www.autospeed.com/cms/A_1835/article.html Says nothing about the gearbox but it's probably still stock cos he admits it's still running the stock clutch (which isn't quite coping):
With 22,000 kilometres of commuting and testing behind it, the Nissan has shown absolutely no signs of weakness except for the standard clutch.

Worst thing I've heard about the S15 (apart from the lack of space, but meh) is that the 6-speed is a rather noisy gearbox. I didn't notice it on the test drive the other day, and we had the windows down, sunroof open, and radio off.

I'm not going to mod it too much anyway, so the standard 'box should do me fine.
Those photos weren't taken by the vaseline guy were they?
the standard s15 box will be fine for up to about 200rwkw, depending of course on how you treat it :)

But yes, the S13 and s14 5 speed boxes are stronger and some s15 owners swap to them if they break a 6 speed.
Gavmo
Loki, thats a very nice looking torana you have there.

Im looking at getting a new car in march next year. Depending on where im living either a VT/VX commodore, 180, or do up an HT ute for a bit of fun.

Currently putting the civic back to its original form bit by bit.
brett
S15 gearboxs suck.

An S14 (even non turbo) gearbox is what you will find behind most S15 200sx's with any serious work done.
Congratulations on the new car, I'd park it inside though with all the tire slashing going on in wynnum to be on the safe side dooder.
cerb: is it spec S or R?
how much does one of these puppies set you back?

and have fun with the VCT rattle.
assuming it was imported from japan, over there registration is based on KM's travelled, it go's up exponentially at around 70,000Km's and again at 110,000Km's thats why its so cheap to import them over here, and why there K's are so low.

My uncle recently imported a skyline nice and cheap, it looks peeerty and I wants one now. Another year and I can think about spending 20K on a car.
oh also there laws in regards to tamperin with the odometer are obviously a lot harsher than ours due to there rego being based on Km's travelled.
cerb: is it spec S or R?
how much does one of these puppies set you back?

Spec R, $31k. Was actually aiming to find a Spec S for about $2-3k less, but there just aren't many manual S15's for sale that aren't over priced.
but there just aren't many manual S15's for sale that aren't over priced

Haha. yeah its bulls*** hey, they atart at like 25 or a little bit more
defi
nice cerb, the s15 gearboxs are weaker for they pretty much have just shoved another gear in there. havenmt got my car back due to work, so i will pick it up tommorow. they put a complete new water pump, mounting brackets and some other s*** or something in, thats y its taken so long they had to get the new parts in.

i have been told that it may have been my fault for overreving it, which i think is bs cause its an auto and was driving like anyone in a new car they arent used to yet. i tihnk i may get the manual conversion earlier then expected cause the auto rev's out to 8k sometimes b4 changing, which cant be good for the engine

yer so with all these imports/nice cars on qgl, i rekon in a few weeks we should go for a cruise down the the broadwater or something, rekon it would be pretty mad
an inspection of the water pump will quickly tell you whether it died due to abuse or just age...
defi
yer well the mech (importer) said it would have been from abuse, b4 he even saw the waterpump....so meh i tihnk they are just looking for someone to blame other than the service they gave it b4 i got it
sweet rig man - do you post on BC?
defi
if ur talkin to me, na i dont, im on nissansilvia.com but
w00t! The car checked out fine, and I should be completing everything tomorrow. Might be able to pick my new baby up tomorrow arvo, but more likely it will be friday.... So who's up for some cruising this weekend? ;)

defi: so there was no other damage caused as a result? A failed water pump would scare me, cos it's obviously pumping that water for a reason, so if it's not then I'd be worried what side-effects may come about. :S
maybe not cruising.
but I'll give your new ride a few runs :)
lol nigs

i think i saw you again, on wondall road heading towards millenium av.. am i correct?

i just saw a fullysikbro silvia with no grille.. and those blue rice intercooler rubbers.. :P
doubt it
car is off the road atm.

many holes in tyres.
defi
na cerb no damage, but only because the noise started after i just turned the car on, and i heard it and stop it immediatly. racq dude said that if i kept going i would have put a hole in the radiator with the acctual pump itself. the pump wasint acctually leaking which is wak
brett
bah, nice cars but there's no replacement for displacement, who wants to race me? :D

http://members.optusnet.com.au/bfj/got car/P1010009.JPG

that's an engine lads.
it eats GTS-T skyrines for breakfast, whats for lunch? :D
iliketomoveitmoveit

Good for you, my uncles sisters boyfriends nephew who is a midget owns a car with a JET ENGINE so bring it down to [insert random dragstrip here] and we can f***ing get it on your holden driving bogan.

EniGma: Glorious, Nebo, Clear, Pleasant, take your pic fool.
tominator

Wait till you hit the twisties :P
shrapse
I'll give $10 to the person who can spot the retard in the last 5 posts!
that's an engine lads.

with no job, and no money from centrelink, how do you plan on filling up petrol in this fuel guzzler?

also

riiight.

last edited by Suhaib at 20:42:14 26/May/04
defi
GTS-T skyrines
whats a skyrines?? ever raced a gts-t skyline?? im sure it would be a different result
whats a skyrines??
hehe reminds me of that old mars ad. "Who are the boncos??"
it was sneakers...

shut up.
HAHA, YES!

however turning is a no no atm.
unless u can donate me a new wheel bearing and 2 engine mounts.

teq: name a place and time. car should be back on the road by friday arvo.

and don't worry, I'm about 4 cyl and 3.7L short of you. ;)
nice cars lads (defi and cerb)

i will be quite happy to race you both

i would also liek to race teq and engima and maxe
brett
I'm keen

you rice burners can have your 30kw@fly until you spool, meanwhile im pushing 140rwkw instantly

there is no replacement for displacement

http://www.teq.cx/~bj/DSCN0917.jpg

^^ clicky

I also seem to remember winning the motorkhana that day, I beat an AWD 2.0l turbo GSR lacner by 2 seconds, in what you say? surely not a 'peice of s*** commodore'

also {
with no job, and no money from centrelink, how do you plan on filling up petrol in this fuel guzzler?

yeah well, it helps when you have savings for this kind of situation
}

last edited by teq at 09:33:17 27/May/04
I also seem to remember winning the motorkhana that day

motorkhana eh? Didnt know they had stuff like that in this country. More info plz.

Also, the idea of a QGL cruise has been kicked around a few times, about the closest we came was that night out with Splash, Enigma and Tung. A big one would be cool, but I have places to be this weekend.

And as for all the talk of racing, Im all for a spirited drive, but I can garuntee you Id lose until I get some coilovers. But I can also garuntee you some of the friends I would bring would win ;)
you rice burners can have your 30kw@fly until you spool, meanwhile im pushing 140rwkw instantly

Going to need more than 140rwkw to beat a GTS-T dude...

Also, roffles at 30kw@fly. Sure dude.

Don't forget you were all for putting a 2.5L jap turbo motor into that bogan chariot ;)

last edited by orbitor at 10:55:09 27/May/04
280 mofo's
awww poor teq, just thinks because he has more cylinders he's got the faster car :/

silly silly boy

last edited by Frag at 11:16:24 27/May/04
brett
140rwkw beats a gts-t, i've been there and done it.

raced 2 x GTS-T's and a GTR side by side, on a certain 4 lane highway.

had the gts-t's quick as a flash, held the GTR till the end of my second gear.

also max, it was just a race around a drift circuit, at mount cotton.
I pulled a 1min 2sec time, the lancer did 1min 4sec. (and all i got was a hat)

and 30kw@fly was obviously just bulls*** insulting, i'll at least say 90kw@fly :)

last edited by teq at 11:18:45 27/May/04
into that bogan chariot ;)

sorry just had to laugh at that

also teq has a nice ute, he mistakenly thought on sunday arv on sandgate road that my mate in the red eb falcon was trying to drag him off the lights :P But he wasnt. The ute looks phatter in real life :P
shrapse can I have $10 I guess 'iliketomoveitmoveit'.

oh and here is my car old car, just got rid of it and am in teh market for something new. I'm not a rev head or anything though, I just like nice comfy cars - thinking about getting an RX8 but as fpot said, they are a little feminine. Might get a BORA or an A4 instead, or upgrade to the latest is200.

http://www.members.optusnet.com.au/thomson81/pics/myoldcar.jpg

meet me somewhere teq i want to put your car out of commision =)
i can see you beating two gts-t's but holding a gtr till "second"? no i'm sorry.

btw yeah u'd prolly fap all over defi's nice lil car but it would be a close one on the cerb's s15.

damnit i knew this thread would turn into this, thx teq :(
surely teqs car would win - but on a pro rata basis of $ for speed he loses out and so do I.
brett
its actually not too bad on fuel, its about $6-7 a tank more than your average 6cyl 3.8l commodore.

and its a hell-of-a-lot more fun.

burgz; where abouts were we when you saw my ute? i dont think i would have bothered racing a facloon? :D

haha oh wait, i remember that now.. uh sandgate road, corner of beams.. thats all i remember

last edited by teq at 11:42:00 27/May/04
umm around deagon, it was like at 2ish. was at the lights and my mate took off and u thought we were racing and u flogged it ...
brett
yeah meh, i love my ute.. but alas she's forsale at the moment..

thinking of getting a daihatsu terios SX, small but still not too bad for a bit of light beach work

I love doing trips to moreton/fraser/bribie, but my ute is uh, more of a show pony

and i dont mind being called a bogun, if i did.. i wouldn't have these plates

http://www.define.net.au/~bj/bunya/bogun.jpg

got the whole frontbar re-glassed last week and resprayed, so now my number isn't being held on my shoe laces

(photos from easter time @ bunya mountains with girlie)

last edited by teq at 11:47:31 27/May/04
DO NOT get a terios, worst f***ing car on the road. When my mrs went to get a 4WD the salesman talked her out of a terios thank gawd.
teq save up and get one of these

brett
mm, it was kind of either that or a rav4, i can't really afford a 'real' 4x4 :D
get a shorty cruiser :P
brett
hmm why are they only using a 270kw v8, when they have the already proven 300kw gto engine

anywho, nice monaro.
short wheel base pajero or something would be far better than a f***ing terios.
brett
yeah but I dont want to drive a tractor around town either
that's an engine lads.

No, that's a cast iron piece of s*** =)

Check out the 'new' aussie All-Alloy "Holden" (built/based off) 5.0 Litre engine.

Weighing in at an impressive 139KG, light as s*** block with a better design and more power than the Holden 5.0L block.

Until you have one of those, your block sucks :P
Until you can spare $8800 on the bare block alone, your block will suck :P
meanwhile im pushing 140rwkw instantly

hang on, is that your max output? You take 8 cylinders to get 140rwkw?

s***, I get 135rwkw on 4 :\
brett
yeah but im pushing 140kw with no forced induction, hence I dont have to wait for a turbo to spool.

but yeah, I like turbo's aswell, v8's are fun.. I'm not opposed to either.
can someone tell me how many kw I had in my stock is200? just for interests sake. It seemed pretty powerful to me.
brett
about 115kw (at the flywheel), so like 80kw at the wheels.

i'll pretend I know what that means - ta.
Your engine made 115kw, but because it has to travel through the gearbox/drive train the effective power once it gets to your back wheels is 80kw
brett
where as my engine makes 200kw, and once it gets back to the rear wheels it's more like 140rwkw (about 30% loss is normal)

lol here I am pretending I know what it means and someone comes along and explains it to me.

so it really wasn't that powerful after all, meh I'd still prefer it to any of the cars in this thread :P
brett
also what you turbo ricers have to remember is peak kw doesn't mean s*** when you haven't got enough torque to get your car moving quickly

a v8 will out-torque a turbo 4/6 all day long, more torque means it can push the card forward quicker.

for example the 140kw corolla (yes a bloody non turbo corolla) has SFA torque, so you have to ring its neck to get it moving anywhere
vvti vtec are a differnet kettle of fish teq and you know it! those cars make all their power in the top-end. (exception being the nsx which is a fast NA 6)

also i guess you've never heard of power to weight ratios :|

last edited by Frag at 13:24:38 27/May/04
brett
I know what power to weight is, but kW isn't power, torque & kW combined is power.

my ute probably weighs less than, or the same as any S13/S14 etc
from memory an s13t weighs in around 1150kgs with 60kg driver (i think so don't quote me on that plz) and i highly doubt a ute could have much decent traction (maybe u've spent dorrahs on that?)

from memory an s13t weighs in around 1150kgs with 60kg driver
Whats it weigh without a driver?
from memory an s13t weighs in around 1150kgs with 60kg driver

Whats it weigh without a driver?
Hem hem hem *shakes head*

1150 - 60 = 1090 approx
brett

yeah i've got about 2k worth of suspension under the body, but its not enough.. i still slip at the end of 1st & second, I can spin third on the odd occasion too (have to clutch perfectly)

on another note

http://image-cache.boostcruising.com/database/readersphotos/files/LEE.08820040526201512funnyfile1.jpg

last edited by teq at 13:39:40 27/May/04
yeah i've got about 2k worth of suspension under the body, but its not enough.. i still slip at the end of 1st & second, I can spin third on the odd occasion too (have to clutch perfectly)
hehe yeah, almost makes me feel sad for you ute fellas :)

Hem hem hem *shakes head*

1150 - 60 = 1090 approx
no i mean 1150 is with a 60kg driver. i like to say with driver as it gives a more accurate representation of the cars weight, cars don't drive themselves.. yet
brett
should try driving a manual v8 ute with almost bald tyres and a 2800lb clutch in the rain.

seriously, if you slip on the clutch you end up sideways.
and you more often than not start off in second gear
i still slip at the end of 1st & second, I can spin third on the odd occasion too (have to clutch perfectly)

i dont have traction problems

i get all my power down happily
brett
but you have a boot, and back seats.
I have a metal tray
a v8 will out-torque a turbo 4/6 all day long
I always thought that due to the design, the straight six always created (or rather, had the potential to create) more torque than any of its V brethren.

last edited by Loki at 14:00:02 27/May/04
shrapse
sifnt get a gt forrester teq :D
brett
wouldn't I love one heh

also, any engine has "the ability" to out perform another engine, but when you start to reach the end of an engines potential, you're talking like $50,000 worth of work at least.
Don't get a Terios ... I drove one for a while and it was a piece of s***.

If you want a 4x4 but can't afford a "real one", get a mid-90's subaru 4x4 and you're fine for the beach, add a lift kit if you wanna do the rocky/hilly stuff too.

as for utes with no traction, I can wheel spin my 90kw Brumby all the way through 3rd gear ... but then if I wanna be serious up pops the 4x4 lever and no wheel spin at all ;)
defi
get teh car back today, ohh how i missed it, got a new pump and shizzle...goin to get a free wash then will take some pic at exis house
VS Ute with the 5L V8 is about 1450kg without the driver, so in example above, it would be 1450 + 60 = 1510kg.

teq: have you looked at the torque curve of a regular turbo engine? As soon as boost happens there's STACKS of torque. This is the punch in the back you get when you hit boost. Torque, not power.
burt
commodore drivers and their talk, sorry I mean torque
lmnt
teq does your ute have leaf springs at the back, theyre the main disadvantage when it comes to traction, im not shure whether those commodores have em? id expect they do and if they dont, then theyre pretty useless as a ute

oh and;

but kW isn't power

yes it is. 1 Watt = 1 j/s = 1 kg.m^2/s^3 = 1.340482574x10^(-3) horsepower = power :D

last edited by lmnt at 18:32:17 27/May/04
and i quote

rear: 5 link live-axle: Trailing arm with 5-link location. Panhard rod. Progressive rate coil springs. Stabiliser bar.

nothing special at all, thats fo sure
Getting the 200 tomorrow. I'm going to have troubles sleeping tonight in anticipation...

some figures on the S15 to add to those stated above:

weight: ~1250kg
power: 147kw (120rwkw)
torque: 265nm

That adds up to about a mid-6-second 0-100 time and mid- to high-14 sec quarter mile.

I've read that the S15's turbo spools up quicker than most four-bangers, so the boost comes on fairly early. It's a little slower off the mark than a WRX, but rolling starts it beats the Rex pretty much every time I believe. It should be pretty close between it and a GTS-T, and it'd probably match or better any holden/ford this side of about 220kw, but I'll have to retrain my left hand/left foot for the 200 before I'll get gear changes good enough to do so...
140rwkw.......................

so, when should we do this teq?
my car weights about 1300kg with me and all my junk in it.

I guess we'll have to wait sooo long for my turbo (2400rpm) to spool :\

This is gonna be fun.
maxe and co - not a word ;)
iliketomoveitmoveit
hahaha nigs.. what have you done to your car since that dyno run.. it sounded f***ing mean for a 4cyl..

teq is gonna get r i c e d.

cerb, you planning to mod it at all?

please do it.

We so need paragon in this thread to shut down teq in.. june, july, august, september, OCTOBER. 5 months

rb26dett > v8 pos.

;)
I put more deisel in.
that's about it.

last edited by EniGma at 23:02:42 27/May/04
brett
meh I've got a buyer coming around on saturday to look at my uteris

next car is either S14 200sx, VL calais turbo, VS Calais or if I can find a 4x4 dualcab that I like.. I'll be getting one

not looking to spend more than 18k

I'd be so happy in a really tidy VL calais turbo, and it would have some ponies too.

so we having a few runs or.......?
PRiME
Dude don't worry, I get this bad luck all the time as well,.

Hell almost when i think im out of the clear from bad luck something f***s up. this esp. goes with computer parts,.

I think its a global conspiracy from a evil ginx master :)
Well I think my turbo timer has crapped out and wont turn off, hence draining my cars battery and maybe f***ing some electronics.

Who knows.

:\
sif using a turbo timer in the first place

We so need paragon in this thread to shut down teq in.. june, july, august, september, OCTOBER. 5 months

burtys got a mean rb26dett here NOW
he wins (soon to be much much meaner)
yeah my turbo timer has gone to turbo timer heaven too.

Like it matters.

cerb: looking forward to seeing your wheels. Sounds $$$$$$ expensive :O

last edited by orbitor at 09:46:58 28/May/04
benneth
I'd be so happy in a really tidy VL calais turbo, and it would have some ponies too.

VL.... hahahahaha

although i don't mind them too many idiots and hoons drive them and they are a popular car to be stolen.

teq, wasn't the reason why you are selling your ute because you want a 4x4? if so why are you thinking about buying another rear wheel drive car when you could just keep your ute.

burt
http://members.optusnet.com.au/bjrose/platesnturbos.jpg

need I say more, f***ers
doesn't make rice any less gay ;)
i am clearly the winner here

http://heardy.com/new/animalTURB.jpg
more turbos = more speed. Obviously.

http://maxe.ausgamers.com/images/supra_tripleturbo.jpg
weeeeeeeee

http://www.gronks.com/homepages/ovl666/ELVIS THE TURBO 002.jpg
AvengeR
Loki:

Check out the 'new' aussie All-Alloy "Holden" (built/based off) 5.0 Litre engine.

Weighing in at an impressive 139KG, light as s*** block with a better design and more power than the Holden 5.0L block.

U got any more info on this one?
AvengeR
That triple turb one is a nice bit of work.
LightAssassin
isn't the idea to get a car serviced and checked before you start driving around? Imports/Second hand Cars 101....

Ohh well, lucky it was a water pump, probally the least you could hope for....
burt
3 turbos looks pretty, doubt it would work as well as a good twin or big single though.

love that purple colour on the cam covers too
The whole car screams "Because I can"
Im not sure on this one but im very doubtfull a stock 180 auto trans will hold on till 8 g's before shifting... when does the rev limiter kick in?!? if it still has one lol

Auto boxes hold onto gear longer as they wear out specially before pack it in.

If the car really is 70 thou k legit, then it sounds as if it was a pretty hard 70 thou.

You may wanna get that checked out, if so perfect time for a manual conversion, but you may wanna be wary of other things if its been driven that hard.

i tihnk i may get the manual conversion earlier then expected cause the auto rev's out to 8k sometimes b4 changing, which cant be good for the engine

After going back and reading that again it definately sounds like the box is on the way out.

last edited by rubba-chikin at 23:16:32 28/May/04
brett
Yeah I wouldn't mind a 4x4, but I also wouldn't mind a VL Calais turbo/VS calais

I'd love both/all three, but .. uh yeah you get the idea.

also, the reason for the ute going is because as much as I love it, two seats just isn't cutting the cheese anymore
iliketomoveitmoveit
burtys got a mean rb26dett here NOW
he wins (soon to be much much meaner)

Incorrect.

SELLING

2x HKS 2540's

Bought new, never fitted to car. Was planning to fit to my GTR with a few other things but plans have changed. Comes with gaskets/bolts etc needed to fit.

http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/showthread.php?p=810139#post810139

Very Mean I can see...

love that purple colour on the cam covers too

Coming from a person who doesn't even know how to replace low mount turbines on a car I'd usually let this slide, but thats a rocker cover..... covering the rocker arms. Hopefully you will one day open an engine yourself and actually see how it all works.

But for now keep on trolling.

so how've you been parag0n?
burt
paragons been good, hes had alot of inheritance money to spend lately which he now likes to pretend he works for

also Im keeping the turbos, and car will be going ahead as first planned with even more gear

everyone knew what I was saying, sorry to mr technical because you collect option dvds and HPI mags, ill also be sure to refer to your gtr as a GT-R in the future (because on all dvds the letters are in caps and has the dash to add cool value)
burt you're talking like his car actually exists.
burt

yeah good point
His car exists, its his penis thats absent.
iliketomoveitmoveit
http://www.users.on.net/~johnhill/pub/Forum-Pics/rolleyes.gif Hello.
my car is like 1600 kg, is a luxury cruise car, is pimpy, and goes hard.

its like my penis, big, heavy, pimpy and goes hard for ages.
http://www.users.bigpond.net.au/evis/newgrille.jpg

MY CAR GOES VROOOOM LOLOLOL

last edited by evis at 16:24:28 29/May/04
iliketomoveitmoveit
f*** my car had a water pump die on me too!!

$350 for new water pump, some fan belts and a rocker cover replacement

91 pintara ti

AUTO MAENS!

http://www.heardy.com/car/Pintara/
tung's car goes as hard as he farts.

does the thing run now or what?
defi
yerp man mines runnin, had no time to post be to busy drivin....seems that i have mastered the auto box now, gettin her to peak at 6500 then to change. was gunna install a pod today, but had a look at the air box and though wtf mate ^^. so im gunna get a mate of mine to help me. installed the cdplayer and sub/amp this morning, and have been cruising round since. cant believe how sidways the thing does with no trouble at all. but have reliesed it gets dirty so f***ing easy, i have to wash it like every day... but yer everythings sweet
you don't know how to install a pod?

excuse me a moment whilst I expire due to excessive laughter

[edit] ummm ok then... I guess...

last edited by evis at 18:21:09 29/May/04
also parag0n sux
defi
na evis i intalled a pod on my commo and mates astra, but this ca18det has a thing coming off the airbox, and im no sure what it is, so im waiting for my mate who knows ca18's to come and tell me
Blown V8 > Turbo 4.

No spool, greater capacity, more power.

But seriously guys, common, arguing between 8's, 4's and 6's is stupid, they're the same f***ing design, one is just bigger (thus more cylinders to make a smoother ride).

So therefore, a bigger engine with the same forced induction will, naturally produce more power.

The only thing you should be crying about is rotaries and hemi's..
But both of those kick the s*** out of a piston driven engine anyway.

You only have to look at the capacity of fast little forced inducted rotor running near equal times compared to a force inducted V8 and you realise which is the better design.

The bigger the engine capcity, the more power...
I dont see tiny little WRX engines powering Cruise Liners, do you?

Yes, the difference is a bigger engine revs lower... But then ask yourself, why rev the tits out of a smaller engine to get the same power of a bigger engine in a lower rev range?

Its a f***ing pointless argument.

Regardless, it costs less money to make a quicker 4cyl than an 8cyl, the difference is I'd rather have a tough sounding V8 than a Milo Fart Can 4 cyl. =)

Weight of the block is probably the biggest issue, but the extra capacity makes up for it and thensome, and then again when you look at the 'new' all-allow 5 Litre block that weighs 139KG, it weighs probably as much as, if not less than a little 4cyl block anyway... so meh

last edited by Loki at 18:22:44 29/May/04
defi
loki wins everything
Trying to compare a force inducted engine against a naturally aspirated one is like comparing a vibrator with a standard dildo, naturally the vibrator goes faster, harder and the girl has a better time =)
Trying to compare a force inducted engine against a naturally aspirated one is like comparing a vibrator with a standard dildo, naturally the vibrator goes faster, harder and the girl has a better time
try and tell that to your brethren,
tominator
why rev the tits out of a smaller engine to get the same power of a bigger engine in a lower rev range?

Because revving the tits out of a small engine sounds mad.

get some 18 000rpm into ya :P

I may be talking about a motorbike engine but still, same thing goes with cars(though I also love the sound of a rumbling V8).
lmnt
the main reason some people dont like v8s is because theres this horde of holden commodore lickers that think that v8s are the be all and ends all of engines. they clearly dont know s***...

brett
Trying to compare a force inducted engine against a naturally aspirated one is like comparing a vibrator with a standard dildo, naturally the vibrator goes faster, harder and the girl has a better time

where as the standard dildo is an extra 9 inchs longer and doesn't have to be plugged in, so it can be used anywhere. (never runs out of batteries either)
brett
the main reason some people dont like v8s is because theres this horde of holden commodore lickers that think that v8s are the be all and ends all of engines. they clearly dont know s***...

uh, yeah we don't know s***.. thats why v8's are some of the most powerful production engines, and anytime you ever see a 1000+hp engine its almost definately a v8, or bigger (albeit coupled with a few turbos)

I dont think v8's are the be all and end all, but they're definately nice.

Give me a nice carby 355 v8 sound > a turbo 4 cyl any day.
benneth
why the hell is there sooo much angst against people who buy and drive commodores and falcons,

sure there are A-LOT out there, but has anybody thought why this is the case, maybe because they are a good car for the amount of money they cost.

as for wanting a car that is different, all these jap cars that you guys seem to like aren't all that small in numbers, i see quite a few of them, not as many as commodores and falcons but you know.

as for the v8's, i love them.... they sound much better than a reving out 4 cylinder car.

I'd like to have a v8, however that isn't going to happen anytime soon, due to fuel prices and registration costs per year for them.

the main problem that i see with 4 cylinder cars is that because of their high reving, one would assume that these engines won't last as long as say a 6 or an 8 will.
defi
(never runs out of batteries either)
v8's certainally do quite quickely
Why do people seem to think that a small engine doing 8000rpm is doing more work and gaining more wear than a large engine doing 5000rpm?

This is a fallacy. You need to think about how much work the engine is doing, not how fast it is revolving. The distance travelled by the pistons per revolution in a large engine is much larger than in a small engine.
lmnt
uh, yeah we don't know s***.. thats why v8's are some of the most powerful production engines, and anytime you ever see a 1000+hp engine its almost definately a v8, or bigger (albeit coupled with a few turbos)

I dont think v8's are the be all and end all, but they're definately nice.

Give me a nice carby 355 v8 sound > a turbo 4 cyl any day.

yea yea i like v8s too its just you get those die hard v8ers that get offeneded when the engine is critisied. and they think everything else is inferior. you know the type! its always refreshing to beat them in a smaller capacity engine because they take it to heart.
monkeymajik
That's why you need a supercharged 4 cylinder, heaps of low down torque, and if you feel like ringing the neck out of it at 7500rpm+ you can too. Plus, off boost you get great fuel economy.

DigitaL
sif not turbo 6.
c*******S.
seems that i have mastered the auto box now, gettin her to peak at 6500 then to change

What exactly are you doing differently...? Unless you were flat flooring it all the time to get up to 8000 rpm (which I still doubt) or holding it in 2nd then I highly doubt it should be shifting at 8 like I said before.

If it shifting at inconsitant points under the same driving then I'd start worrying.

Also for interests sake whens red start for the ca18det?
are you stuck in overdrive mode or something?
defi
7500 starts with red dots 8000 is redline.

before i was pretty much doin what i did in the commo almost flat flooring asap. now i have reliezed its not just a case of flor it and go
mattamon
best sounding car = subaru boxer engine with a nice exhaust.
your car redlines at 8,000rpm?
:|
is it a CA or SR?
lol nigs learn to read u fken tard;)
aren't you people sick of trying to argue about which car you like on f***ing qgl?

every couple of months this s***house arguement comes up and no one changes their mind/opinions EVER. so please. give the f*** up.
shrapse started it, ban him :D
ek speaks the truth!
89' my guess is CA
or am I missing something........
cuz he did say 8000rpm redline. :O
p.s
Rotary sucks. :P
just because pretty much every rotary you've dragged whopped you ;)

/me runs
defi
yer its a ca enigma?? didnt u pick up on that b4
p.s
I wouldn't mind a Blown Hemi... Don't think I'd live very long though =)
Nup, if I only had a few months to live its turbo Hayabusa all the way....to hell

500HP motorbike, I mean come on. I wouldnt even make it to 3rd gear.
DigitaL
p.s

i agree but the fastest car ive ever been in was a worked RX7 series 5. unbelieveable.
defi
same as me digital, cept cause it was so fast, i like rotars
still haven't lost to a pushrod though :D
brett
I dont care what you've got done to your 4 banger enigma, it /wont/ beat this pushrod.

click me

TTV8 is a VS Holden Commodore Ute that incorporates a twin turbo, intercooled, 355 Holden V8 motor, producing more than 1000HP at the rear wheels, along with a six speed transmission, Harrop brakes, traction control, adjustable suspension.

TTV8 has won many awards over the last few years including, Summernats HP Hero, 2000, 2002 and Easternats 2001,2002 and Street Commodores 2001 car of the year.

oh and whats that, a pushrod you say?
ROFL!
my turbo is about the size of my fist.
I have 4 cyclinders.
I have 2.1L
I run pumped gas.
I don't have nawwss..

nice argument though................
=\
omg im in love :D
brett
pushrods are underestimated..
granted, they should have been retired in the v8 range when they went from the injected 304 to the genIII (mm twin/quad cam genIII)

but yeah, you can still get big power from a pushrod setup, although.. give me a quad cam lexus v8 anyday
Why on earth would you drive a car in the wrong direction on a drag strip straight towards a concrete wall? RIP. Animal car.
and if we're posting up stupid cars that we'd never own or could afford I'll add this:
http://suprastore.com/topsecsuport.html
Supra with a 3sgte
720hp from a 2.2L 4 banger with a SINGLE turbo (granted it is a T88).

And this could be yours for a mere $110,000 US
Why would you buy this car? To go faster than 320km/hr of course.

I'm special cuz I can quote figures. :P
f*** that supras crazy

also ur a f***ing moron teq.

brett
why anyone would replace a 1jz/2jz with a 3sgte is beyond me.. considering the 1&2 jz engines have much more potential and are only slightly heavier, and more torque
u know why?

cuz having the shorter smaller engine allows for better balance once you start to go over 240km/h.

cool idea eh?
brett
the suspension setup on that supra would quite easily counter the extra weight and balance issues
heh, teq knows what it takes to handle a car clocking over 320km/hr.

I think the creators of the car did intend on it turning sometime. :P
burt

teq your a typical commodore, homo
brett
burt, you're a typical noob.
/me sack rides commodores

skylines are teh gay lololorf
http://home.iprimus.com.au/bergman/thisthreadsucks.gif

last edited by Burgz at 17:17:44 31/May/04
lmnt
why anyone would replace a 1jz/2jz with a 3sgte is beyond me.. considering the 1&2 jz engines have much more potential and are only slightly heavier, and more torque

the reason they do it is because in the gt500 class, max output allowed is 650hp, seeing as though 650 is acheiveable from either of the 6's or the 4, wouldnt it seem more reasonable to select the lighter engine? and besides its easier to fit in that radiator and intercooler assembly those gt cars have with more space to play with.

oh but what do they know theyre just engineers.

slap69
Bring it!
Keep an eye out for us in the one and only yellow toy torry in Bris, we are always down for some rice slappage. Normally we are vibrating the innercity girls' panties on Thurs/Fri/Sat/Sun nights! :)

http://jaymz.sytes.net/mike/php/viewtopic.php?t=328

I think the 2jz engine is just a 3sgte with 2 more cylinders whacked on.
Normally we are vibrating the innercity girls' panties on Thurs/Fri/Sat/Sun nights! :)

you and your brother vibrate in girl's panties?

dude ... what-ever does it for you ...
Supra box eh? :)
that site is funny
protege with a GT25 :|
yanks..............................
they turbo charge anything these days.
slap69
I was trying to be amusing! It's a drag car, it's hella loud with that fap fap high ear piercing v8 noise, not like a new hsv. I meant as we drive past up it, the girls panties vibrate!
qwerty
I wish there was a decent engine i could put int my 626 1989 2.2 :-(
qwerty
What do you guys think about beefing up a station wagon anyway?
Keep an eye out for us in the one and only yellow toy torry in Bris
Seen it around before.
What's hauling it?

Looks a bit bigger than a 253, so I'm guessing the standard 308? any changes to the heads etc? [aside from from some Rocker Covers :P]

With any luck I'll soon be building a 308 with VN/VP heads in the old Rana =)

Build it yourself or buy it as is? How much you spend on it?

[edit] oops, just read the page, nice, what internals on the 350 have you changed?

last edited by Loki at 11:11:52 01/Jun/04
most powerful streeet registered car in the world lives right here in aus atm, i dont have any specific details, but this should make all your penis' shrink

3000 hp, spitfire engine.

kthx.
Skyhawk
yes was on the car show tung

its a chevy Belair 57 i think powered by a merlin engine 3000hp
its not parad0ngs car is it?

here's a pic of it in the driveway

http://ga.water.usgs.gov/edu/pictures/driveway.jpg

last edited by spidz at 11:20:33 01/Jun/04
Holden Torana LX LC cruiser.
WTFBBQ?

what the hell is a LX LC ?
LX Body with LC interior?

Cause that's definately an LX/LH body frame & Panels.
And the interior, well can't really see that, but from what I can see that's an SL/R cluster, not an LC/LJ cluster.

last edited by Loki at 11:22:24 01/Jun/04
I wish there was a decent engine i could put int my 626 1989 2.2 :-(

As far as I know most mazda's will take a rotary. I had friends with a mid-80's 626 and they were proud of their car when they found out it'd be able to fit a 13B... not that they ever did the swap, or even planned to do it - they were just excited by the fact that it would fit. :D
qwerty
awsome cerb ;-) Im proud now to though a gutting and a rx7 engine wouldnt go astray and give me something to do. there are some mad 4x4 tracks at the back of ormo now thanks to me ;-)
roataries fit pretty much anywhere.
roataries fit pretty much anywhere
Yes, should be kept in mazdas >:P
13B in a little LJ/LC Torry greatly outclasses an RX2/3

*runs for the hills*
qwerty
Whats is with those mr2 things. They dont look great ... do they even go great? I see alot of the jock fags from school driving them.
defi
mid engine, they look good i rekon (newer shape) and the are pretty darn quick
MR2 or MRS?

MR2 (the jap import Ferrari 355 looking one) go hard cos theyre turbo.

MRS (the sardine can) go hard cos theyre lightweight. Granted to make them go really hard youd have to spend a lot of money on suspension, tuning etc, but theyd be awesome fun to drive.
Not all MR2s are turbo - I had a friend who had one (the ferrari-ish one - was about a 92 or 94 I think). Basically it was a competitor to Honda's Integra and Prelude, but in a mid-engined, rear-drive layout. They did offer the turbo version, too, which I'd imagine would be pretty mad to drive. Being mid-engined and so small they're very impractical - no rear seats and the boot was so small you could just squeeze a set of golf clubs in.
Carnrat
Do yourself a favour kids... buy an L series subaru 4x4 .. spend 18 grand on it .. and forget the rest... blows away bombadoors .. goes on the beach .. not only that .. when you fold down the seats.. the seat catches act as sex bars for grip.............. get one

P.S. His woman talking again..... he is right ;)
Not all MR2s are turbo

yes, forgot to add that ;)

they go well hard with a 3SGE tho (non-turbo Lexus IS200 engine I think) in NA form.
brett
the older mr2's are supercharged, also.

AW11 4 lyfe
also they swap ends without warning :P
way quick off the line.
slap69
soz loki, yeh it's a blend of those, nice pickup. give us a hoi i'll be happy to give you the run down. we will be at all the test and tunes at willowbank, and in bris at harry's on fri night and coast car park sat night. say hi. my bro can't change gears, i took 0.4 off that time a few days ago ;0
bishi gto 4 shizzle

Mate of mine has a GTO... non-turbo auto... my pulsar was just as quick as it! Granted the GTO really looks the part - it'd still draw more looks than my S15.

Saw a place on the northside with a Manual TT GTO for sale... mid-$30k I think... I contemplated it, but I prefer nissans over a "bitsus***ty" ;)
and coast car park sat night. say hi.
I think we're heading down to BWCP as well, Evisc wants me to drag the Torry out this time.

Got MSN? I'll talk to you on there and grab your mobile number or something, definately wouldn't mind seeing this Torry for real, might get you to take me for a quick spin =)

lh_loki_lh at hotmail dawt com here.
that'd suck working on a GTO :(
scho small.
defi
I think we're heading down to BWCP as well, Evisc wants me to drag the Torry out this time
me (with the 180), a mate in a 4 door white r32 and hiw mate in a blue ricey sil, might be goin down so if u see us say hi.
defi, if you have msn add me, our convoy meets up at the shell down the pacific hwy (just back from the BP super servo - same service road).. if you want to go down at the same time as us, the more the merrier.
We'll probably make a stop by Sumo's on the way to and fro as well.
i'll be heading down there same time as well, i'll be in a bombed s13 number plate 84RBS
Half the fellas we go with like to hammer it too much, I dont think the old torry is going to like being flat to the floor so much on the juice front =S
Like I said, if anybody wants to join up with us and cruise down at the same time, give me a holler on MSN and I'll let you know when we're going etc.

AFAIK so far the usual/possible list includes:
3.8 VK
3.8 VK
3.8 VN
3.3 LH
12A RX2
3.0 VL
+ Some weird lancer =)

Add onto that anybody else who wants to tag along -if you've got UHF/CB radio's, even better as that's what we keep in check with.

Miss this ages ago:
U got any more info on this one?
It's in a Street Machine mag, I can't remember which issue, Rubba-Chikin has it and could tell you which one the full article is in.
It's worth something like $8.8k for just the block =|

last edited by Loki at 16:33:58 03/Jun/04
I found the mag, I'll scan the page for you later.
i'll be in a bombed s13 number plate 84RBS

how embarassing for you
AvengeR
I found the mag, I'll scan the page for you later.

Cheers
i'll be in a bombed s13 number plate 84RBS

Hey! I think I raced that dude.....
was it a CA or a RB?
if neither then I guess it wasn't it :(