Topic: White van speaker scam: coming to a parking lot near u!!!
RockitMan
Be aware that the white van speaker scammers have hit Brisbane. These guys approach you in parking lots or even on the road, telling you they have been overstocked on a speaker delivery, and want to offload them and make some cash. They tell you they're worth heaps and show you a bunch of brochures and phoney invoices etc, and will get anything out of you they can. Truth is the speakers aren't worth s*** and just blow up.

I got hit up in indooroopilly carpark yesterday.

They're based in the gold coast, like all quality scam artists. Their vans have "dynalab audio" on the side. Did some research and it seems it's a worldwide scam, has been around in sydney and melbourne, but only recently to QLD I think.

So yeah, watch out. One of them is a swedish chick with a big rack : )
masta_blasta
Sweet, I'll feign interest in order to look at sweedish boobies then pretend to call the cops.
Darius
Interesting, our law doesnt take too kindly to foreign criminals so either they are extremely stupid or ... stupid
=-Firefrog-=
I got hit by them a month or two ago at Carindale shopping center, pulled up in a lovely white van, said they had some left over stock to sell cheap, I led them along for a little bit, then broke it to them that unless their idea of "cheap" was "free" I couldnt afford it, they laughed, seemed upset, and drove off.
HerbalLizard
They have featured these blokes on one of those Worlds Greatest Scam shows on TV. Apparently the specs of these speakers are grossly bloated and flogging them to unsuspecting halfwits under the name of dynalab audio.

www.audioreview.com had this to say
Summary:
Same story - white dynalab van pulls me up in the carpark, say they have "extra" speakers worth $3200 a pair etc...They had a lot of holes in their story but we took the bait anyway. Paid $600 each for a set each.

The sound wasn't actually that bad though. In fact it was quite good, but it was the fact that I got scammed that pissed me off. I think they must use crappy parts but big magnets, so they'll sound good until u up the volume too much and they blow.

We took them back straight away - their Qld headquarters in in the GoldCoast - 5/13 Leda Drive, Andrews.

Got money back, no questions asked.

If you paid $200 or under for a pair then you're doing well, scam or not.

Strengths:
Sound good if u can get em cheap enough

Weaknesses:
Poor build quality.

I've been approched by these tossers at Tombul as well, I'll be f***ed if I would buy speakers that I have never even listened to.

stackhat
I remember the white vans, but the last time they stopped me on the road was about 7 years ago. :) can't believe they're still around.
Yeah I found it offensive that this swedish bitch comes into our country and gets work as a scam artist. She was like a student.

The company is legit on the surface I think - but the sellers are breaking the Trade Practices Act 1974. Apparently they have a contract with the company saying they're detached, that way the company isn't held liable.

There's not a lot of point in prosecuting against these kids scam selling the stuff so I guess it just goes on.

Would make a good Today Tonight story though.
i got approached by these guys in stones corner a couple months back. didn't think much of it at the time until i started hearing other people talk about it.
Man, as if anyone would be dumb enough to buy them. Sure, I could have stayed in the past. I could have even been king. But in my own way, I am king.
These guys hit me up ages ago when I was working over in East Brisbane; I'd never heard of them before but it all seemed fairly dodgy. If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.
this is a world wide scam, i saw a show on it the other nite;

the people out doing the leg work get to keep how ever much they sell the (crap) speakers for and the head dude pockets his 250 buxors per set;

DONT BE FOOLED PEEPS
C0deBasher
I was approached by them a year ago. Boy am I glad I wasn't interested at the time.
haha, we got 2 massive speakers of a white van that pulled up outside our house.

took some convincing, but we wrote them a cheque, they lugged the speakers up the stairs

as soon as they drove off, we rang the bank and cancelled the cheque.

scam that.

btw, the speakers go hard and are still going hard to this day
PurpleEva
Haha! Nice work :p
Gavmo
Ive heard about these guys. Theyre very reluctant to come back to the same place twice.
sheep_pimp
gw teq
i think this has been shown on today tonight or a current affair, a year or two ago. i think it was only in sydney and melbourne back then. if anyone is approached by them again just tell them you think the speakers would go well in your squad car :D
They tried to sell speakers to me yestereday at toowong, near woolworths. Dodgey looking ppl.
http://www.scamshield.com/Feature.asp?id=1
yeah this was on one of those late night crim shows. pretty funny really
MtX
yeh they were on some UK scam show!

speakers are worth $20 or something..
thats the one! ^^ saw it on some dodgy late nite pommy scam show ^^
Bargain Child
haha, a mate from work bought a pair of these dodgey speakers; I didn't have the heart to tell him how s*** they were.

I got approached by these two fellas in Cleveland. I told them I'd be right, I have a B&W setup at home. Ah, the shock on their faces. So then they tell me "Yeah, B&W are OK for a home setup, but if you really want an industrial setup, these are for you." Needless to say, I laughed and did not buy.

industrial. surely. pfftt.
I think I saw one of those vans the other day, I seem to remember the words Dynalab on a white van, where the words Dynalab printed in yellow?
yep printed in yellow.

Yeah apparently "all the nightclubs" use these speakers. aha

They've badged them as "Fleetwood" speakers at the moment, but worldwide they've always been a "SDA 2.8" series, so thats how u can spot them easily.
i cant believe that:
a) this selling technique is legal
b) its actually a worthwhile way to sell speakers (the same trick is used all over the world)
c) that people would actually consider buying a brand/model of speakers that they know nothing about

i guess it just goes to show, people are stupid;
MY SPEAKERS JUST BLEW UP MAENS!?!?!@@ :(

Got to be one dumb f***er to buy speakers out of the back of a van.
AvengeR
Yeah I had two guys in a white van come up beside me while i was driving near UQ asking me if I was interested in speakers.
I had already heard about this scam with people in white vans selling the speakers so gave it a miss.
So these guys actually stop you and talk to you while you're driving around? Thats rather intrusive isn't it? I'd tell them to f*** off just on that basis alone, even if they weren't dodgy speaker salesmen.
lol 10 years on these guys are still going.. eheheh

You can get lucky with these guys and actually get a reasonable set.. but i wouldn't chance it...
that people would actually consider buying a brand/model of speakers that they know nothing about
I spose its because the speakers are SO BIG and SO CHEAP, people just go phwoar, I gotta get me a set of those bad boys.
ahaha these wankers came to my work (of all places) trying to flog them off. What a bunch of retards, I acted interested for a while but in the end told em to bugger off. I figured they were either stolen or dodgy. As if buy s*** out of a van (off the back of a truck?).

Yeah apparently "all the nightclubs" use these speakers. aha

haha yeah they told me they were used in cinema's & s***.
möoby
Sweet, I'll feign interest in order to look at sweedish boobies then pretend to call the cops

my girlfriend is swedish. Say this to the slapper..

gå och dö, ditt as
Dopefish
he probebly cant even pronounce it.
:p
Pluck Me Dead
One of em approached me, so i offered em to buy my "stolen" 3315 for $250

i got a "that's a ripp off"

i gave them a "so are you"

haha these guys get around.

they tried off loading those "Fleetwood" ones for 700 a pair, while my friend had a set in the back for 300 a pair.

I should have offered to sell ours. =(
B@ssM@n
I got hit by these guys twice, once in Sunnybank shopping centre carpark & once outside UQ.

Both times it was two males driving a white Ford Transit van.

What a way to make a living though :(
Eu4ia
I've been approached twice - at both of the big servos on the M1. First time I thought it sounded sus. Second time I knew it just had to be sus.

sif I'm gonna buy speakers off the back of a truck (almost literally!). *edit* <-- damn, WhoopAss said it first! :p

Next time I'll let down their tyres while they're not looking! :)
Gregory
there smacktards