copuis
Now I thought the rules were pretty damn clear on this, and is there is a family reason (like the only car they have access to and other often bulls*** reasons) now, if you make a butt load of money, and can afford a BMW M car, you can get a special permit http://www.news.com.au/national/bernard-tomic-drives-into-trouble-again-in-his-bmw-on-the-gold-coast/story-e6frfkvr-1226254558048 now, I know he did a good job in the tennis, and makes a s*** load of money, but other than sponsors, why wouldn't he get a car he can legally drive? surely the legal fees he has paid over this alone would have covered the cost of a 3 series diesel (as turbo diesels are okay afaik) |
| #0 08:35pm 26/01/12 |
Outlaw
I found this interesting also. They've given me three tickets and one officer feels like he wants to get me and it's not a good feeling. 3 tickets in 1 go. On P-Plates. wtf? |
| #1 08:40pm 26/01/12 |
His car's speed is electronically limited, although its top speed still exceeds 250km/hBahahahahahahahaah |
| #2 08:33pm 26/01/12 |
copuis
yeah, I dont get that "limited to" line, most cars on the road are limited to some speed (by electronic means) hell even the EL falcon is limited, (to 180, and some to 220) |
| #3 08:36pm 26/01/12 |
Timmeh
I got pulled over twice last sunday and once on my way to work yesterday. The first was a standard RBT and license check on Compton Rd, just past that tiles place, all good. Second was at wacol coming back through to my place and the bastard was behind a truck. Stood in the middle of the road signalling me over and let the other 3 cars pass. This guy fully looked over my hilux asked "whats with the stickers" i just laughed and said something different. He said something about my Tyre tread, there less than 2 months old. Yesterday was a rbt again |
| #4 09:15pm 26/01/12 |
m3nt4l
The two infringement notices he was given were not for doing a burnout, speeding, tailgating, they were for 'revving the engine' according to: http://news.ninemsn.com.au/national/8409325/bernard-tomic-in-stand-off-with-police |
| #5 09:33pm 26/01/12 |
copuis
doesn't change the fact that as a P plater petrol turbos,V8, amd rotaries over 1.2litres are all cars that are banned, he can afford a $150,000 car, there are rules that "allow" P platers to use banned cars, when a family can't afford to have multiple cars, and the main car is on the banned list clearly he wasn't "just going from training and back", it was police just hearing him reving the engine, but members of the public reporting it he failed to pull over when directed and he has the former mayor as his lawyer something is wrong |
| #6 09:43pm 26/01/12 |
arkter
I drove two different M spec BMW's way over power restrictions the entire time I was on my P plates and never once killed anyone... promise. They need idiot restrictions for cars, not license/power restrictions. How to measure idiot though? |
| #7 10:07pm 26/01/12 |
Mantorok
They need idiot restrictions for cars, not license/power restrictions.Considering this guy couldn't resist showing off, I'd say he fails the idiot test. |
| #8 10:38pm 26/01/12 |
arkter
Considering this guy couldn't resist showing off, I'd say he fails the idiot test. relevant to story. But okay... I drove two different automobiles way over power restrictions the entire time I was on my P plates and never once killed anyone... promise. They need idiot restrictions for cars, not license/power restrictions. How to measure idiot though? |
| #9 10:44pm 26/01/12 |
Clubby
meh who cares ... plenty of people get pulled over for this sort of stuff every day ... slow news day is slow ...
On a more thread related note the M series is a pretty safe car for anyone to drive even with it's power (drove one a few weeks back and it felt a lot safer than some of the less powered s*** boxes I have driven). |
| #10 12:05am 27/01/12 |
DeadlyDav0
f*** them all. Slow ass cars for all P platers. QQ moar. |
| #11 12:12am 27/01/12 |
Timmeh
The restrictions are stupid. I can drive a Mazda MX-5, which if you have driven one are an extremely agile machine. But i cant drive the Hyundai iLoad work van. as its turbo diesel. |
| #12 12:49am 27/01/12 |
Diesel powered turbo's do not come in under high powered car as long as they do not also meet any of the other requirements.
| #13 01:54am 27/01/12 |
copuis
you guys do know that there are NO power restrictions right, just a blanket ban on types, V8 Turbos on Petrol engines, rotaries over 1.2 litres engines over 4.2 litres the smart car is one exception this means that there a heap of cars that people can legal drive, cilo V6, golf R32, honda S2000, all powerful, all legal, golf 77TSi, banned but all of that is rather beside the point, he has so many legal cars that he could choice, but he picks a car that he (by all rights) is unable to legally drive on the road, then tempts fate by breaching (or seemly breaching) the strict conditions placed on the use of his car http://www.news.com.au/national/tennis-ace-bernard-tomic-in-more-traffic-trouble/story-e6frfkvr-1226254801544 not only that, more information, he was defy police orders, simple, clearly to young, to dumb, to full of cum, and too much money and thinks he can do what he want's ""Tomic emerged briefly to talk to reporters and said he had done nothing wrong. "It's all happened on Australia Day when I am trying to have fun with my mates," he said. Tomic said he was allowed to drive on the roads even though he had a restricted licence. "Absolutely, I was on a visit doing my stuff and enjoying my day. I had my things all planned and someone doesn't like that and wants to stop that.""" bogan tennis ace is his new title |
| #14 04:01am 27/01/12 |
who cares about this c***, its like they are televising something new? the cops f*** over young ppl with nice cars? oh noes thats new news!....
Just another day in the life of a young person imo, getting harrassed and fined by the cops for no reason. I got pulled over for an apparent illegal u-turn few months ago, had a cop ask me if i owned the car i was in (my old audi). i replied yes and he laughed and said that i would have no problem paying this fine then. Some of them are just complete wankers |
| #15 09:14am 27/01/12 |
hardware
you guys do know that there are NO power restrictions right, just a blanket ban on types,copius i want to like you, but you just keep spewing utter incorrect s*** all the time. you're wrong. power restriction is 210kw. http://www.tmr.qld.gov.au/Licensing/Getting-a-licence/Car-licence/Provisional-licence/Restrictions/High-powered-performance-vehicles.aspx oh and copius do you know why falcons are speed limited to 180kmh? and Timmeh, it's only TURBO PETROL engines. Diseasels don't count. last edited by hardware at 09:37:21 27/Jan/12 |
| #16 09:37am 27/01/12 |
If you want to see the cars that are usable under Provisional. Cars with petrol turbo's can have a certificate of exemption if it falls under a moderately powered turbo/supercharger vehicle.
http://tmr.redbook.com.au/search/ |
| #17 09:38am 27/01/12 |
hardware
yeah, i think it's pretty generous actually - as 125kw a tonne can get you all kinds of messed up. I mean that rule includes WRX Evo Spec models!!!!
| #18 09:40am 27/01/12 |
The restrictions are stupid. Compared to a hilux. |
| #19 09:54am 27/01/12 |
not only that, more information, he was defy police orders, simple, clearly to young, to dumb, to full of cum, and too much money and thinks he can do what he want's This sentence is hurting my brain I don't think there should be any exemptions at all, it's like those c***s at school who got out of exams for rugby training - it is f***ing retarded how much more lenient we are towards sports peeps |
| #20 09:59am 27/01/12 |
This sentence is hurting my brain Most of those jocks became builders and tradies... a missed exam was never going to change that. |
| #21 10:07am 27/01/12 |
Tele
Most of those jocks became builders and tradies... a missed exam was never going to change that. and what society doesn't need Builder and tradies? I believe some people need to fail so i can have a nice office and desk to sit at and make decent hard cash doing near nothing. |
| #22 10:13am 27/01/12 |
Eorl
I'm not allowed to drive a high powered car, so why should he be exempt from the same rules that apply to everyone else? |
| #23 10:17am 27/01/12 |
he would say; because http://files.sharenator.com/memes_im_rich_bitch_MEME_BASE_16-s499x770-160944.jpg |
| #24 10:17am 27/01/12 |
He sounds like a tosser.
| #25 10:18am 27/01/12 |
Should have confiscated the car for the atrocious colour choice
| #26 10:19am 27/01/12 |
Outlaw
| #27 10:23am 27/01/12 |
kappa
Good taste in cars bernie. Also who gives a s***e. People probably hatin' because he's a 19yo in an M3 with hot missus. |
| #28 10:32am 27/01/12 |
Eorl
Good taste in cars bernie. Also who gives a s***e. People probably hatin' because he's a 19yo in an M3 with hot missus. No, people are hating because he is 19yo, should be following the law like everyone else who has to suffer, and that he is a massive wank face. I don't care if your rich as s***, drive a car that obeys the rules, and don't cry to daddy and his gigantic rich ego that you got told off for breaking the law. |
| #29 10:35am 27/01/12 |
kappa
No, people are hating because he is 19yo, should be following the law like everyone else who has to suffer, and that he is a massive wank face. I don't care if your rich as s***, drive a car that obeys the rules, and don't cry to daddy and his gigantic rich ego that you got told off for breaking the law. He's not breaking the law if he's exempt. Any P plater can attempt to do the same. |
| #30 10:41am 27/01/12 |
Eorl
He's not breaking the law if he's exempt. Any P plater can attempt to do the same. Yes but he shouldn't be exempt. You can only be exempt if you have no other car to use in the family, and clearly he can afford a bloody turbo s*** box, so he should be able to afford a v6 and under. And he clearly wasn't driving home from tennis or tennis practice, he was showing off like a tool, and got caught for it. |
| #31 11:26am 27/01/12 |
arkter
Should have confiscated the car for the atrocious colour choice FALSE http://www.blogcdn.com/www.autoblog.com/media/2009/11/bmwm3gts000_opt.jpg |
| #32 01:01pm 27/01/12 |
Enska
and what society doesn't need Builder and tradies? I believe some people need to fail so i can have a nice office and desk to sit at and make decent hard cash doing near nothing. wow, so builders and tradies have failed just because they chose to be builders and tradies? what the f*** is wrong with some of you on this forum, jobs aren't any lesser or more because they're in an office or outdoors ffs. /end derail. |
| #33 01:54pm 27/01/12 |
and what society doesn't need Builder and tradies? I believe some people need to fail so i can have a nice office and desk to sit at and make decent hard cash doing near nothing. How would the legitimacy of their job have anything to do with the point? You've just lost the topic. He said these kids were getting concessions like missing exams, and i'm pointing out considering their choice in trade, that wasn't exactly important to society. Thereby my point being he was comparing apples and oranges; a sports guy driving a car IN society affecting those around him by potentially putting them at higher risk than someone in a lower powered vehicle has zero comparison to a sports jock missing an irrelevant exam before becoming a tradesman which would require none of the skills that the exam would test him for. PS: Builders get paid well and so do tradies, not all of them in the 6 figure salary but still not far from it, and a few (especially builders) in the big bucks. But whether they did or didn't take a school exam is kind of irrelevant to that and wouldn't affect those around them. Hardly negligence at work. |
| #34 02:06pm 27/01/12 |
copuis
He's not breaking the law if he's exempt. Any P plater can attempt to do the same. he was breaking the law by not abiding by the restrictions (he even says he was "just having fun", which is not going from home to training) also, "any P plater can do it" isn't true, you have to get the exemption, and based on the money that car is worth, I really doubt that the "it is the only vehicle he has access to" is a valid reason (which is the why the exemption rule is there) |
| #35 10:59pm 27/01/12 |
kappa
Quote fail copuis... Any P plater can attempt to do the same. |
| #36 11:19pm 27/01/12 |
copuis
yeah, and unless they have a high powered lawyer and a s*** load of money, they would get laughed at and have their attempt denied also doesn't change the fact was breaking the law, (by breaking the terms of his exception) also, he is already in the process of facing hooning fines from a pre december incidents (multiple, not just one) |
| #37 11:25pm 27/01/12 |
lol this thread smells like jealous people losing at life |
| #38 11:45pm 27/01/12 |
Eorl
| #39 01:03am 28/01/12 |
Jc_23
Nice gif lol! :)
It's the hater fun police up in here yo. The workload, discipline, sacrifice, abstinence, adherance to stringent routine/s, training, match practise, drills, gym work, media events, obligations and interviews, sponsor obligations, study, travel and diet/nutrition control (caloric control, meal and portion size control and timing, component control etc) controlled sleep times and a whole bunch of other stuff makes what these guys do day in, day out far from easy. It makes what a lot of others do for work seem like a lovely meander through Southbank on a Sunday afternoon with an ice-cream in hand, hence the pay-off/s. This has more than likely been going on since he was a pre-teen and will continue on for at least another 14ish years. Revving the engine, are you serious!? I highly doubt someone of his calibre, reputation, fame and the position he is in would be breaking the law intentionally - you really think he is going to all this trouble just to spite them? Although he now sounds like a paranoid schizophrenic considering his comments and actions, he might be onto something I guess, after all, green eyed haters gonna hate and malign instead of self-improve? He didn't actually buy the car either, it was given to him to drive by BMW. |
| #40 07:43am 28/01/12 |
| #41 08:17am 28/01/12 |
Jc_23
I said God damn! That is going to be one naztee hangover, if he is lucky. :(
| #42 08:31am 28/01/12 |
He didn't actually buy the car either, it was given to him to drive by BMW. I hope that's correct. I'd be furious if my son was in his position and blew $150k on a car. Sure his career's looking up but anything can happen in the early stages and he may be left with no career, and no big money - not a smart move spending up now. Also, you'd think BMW would be a little more responsible than to give an M3 (on the P-Plate blacklist) to a P-Plater. Seriously, what's so wrong with a normal 3 series? |
| #43 08:37am 28/01/12 |
Outlaw
What the f*** was that guy trying to do ? |
| #44 09:40am 28/01/12 |
arkter
Seriously, what's so wrong with a normal 3 series? He's famous! He can't be seen driving a car some 'regular' person can drive! I think I big part of it would be BMW being seen to hand out the expensive limited edition car, not just the BMW brand name product placement in general. You don't want to be seen as the the car company that hands out base model cars to stars. |
| #45 10:07am 28/01/12 |
Jc_23
I hope that's correct. It's hearsay from one of the coaches at Tennyson - I took it with a grain of salt. They aren't listed on his sponsors page, but that's not unusual. He is in for some hurt I think - Tennis Australia are talking about giving him a disrepute fine. Regardless of fault or semantics, obviously he should have obeyed all Police directives and taken care of the bureaucracy behind closed doors. I think he made the mistake of thinking he had garnered enough public support to be seen giving the thumbs up on camera - he is running the risk of tarnishing his career permanently! :) |
| #46 10:45am 28/01/12 |
Timmeh do you have a unit sticker on your hilux? if so, you deserve to be pulled over all the time for being a f*****. |
| #47 10:47am 28/01/12 |
Shaexen
Yawn tennis players. Had to put up with that bogan c*** hewitt for 15 years of f***wittery and now there's another one. |
| #48 05:41pm 29/01/12 |
kos
Yawn tennis players. Had to put up with that bogan c*** hewitt for 15 years of f***wittery and now there's another one. This. And on top of that, they act like top s*** while they're never good enough to be number 1, and the guys up at number 1 always seem about a million times more mature and less like f***wits. Still, looking forward to celebrating this new guy's losses as much as I did Hewitt's. |
| #49 06:31pm 29/01/12 |
what's so wrong with a normal 3 series? lol spoken like a true parent/old man :p speaking of P platers i saw a guy with red P Plates tust after the Rode Road exit near the massive 5 way round about on the northside in some oldish nissan maxima with about 30 degrees of positive camber on the back left wheel the guy was obviously trying to drift on the round about and has absolutely f***ing smashed it into the gutter. there pretty much isn't any other explanation i can see apart from just driving way too fast through a round about either way he was living the red P plate stereostype |
| #50 06:42pm 29/01/12 |
sCOOBY
Even the best of us have whacked a gutter or a reflector post at a roundabout
| #51 07:41pm 29/01/12 |
lol spoken like a true parent/old man :p :( |
| #52 07:48pm 29/01/12 |
haha this wasn't just a love tap on a gutter
the car was undrivable the wheel was just about completely buckled under the car |
| #53 07:52pm 29/01/12 |
| #54 09:45pm 29/01/12 |
copuis
lol spoken like a true parent/old man :p I remember a drunk night, spring hill, and three bloke that had gone from work, to cheers, and all with our own car, 2 am we got kicked out, matt had a bwm, 330i I had the volvo, and krause had an MX5 in our drunk state it turned in a display of skill of the drive home (dont drink and drive, it is bad, and our trip was like 60seconds we could have/should have walked) matt went around, drifted it a little, I pulled a massive 30/40 degree drift, (nearly broke my arm as the old girl had now power steering,) but it must have looked sick, blue tyre smoke krause, not to be out done, tried to pull a mad drift too, after all he had the sportiest car of the load (even had the roll cage) anyway matt and I, laughing are arse off, crack open a bottle, and think we are the stupidest people even for doing that, and how lucky are we.............until we noticed that once there was three and now there is two krause came around the corner 20 or so minutes later and the back wheels looks thus I / he had also crack four of the five spoke on his alloy's so we gave him s***, and put the space saver spare on, which only highlighted his toe out issue, after driving on the new tyre all of 100 meters, it started to smoke, krause was 40 at the time (i was like 20 so it was to be expected) also, dont drink and drive, it is bad |
| #55 09:46pm 29/01/12 |
And on top of that, they act like top s*** while they're never good enough to be number 1 err hewitt was ranked number 1 in 2001 at the age of 20, the youngest ever for male players. i think he was ranked number 1 for 2 years or so. |
| #56 10:11pm 29/01/12 |
Timmeh
Timmeh do you have a unit sticker on your hilux? f*** off. I am not a f***ing lolux f***stick. I would happily torch my own hilux is i saw such a sticker on my ute, ever. The only sticker, apart from my wheels i have my my hilux is a "Sparky As f***" sticker. |
| #57 10:44pm 29/01/12 |
those stickers on your wheels are just as bad as a unit sticker .. |
| #58 11:03pm 29/01/12 |
Timmeh
those stickers on your wheels are just as bad as a unit sticker .. No. No they are not. |
| #59 11:07pm 29/01/12 |
you're right, they're far worse. |
| #60 12:32am 30/01/12 |
I heard all the stickers on his rims are made up of unit, frangipani's and southern cross stickers.
| #61 08:37am 30/01/12 |
you're right, they're far worse. Are you defending unit stickers? GET OUT. |
| #62 09:09am 30/01/12 |
those stickers on your wheels are just as bad as a unit sticker ..tbh it's worse, I would assume you're a retard. Someone put a pedobear sticker on my rear window randomly, definitely wasn't there when I purchased it. One of these exact ones/same spot (not my car) http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4027/4280145624_8ab5c5ccef.jpg |
| #63 09:36am 30/01/12 |
I would assume you're a retard. yer |
| #64 09:37am 30/01/12 |
haha thats a good troll, not too many people in Australia would get it though |
| #65 10:56am 30/01/12 |
Eorl
haha thats a good troll, not too many people in Australia would get it though You'd be surprised. |
| #66 11:51am 30/01/12 |
arkter
matt had a bwm, 330i bwm, 330i bwm I don't know why.. but this typo made me laugh drastically. |
| #67 12:11pm 30/01/12 |
Did that happen after one of the old LANs chub? *cough* |
| #68 12:31pm 30/01/12 |
No clue, just randomly spotted it one day.
That does seem like a logical explanation, it could only be you or your bro... I don't think Rdizz or phooks are cheeky enough. At least it's a less intrusive troll than filling my computer with multiple copies of Crysis :P |
| #69 10:32pm 30/01/12 |
lmao, felt bad when you started deleting personal stuff to gain disk space without knowing you had ~50 copies of crysis in shared :P |
| #70 02:20pm 31/01/12 |
hahahaha
| #71 02:32pm 31/01/12 |
Rdizz
haha f*** that was gold... couldve been strut though. but he didnt have those stickers back then afaik
| #72 04:39pm 31/01/12 |
It was strut, quite a few cars got done :P |
| #73 05:14pm 31/01/12 |