KARMICHAEL Hunt, star of the Brisbane Broncos rugby league team, is set to announce his signing with the Gold Coast AFL club, according to early reports on Channel Nine. http://www.goldcoast.com.au/article/2009/07/29/102581_gold-coast-top-story.html http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/sport/nrl-star-hunt-to-join-new-gold-coast-afl-team-report-20090729-e0ht.html what the hell.. would he even last..Bit bulky for afl.. |
| #0 08:48am 29/07/09 |
oh bulls***
| #1 08:58am 29/07/09 |
huh he will fail horribly
| #2 09:00am 29/07/09 |
someone from the bronco's said it wasn't true this morning on the radio.
probbaly just a publicity stunt by the afl team |
| #3 09:11am 29/07/09 |
He needs to lay off the MotherNox.
| #4 09:16am 29/07/09 |
I dont realy follow league that match, watch the friday night game sometimes, but why would a good player who has played state of origin and for australia want to switch to afl?. He either hates playing league (or likes playing afl more?), which seems unlikely, or its for the money, surely the broncos can pay more than a startup gold coast AFL team?
Maybe he likes afl and the gold coast team are paying decent and he though im young, wtf ill give it a go for a few years, if it fails ill just go back to league. But he's a league player and probably though, "WOW I can play on the gold coast and f*** all the hot gold coast chicks!" |
| #5 09:17am 29/07/09 |
lol surely that's a big bag of bulls***
| #6 09:22am 29/07/09 |
Sweet. I think he would be a solid contributor to the Gold Coast side.
| #7 09:28am 29/07/09 |
so
| #8 09:30am 29/07/09 |
Clubby
Isn't the issue fitting him in the salary cap for the broncos?
Good on him if he does ... sports people only have a limited time to make steady income from their sport (well until they go onto tv or work with the club as a trainer etc) ... go where the money is. |
| #9 09:34am 29/07/09 |
HAha surely this is BS. How could AFL match all the 1mil offers from japan and europe? And considering it was only a few weeks ago he said that one of the reasons he didn't re-sign with brisbane was because he wanted to see the world and travel or some s***.
anyway good luck to him if he does I guess. Probably to slow for afl but we shall see. Also I know that he played it for churchie casually, also his GF's bro plays for the lions. last edited by ctd at 09:40:47 29/Jul/09 |
| #10 09:40am 29/07/09 |
what the what?
| #11 09:40am 29/07/09 |
they had a big offer for him at the start of the year, like $400k a year. which he turned down wanting $500k a year. so the broncos took the offer off the table and have spent the money elsewhere thinking he would be going. i think the big rugby contracts haven't eventuated and the broncos have said they couldn't give him the same offer they had for him earlier in the year - money is already spent.
all that said, karmichael has said he doesn't want to play against the broncos ever so he will go definintely go elsewhere he will probably come back in a few years and finish the rest of his career at the broncos, f*** he's only 22 he would go away for 3 or 4 years and still come back in his prime and probably a better player for it. last edited by paveway at 09:45:23 29/Jul/09 |
| #12 09:45am 29/07/09 |
rememebr that the GC team has alot of sallary cap concessions when starting up the team, so they may be able to match the offers, it would probably cripple them still...... but meh probably just fake.
| #13 09:43am 29/07/09 |
Yeah they could, but surely sense would tell them to spend it on some proven AFL players? Like the GC titans wouldn't of gone out and signed jason akermanis or whoever. Good luck with alllll that.
| #14 09:47am 29/07/09 |
i reckon Jonathon Brown would make a good center or wing
| #15 09:56am 29/07/09 |
He needs to lay off the MotherNox. haha and also, wtf, sounds like its true, but still, bit hard to believe; |
| #16 10:04am 29/07/09 |
Yeah, apparently its true alright. The new GC club is holding a media conference at 11:30 to make it official.
| #17 10:05am 29/07/09 |
Special Text
That'd be like Michael Jordan trying to play baseball.
| #18 10:29am 29/07/09 |
Hahah wat
| #19 10:34am 29/07/09 |
PS: Its confirmed, there was a press conference at 10:30 this morning.
| #20 11:06am 29/07/09 |
MoGs
I say good luck to him. He's played it before and was being scouted by QLD AFL so he does have some talent... time will tell how well he'll do.
| #21 11:12am 29/07/09 |
Whaaat? Lame.
| #22 11:16am 29/07/09 |
Crakaveli
Wtf, This is bulls***.
| #23 11:28am 29/07/09 |
Hahahahahhahahahahha
Broncos for Wooden spoon in 2010! |
| #24 11:30am 29/07/09 |
yeah i see the correlation between this and getting the wooden spoon next year
| #25 11:34am 29/07/09 |
with any luck hunt will smash those f***ing afl pussies.
| #26 12:06pm 29/07/09 |
yeah i see the correlation between this and getting the wooden spoon next year Well they're doing s*** this year with him, so without one would imagine they can slip even further. Go for that last spot! They can do it! |
| #27 12:12pm 29/07/09 |
lol righto noob
he's a good player, but no where near in the ranks of being the deciding factor of a team going well or not last edited by paveway at 12:19:08 29/Jul/09 |
| #28 12:19pm 29/07/09 |
BWAH HA HA
BWAH HA HA BWAH HA HA |
| #29 12:38pm 29/07/09 |
Some Fat Bastard
with any luck hunt will smash those f***ing afl pussies.Can't stop laughing at that one. |
| #30 12:41pm 29/07/09 |
yeah me either. they are f***en pretty much a pack of gays.
| #31 12:43pm 29/07/09 |
will be good to watch
| #32 12:47pm 29/07/09 |
yeah thats what i was saying to one of the guys here at work before, he's from victoria
i said when he gets the ball instead of running away from the opposition he will run at them and drop the shoulder hopefully show those poofs what it's all about |
| #33 12:56pm 29/07/09 |
funky
then he won't dispose of the ball correctly whilst being tackled and give a way a free kick - its a different game guys, he's going to be on a bit of a learning curve - he'll probably try to smash everyone in tackles and in afl its not about that, its about the ball - the whole point of running away from someone is so you have time to correctly and efficiently dispose of the ball
| #34 01:26pm 29/07/09 |
they only 'dispose' of the ball so they don't get smashed. pussies.
also, they can't kick for s***... |
| #35 01:41pm 29/07/09 |
funky
hahahaha - you clearly need a clue - i'm not too interested in getting into it with league bogans, i'm easily able to appreciate all football sports in australia, something that leaguies find difficult
| #36 01:42pm 29/07/09 |
i think you'll find most us understand the rules/aim of afl funky, we just want to see him smash you afl fags
| #37 01:50pm 29/07/09 |
something that leaguies find difficult League alone? Because Victorians totally embrace and appreciate the skill of Union and League. |
| #38 01:59pm 29/07/09 |
League alone? Because Victorians totally embrace and appreciate the skill of Union and League. osnap. |
| #39 02:45pm 29/07/09 |
old khunty will have to work on his fitness
league players can be unfit and get away with it; afl you get found out real quick if you cant keep running fyi, i watch both league and afl, have probably been watching league longer, but 4serials, afl is the better sport, played by better athletes, with better skills (also with better crowd attendances because people are more interested in afl) |
| #40 03:04pm 29/07/09 |
The Match Fixer
Australian Fag League.
Sign me up for that s***. |
| #41 03:07pm 29/07/09 |
The only problem with AFL is its gayness.
| #42 03:22pm 29/07/09 |
The Match Fixer
There you have it boys and girls, the understatement of the century right there.
| #43 03:29pm 29/07/09 |
its not gay at all |
| #44 03:51pm 29/07/09 |
lol righto noob Shhhhhh. Don't let facts get in the road of my anti-Broncos tirade! ;) |
| #45 03:53pm 29/07/09 |
Didn't see this coming.
But yeah like ctd said he did play in the 1sts at school and, while that's a huge leap to the AFL, he obviously realises the difference between the two sports. Personally I was really hoping he would switch to union and stop wasting his skill ;) |
| #46 05:19pm 29/07/09 |
big old artie beetson really wanted to say "that f***in scum can f*** off then" well thats what it sounded like in his tone of voice.. ha
| #47 05:57pm 29/07/09 |
he'll be back, fo sho
| #48 06:10pm 29/07/09 |
They showed his GF on channel 9. Massive tits aye. Not bad either.
| #49 06:21pm 29/07/09 |
I thought when they showed his girlfriend he said he was going to help her with what she was doing with charities next year and that he was 98% certain. Meh, must of misheard.
| #50 06:38pm 29/07/09 |
For all you AFL haters.
It is a sport that takes alot more skill and endurance than rugby. If you disagree it is because you have never played the game before, and I have played AFL/league and union. |
| #51 07:00pm 29/07/09 |
more skill on a quite night at foot training, we sometimes play rugby. run forward, throw backwards. easy. |
| #52 07:10pm 29/07/09 |
yeah fully easy when you say it like that, maybe I could play pro?!?
soccer - kick it through a net, pretend to be injured, take it up the arse after the game union/league - smash into opponents, run over the line afl - kick it between the posts, points for missing so dont try too hard |
| #53 07:24pm 29/07/09 |
afl - kick it between the posts, points for missing so dont try too hard haha! yeah thats all that AFL players do. The ball just magically makes it way into the position where the forward can take a shot at goal. Firstly AFL is a 360 degree game. You can run in any direction and often have too to outsmart your opponent. The ball has to be kicked perfectly, there is no room for error at all. Players have to take contested marks at height and not just jump up and take chest marks like rugby players do maybe twice a game. Players in particular positions have to outsmart there opponents and execute strategies that are at times a lot more complicated than the pick and drive mentality rugby has. I remember when i played AFL i found it a lot harder than union. Then again i found soccer to be harder than union. To give you an idea of what I am talking about in regards to the skill required to mark a ball in AFL, here is an example. Note the player who spins around to kick the ball posses a particular physical skill that no rugby player has, hence the difference in size between rugby and AFL players. Whilst I admit a rugby player could plough through an AFL player and clean them up thats not the point. Rugby players train for (in my mind) two objectives. Size and endurance. BAll handling skills and kicking are not really that hard to perform in rugby. I am not posting this because i hate league or union, i enjoy watching all codes of football. But if you are just going to roll into QGL and spout off your opinion as fact without offering any kind of supporting arguments you fail. Then again this is QGL, I shouldn't expect anything different. |
| #54 07:44pm 29/07/09 |
Wow, you seriously replied to that.
| #55 07:45pm 29/07/09 |
I suppose the Gold Coast AFL side needed some high profile signings because lets be honest, That team is going to be a failed venture.
They must have lined up some off field sponsorship for Hunt. Cant imagine he'd be getting a lot to play the game because he hasnt played it all. Does the AFL even have enough players to create another team ? Rugby League has been completely overstretched so much that some sides are having trouble getting a team on the field under the salary cap. Obviously League Clubs couldnt afford him with the ridiculous Salary Cap size so theyve lost another talented crowd pleaser. Fame doesnt last forever. He wont play league at all next year and is going to 'learn' the game in some VFL club games next year. In 2010 it will be Karmichael who ? Soccer is going to keep creeping up on League and AFL at time when both comps have too many clubs and not enough talent. I can see Soccer getting bigger but i cant see League and AFL getting bigger. --------------------------------------------------- WTF old man says hes gonna get $700 000 a season ? hey guyz who wants to come to gold coast and play Aussie Rules with our star signing a Rugby League player thats played half a season of Pub Footy in Victoria. I can see them building a very strong team around him. Why dont they try to poach Wendell too. last edited by FaceMan at 20:24:50 29/Jul/09 |
| #56 08:24pm 29/07/09 |
Worse is that Berrick Barnes went to the Tahs. Ioane will prolly run now and the reds are even more f***ed than they were before. Which was pretty damn f***ed. |
| #57 08:33pm 29/07/09 |
funky
yeah the reds are stuffed - james horwill is probably crying into his beer about resigning as well, he could have gone elsewhere too. should be interesting to see what kind of football the reds throw up.
also - i'd like to see some actual proof he is getting 700,000 a year. plenty of very very good footballers don't make that kind of money, let alone one who has only ever dabbled in the sport part time in high school. |
| #58 09:14pm 29/07/09 |
reds are beyond screwed..
| #59 09:18pm 29/07/09 |
Yeah poor reds. If I was Barnes I would be getting the f*** outta there as well. You'd think the ARU would assist QLD in retaining some of these locally developed players. Like they got raped enough when the Western Force was introduced and now the rest of the teams are taking what is left.
The Force got all those players and now they are up s*** creek with third party deals not going through and Giteau bailed because of it. ARU needs to look after the 'heartland' a bit better. Also Channel 9 reckon karmichael is on 1mil a year for 3 years + a few hundred thousand for a small season in rugby in 2010. He didn't deny or confirm so speculation. |
| #60 09:46pm 29/07/09 |
channel 9 said 3 million over 3 years for khunt
and the reds are super rooted |
| #61 09:58pm 29/07/09 |
Ross
The GC team will have a 24m/year cap for its 40 players which means a f*** tonne for a few as the majority of the team will be made up through the draft concessions over the next few years at 90k/kid (real sports have drafts).
The quality of the AFL competition would be heaps higher if they stopped tanking which would force teams to retain older players for longer. A lot of clubs have adopted the strategy of crashing and burning for 5 years to get the good picks and hope for success after a rebuilding phase instead of trying to maintain a high quality the entire time. The code argument is just f***ing stupid. There is not one good thing about League. It is a dumb f*** game for hairy homo's who like to hug and hump air/eachother on the ground as much as possible. There is no skill, precision, athleticism, leadership or decision making to be seen at all. These things to seem to me are fundemental things people want from a sport. League people always seem to say that somehow AFL has softer hits which was shown to be stupid with those gforce detector thingies and its at least twice as good in AFL where it can be a 110kg monster crushing a 65kg high schooler from any direction. The umpiring in league is even stupid and I don't think even league fags would disagree with me there. The rules they do have are retarded and the scoring system itself makes no sense. Let's put 60 camera's in a stadium and then declare a try with the 'benefit of the doubt' Wtf is that! Other dumb things in league: Size of the ground Quality of the supporters Crowd Attendance match quality Players s***ting in hotel hallways Supporters believing fights enhance their game Commentators Phil Gould I read an interesting article in inside footy today on the decision making process of a back pocket in AFL (The dud position) of one particular scenario, a ball up on the half back flank. In 5 - 10 secs he has to think about: My man has gone to the ball up - do I go up or stay a kick behind? If I stay behind - how far? If there are significant numbers already in the pack do I need to add to them? What is the likelihood of my man getting the ball in all that traffic? Have the opposition got a set play that he gets involved in? Is their ruckman on top of ours and does that make a difference? Do my team-mates behind me need help on their men? Who is their go-to man in this position? Do they usually go fat or skinny side? Where is the hole they are creating, and am I the best person to fill it? Have we got our best ball winers at the contest, if so I am probably not needed. Should I stay behind the contest to be the relase man out the back or is there someone better at that than me? Who does the coach prefer to be free; I may be able take his man. If it comes to me where am I going to go? Do I have people close for a handball or am I more likely to have to kick it? Who are the people behind, beside and in front of me? If they're close, are the left or right footed because I will to put them on their preferred side with my handball Are my team-mates up the field tall or small? Should I bomb or keep low? Have the opposition set up a zone down-field or are they playing man on man or both? Do they have a loose man set up behind the footy? What stage is the game at? Is it time on because we play differently then? Are we in front, behind or level? If we're behind I will take it up the middle, in front I will go wide, level I will go long and hard. Of course this depends on how long to go and which quarter we are in. What are the weather conditions like, will the wind carry or limit the flight of the ball? What did the coach tell me during the week to do in this situation? How does that match up with own thoughts; and when the coach gives me license to make a decision, how much license to I actually get? What is our preferred path to the goal from this position? Where areas are the dead zones? If my man doesn't go into the contest then I have bunch of other decisions to make |
| #62 11:45pm 29/07/09 |
Of course, no player would think about any one of those things. They would just know what the situation was and act accordingly based on what the right thing to do is. It sounds way more complex when you explain it how a computer would have to think it through than how humans use instinct.
There is some example of that for throwing a tennis ball at something while on the move. We just look at the target and chuck it and some of us are capable of hitting the target. Computer has to spend ages and ages calculating all the variables. Its pretty amazing that we can do it but there is no way anyone could think about all that s*** consciously in the time frame. edit: more amazing that we don't consciously think about it really. |
| #63 01:38am 30/07/09 |
ross i hope it doesn't upset you that you put so much time and effort into such an obviously retarded attempt at trolling. you don't get out much do you?
| #64 05:38am 30/07/09 |
AFL is basically idiots running around like headless chooks, but for some reason it is entertaining.. rugby is run 10m, get tackled, run 10m get tackled. not a very free flowing game, too many stops.. don't get me started on the NFL
| #65 06:09am 30/07/09 |
funky
ross, the rest of your hilarious rant notwithstanding, do you have any proof they are getting 24 million a year in the salary cap? That's about 3 TIMES the normal club salary cap (about 8.8 million a year as of this year) pretty sure they only get an extra 1 million (for the first year, dropping in subsequent years) plus all the draft concessions as per this link. Salary Cap Wiki shows how much they get to spend (normal clubs). they are getting a heap of money for promotion and back of house stuff, but their salary cap concessions aren't nearly at the level you suggest.
| #66 11:06am 30/07/09 |
Hahahahaah 24million. Its like 9.8mil + third party deals.
edit: yeah what funky said. (afl gay etc still) last edited by ctd at 11:18:39 30/Jul/09 |
| #67 11:18am 30/07/09 |
Ross
Yep you guys are right, on AFL teams once they had a breakdown of clubs salary cap usage and I am sure it had it at 14m and the GC team has double the cap. That's why I said 28m. Obviously the figures where with football dept expenditure included :)
Still 17m is pretty big :) |
| #68 12:05pm 30/07/09 |
funky
just read an article which says hunt will be signed to the rookie list - therefore making his salary not count under the cap until he is elevated to the senior list (i.e they decide he is actually worth playing in a game) until then he is just an expensive, expensive promotional tool with his salary under the football dept i guess.
| #69 12:14pm 30/07/09 |
he's an expensive publicity stunt really
they were in dire need of some publicity because they need members |
| #70 12:25pm 30/07/09 |
funky
i think they should do okay - iirc they are associated with the southport sharks who have like 40,000 social members (pretty huge for a QAFL club), so a fair few of those you'd think would double up. have to wait and see though i guess.
| #71 12:47pm 30/07/09 |
he's an expensive publicity stunt really |
| #72 01:22pm 30/07/09 |
Ross
zero members is pretty bad I guess
| #73 01:46pm 30/07/09 |
Who is on the highest salary in AFL now ?
What is it ? |
| #74 01:58pm 30/07/09 |
Ross
I think judd is on about 1m/pa but he also gets 700k/year for being the spokesperson for visy which requires no work.
Brownie gets about 800/year I think and fev is about the same. It's all private info tho so there is a lot of speculation. |
| #75 02:14pm 30/07/09 |
He says he is going to play union for the year inbetween. Reds might take him i guess. |
| #76 03:09pm 30/07/09 |
| #76 |