Topic: Thermite goes to White Castle
I haven't seen the movie "Harold and Kumar Go to White Castle" in years, but being a fan of the fast food burger there is one bit that always stuck with me.

It happens 5 minutes into this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U_BmxlT-5X4
The way the guy describes that burger makes it sound so god damn mouth wateringly delicious I haven't been able to stop thinking about it.
Unfortunatly I can't get to a White Castle being in Australia and all, so I've done some research on the interweb, read various arguments on yahoo answers from ex white castle employees, and I've given the 'White Castle Slyder' a crack a few times.

The thing about this recipe is that it calls for a strange ingredient I haven't been able to get until now, so I've previously added all manner of flavoursome things I like to the meat to ramp up the flavour, but this time I thought I'd try to stick to a simpler version that reflects the original a bit more. I have documented it here, and perhaps you will have a go at this too as the resulting burger is quite something to behold.

I started off with 500g of this nice fluffy organic premium minced beef. The cheaper stuff I used to get to make tacos and bolognaise has really gone down hill and tastes like chopped goat anus.

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb01.jpg

Next I got a beef stock cube and dissolved it in less than a cup of hot water, this wound up being almost 80% of a cup which I think made the mixture too sloppy - would aim for about 2/3 of a cup next time.

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb02.jpg

Uh oh what the f*** is that on the right there? It's beef baby food. I'm guessing the idea behind this is that adding a processed steak dinner into your meat will pack in more flavour, and perhaps if I had a food processor I would do just that. I haven't seen much beef baby food around, I'm guessing that's more of an American thing, but I did find this one in 'apple sauce' that has 36% beef. I don't know how that measures up to what Americans consider beef baby food but it's the best I could do. It's a very dubious ingredient to say the least. I've also read of people using processed liver.

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb03.jpg

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb04.jpg

Oh yeah lovely, don't make my digestive system work too hard. I read somewhere the reason they're called slyders is cos they slide out your arse real easy after. I dunno I was drinking rum so I can't really guage that.

Ok, so in it goes...

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb05.jpg

Now mix all that s*** together.

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb06.jpg

The idea here is to make some square patties, so I used a baking tray that was about the right size to spread out the mixture and get it flat enough.

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb07.jpg

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb08.jpg

On some baking paper spread it out as flat as possible, I found that since my mixture was very sloppy; slamming the tray down on the bench helped a bit.

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb09.jpg

You can see here it's quite hard to get it even:

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb10.jpg

But with the use of some Glad Wrap and a rolling pin I was able to even it out a lot more.

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb11.jpg

The next thing to do is to mark out the patties, which have to be a little wider than the bun (they shrink a tiny bit). I decided to use hot dog buns to make the buns this time, just cut the ends off and then cut it in two. Previously I've found some small buns but I didn't like the texture of them. I was actually dissapointed with these hot dog buns as they are a bit ghetto - I didn't buy them. I had imagined using the really nice soft holiday roll type ones that are shaped very smooth and consistent. Oh well, the show must go on.

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb12.jpg

And I've just sliced up the patties there. You're meant to get 16 patties out of this amount, but my maths failed somewhere I wound up with 15.

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb13.jpg

Now some holes need to poked through the meat. This is so steam can come up through the holes and help cook the burger and bun. I used a metal straw, but a knife or maccas straw can do the job.

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb14.jpg

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb15.jpg

The patties are still very sloppy and cannot be handled. I will cover them up with more baking paper and pop them in the freezer for an hour.

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb16.jpg

I'm going to cook 6 patties and leave the rest for another time.

I've prepared half a cup of chopped onion - this is more onion than I needed in hindsight.

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb17.jpg

Here's a tip, get yourself a V Slicer and slice the onion up first, saves you a s*** load of effort.

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb18.jpg

And fill up the cup with water.

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb19.jpg

In White Castle they use dehydrated onions so I guess this step takes several hours - they let the onions really soak in. I probably don't need to do that.

Here's the cutting of the dissapointing hot dog buns:

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb20.jpg

And then I have to cut through the slices in the frozen patties as they've all melted back together like the t1000. I found this big bastard in my knife block.

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb21.jpg

Now set a frying pan on high heat and pour in the onion mix. I think my pan was too small because the water ended up being a little too deep, so watch for that.

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb22.jpg

Now place the patties on top and watch the steam sizzle through. Season with salt+pepper.

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb23.jpg

I let the water evaporate a little before I put the bottoms of the buns on top of the patties. This is supposed to put flavour into them - it made mine a bit soggy, I'm not sure that is meant to happen.

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb24.jpg

After a total of about 4 or 5 minutes the patties will be cooked, use the flippy thing to remove the patty and bun, some onion will come with it.

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb25.jpg

Now you can build the burgers. Cheese is required, so cut down some kraft singles into the right size. White Castle also applies a crinkle cut pickle - which I stupidly didn't have.

I opted to just leave it as a cheese burger and add tomato sauce and mustard sauce

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb26.jpg

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb28.jpg

And my gf had lettuce and tomato on it as well. I would recommend Miracle Whip with a salad one - it tastes a lot more like fast food mayo than mayo does, I've also made Ranch dressing using Miracle Whip which goes well on these - but she did not want. Whatevs.

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb27.jpg

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/ab124/drfail/mb29.jpg

The fat black man was right - these absolutely melt in your mouth and are easier to eat than anything with beef that I've ever had. Would be way more awesome with a softer bun though.

Here is a vid of them making these at White Castle on a big girdle: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=spxy6LbyrGI

I hope this inspires you to give a chance to making your own patty and broiling up a burger.

I do prefer to juice up that onion-water mix with some garlic, spices, tomato paste, wocerstershista, and real stock - you wind up with a very saucy burger that doesn't require more condiments. But it's not what I set out to do here.
You have the same picture four times in a row, and it confuses my simple brain.
A for effort! (and calories...)
Could this be the post that redeems thermite?
exo - I dunno what's going on, I've edited my post 3 times and it won't update.
infi - Well there is no oil used to cook it, so at least theres that bonus.
I don't want to know what you use for the "special" sauce...
Thermite, seems to be fixed now. It looks good but I think my heart is crying.
im starving after seeing them pictures and watching the youtube! time for maccas.
nice one
GarnGit

I'm still looking on that video for them cooking that s*** on a GIRDLE!! Can't find it .
Would be funny though.
"Is that real meat?"
CORSET is!!
Awesome, but whats with the dehydrated onions? Why use them and isn't putting them in water hydrating them?

last edited by greazy at 17:15:30 26/Jul/09
yummy
greazy - I didn't use the dried onions, but white castle is known for pioneering a lot of fast food methods as well as creating a lot of the infrastructure that goes into servicing fast food outlets, I think one of their time saving ideas is to use dried onions thereby saving their in-store employees from teary eyes. I, on the other hand, cried my way through it like a man.

Ah GarnGit, guess I mean griddle, could have sworn the world was girdle lol.

last edited by thermite at 18:13:39 26/Jul/09
you didn't season the mince until it was in the pan?
salt & pepper are a god send and you're not using them ..
Man, the guy in that video is pretty pro with those burgers. Its like watching a dealer at the casino or something.
teq - the stock and baby food in the mince give it a particular flavour, I did add more seasonings (pepper and paprika) when I didn't have the baby food, but I wanted to stick closer to doing it by the book this time, and I didn't see any evidence of anyone seasoning the mince before making the patties. I probably would have prefered pepper in the meat though.
Forget that American s*** mate, you want an Aussie burger, with the lot.

Let's start with the basics, the bread and the meat.

http://www.djdais.com/files/burger/01.jpg

These go well straight from the freezer to the toaster. Makes cutting them in to even halves a lot easier too.

http://www.djdais.com/files/burger/02.jpg

Woolies Economy Selection.

http://www.djdais.com/files/burger/03.jpg

Don't forget the sauce.

http://www.djdais.com/files/burger/04.jpg

You know the rest.

http://www.djdais.com/files/burger/05.jpg
http://www.djdais.com/files/burger/06.jpg

Now I like to use real cheese slices. I can't believe you would put Kraft Singles on a burger. What are you doing mate??!

http://www.djdais.com/files/burger/07t.jpghttp://www.djdais.com/files/burger/08t.jpghttp://www.djdais.com/files/burger/09t.jpghttp://www.djdais.com/files/burger/10t.jpg

Voila

http://www.djdais.com/files/burger/11.jpg

Of course if it is a real burger with the lot it should have the obligatory bacon, beetroot and pineapple. But I don't eat pork, I'm not a big fan of beetroot and I like to keep my fruit from my veges. Even though tomatoes are technically a fruit.

last edited by dais at 20:57:06 26/Jul/09
Yeah that's just a regular hamburger Daly, not even in the same ballpark of delicacy. That's what you get at your mums.
Precisely thermite, I even offered to make her one.
3x0dus
thermite, you can get "bread and butter pickles" that are the exact crinkle cut style, cant remember who makes it, tallish bottle, i stumbled onto them a few months back, very nice on crackers/cottage cheese.

both of those burgers look really good but could do with some spice
lewd
Of course if it is a real burger with the lot it should have the obligatory bacon, beetroot and pineapple. But I don't eat pork, I'm not a big fan of beetroot and I like to keep my fruit from my veges. Even though tomatoes are technically a fruit.

big argument....
for me, i like to put pineapple on anything i can.....
but i know plenty of others that think fruit should be for dessert or some crap like that..
they obviously havent had steak and peaches before which is fantastic imho...
Also I need to clear up the tomato thing, whilst it is considered a fruit by Botanists, it is definitly a veggy in the culinary world.
no, its a fruit everywhere
just because it goes well in a salad doesn't mean its a vegetable

vbcoder
it's only a fruit because it has seeds. no vegetable has seeds
f*** the OP made me LOL pretty hard. s*** like this was hilarious "You're meant to get 16 patties out of this amount, but my maths failed somewhere I wound up with 15. "

Well done sir.

A++ for effort and photojournalism.

Quick query: You fat therm?
it's only a fruit because it has seeds. no vegetable has seeds

wut?

pumpkin?
i think you will find a pumpkin is a fruit..
wtf, stinky posts a chicken stuffed with beef wrapped in bacon rubbed in butter, and I post mince in water, and you think I'm the fat one?
phwoar get outta town
pumpkin is a fruit, who wouldathunkit
I agree with thermite's statement about fruit and veg in culinary terms
I disagree with Jim. Jim is wrong. Bad Jim.
Something about square shaped beef patties really puts me off. Especially when it's on a round bun.

http://www.blogadilla.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/08/baconator.jpg
That's the Baconator though, it's from Burger King Wendy's.

last edited by Triamks at 19:57:41 28/Jul/09
anyone who insists that tomato is a fruit is a pedantic f***** who sticks swizzle sticks in their anus and twirls them around.

wtf, stinky posts a chicken stuffed with beef wrapped in bacon rubbed in butter, and I post mince in water, and you think I'm the fat one?

Hahaha, fair call...
Andreyevich

How much of the beef baby food did you use?
Fruit is the reproductive organ of a plant.
Vegetable is edible plant or part of a plant.
So all Fruit are vegetables.
However for example strawberries aren't the reproductive organ so it's a vegetable, but zucchini is a fruit.
Mushrooms aren't plants and thus aren't vegetables.
I was a teenage hand model
i'm a meat popsicle
andreyevich: all of it in that packet
I will have to give this a shot. Looks tasty++
Andreyevich

sweet, im gonna make this tomorrow. now im starving, just from thinking about it.
you're half right obes. strawberries might technically not be fruit but that doesn't mean they're a vegetable. theyre false fruit.

generally anything that has a seed is a fruit. fruits can be vegetables but vegetables can't be fruit.
Andreyevich

the achenes on the strawberry are the 'fruit' - they're the little seeds. So "strawberry" is inclusive of the fruit (just as "apple" includes the 'fruit' - the seeds, and the flesh as well), although the thing as a whole isnt the fruit.
lewd
so if watermelons a fruit, then whats orange soda if the only vegetable i eat is fried chicken?
Infidel
not burnt enough I think thermite
I don't know what that means, they can't be burnt easily since they are in water.
whitecastle sucks fyi

http://images.projectstripe.com/whitecastle10.jpg
Trauma

And now I'm hungry, u total c***. I hate u Thermite.
Fish and chip shop hamburger with the lot conquers all.

lewd
^ +1

Andreyevich and greazy you miss what fruit is.

It is or comes from the reproductive organ of the plant. Strawberries don't. There for, Not fruit. Are they still an edible part of a plant ? yes! there for vegetable.

Hilariously your example of an apple is another "false fruit".

generally anything that has a seed is a fruit. fruits can be vegetables but vegetables can't be fruit

This a funny statement. Having seeds doesn't make it a fruit. See apples and Strawberries...
And your second statement is really really poor logic.

Fruits can be vegetables, there for vegetables can be fruits
OR
vegetables can't be fruits there for fruits can't be vegetables...
Each half of your statement proves the other half wrong.

I mean I was just being a wanker(/troll) because well science is wrong and cooks are right. But you 2 are funny.