Ideas?
I'm under the impression that these things aren't going to be sold in small quantities, been pretty hard pressed to find any for sale unless they're second hand and they have mostly been used for chemicals found this mob; http://www.schuetzdsl.com/drums/products.phtml waiting to see if they'll sell me individual drums but 8 ball says unlikely I need them to be chemical free because I intend to use them for drinking water chasing anything from 80L - 200L or so edit: awesome-o, the schuetzdsl mob referred me to this mob -> http://contapack.com.au/index_files/Page404.htm ! |
| #0 10:58am 22/07/09 |
Mantorok
Search for food grade barrels. Also, you're more likely to find 55gallon/220L.
| #1 11:15pm 21/07/09 |
| #2 11:19pm 21/07/09 |
awesome cheers
also found a reference to butchers and a like, might go try a few on the weekend to see if they have any old food grade barrels they'll sell cheap |
| #3 11:25pm 21/07/09 |
Silly question but why not just get a water tank or something? If it's for camping & the like would a camping shop sell anything? I've got this big plastic cube thing meant for holding water, not sure how much it holds or where you'd get them because someone gave me it for my birthday one year and I'm pretty sure it's meant for camping/road trips/whatever.
| #4 11:52pm 21/07/09 |
25L water tank @ BCF = $30
I have two of these and they're fine for short trips (3-4 days) but on longer trips I want to be able to take my camp shower (coleman HWOD) and basically fill the drum up once for the entire week or however long I'm going for 200L~ will last a full week and its easy enough to take it up on top of the ute empty, fill it when you get there and just forget about it |
| #5 12:40am 22/07/09 |
vbcoder
if you can fill up with drinking water "when you get there", just use what you have and fill it up when it runs out.
you'll need the massive drum when you can't fill up "when you get there" beacuse the water quality is sheit |
| #6 07:18am 22/07/09 |
"when i get there" meaning I can unpack everything in the ute, put the drum in the back and drive to where ever it is that i can find fresh water (it might be a creek or a bore etc), it could be 30k's away depending where i'm camping
either way, if i fill it up before i leave for camping its 1 extra kilogram per 1 litre of water that i lug up, much easier to fill it when you get there and save fuel/weight putting one of the empty drums on top of my camping gear is an extra 5kg |
| #7 10:12am 22/07/09 |
sounds like you go on awesome camping adventures
| #8 11:11am 22/07/09 |
vbcoder
where do you go?
| #9 03:43pm 22/07/09 |
Something just occured to me - how the heck are you going to lift/move 100ltr drum of water??
I think I'd stick with the 25ltr ones max! |
| #10 03:49pm 22/07/09 |
Coochie
tequila are you one of those terrible bogans you see at every campsite with the "ultimate camping setup" who inevitably gets in a drunken argument with his wife and swears at her calling her a "f***ing bitch" in front of the kids whilst drinking Jim Beam cans, wearing a singlet and sporting a mullet - all next to a 12 year old Ford Falcon whilst smoking over the baby?
last edited by Coochie at 16:18:29 22/Jul/09 |
| #11 04:18pm 22/07/09 |
tequila are you one of those...are you? you must frequent a lot of s*** campsites if that's a concern for you :) re: a drum of water that big - I get the feeling you'll find it more of a pain in the ass than using several smaller containers. I use 8 or so 25 litre containers plus as many of those boxed-bladder type spring waters as I feel like carrying when I do trips where I need to take a hefty supply of water. But we're really sparing with our water once we get into a remote area, no fancy hot water shower for us - if something goes wrong we might need that water to live. It doesn't mean you can't maintain a reasonable level of cleanliness either. Tell your missus to htfu imo :) baby or no baby |
| #12 04:44pm 22/07/09 |
haha I dont drink coochie, so no
I'm the guy that rocks up and has remembered everything so when someone gets out and goes 'oh s***, i forgot a chair!' i say 'no worries, i've got a spare' and on the weight note, yeah I know 200kg is going to be quite hefty but i was thinking i'd back the ute up under a tree, tie it to the tree, drop tail gate and drive forward or if i'm on the beach I'll likely be using a spear pump anyway so i can just take it out empty and throw the pump into the sand, let it fill the tank that link from my first post sells 120L drums and I'm thinking I'll get a few of those rather than the 44 Gallon ones simply because they've got removable lids and the 44 gallon only have 2 x 2" bungs vbcoder; anywhere along the east coast, I've done lots of beach camping from port stephens - straddie - moreton - di etc, now i want to start doing more remote western trips and I've got an epic trip lined up for mid 2011 to the cape cant wait for that one, lots of stuff to get done on the ute before i tackle that but Jim; thats like $200+ worth of containers, 1 x 120L = $65! http://contapack.com.au/index_files/Page404.htm |
| #13 07:29pm 22/07/09 |
yeh but all of them to break/leak before I lose all my water. if you put all your water in one container and it has a leak or breaks, you lose all your water. especially containers not designed specifically to do 4wd trips around australia.
don't picture your water containers sitting all still and nice like they do when you're packing your car at your house - picture them bouncing and vibrating and chafing as you go over bumps and corrugations, or even getting bounced right out of your tray or falling out if you stack or tip over. you need to have a water supply if the unexpected happens. I also have 5 or 6 of of the flat-pack ones which I fill if we enter an area with drinking water, then use those first. when they're empty squash them flat and stow them |
| #14 07:59pm 22/07/09 |
yep good call, I was actually really only going to use the big ones for showers as the 2 x 25L tanks I've already got are more than adequate for drinking water
but the plastic food grade drums should really be stronger than anything you'd pickup at a camping supply store - surely because they'd ship them all around Australia full of food/etc? i'm going to grab 2 x 120L drums with the removable lids i'd say, I've got one of those 20l collapsible things that came with the camp shower too so thats 310L in 5 containers (2x25L, 1x20L, 2x120L), should do me fine even for long trips |
| #15 08:29pm 22/07/09 |
yeh no idea on the strength of those ones you linked, never had any experience with them. just have to suss them out I guess. and yeh some of the ones at camping stores are s***, but others are very good. you can usually tell when you handle them a bit, the opacity and density of the plastic, thickness of it around the areas where your tie-down straps will go etc
| #16 08:35pm 22/07/09 |
How long does it take water to go stale, or stagnate, or whatever it is?
| #17 09:51pm 22/07/09 |
depends how you store it, but it wont happen in normal camping circumstances
pro tips are just leave it out of direct sunlight, store in a cool dark place etc I guess I will see how these plastic drums go on the next trip |
| #18 09:55pm 22/07/09 |
Depends if you contaminate too. If you introduce bacteria (e.g., drink from drink bottle and saliva goes in) maybe 2 months if you're lucky. I wouldn't drink it after more than 2 weeks though. |
| #19 09:57pm 22/07/09 |
Coochie
are you? you must frequent a lot of s*** campsites if that's a concern for you :)Nope I can't be...don't have a wife or kids. I can't believe nobody knows the type I'm talking about. At plenty of nice campsites too...camp sites are what these people save up for and dream about all year...so they know all the good ones. I think they learn about them through their subscriptions to offroad trucking magazines. I'm beginning to think maybe you are one though Jim. Quick question: When you hit your wife do you use an open or a closed hand? |
| #20 09:02am 23/07/09 |
the people you're seemingly infatuated with don't go to nice campsites
if you're seeing them, you're doing it wrong |
| #21 09:16am 23/07/09 |
i don't know about those people you're talking about coochie
but i think the people in this thread are beginning to think you're a d******* |
| #22 09:18am 23/07/09 |
Coochie
but i think the people in this thread are beginning to think you're a d*******meh...I can live with that. |
| #23 09:41am 23/07/09 |
anyone who has to save up all year to go to a campsite sure as s*** isn't camping where I'm camping
if you have to pay more than $10 per night you're probably doing it wrong |
| #24 11:55am 23/07/09 |
Coochie
tequila: dunno maybe I've just been unlucky and encountered more bogan campers than others. I've seen them enough times to think that they must be a common fixture at campsites.
They are especially frequent at popular areas like Fraser and Moreton. And man do they disgust me. |
| #25 12:33pm 23/07/09 |
I bet they do
| #26 12:39pm 23/07/09 |
you're still an idiot for assuming I'm one of them based purely upon the facts in this thread
the obvious give away should have been the shower, how can I be that much of a bogan if I shower while camping |
| #27 12:46pm 23/07/09 |
Coochie
tequila: I think if you look at my original post you'll realise I was asking a question..."are you one of those bogans"...not suggesting you are one.
Ha I've clearly touched a sore spot here...my bet is everyone who has been offended by my comments is what I'd consider a bogan. In which case...flame me to hell...your opinion of me doesn't bother me too much. |
| #28 02:27pm 23/07/09 |
you keep telling yourself that
| #29 02:28pm 23/07/09 |
A rhetorical question is a figure of speech in the form of a question posed for its persuasive effect without the expectation of a reply even if it was a legit question, it was a stupid thing to ask
| #30 03:49pm 23/07/09 |
Coochie
A rhetorical question is a figure of speech in the form of a question posed for its persuasive effect without the expectation of a replyNo I expected a reply. last edited by Coochie at 16:18:29 22/Jul/09I replaced a comma with "and"...or something like that....and you realise that was 4.18pm yesterday right? <-non rhetorical question. even if it was a legit question, it was a stupid thing to askSorry I'm probably not intelligent enough to be posting on this Internet gaming forum full of 4x4 fanatics. you keep telling yourself thatHo snap! At least tequila is putting some effort into his insults. I think we're now just wasting time...I think you're both dirty bogans and if either of you dated my daughter I'd shoot her...and you both think I'm an idiot. Feel free to get one last comment in each...I cannot keep up this amazing battle of wit. Actually I just have work to do. Bye. Oh and just so there's no confusion...I wasn't having a go at your water drum idea...I go camping myself and often seek advice on similar matters. Was more just having a go at bogans. Sorry to derail your thread though...I hope you got the advice you were after. Seriously. |
| #31 04:29pm 23/07/09 |
i didnt think people who go camping were bogans so much as poor
i cant think why else people would sleep outside when hotels and even motels are so prevalent in this great country of ours |
| #32 04:33pm 23/07/09 |
you sure are a f***head coochie
| #33 04:36pm 23/07/09 |
Spook: to take drugs.
But seriously it's recreational, like hiking. Walking is s***, and sleeping outside is s***, but hiking and camping is healthy and a unique experience - it's all in the marketing of it... Also camping for a week in the middle of nowhere with no coca-cola and twisties can give you some real perspective - especially if you brought the aforementioned drugs. As a teenager, I always imagined I'd do a lot of sex camping with fit hiking chicks in the future, and sweaty camp-fire cave f***ing, but that never happened. last edited by thermite at 16:41:29 23/Jul/09 last edited by thermite at 16:42:32 23/Jul/09 |
| #34 04:42pm 23/07/09 |
my parents forced me to go camping heaps when i was young
has scarred me for life |
| #35 04:44pm 23/07/09 |
Coochie
But seriously it's recreational, like hiking. Walking is s***, and sleeping outside is s***, but hiking and camping is healthy and a unique experience - it's all in the marketing of it...Ha I hate you a whole lot less all of a sudden...may even go as far as to say I'd let you sweaty camp-fire cave f*** my daughter...if I had one. Still hate you though Jim. s***...supposed to have quit this thread already. |
| #36 04:47pm 23/07/09 |
my parents forced me to go camping heaps when i was young mine too but I'm grateful for it cos I got to see beautiful parts of the country and still feel compelled to continue seeing them as an adult |
| #37 04:47pm 23/07/09 |
indeed, I love getting out and doing something different
all of my family used to race motorbikes or at least ride regularly (except mum) so we'd piss off for the week with our bikes and the boat, go camping at a dam or a lake and have a great time taught me a lot too, you grow up a bit quicker when you're given that kind of freedom you know you have to look after yourself a bit when its just you on a motorbike and you're in the middle of the bush these days i work so much there's nothing i love more than getting away from the mobile/internet/tv, gf loves it too because its relaxing with our first bub on the way I'm not sure how thats going to impact upon my camping adventures but I've got my next moreton trip lined up for october and she has volunteered to stay at home with the baby for this one :D |
| #38 05:06pm 23/07/09 |
| #38 |