rrrocket
I've got a small slab of concrete.
Can I just wack down a timber frame and screw some tin to it? How do I attach the timber to the concrete? |
| #0 04:26pm 29/03/09 |
Dynabolts are your friend
| #1 04:36pm 29/03/09 |
| #2 04:44pm 29/03/09 |
ItsMe
It all depends on the size of the shed, look at the Building Regulations on the BCC website to see if you need a permit/building approval.
The easiest way to attach the frame to the concrete would be to dyna bolt it. This will depend on the thickness of the concrete also check if it has reinforcing in it (if you can). The thickness has to be that greater then the length of the dyna bolt going into. Refer to this site for some Specifications on Dyna Bolts. Alternatively if the concrete is too weak or thin you'll need to dig a hole where the frame is to be secured and either concrete in a stirrup (both of which you can buy from bunnigns) or get threaded bar and weld it to some steel frame work and concrete it into the ground. Then just bolt the wood down. |
| #3 04:48pm 29/03/09 |
Storm
If you never (EVER) want to move the shed, you could use a polyurethane construction adhesive (Liquid Nails Platinum, for example) to glue the shed to the slab.
| #4 04:51pm 29/03/09 |
| #5 04:56pm 29/03/09 |
Monaro
If you have access to some tools then dyna bolt it would be the cheapest way, If u can get a ramset gun, then just shot the frame straight onto the slab with concrete nails, heaps faster. You will need a hammer drill to drill into concrete for the dyna bolts. Hope that helps.
last edited by Monaro at 17:18:47 29/Mar/09 |
| #6 06:18pm 29/03/09 |
Your base frame that touches the concrete should be can treated for termites and the rest of the framing can be s cheap structural. I would also use flashing around the bottom of the framing to stop termites as well.
| #7 06:46pm 29/03/09 |
Monaro
Yea, good point, you want bribie island ant capping around the bottom before u put the frame down. You can glue that down with termite silicone.
Depends how good u want this shed really, weather you want to treat it for termites. |
| #8 06:59pm 29/03/09 |
a wooden shed
what are you, 70? Just get a pre-made victa or whatever garden shed. |
| #9 07:05pm 29/03/09 |
If you're that unsure about it, the best advice I could give would be to get a mate who does know what they're doing to help you. It'll only cost you a slab, and could save you a lot of trouble.
| #10 07:07pm 29/03/09 |
just use plugs , and screw em down.. thats what we do on out job sites.. looks neat and will hold.
if you get those sheds from bunnings, just becareful cos they're a c*** of a thing to put up! |
| #11 07:15pm 29/03/09 |
Yeah, I think a pre-made shed is a bit easier. Unless you really wanted to try and save money I guess...
| #12 07:15pm 29/03/09 |
built one the other week, $400 from bunnings took a day to put/screw together
| #13 07:40pm 29/03/09 |
rrrocket
thanks for you're advice people
I've already got a slab there. I can get the same timeber they use to build frames for houses, that's treated right? Will I still need termite stuff on bottom? So I just use hammer drill and dyna bolts on those timber bits on slab? I can just make up a frame and wack some tin on the outside once I make a sturdy frame yeah... with the bunnings shed, how does it attach to the slab? |
| #14 10:03pm 29/03/09 |
dynabolts
| #15 10:12pm 29/03/09 |
Who else thinks this will turn out like Homa's dog house?
| #16 10:24pm 29/03/09 |
There'll be a six pack of beer in it by the end?
| #17 02:37am 30/03/09 |
How do I attach the timber to the concrete? Use one of these bad boys: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MD-yAjSPgwU They're basically a nail gun that uses explosives to drive the nail into the cement via a piston. Yes they ARE as cool as they sound. |
| #18 03:27am 30/03/09 |
trillion
You probably don't need a powder actuated system for a f***ing gargen shed lol.
You could do the job with Chemset or just some Dynabolts but you'd have to hammer drill to prep it. edit: although you might need one for supressing gargens that will eventually make it their territory during mating season and not let you in it to grab the mower. If you want to do something a little different than the house of cards tin sheet garden shed every punter gets from Bunnings, try one of these http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehouse/details?mid=15a76c3ae6207464c31b7e74adad9ca2&prevstart=0 last edited by trillion at 13:37:54 30/Mar/09 last edited by trillion at 13:39:37 30/Mar/09 |
| #19 02:39pm 30/03/09 |
You probably don't need a powder actuated system for a f***ing gargen shed lol. No worries, Mr Take-the-fun-out-of-everything. Will I still need termite stuff on bottom? Just build a steel kit shed from hardware store. |
| #20 02:37pm 30/03/09 |
in brisbane, make as much as you can out of brick and steel. Wood is sooooo last century.
About the only thing on my property that is made out of wood is the fence, and it's being eaten alive by those nasty little so-and-so's, the termites. last edited by MrHardware at 13:51:17 30/Mar/09 |
| #21 02:51pm 30/03/09 |
If you're that unsure about it, the best advice I could give would be to get a mate who does know what they're doing to help you. It'll only cost you a slab, and could save you a lot of trouble. I've already got a slab there. Lol, I think he meant a slab of beer. |
| #22 03:16pm 30/03/09 |
Monaro
You will have to ask for treated timber, not all studs are treated. Just use 70x35
| #23 05:15pm 30/03/09 |
Pics during construction plz. |
| #24 05:55pm 30/03/09 |
You probably don't need a powder actuated system for a f***ing gargen shed lol. Hey if you have access to one for free then you sure as hell need to use it for every damn thing you can possibly think of. |
| #25 07:10pm 30/03/09 |
we use ramset products at work all the time.. ITS THE f***ING s***T! that chemset stuff is really expensive.. but works wonders.
| #26 07:33pm 30/03/09 |
Use depleted uranium.
| #27 08:06pm 30/03/09 |
m3nt4l
Did you build your friggin shed yet?
Ive been checking every day waiting for pics to see how you went, and no update thats just rude |
| #28 02:23pm 09/05/09 |
wow, checking every day?
thats mental |
| #29 02:29pm 09/05/09 |
Holy f***ing thread revival!
| #30 03:03pm 09/05/09 |
HerbalLizard
Damp course under the timber then fix it down with chemset and dynabolts
| #31 03:18pm 09/05/09 |
how did you ever work out how to wipe your own ass rrrretard?
| #32 03:21pm 09/05/09 |
m3nt4l
I'm about to build a shed myself, and was curious as to how his shed had turned out.
I've got the slab down last edited by m3nt4l at 19:03:30 09/May/09 |
| #33 07:03pm 09/05/09 |
he's his /gramma nazi out |
| #34 06:32pm 09/05/09 |
hah built a shed few weeks ago, dynabolts ftw.
| #35 07:00pm 09/05/09 |
m3nt4l
I was thinking about making a cubby house with slide etc
like one of these: bunnings play equipment making it slightly taller than usual and adding a little storage section underneath I have an outside cupboard which has room for all of my tools, so I just need a little more space to store the lawnmower, whipper snipper and odds and ends. Kevin's love money will be well spent |
| #36 07:07pm 09/05/09 |
Waiting for an update. |
| #37 07:45pm 09/05/09 |
m3nt4l
update: spent an hour prepping the slab and digging a flower bed which will be next to the cubby/storage area.
planted a few seeds my plan is to find a curved slide which will go over the garden bed and into a sandpit which is next to the flower bed I'm buying wood and trying to find the slide tomorrow so I'll update again then |
| #38 07:49pm 09/05/09 |
| #39 10:09pm 09/05/09 |
^iswydt
ps annie lennox is the best |
| #40 10:42pm 09/05/09 |
Annie Lennox may be but that song certainly isn't. Sweet jesus, Jason Donovan as well.
| #41 08:40am 10/05/09 |
rrrocket, pics when ya done m8!!!
| #42 08:49am 10/05/09 |
Mephz
I'd affix the structure down with those Steel U-Bolt type things.. (not sure what they are called).
Timber sits in between it, bolt the timber through that and then you have zero timber to concrete/ground contact. You could ant cap it if you wanted to, and then to remove the gap at the bottom, just construct your tin/whatever walls you go with to go all the way to the bottom and across etc. etc. Pretty sure most carports/decks etc. use these to keep the support structure off the ground. Whatever you do I'd build something that you can get natural light etc. into - Dark rarely ventured places will lead to alot of crawly things which just makes sheds s***. last edited by Mephz at 11:05:01 10/May/09 |
| #43 11:05am 10/05/09 |
masonry drill/screws, treated wood, 400 aluminium shed from bunnings
end thread edit; infact you could even just screw the shed to the slab last edited by d[o_0]b at 12:19:22 10/May/09 |
| #44 12:19pm 10/05/09 |
m3nt4l
I was just planning to do the following but with the walls going down to the ground and a couple of swing doors at the front, simple and easy
http://www.comparestoreprices.co.uk/images/unbranded/t/unbranded-tulip-tower-with-slide--5ft-x-7ft-.jpg |
| #45 12:19pm 10/05/09 |
| #45 |