Topic: Hot Food and sauces.
eightyeight
Well last week I went to battle the worlds hottest burger with a mate at the Off The Wall Diner. Now I am no pussy to hot food, normally getting one hot meal a week from my local Indian restaurant, but this burger was just un-bearable. I got about half way though and it just roasted my internals (and my ass hole) . Imagine letting car battery acid soak in your mouth - thats the kind of heat we are talking. I have video of the battle but yeah im not sure if you guys want to see it, let me know.

Anyway ever since I have had the burger I have been craving hot foods for every meal. I know a few of you guys are pretty good in the kitchen but Im after some good recipes, maybe something with steak.. Lately I have been snaking on Mi Goreng noodles with extra hot chili sauce in it plus the stuff it comes with.

Hook me up with mad hot food ideas bitches.
eightyeight
oh and i thought i would link this here as its kinda relevant;
Hottest Sauces and Peppers
I hear the hottest blue smoke buffalo wings are pretty hot... american BBQ place at new farm.
ive got some megadeath sauce

i just chuck that on food when i went something hot

also, my local indian joint does pretty hot food as well (kumas cafe coopers plains)
go to an asian grocery and get sriracha. best hot sauce in the world

http://www.huyfong.com/images/sriracha.jpg

can get it from cannon hill asian grocer for like $7 for a big bottle.
prawns with lime and chilli

prawns, lime, chilli, sugar, salt, pepper, red onion, white wine, sriracha sauce, coriander. (interchangable with chicken)

could live on that or just chicken sandwidges with sriracha on it. yummmm
I hear the hottest blue smoke buffalo wings are pretty hot... american BBQ place at new farm.

I've had them a few times, definately very hot. I almost s*** myself driving to work the next morning had to do an emergency stop at Maccas to take care of some business.
HAHA stinky
I like a good curry or Laksa. They aren't too hot on the first few bites but they gradually build until your eyes are watering and your nose is running.

What Scoobs said sounds good, chillies, coriander and lime are just made to go together.
i can't handle hot food, i don't mind abit of flavour tho.. altho my 9year old brother can handle hot food quite well, especially hot curry.. little s***.
What's wrong with you people? Hot food is like torture.. bah... like a scary movie.. why would you want to do that to yourself?
isnt tabasco sauce hot enough?

Pussy.
The more hot food you eat, the more hot food you will crave.

Let your taste buds get over being arse raped and you will eventually be able to taste again without the need for over compensating.
Your world hottest burger effort was softcock 88.

Also Mi Gorengs are deadly :)

I LOL @ every carnt around you stealing your yogurt.

last edited by CHUB at 10:08:51 27/Feb/09
Your mum likes my hot sauce.
treeoflife
Love Blue Smoke but their hottest wings are deadly. It's all about breathing right. Blogged it awhile back. Yes yes I know... Blue Smoke BBQ

As for Off The Wall Diner, I haven't had a chance to go back there to give it a go but last time was a disaster. Though I did find the sauce they use in the burgers at Melbourne's Queen Victoria Markets just last week. I haven't opened it yet but am waiting for an appropriate occasion. :P
I like my hot chilli stuff.
The key to eating very hot stuff is to build up to it.
You build up resistance to the spice.
Eat lots of Chillis in the week leading up to having the Hot food.
Order Bacon and Cheese on your Hot burger, the fat breaks it down.

I had a friend who told me he loved chilli food and liked it hot.
I made a Sausages tomato onion and rice meal with chilli/curry and when i tasted it i was a bit disappointed that it wasnt very hot.
He had 2 spoonfuls and was in tears and didnt eat the rest of it.

He never mentioned Chillis again in my presence.
Wednesday is half-price wings night and this is what 110 chicken wings (27.5 chickens) looks like.

So American chickens have 4 wings?
The white guy who manages blue smoke is a typical rude prick american. I ditched them and now create wings 10x better.
is that the video of 88, chub ?
eightyeight
unfortunately, yes. we didnt know the bogans in the background on the left. theres 3 parts to that video.
Kimbo

What I keep in my fridge.

http://img26.imageshack.us/img26/9366/pic0027j.jpg
http://img26.imageshack.us/img26/pic0027j.jpg/1/w1600.png

Sudden Death is very bitter and tastes like bitter jalapeno pepper (harder taste to get used to). Mega Death is meant to be the hottest at 550,000 Scoville. Possible Side Effects is 220,000. My advice if your bravel go for Possible Side Effects then Mega Death. That's what I did.

Possible Side Effects is good for soup, Mega Death is a MUST for Pasta and possibly Pizza. The new beyond death sauce is more just plain hot. But by the time you cook it in it won't really taste that much especially if your frying stuff up.

I am still trying to find a use in cooking for Sudden Death Sauce.

If you want to start on the hot side of things there is a nice hot chilli sauce called Nazir's Fiery Chilli Sauce that you can usually get from Coles. As for Mega Death Sauce.

http://www.deathsauce.com.au/products.html - order it online.

Got Sauce? (Joke) Sure. http://www.chez-williams.com/Hot%20Sauce/hothome.htm

I really do want more Hot Sauces in Australia. So I can expand my cooking options.

List of outlets in Melbourne that sell Blairs:

VICTORIA
IGA
Supa IGA licensed Supermarket, 26 Errol St. North Melbourne. VIC. Open 7 days a week. Available in the LIQUOR SECTION.

ASCOT PASTA + DELI CAFE
191 Union Rd. Ascot Vale. VIC. 3032. Tel: 9372 7163

THE MELBOURNE FOOD INGREDIENT DEPOT
508 Lygon St. East Brunswick. VIC. 3057 Tel: 03 9386 3206
Shop open Thursday & Friday 10.00 AM to 6.00 PM.
On Monday - Wednesday call 9386 3206 to arrange purchase.

MISTY'S 1950's DINER
103-105 High St. Prahran. VIC. 3181. Tel: 03 9510 1959 www.mistysdiner.com.au

USA FOODS - The All American Grocery Store
146 Cochranes Rd. Moorabbin. VIC. 3189 Tel: 03 9555 0288 www.usafoods.com.au

MEXICALI ROSE
103 Swan St. Richmond. VIC. 3121. Tel: 9429 5550

MEXICALI CANTINA
21 Glass St. Essendon. VIC. 3040. Tel: 9379 6287

MEXICALI CASA
82 Main Rd. Lower Plenty. VIC. 3093. Tel: 9434 5858

TACO BILL MEXICAN RESTAURANT
375 Clarendon St. South Melbourne. VIC. 3205. Tel: 9690 2077

NOT JUST MEXICAN
245 Wyndham St. Shepparton. VIC. 3630. Tel: 0427 285 222

CAFE RIMBA
70 Springthorpe Blvd. Macleod. VIC. 3085. Tel: 9458 1851

PETRARCA CELLARS
540 Barkly St. West Footscray. VIC. 3012. Tel: 03 9687 2479 (Frank)

VESPER VISION MOTORCYCLES
Shop , 104 Shannon Ave. Geelong West. VIC. 3218. Tel: 03 5222 6930

C&C VENDING SERVICES
Cliff Cleary. Monbulk VIC. 3793. Tel: 0410 608493

MITCHAM QUALITY MEATS
Shop 5, Enterprise Way. Mitcham. VIC. 3132. Tel: 03 9872 6358

DISCOUNT MEAT OUTLET
Shop 6, 1335 Ferntree Gully Road. Scoresby. VIC. 3179. Tel: 03 9764 9964

AL’S ASIAN/FILIPINO GROCERIES
Shop 4, Lakeside Blvd. Pakenham. VIC. 3810. Tel: 03 5941 9788

and Queensland:

QUEENSLAND

OFF THE WALL DINER
Shop 4, 386 Main Rd. Wellington Point. QLD. 4160.
Tel: 07 3207 3209.

KIMLINS CAMPING WORLD
78 McDowall St, Roma. QLD. 4455.
Tel: 07 4622 1327.

NORTH QUEENSLAND

BARBEQUES GALORE - CAIRNS
109 Anderson St. Cairns. QLD. 4870.
Tel: 07 4032 3500.

SUNVALE MEATS
Shop 4/161 Hugh St. Currajong. Townsville. QLD. 4812.
Tel: 07 4775 3750.

THE NUT HOUSE
Cotters Market, Flinders Mall. Sundays 8.30 am - 1 pm,
The Strand Night Market, Strand Park (seafront) 1st Friday of month (May - Dec).
Townsville. QLD. 4810. For internet sales visit: http://www.thenuthouse.com.au

Oh and finally Tabasco is for the likes of people who can't take their food with real spice.

The more hot food you eat, the more hot food you will crave.

+1

The word on the street is that Chilli contains a lot of Vitamin A which is addictive.

The other word on the street is that if you are on Isotretonoin (aka the brand-name Roaccutane) then you shouldn't eat hot food, and avoid Vitamin A altogether because Isotretonoin is a very similar molecule and you can overdo it (and Vitamin A) with health consequences.

At least that's what my skin doctor told me when I had bard-arse acne.
treeoflife
So American chickens have 4 wings?
You can get 4 buffalo wing pieces from one chicken. An actual wing is split into two pieces. Easier to eat I guess.
Yeah i crave chilli.

Always wondered why they dont do a Chilli Coke/Pepsi.

I see Lindt Chocolate do a Dark Chocolate with Chilli.
Anyone tried it ?

treeoflife
Sudden Death is very bitter and Tastes like Jalapeno. Mega Death is meant to be the hottest at 550,000 Scoville. Possible Side Effects is 220,000.

Possible Side Effects is good for soup, Mega Death is a MUST for Pasta. The new beyond death sauce is more just plain hot.

If you want to start on the hot side of things there is a nice hot chilli sauce called Nazir's Fiery Chilli Sauce that you can usually get from Coles. As for Mega Death Sauce.

I really do want more Hot Sauces in Australia. So I can expand my cooking options.

Have you had Ultra Death before? I'm wondering if it's even worth it or whether it's just too hot to add to anything.
Kimbo

Sudden Death is very bitter and Tastes like Jalapeno. Mega Death is meant to be the hottest at 550,000 Scoville. Possible Side Effects is 220,000.

Possible Side Effects is good for soup, Mega Death is a MUST for Pasta. The new beyond death sauce is more just plain hot.

Have you had Ultra Death before? I'm wondering if it's even worth it or whether it's just too hot to add to anything.

Maybe in Winter this year I will order the entire box from the website we shall see.
treeoflife
The white guy who manages blue smoke is a typical rude prick american. I ditched them and now create wings 10x better.

I've had others say that too but I've never experienced it myself. I've been there many times too. Never quite understood that. Odd. Lots of off days perhaps but yeah, it's not an excuse.
heh chilli in the right context is great, chilli in chocolate is not the right setting.

Good thing he is a canadian then isnt it!

He is nothing but nice to me, I joke with him a lot, and steve the owner is also a champion
treeoflife
heh chilli in the right context is great, chilli in chocolate is not the right setting.

There's a chocolate shop in Block Arcade, Melbourne CBD, where they had a leader board for chilli hot chocolate, ranked by intensity. When I went in about a year ago it was a pretty small list but I hear it has now become a battleground for customers. Back then I was top at 30. Now I hear it's something ridiculous like 300 or 500. It was already terrible tasting at 30. I can only imagine how gross 300 would be...
I hate chilli in any confectionary. I've had chilli in Tim Tams and Skittles, and they were both s***.
Chilli skittles, I had them, worst idea ever.

The whole special packet is dodge with all stupid flavours.
god i use to love goin to the bathroom at a pub, coming back to find a shot there waiting for me. have it and then everyones faces start to light up as u feel the tabasco burning on the way down with the chartreous and absinth :( hahaha

its only happened once to me, but it was a horrible once.
that lindt chilli chocolate isnt 2 bad, its nohttp://kuszpa.files.wordpress.com/2008/04/20080325-lindt-orange.jpg tho.
thailand ask em for the hottest curry. Sweating like a chinese laundry worker.
Corrupt
All of you sound like chub in this thread.
Coat your mouth with wax , well it worked for Homer in the Chilli cook off.
yeah totally badass bunch of parachuting dudes.