Topic: School me on lightbulbs

Is there any such thing as a s*** quality lightbulb in this day and age?

I've gone through 2 of those 75c old-timey 2 prong coles brand ones in the space of 2 months.

The first one lasted 2 months

The second one lasted 15 minutes

Do i have some kind of weird electrical problems in my 1970's unit?

Am i not putting them in straight?

Does anyone have some network cable?

Answers much appreciated QGL!!!

How many maxes does it take to change a lightbulb?
it's pretty much luck of the draw because they are all made out of the same chinese factory. sorry.
Lunch
2 prong ones = Bayonet Caps
Screws = Edison Screws.

Yes you can get different quality light bulbs, mainly to do with the filament, although you can get those expensive long life green bulbs which are a lot more expensive but more economical, better for the environment and last longer.

That was my life work in a nutshell.
I had an outlet like that in an old apartment. One day it started arcing like a mofo as soon as I turned it on after putting a new bulb in (looked something like plane letting off countermeasures in several directions). Then my roommate turned it on a couple of days later, apparently it made the loudest noise he'd ever heard and blew out the fuse. Good times. Having said that I'm pretty sure some cheap bulbs are dodgy too.
Just buy compact fluorescents, and save the planet.

(They are actually pretty cheap anyway.)

Mains voltage spikes will shorten the lamp life.

Compact fluoro is not worth it in any run (even the long one) so do not bother, the colour quality is not as good as even the poorest quality incandescent, and generally takes a minute to come up to full brilliance. All this s*** about energy efficiency is crap. 10% of the average house holds power consumption comes from lighting. So trying to go "green" for 10% of 1 house is lol.

Stick to Osram, GE or Philips brand lamps. Osram has a neat long life incandescent which is rated to 2000 hours. They have also released a lamp which looks the same as the incandescent and houses a 240v halogen lamp which is rated at 3000 hours.

/nerd

last edited by casa at 21:51:00 25/Sep/08
why yes i do have a lot of network cable
Fluorescent ftw!
for teh watts
Get some CF's - they are awesome.
do fluoros of any kind work with dimmers?

if not will those who have dimmers be SOL when incandescent bulbs go off the market?
no.
And incandescent globes will never die off.
buy the fluro's and save the planet you tight-arse
fluros you'd have to change the socket tho right? f*** that, i'm just renting this place.

Mains voltage spikes will shorten the lamp life.

all the lights on one side of the place went out the other day, light control thing on the switchboard had flipped off. That kinda sounds like the problem light?

f*** electricity
fluros you'd have to change the socket tho right? f*** that, i'm just renting this place.

no.

ps, can anyone recommend some tap washers?
look around and get colour balanced fluros they're the ones marked "warm white" or "daylight" etc.. they don't have that sickly colour that regular fluros have, get lightbulbs that make chicks look good

just be sure to take the fluros with you when you move and put back 50c lightbulbs

last edited by thermite at 23:44:59 25/Sep/08
Contact your real estate agent, Maxe. The landlord is required by law to fix such a problem, as it is unsafe and it could cause the house to be deemed 'unlivable'. If they don't fix it, you could break the lease without incurring any financial costs.
ps, can anyone recommend some tap washers?

You'd be much better off getting Ceramic disc innard taps.. Much more hardy and longer lasting then their rubber equivalents :p

I would be interested in some high quality bin liner bags if anyone knows of some good brands..
get Glad brand bin liners, a few other ones arent as thick and tear like ya mum's bum as soon as you put anything in em

on another note, can anyone recommend some top shelf ironing board covers
what the f*** would you know casa
qgl is now my no1 source on lightbulb knowledge

i personally like the big old glass bulbs, much better for smoking my crack/ice out of
Casa is full of s***... 10% of his power bill might be light and the other 90% is 10% microwave to reheat his takeaways and 80% for recharging long life batteries for vibrating butt plugs. Its how he keeps ass tight.
get Glad brand bin liners
+1. esp vanilla scented ones.
no.
And incandescent globes will never die off.

Um... yes.

1) There are CCFL's that support dimmers. They are a little more expensive, but worthwhile if you want to be able to dim.

2) You can still use a CCFL in a dimable light switch, you just can't dim it.
much better for smoking my crack/ice out of

haha, nice.

Fluorescent Tube
http://www.global-b2b-network.com/direct/dbimage/10385499/T5_High_Efficient_Fluorescent_Tube.jpg

Compact Fluorescent Lamp:
http://urbngreen.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/06/cfl_all2.jpg

They fit into standard light fittings and basically coil up the fluro tube into a smaller bulb-sized package.
good one maxe
my house has ancient 1950's wiring & for some reason incandescent bulbs blow really quickly... i guess there is a fair bit of high resistance about the place & it's overheating the filiments in the incandescent bulbs. compact fluro bulbs don't seem to suffer the problem though... i've had a 7w one as my front door light that stays on 24/7 for years now!

so yer like.. save the earth maenz! from... errrr... the lack of compact fluro lighting or something. a definite danger to our mighty 5.972e24 kg ball of iron, nickel & silica. :D
Furgle
Anyone know where to get lower priced LED replacements for halogens? Every place I've seen has them at $99+ per bulb which seems ludicrous.
I like to have steaming hot showers and I fear that this increases the mold growth rate. What is the best method/product for bathroom and shower cleaning.

I would like to own one of those ultra-high-pressure industrial hoses so I could clean the Tim Allen Home Improvement way. AWW AWW AWWW AWWW.
why led?

the light from them is terrible
Furgle
because my house has like 40 of those halogens in it and i want to be all environmental n s***.

Saving the world is expensive.
the light from them is terrible

Depends how many in the array and what spectrum they are.
They are moderately efficient (ie. don't produce lots of heat), have a long life span. Good(easy) for DC/solar applications. Moderately focused which can be good or bad.

Residential Lighting 101.

Please be advised these are all averages and approximations but are a good general guide as to lighting your fagot home full of poofs, as you can only buy lamps from s*** coles or f***ing bunnings. Now when I say "lamps" this refers to the 'light bulb' as the average joe would know it as.

Watts - How much power your gay lamps consume (average).
Incandescent = 60W
Halogen = 50W
Fluorescent = 11W

Efficacy - Watts consumed/Lumen Output (how much light you get out of your prick of a lamp).
Incandescent = 14 lumens/watt. Extremely inefficient.
Halogen = 22 lumens/watt. Better, however still extremely inefficient.
Fluorescent = 60 lumens/watt. Extremely efficient.

Capital Cost - The amount you pay for a mother f***ing bulb.
Incandescent = $0.50
Halogen = $2.50
Fluorescent = $7.50

Lamp Life - the average length your lamps last for you f***ing fagots.
Incandescent = 1000 hours
Halogen = 4000 hours
Fluorescent = 7000 hours

Lamp hours per f***ing dollar you spend.
Incandescent = 1000/0.5 = 2000 hours
Halogen = 4000/2.5 = 1600 hours
Fluorescent = 7000/7.5 = 933 hours

So as you can see above, your fagot ass green lamps are not saving you money on the cost of the bulb vs lamp life. If you compare for 1 year alone, the cost of your gay ass green lamps with your energy bill, you will work out that it would take about 12 years for you to break even, you dumb s***.

Then you need to look at other f***ing gay ass s***. The colour quality of your normal incandescent and halogen lamps are 100% rendition. Your gay sex CFLs are only 80% colour rendering. This effects the quality of the f***ing light you see. So put it into your poofter terms, when your f***ing some horrible bitch, she will look even worse under a CFL light source compared to an incandescent.

So all the greenies still aren't convinced? Well pack this into your bong and smoke it: CFLs contain Mercury which is poisonous. Incandescent contains Tungsten/Halogen which is not.

And for all you fagots who would even consider using LED as a light source, your brain cells are deformed. LED technology is nowhere near good enough to use in a residential (let alone commercial) application.

Seriously though, Furgle, I can buy 1W LED MR16 lamps for $30, 3W for about $50, and 5W for about $75 and let me tell you something, the light output is WORSE than fluoro. If you want to save the planet for your great great great great great great great great great great great great great great great great great grand kids great great great great great great grand kids, then do yourself a favour and purchase yourself some IRC (infa red coated) halogen lamps. These fagots consume 20W worth of power, and product approx 35-40W worth of light.
Do you work in lighting casa?

no, i read the boxes when i go to coles
These fagots consume 20W worth of power, and product approx 35-40W worth of light.

That's like 2 for the price of 1, for the slow kids.

Funnily enough cost twice as much, too.

Then that's like two ordinary ones for the price of one dear one.
cJay

LOL @ Obes post... we changed all our bulbs to fluro types and saved about $80 on our quarterly electricity bill. Admit tingly the light is much dimmer but hey I can live with that.
These fagots consume 20W worth of power, and product approx 35-40W worth of light.

cept, in this fukn fagot universe we obey the laws of thermodynamics! ;D

Sweet bit of info about them: http://www.osram.com.au/osram_au/Tools_&_Services/Calculators_and_Consultants/IRC_Energy_Saver/index.html

haha demon

those little fluro ones aren't as bright when you turn them on, but give them 30 seconds and they are fine. stop crying

Light brightness/intensity/radience is measure in heaps of measures, but not watts.

And I notice in your rant about watt per lumens you gracefully ignored Metal Halides and LEDs. Cos the top end LEDs are 120+ lumens/watt and halides are 80-120 lumens / watt.

As for your comments about LED...

LEDs are as efficient as Metal Halides.

A 200Watts LED light array produces roughly the same amount and quality of light as a metal halide. Only difference is a Metal Halide will need replacing every 2 or 3 years. And LEDs supposedly last 7-11. That and the electronics are alot easier. Halides need ballasts etc etc. LEDs are not much more complicated the needs a regulated DC power source.

Now I am not going to say they are useful for everything. Cos they aren't, they are highly directional (not diffuse). They aren't a replacement for your 4ft fluoro.

But for a remote area street light, combined with a solar panel. f*** yes.
For a nano reef tank where you need to keep heat away from the tank but produce buckets of light in the usable spectrum. Yup.

I don't know s*** about lights, the little I know about them is related to hobbies. ie. articles like this. But to say LEDs are no good is crazy talk.

And forget the whinge about bulb cost. Running a lightbulb will soon be more about OPEX then CAPEX.

If I was gunna bitch about CFLs, its that they curl back on themselves and alot of the light is basically just shinning at the tube.
You know, you can get 15w, 18w, 20w even CFL's that are equivalent to 100w+ incandescent.

I want one.
f*** if it lights up the room so you don't fall over s*** who gives a f***?

Thanks obes, but we're talking about residential. You cannot dim metal halide and they take approx 3-4 minutes for the arc to burn up to full brilliance, not to mention they change colour in this process, and still don't have the same colour rendition as incandescent and halogen. But im sure you knew that :P

LED as a light source is terrible. It's awesome for lighting up your sick case and under your jimny, but as a light source (which is what we're talking about) they are horribly woeful. You have obviously never touched a 5W LED lamp before, they destroy your fingers with heat. 3W is considered the 'norm' for residential, and man... just turn one on and stand under it, you will see just how terrible the light is (both quality and quantity).

Leave the lighting to me and you can look after my excel problems :)

Mongie, generally speaking:

5W CFL = 25W incandescent
9W CFL = 40W incandescent
11W CFL = 60W incandescent
13W CFL = 75W incandescent
20W CFL = 100W incandescent
23W CFL = 120W incandescent

The light looks gross though, and the 20W lamps are hueg. You can get 10,000 hour long life ones which are massive due to the better integral control gear.
hahaha u drunk fpot? or just angry cause its the weekend and no one is goin to call u to c what ur doing?
So in otherwords. CFLs are better unless you are pretentious wanker who is concerned if their fake tan is right shade of orange ?

ps. Metal halides are uber, and so are LEDs
sc00bs seriously stop kidding yourself.
it's ok fpot, i'll give you a call buddy
or just angry cause its the weekend and no one is goin to call u to c what ur doing?

you really know how to hurt.
Depends how many in the array and what spectrum they are.
They are moderately efficient (ie. don't produce lots of heat), have a long life span. Good(easy) for DC/solar applications. Moderately focused which can be good or bad.

so basically, leds produce terrible light. aka, they are directional, s***ty spectrum, s***ty intensity.

if you have solar you're probably happy to live in semi darkness and you probably feel your way around the house with your bare feet.
Cos you need 360 diffuse light from your downlight ?
yes, directionality was the only thing i mentioned.
Zaphod
Fluorescent = $7.50

Hmm, my local Coles has 6-packs of CPLs for $10..
LED as a light source is terrible. It's awesome for lighting up your sick case and under your jimny, but as a light source (which is what we're talking about) they are horribly woeful. You have obviously never touched a 5W LED lamp before, they destroy your fingers with heat. 3W is considered the 'norm' for residential, and man... just turn one on and stand under it, you will see just how terrible the light is (both quality and quantity).
We put in a bunch of those super s*** CF GU10 bulbs in our kitchen to replace the Halogens to save the earth and s*** and they are f***ing useless. Immediately installed an extra light which didn't seem to help at all. We then bought a 5w LED down light and although the light beam is quite narrow the light itself is far brighter then the 11w fluros and comes on instantly which seems like such a luxury when dealing with CF crapyness. It's actually very bright, just also very narrow.

The light beam is too narrow to simply replace all of the lights with and at the cost of $50 a light it's a bit too expensive but with the right setup LED downlights for spot lighting mixed with CF or even halogens for more ambient lighting will be the way to go once they come down in price.

Halogens are the way to go though. As long as there is no spray in insulation anyway.
You don't need bulbs or watts or any of that fancy talk.

Just light your house with the nerd power from this thread.

Halogens are the way to go though. As long as there is no spray in insulation anyway.

our electricians put plastic domes in the roof over the top of our halogens
CCFL's are better cause they don't produce so much heat, so it's much more comfortable sitting in room in QLD in summer lit by CCFLs than one by incandescents.
3x0dus
i cant see how halogen lights are better, when instead of say 1 ? what 15w/30w fluro tube, you have to put in 3 - 4 or more Halogens, which each sit at around 45w a pop.
im pretty sure regardless if its 12v or 240v for halogens, 45w's is 45w's.
and if you have say 4 per room, 3bedroom house inc kitchen/bathroom thats what 20?

20 x 45w = 900watts. !!!!

so if we replaced that with Fluro Tubes even totaling 30w per room thats now only say max 150w, HUGE difference.

Halogens also produce more wasted energy as heat, Fluro or even LED's are better, and you can get them in varying degree of color temp aswell.

Infact i have been looking to replace our house lights with either LED Halogen replacements, or go completly to Fluro tubes/CCF.

oh and compared to halogens even normal incandescents are a money saving alternative.

last edited by 3x0dus at 20:31:42 26/Sep/08
Just light your house with the nerd power from this thread.
ahhaha