Topic: State of Origin 2008

Teams have been announced here: http://www.nrl.com.au/News/Latest/tabid/10244/default.aspx?id=51019

It opened the door for 22-year-old Wallace to make his debut for the Blues, beating off established halfbacks including Parramatta's Brett Finch, Manly's Matt Orford and Newcastle's Jarrod Mullen for the position.

f*** I hate Manly. Eat a dick Matt Awful.

This thread has been renamed for the crying little bitches who believe it has no future.
i f***ing hate manly. steve menzies needs to diaf.
f***en QLD team hurry up and get announced. It's f***en bulls*** that apparently Gaymichael c*** is gunna be 5/8 over Prince. Prince has been the best motherf***er all season! c*** has been good, but prince has been the best.

We need a team full of hodges :(
QUEENSLAND
1. Billy Slater (Melbourne Storm)
2. Brent Tate (NZ Warriors)
3. Greg Inglis (Melbourne Storm)
4. Justin Hodges (Brisbane Broncos)
5. Israel Folau (Melbourne Storm)
6. Karmichael Hunt (Brisbane Broncos)
7. Johnathan Thurston (NQ Cowboys)
8. Carl Webb (NQ Cowboys)
9. Cameron Smith (c) (Melbourne Storm)
10. Petero Civoniceva (Penrith Panthers)
11. Michael Crocker (Melbourne Storm)
12. Sam Thaiday (Brisbane Broncos)
13. Dallas Johnson (Melbourne Storm)
Interchange
14. PJ Marsh (Brisbane Broncos)
15. Ben Hannant (Brisbane Broncos)
16. Nate Myles (Sydney Roosters)
17. Jacob Lillyman (NQ Cowboys)
Lame...

The selectors should be sacked.
f*** me I'd be spewing if I was princey.
looks like a cracker of a qld team, even without prince
Resonate
That is horse s***, prince deserved the #6. He is one of the most in-form players in the nrl this season.

TATE?????

/dies in a fire
cowboys are 2nd last.. they could even have picked prince ahead of thurston

Am I the only one who thinks prince is overrated? I guess I am

He's 100x better than c*** though
cowboys are 2nd last.. they could even have picked prince ahead of thurston

lol retard
alternatively, thurston should be 5/8 with prince halfback
This is what I don't get...

Folau plays Centre for Melbourne, and Inglis plays Wing... Why swap them for no reason for Origin?
well i am sure there is a reason, you just haven't been told

possibly because they want inglis having more ball time in the centers than out on the wing..
man, what has scotty prince done?

slept with one of the selectors daughters or somethign?!
brent tate is s***e how's he always get in? he also has the worst haircut in the nrl.
f***en hate that horse looking c***. I thought we were done with him forever once he left the broncs.
Prince will play in the series at some stage, I can guaruntee it.
Supposedly he has been playing well??
drop brent tate for wendell sailor
i would imagine that while NRL form is a large factor in picking players for representative football, it's not the only factor.

NRL and SOO or test football are vastly different games.

ps. brent tate is a f***ing retard.
Big Dell - love that c***
agreed on the selection change.
This thread's future:

Removed: nondescript title
f*** that tate c*** off imo.
+1 to hating Tate.

Whenever I drop something or do some retarded fumble I say I've Brent Tate'd it.
qft

i really think the team should have more melbourne storm and broncos players
Manly > *
Folau plays Centre for Melbourne, and Inglis plays Wing

Inglis plays 5/8 for Melbourne
alternatively, thurston should be 5/8 with prince halfback

AMEN thats my pick.

billy slater is the best/form fullback so he gets the spot. k.hunt isnt a utility player so he misses out (on the bench i mean). just like many other top line players have to.

big wraps on b.hennant. he is built for state of origin.

prince is unlucky but same theory to the last. he isnt a five-eighth. however i think the transition from half the fly half is a lot less than a born bred fullback like hunt.

if hunt fails he better get droppped. dont want to see the golden k.hunt getting a lifeline if he is less than spectacular like prince would surely be.
you probably said lockyer should never have been moved from fullback to 5/8 either sleepy
Imo it should be Prince at half back and Thurston at 5/8.

Prince is by far and away the best organiser in the NRL atm. Let him and Cam Smith control the tempo and the forwards and let Thurston just be creative outside them, take advantage of the ground work.

Hunt is s***, and shouldn't be in the squad, neither should Tate. But QLD looks to me to have a back line twice as good as the blues and the NSW halves combo totally lacks the ability to create points for the team. I look at the blues and other than thinking that Gasnier is a machine, I can't see where the points will come from for NSW.

So I reckon hunt and tate will suck as usual but QLD to win game 1 and as such, they won't get dropped..
XaltD
the team could not be any more perfect.

If they put prince in your going to be seeing the old "too many chiefs, not enough indians".

Hunt is f***ing spectacular player at what he does.

He is the perfect player for this position, he will feed off and not lead, he will be a utility.

Have another look at the line up and see how many player "makers" there are in the QLD line up.

IMO - hunt is the perfect choice.

s*** goes bad when u have too many chiefs not enough indians.

XaltD
also.. who the hell let tate in the team?

Darius Boyd or any pre-schooler could play the position better than him.....

I hope he proves me wrong though.

GO QLD!
i swear this thread has the largest count of the word c***...ever.

c*** c***y c*** c*** c***!
Blues to really kick arse this year.

f*** you maroon supporting f***ing c***s.
bashed@nswgl
you probably said lockyer should never have been moved from fullback to 5/8 either sleepy

im not a locky lover. i think he is very good but god he misses some tackles. somehow all that is looked over when he throws a face ball to a winger to score. something all five-eigths and halfbacks do every week. but oh well his career is all but over. just put him out to pasture i say.

but no i wasnt a band wagon jumper about locky's move from f/back to 5/8.
dell back for game 3
you heard it here first
someone tell him he's dreaming.
big dell for president
Next saturday he will cure cancer and score 5 trys.

Shame he won't be able to cure himself of being a f*** wit.
you would know
STAR Dragons recruit Wendell Sailor yesterday bolted across four lanes of busy traffic on the F6 to eat lots of hamburgers.
I heard Gordon Tallis saying that Lockyer will be the next coach at Brisbane (after Henjack)

Apparently he plans to coach as soon as he retires.
defi
With the outside backs QLD has they dont need a master 5/8. They need someone to find holes and put the ball there, who defends hard and supports well. Hunt is fearless and is a very good choice to fill the role. At origin level they all know there jobs to do so they dont need a half back like prince to lead them around like a bunch of babies. Thurston will play as the attacking half while hunt plays as an extra link / foward / center. Dont look into the number 6 jersey to much. Its just another player on the field.

NSW are gunna try to turn it into a match of the fowards, but will most likely backfire as Queenslands backs are to fast / skillful not to take advantage of NSW's tiring foward pack as the game unravels.
At origin level they all know there jobs
At NRL level they all know their jobs. At A Grade club level they all know their jobs. Prince at 7 and Thurston at 6 would have been better.

edit: but good for me because I go for the blues.

last edited by fpot at 11:29:17 21/May/08
defi
I no that all NRL player know there job but i was just enforcing the too many chiefs theory. I love prince playing for Gold Coast - he runs that team. You can see 100% of the time yelling at his blokes where he wants them.

That wouldnt work as well in the Queensland team. They dont need that as much. I think either choice would have worked though. Thurston / Prince or Thurston / Hunt. Mal must be looking at Hunt to play a running roll almost like an extra lock. Thurston and Prince wouldnt be able to do tihs as they are to small and dont have the hard running skills of hunt.
I no that all NRL player know there job but i was just enforcing the too many chiefs theory.

But you don't KNOW when to use the words "NO" and "KNOW"...
lol snap
why r u in a State of Origin thread Agent99, get out.
the thought of another hyped up origin game leaves me cold. still i'll watch it. hope there's a decent biff.
defi
But you don't KNOW when to use the words "NO" and "KNOW"...

Sorry Miss. I didn't know we were having a test today.

last edited by defi at 12:46:46 21/May/08

carl webb never fails to disappoint.
What time kick off homos ?
normally around 8, poof.
Thanks fags.
I can only watch mark geyer not punch wally lewis so many times before i get bored of it imo
f*** off c***.
beating off established halfbacks

I lol'd.

Go Maroons!
What channel has origin on? I can't find it on any TV guides?!

last edited by Phooks at 18:32:41 21/May/08
9 I'd say.

I don't give a f*** if tate scored that try, it was f***en sloppy and he is s***.

QLDR
if only we could have 13 karmichaels tackling
If only Roy and HG wasn't 4 seconds faster then the TV :(
Well played the Blues, too big a margin for QLD to come back from, especially the way they've played tonight.

Bring on game two at Suncorp to try and save the series I reckon hopefully they'll bring in Prince.
by the way, wonder how sick the guy who put $700k on the Maroons to win is feeling about now.

gutted I imagine, hahaha
JohnnieD
Did Cam Smith play??!?
lrn2haveforwards qld
Did Cam Smith play??!?

Exactly what I was thinking.

QLD had good players in bad positions.

If only Roy and HG wasn't 4 seconds faster then the TV :(

Yeah whats with that? they should just telecast it straight from channel 9 instead of their own live feed.

QFT or what

Ghey.
Did Cam Smith play??!?
Apparently he was out on the field, didn't see him though. Maybe he was hiding behind Petero :)
go the blues ahahahaa
solid game by the blues, glad none of those bs qld trys got allowed..
drop tate for wendell sailor... billy slater for matty bowen,

and seriously... lockyer may as well retire... karmichael s***s all over him

LoneWolf
1. The ref was an origin virgin. He was making too many "club" calls and not enough "origin" calls, fag.
2. Hunt is a great player, but the should have included Prince as well, even if only as an interchange. That would have made the world of difference. The selectors need to wake up to themselves.
3. Get someone back to give Slater a hand ffs?! He got flogged tonight and was a constant target for NSW. Good work on their behalf, bad for Mal Meninga.
4. I don't care what anyone says, Tate is an asset and belongs on any QLD origin side.
5. Could you imagine the size of the veins in Gus Gould's neck, if Wally and Mal had have suited up and run onto the field? :P

(Point 5 was said in jest)
i reckon this ref was s***

he let the play the balls go for too long... and nsw were lying all over qld too long.. making the game slow and boring.
qld played like utter s***e. i am ashamed to be a qlder tonight.
well aren't you a knob then!
i thought channel 9's assessment of Qld's playing style was good.

"Under 10s level" Pretty damn accurate imo.

These people call themselves professional footballers!?
qld have a s*** team this year

just what they deserve
they have an awesome team this year

they just didn't get the ball out wide because of khunt and when they did try to he would pass a s*** pass. he was too busy tackling trying to proove some point

at the end of the first half thurston changed to second receiver for a while and s*** began to happened.

if locky's not back for the next game prince will be in the side.

i think you'll see a big change

last edited by paveway at 08:46:20 22/May/08
You can't blame reffing for that result.

QLD just looked really awkward; NSW were much more aggressive in defending territory. Their speed off the line was very consistent the whole night long which allowed them to recover from some really inconvenient moments. There were some errors made by NSW deep in their own territory that really should have turned into tries - and would have if QLD players were more comfortable in their roles.

Wally's comments in the wrap-up about the reluctance of the QLD selectors to make changes should be scaring the s*** out of maroons supporters at the moment.

last edited by Hogfather at 08:58:21 22/May/08
they looked awkward because they needed someone more composed (read: locky or prince) to feed the ball out properly, effectively we had were down 1 ball player and up 1 tackler
Also Peter Wallace is gonna be gold for the Broncs - he played really well. Acknowledged that he'd learned s***loads from Johns in training for the match, Penrith must be spewing right now.
yeah he is going to be good for the bronc's but f*** it pains me that he plays for nsw haha used to bronco's players being queenslanders

just hope he sticks with the bronco's
I thought it was a very interesting match.

Firstly, the Ref. I felt in the early stages he wasn't policing offside well enough, and considering the field position led to the first try for the blues, it was quite annoying.

He then missed a forward pass that was a MILE forward, while penalising a marginally forward pass from Queensland.

I also thought that NSW should have been penalised for slowing down the play-the-ball on a number of occasions. Perhaps QLD should look to exploit this in the next game. NSW slowed down the QLD play far too much and when they had the ball, Wallace had heaps of time to get his kicks away. NSW's marker defence at times was excellent.

QLD Team... Brent Tate was by far the best back. He actually got in and played, while Folau and Inglis were basically asleep in the first half, and barely got into it in the second half. Hodges was also excellent, but I thought that Thurston was pretty poor. Cam Smith was useless. Hunt played well defensively but he is out of position. I think he should be fullback for game 2. Slater dropped.

My team for game two would be...

FB - Karmichael Hunt
Wing - Brent Tate
Centre - Greg Inglis
Centre - Justin Hodges
Wing - Israel Folau
5/8 - Scott Prince / Lockyer
HB - Johnathan Thurston
FRF - Carl Webb
Hooker - Cameron Smith (C)
FRF - Petero Civoniceva
2RF - Michael Crocker
2RF - Sam Thaiday
Lock - Ashley Harrison

Subs
Peter J Marsh / Prince
Ben Hannant
Nate Myles
David Stagg

last edited by mongie at 10:16:14 22/May/08
FB - Karmichael Hunt

I agree with Mongie and this ^^^ is the key change.
Billy got singled out and went down soft in every tackle. If your going to tackle Karmichael, he's going to make you pay. This change also opens up the spot to bring in Scotty Prince who just has to be in the next side.
they need a ball player at number 6 definitely.

locky or prince

someone made a good point last night, folou plays on the right wing for melbourne, why not have him on the right wing for qld?

last edited by paveway at 10:23:30 22/May/08
boba
Wing - Brent Tate
you're a f*****, tate is s***
Tate made the weird mistake that led to a try, but apart from that he was the best in the back line and hes a proven origin player. I hate him too... but hes a good player.
f*** that was one very boring game played by us. I have not watched a state of origin in 5 years and last night made me realise why. There was just no passion from either side and it is nothing more than a glorified club game.
I think we've established there was very little attacking flair from QLD. We weren't expecting that much from NSW, but I think they delivered fairly well.
NSW's marker defence at times was excellent.

I think this is the main reason they won the game since they completely shut down dummy half running by Qld which in the past has been a strong point for them. It's also a reason why the ref was s***, the NSW markers went early on a number of occasions and were only penalised for it once. A couple more penalties in that area would have made NSW a lot more cautious and allow Qld more attacking momentum.

NSW definitely deserved the win and probably still would have even with their marker defence put in line but I reckon it would have been a more entertaining game to watch.

QLD had a few big chances they failed to convert on, notably the big break from slater/inglis.

There was 1 line break I remember QLD having a big overlap, tate was calling for it but it never got out to him if it did probably would have been a try. Another one missed everyone and got passed over the sideline by Hunt iirc. Hunt did not look comfortable in that position in offense at all.

At origin level you cannot miss several big opportunities like that and still win.
everytime they needed a good pass from a good number 6, it got thrown at their feet or over the sideline
Why is a large portion of the QLD team players from teams outside of QLD, places like Melbourne and whatnot?

State of Origin
hahaha that has to be a troll
Also the fact that there are 16 teams in the competition and only 3 QLD teams?
I think QLD have to move Prince in to replace Hunt, move Hunt to fullback and Slater to the wing. Drop Tate.

Also does anyone know when Steve Price is due to be fit again? Replace PJ Marsh with either Webb or Thaiday on the bench, and move Price into start Front/Second row.
Do you really think Slater played better than Tate?

While they all played pretty s*** I only saw Tate twice, once just getting a try by a finger tip and again just missing a try by his toe tips.

Sure he got a try but any winger worth his salt would have got that.
QLD forwards did nothing, and the passing game from the backs was horrendous. How can you play the game day in day out and get paid buckets of money and not even be able to land a 5 meter pass!

I actually enjoyed the NSW game though I thought they were good.

Only redeeming thing for qld is that QLD played s***house, NSW played well, and the final score was only an 8 point difference (i think?)
Not really, but I just couldn't leave Slater out of the team he's just too good of a player and his form this year has been outstanding.
I pretty much agree with you for the backline, other than Slater/Tate... I don't think Slater did enough to warrant "out of position" (albeit, slightly) selection.

Hunt definitely needs to be the fullback, and Prince & Thurston in the halves.

Looking at stats on NRL.com.au, Tate runs further than hunt, slater, inglis and folau. He does however score less points than the 3 Melbourne players. I certainly don't have anything against Slater in that spot... I'd also be happy with Tate though.
Tate looks like a horse, animals shouldn't be allowed to play.
theres some serious tate hating in this thread
The one time NSW did get pulled up for markers moving to early, I thought they did as well, until I watched the replay. Mason didn't move until the play ball was complete, it was just that the dummy half was slow picking up the ball, which made it look like he went early.

Personally I was happy with the way the ref policed things, I think it was pretty consistent and I guess if anyones guilty it was the QLD forwards for not adapting there playing style to it. Also Bellamy did a great job of coaching the forwards to come out of there own half with multiple forwards rolling forward on each play. Buderas had options on most plays which made the QLD defense think and react a lot more than the NSW defense had to, QLD just ran alot of one out stuff.

I honestly think a lot of the blame has to go to the QLD selectors for making some poor decisions i.e. Hunt at 5/8 (should be Thurston with Prince at half) and on Meningas shoulders because was completely out coached by Bellamy.

Also does anyone else think its pretty stupid naming a second specialist hooker when you have an 80 minute one in Smith? Why not go for someone like Bowen off the bench he's far more an impact player than PJ Marsh is.
someone like Bowen off the bench
I believe Bowen is injured atm.
he was an example, I just don't see PJ Marsh as a quality impact player surely QLD have some more options?
Queensland deserves to loose with what the selectors think will work.

"Queensland selectors sending an sos to darren lockyer" said the news report I just watched.

Yeah awesome idea! Lets base the team on someone who will definitely not be 100% fit, or possibly not even fit enough to play at all for that matter...

Totally insane.

Put Prince in the squad, get him into the training sessions. Even if Lockyer does play use him off the bench. Lockyer will probably get hurt and blow his knee out bigtime in the first 10 mins. Then what are they gonna do?
LoneWolf
Yeah, don't sacrifice Lockyer just to win a game when there are other players out there that can fit the bill.

The selectors need to grab their toes, realise they f***ed up and take one for the state. Then make QUALITY decisions before the next game and let's flog these carnts.
Yeah, don't sacrifice Lockyer just to win a game when there are other players out there that can fit the bill.

It's not so much risking him, but they are basically relying on him to be fit... what if hes not, what happens then?

Oh we'll worry about that later... which is a really dumb way of going about it.
sandy_sally
man i dunno why you guys are all tate haters.

that c*** won me $3000
I think one of the problems was that none of the guys had time to fit into their roles. All the news jokingly said that they were confusing the NSW team with all the postion swaps.
But the Blues played their game and it looked like the QLD guys had NFI what was going on...
that c*** won me $3000

Yeah he may be good at eagle farm racecourse but he is no good at football ok.
sandy_sally
don't be hatin' ctd. he's an absolutely fantastic player. better than thurston without a doubt.

you amateurs don't know a thing
tater haters
LoneWolf
I lurves taters ...... Mashed ftw
don't be hatin' ctd. he's an absolutely fantastic player. better than thurston without a doubt.
Better than Thurston?

heh
QUEENSLANDERRRRRRR!! --> link
Darren Lockyer was at UQ this morning :O Saw him just walkin' around in sports gera.
Probably looking to score.
move Prince in to replace Huntmove Prince in to replace Huntmove Prince in to replace Huntmove Prince in to replace Huntmove Prince in to replace Huntmove Prince in to replace Huntmove Prince in to replace Huntmove Prince in to replace Huntmove Prince in to replace Hunt

AHA DESPERATE c***S
yeah desperate, you got it one ...

tool
simonnr

Reason: Inappropriate
Click Here to See the Profile for simonnr Edit This Post Click Here to send simonnr an email Users HomePage Message User