Topic: World's biggest BBQ
Uruguay hosts biggest BBQ, grills 12 tons of beef

More than a thousand barbecue fanatics in Uruguay grilled up 12 metric tonnes (26,400 lbs) of beef on Sunday, setting a new Guinness world record while promoting the country's succulent top export.

In support of my Uruguayan brethren, I also cooked a massive BBQ :-

With plans to fire up the smoker I headed down to a local bulk butcher. I went straight to the cheap cuts and started grabbing meat. First up was a big chunk of pork, I had plans for some lamb, but they didn't have any shoulder. I then picked up some sausages that were marked down, and a whole chicken as well. Finished by grabbing some marked down beef ribs, and a jar of 'cajun' spices.

I got the smoker to a warm 100 Celcius and prepared the meats. At various points during the process I added Hickory chunks, and mesquite as well.

http://lh5.ggpht.com/username.taken/SAHNBFB3m8I/AAAAAAAACws/UBfuUfmk0Zw/s288/DSC03633.JPG http://lh5.ggpht.com/username.taken/SAHNYFB3nBI/AAAAAAAACxU/A2w-efXstk4/s288/DSC03638.JPG
http://lh5.ggpht.com/username.taken/SAHMyFB3m5I/AAAAAAAACwU/8nUCY3P1Ps4/s288/DSC03630.JPG http://lh3.ggpht.com/username.taken/SAHMRlB3mxI/AAAAAAAACvQ/ePYnJJeEFj4/s288/DSC03622.JPG

Pork

I peeled back the skin flap back off the pork and gave it a good rub over with the cajun mixed with brown sugar, then put the flap back over and rubbed it as well. This went into the smoker right away as it would take the longest to cook.

http://lh3.ggpht.com/username.taken/SAHL-lB3mtI/AAAAAAAACuw/BhORr-lCU8o/s288/DSC03618.JPG http://lh5.ggpht.com/username.taken/SAHMHFB3mvI/AAAAAAAACvA/Hh1UZUXjLUU/s288/DSC03620.JPG

This stayed in the smoker all day, and turned out like this :-

http://lh5.ggpht.com/username.taken/SAHNMFB3m-I/AAAAAAAACw8/WGCyYjFpImQ/s400/DSC03635.JPG

Sausages

The sausages were simple, I just dumped them in a tray and rubbed them all over with sweet paprika.

http://lh4.ggpht.com/username.taken/SAHLb1B3mnI/AAAAAAAACuA/kG68J5Xa9eQ/s288/DSC03611.JPG http://lh3.ggpht.com/username.taken/SAHLhlB3moI/AAAAAAAACuI/4oOwXiG_bNM/s288/DSC03612.JPG

They went into the smoker for about 2 hours in total.

http://lh3.ggpht.com/username.taken/SAHMMlB3mwI/AAAAAAAACvI/REsgKegfxq8/s400/DSC03621.JPG

Beef Ribs

The beef ribs got a good coating in Cajun Seasoning and then was smoked for about 3/4 of the time the pork was.

http://lh5.ggpht.com/username.taken/SAHLtFB3mqI/AAAAAAAACuY/H9Z4RMJEOeo/s400/DSC03614.JPG

http://lh4.ggpht.com/username.taken/SAHNG1B3m9I/AAAAAAAACw0/nq6ieKRjM8Q/s400/DSC03634.JPG

Chicken

While the rest was in smoking I brined the chicken in salted water, beer, and maple syrup. I then marinated it in Nando's Peri Peri sauce.

http://lh6.ggpht.com/username.taken/SAHMcVB3m1I/AAAAAAAACv0/xLXgEW0vj-E/s400/DSC03626.JPG

Not long after the sausages came out the chicken went in. After about an hour I poured off the excess marinade, and used a tray of coals to try and crisp up the outside a bit.

http://lh6.ggpht.com/username.taken/SAHMsVB3m4I/AAAAAAAACwM/mA97BevJC2U/s400/DSC03629.JPG
I have to say it made for an awesome lunch today :D
With all that meat its no wonder it was hosted in the you are gay country
MISSery
Where are the vegies???
The sausages were simple, I just dumped them in a tray and rubbed them all over with sweet paprika.

Heh, suss.
in my dreams stinky prepares me lunch, and its all sausages
Where are the vegies???

Who the f*** cares
MISSery
ur mum
Chuck another sheep on the barbie?
What a way to express yourself, rubbing potions and ointments into various meats and then serving it to eds
idol prefers to express himself using the marmet technique

This s*** has got nothing on your average Sunday afternoon at the Casagrande Estate.

http://casa.nowuckingforries.com/whatsforlunch.JPG
You have a small sausage casa.

italian sausages ftw :)
The meat in that photo looks very unappetising. You need to use a higher heat on those steaks, heat the plate up for at least 20 minutes before cooking, and don't overfill the hotplate otherwise you'll lose all the heat.
way to boil the s*** out of that steak in it's own crap casa, stinky's is rad
Yeah casa maybe you should delete that post too.

Just because you talk the talk, doesn't mean you walk the walk. Those steaks tasted divine. Don't judge a book by it's cover.
says you
qgl bbq cook off
Just because you talk the talk, doesn't mean you walk the walk. Those steaks tasted divine. Don't judge a book by it's cover.

If you liked them, great, but there are much better ways to cook steak than en masse like that. This is what a steak should look like

http://lh4.ggpht.com/username.taken/R_k6up7w24I/AAAAAAAACpg/fOjpfCLmV6g/s400/DSC03589.JPG

maybe with a bit of a Pinot Noir reduction sauce

http://lh5.ggpht.com/username.taken/R_k6w57w25I/AAAAAAAACpo/hPV08dQJUVY/s400/DSC03591.JPG

Your steak looks dry and no doubt taste dry because I haven't tasted them, but I'm going to judge how they taste by the way they look so therefore, they taste like s***. Also if you have to sauce the steak, with that much sauce mind you, it just confirms the dryness of it.

last edited by casa at 15:50:09 14/Apr/08
Wow, you're awfully defensive there Casa. Point out where I said your steak tastes like s***. I suggested that your steaks looked unappetising and offered some advice on how to improve them. If you're not man enough to listen to some advice and instead want to get your sphincter all twisted up about it, then no worries, cook the way you want to cook, as long as you enjoy it that's all that matters.

haha mate im just having a laugh and giving you s*** for sounding like a food wanker, i really couldnt give two s***s*.

*sphincter pun

ps: they weren't my steaks, I just took the photo. If I cooked them they'd be like blow jobs in a fillet.

last edited by casa at 16:02:01 14/Apr/08
holy s***e that's a lot of meat.
I picked up a 4 burner "BeefMaster" (lol @ name) the other day (complete with rotisseree), changed the grill plates & burners to a ceramic jobby for better heat distro an the boys (an wench) an I have been enjoying awesome amounts of BBQ's in the meantime. Comes with a sideburner for a Wok as well so I can assist in depopulating the local dog life an strangely enough, admittedely slim pickings here in Sunnybank...
casa: those steaks don't look dry can you explain your joke to me please?

fagpot: its not a joke, they do look dry?
yer, i just picked up a new bbq from kmart

they were selling their $479 jackaroos for 279 and i finally killed my bbq the other day

putting them together sure is fun
bought a bbq on saturday, all up I spent $998 :/
fagpot: its not a joke, they do look dry?
Then how come you said you were having a laugh ie. a joke?

Oh I see, what really happened is that you just got owned. Brb, taking the baby to the pub.
crazymorton
^ lol

Oh I see, what really happened is that you just got owned. Brb, taking the baby to the pub.

Haha poor Ben, whats up? I've been playing red alert for the past hour thinking about... well, nothing. Why do you keep on dwelling on this thread? I was just f***ing with the dude and your all in tears trying to stick up for someone else by trying to give me s***? Keep in mind, Obes invented giving s*** to people on this board, and I perfected it. Your tears on my back are like water on a ducks'.

Maybe stinky should rename this thread for you to "World's biggest BBQQ"

last edited by casa at 19:35:27 14/Apr/08
Nothing's wrong, just trying to get the full mileage out of something as stupid as that baby at the pub thread.

And Axis invented giving people s*** on this forum.

there was nothing wrong with the pub baby thread, i need to revive that, it was a god almighty laugh, even funnier than this thread
taggs the wogs are going to win mate, don't bother :P
those steaks do look f***en dry.
they're seared at high heat for about 2 minutes, still bloody and pink on the inside, definately not dry!
Also look at the second pic, they're glistening :P
they're seared at high heat for about 2 minutes, still bloody and pink on the inside, definately not dry!
+1

I find 60 seconds per side on an absolutely bulls*** hot BBQ is a perfect steak, provided the steaks are warmed up to room temp so they cook nicely.

That's a perfect rare - medium rare depending on the thickness.
i eat my steak raw straight off a live cow
the only reason to have a BBQ is to see me in a wifebeater

http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/6828/n6322107363362521424nl5.jpg
I demand you take off those glasses and apologise