sLiNky
Hey, My family has gone through some serious s*** of late and I'm looking for a young counsellor. As young as possible but still experienced. Someone who deals with incest and family matters. I have tried a few places but most of them are on in their years. I'm looking for one for my 16 yo sister who needs someone to relate to. She doesn't like talking to older councillors and she needs someone younger. If anyone knows someone can you please let me know.
Please no stupid posts. Cheers, Slink |
| #0 11:42pm 14/03/08 |
everyone on qgl is a councillor!
| #1 11:25pm 14/03/08 |
councillor oh teh ironies. TOMMOROES. Please no stupid posts surely you jest? |
| #2 11:25pm 14/03/08 |
dice
Does this count as a stupid post?
Edit: Seriously though, sorry to hear about the trouble ... and incest, yikes. Good luck all the same ... but don't psychologists and all of those sorts have to go through 8 years of study at least to become even remotely qualified? Going to be tough finding a young one. last edited by dice at 23:29:16 14/Mar/08 |
| #3 11:29pm 14/03/08 |
tits?
| #4 11:27pm 14/03/08 |
We got manlissa through some troubles and we are here to help now.
| #5 11:33pm 14/03/08 |
Hi Slinky.
Counsellor is the spelling you're looking for. Don't lose hope - it is a fact that most counsellors/psychologists don't become one early in life. It does take time for them to realise their calling. My fiancee's old man is a psychologist - and they're awesome people. I hear what you're saying about your 16-yo sister - I have a 16-yo sister too and they can be very picky about who they do and don't feel comfortable with. Keep on hunting mate - counselling does a lot more good than most people give it credit for. And any effort put into resolving issues like this is done alot easier now than later on in life. Good luck mate, and ignore the idiots who give you trouble. |
| #6 11:34pm 14/03/08 |
sLiNky
If you don't have any serious input then please f*** off.
Just asking a serious question. Yeah, things around here are pretty s*** and out of hand. And my sister isn't coping as she won't talk to anyone about the issues. Thankyou though. |
| #7 11:36pm 14/03/08 |
Alot of high schools have counsellors - sometimes they are useless, sometimes they are the best people in the world. Also look at other organisations perhaps work related - for example I know the ambos have a counselling service not just for them but open for their families too. Think wide.
| #8 11:38pm 14/03/08 |
sLiNky
Cheers Mr. Hardware. I stand corrected. I go see my counsellor at uni as I know I know I need to deal with the grief, guilt, pain etc. But my sis won't talk to anybody about it and I was just hoping someone on here might know somebody. Yes counsellors usually find their calling later in life but there has got to be one that went straight in after high school. She doesn't like going to sexual assault counselling due to the age difference and not been able to relate.
One of the problems is that she left school this yr (yr 12 now) to do a full time apprenticeship in hair dressing. So she lost that support from the counsellor at school who has tried to tlak to her but my sis refuses to. last edited by sLiNky at 23:41:34 14/Mar/08 |
| #9 11:41pm 14/03/08 |
I can understand that - but as you may know, there is a percentage of counsellors that become counsellors because they have had to deal with some serious things in their life previous. I can see that you see the seriousness and urgency of help for her, i hope that she is able to see it too before too long. Whilst im not terribly close to my sister, I can relate to how it is important for a big brother to help his sister when needed. What you're doing is good mate, don't give up hey.
| #10 11:44pm 14/03/08 |
I doubt dragons are going to help this story.
as for councilors, try uni psych services my girlfriends studying to be a shrink at qut, I'll ask her when she wakes up pretty sure anyone can go to them and they're not expensive |
| #11 11:45pm 14/03/08 |
sLiNky
Yeah, I just wish I could do more for her. The guilt that she is going through and the pain because of it all.
Cheers Teq, Very appreciated. |
| #12 11:47pm 14/03/08 |
slinky - I'm marrying a psych so I know a few things about em. Firstly the youngest you will get will be around 21/22 but they'll only just have a degree and not very much real world experience. The best psych for their age will be around 26/27 who will have a masters which requires alot of practical work with internships and the like.
I'd suggest you contact either the uni clinics (they have masters students working there) or Spirtius, Relationships AU, etc. If you want any more specific info then PM me and I'll ask my womanz what the best way to handle the situation is. |
| #13 11:52pm 14/03/08 |
Go see your GP, they'll point you in the right direction.
| #14 11:57pm 14/03/08 |
Crakaveli
pics?
| #15 12:08am 15/03/08 |
Crakaveli
Shrink's are f***wits that think they know everything, you're better off avoiding them.
| #16 12:10am 15/03/08 |
^- Clearly misinformed opinion.. no wonder you're in the US.
| #17 12:12am 15/03/08 |
Crakaveli
the f*** would you know.
| #18 12:13am 15/03/08 |
Normally anyone that makes such a rash generalization by labeling all "shrinks f***wits" probably doesn't understand they're purpose or methods.
I'm guessing you probably saw one, they highlighted lots of things wrong with you and you didn't like it and/or thought you knew better than someone with years upon years of training and knowledge in the field. |
| #19 12:17am 15/03/08 |
Crakaveli
Wrong. You're saying shrinks just sit there and tell you what's wrong with you? sound like f***wits to me.
| #20 12:19am 15/03/08 |
Crakaveli
anyway im off.
| #21 12:23am 15/03/08 |
Crackaveli, you are simply displaying your ignorance and lack of understanding.
| #22 12:24am 15/03/08 |
i think we now know Crakaveli is a Scientologist. |
| #23 12:33am 15/03/08 |
Crakaveli
i'm tom cruise lolz
| #24 12:38am 15/03/08 |
Why don't you talk to your sister yourself? I mean obviously you already know about whatever the hell it was that went on so she shouldn't be embarrassed talking about it and you're family so I'm assuming she'd trust you. At least once you get her to open up to you she might feel more comfortable talking to a professional.
edit: Please no stupid posts. oh and, this is QGL, you can't seriously think no one here would post something stupid. Hell I bet if someone posted a thread saying they were going to go kill themselves because of whatever reason there'd be at least 10 people wanting pics, another couple wanting a youtube link and 1 person posting that nike: just do it picture. last edited by whoop at 01:01:04 15/Mar/08 |
| #25 01:01am 15/03/08 |
*obligatory "Your sister sounds hot... maybe I could talk to her?"*
On a serious note, good luck in your quest. Getting somebody who needs help to even SEE a councellor is half the battle. I hope your hot sister gets the help she needs and everything turns out ok. Your story begs the question though: is/are other(s) involved in the mentioned incident(s) receiving help too? There is clearly more than one person involved in this, and I hope all involved are getting the necessary help. To Crakaveli: Yeah, f*** grammar, you're in a hurry. I'm amazed somebody as retarded as you can manage to operate a computer. |
| #26 01:06am 15/03/08 |
hit up uni shrinks, but yer you're not going to have much like finding anyone under 21+ with decent experience...
if all else fails though, myspace. |
| #27 01:06am 15/03/08 |
The Church of Scientology will help!
Oh wait, since someone threw a cinderblock through their window, they've retreated into hiding in Brisbane. Bummer eh ? |
| #28 01:35am 15/03/08 |
wat
| #29 01:56am 15/03/08 |
groganus
WTF INCEST!)&!$()&!@(&
| #30 02:11am 15/03/08 |
Hey mate. can't help you out. but just wanna say hope s*** gets sorted
only met ya once but you seem like a champ!~ |
| #31 02:11am 15/03/08 |
hast
for some reason this reminds of another thread in a another forum
| #32 02:37am 15/03/08 |
^^^ haha that's hilarious, reminds me of a thread on SA I think, or maybe it was a screenshot from another forum posted on there of some guy who liked to sniff his sisters panties and his parents found out & sent him to a shrink. I wonder if its the same guy.
| #33 02:51am 15/03/08 |
hope you get at least one helpful response to counteract the retardedness you surely know a post like that is going to spawn...
i have no idea personally, maybe b.hardware could point you in the right direction - he does psych yeah? |
| #34 03:17am 15/03/08 |
There are psych's out there that specialize in younger people. They know heaps of methods to get them to open up, usually it takes time though. It is a common problem for people of her age to not want to talk to anyone.
| #35 07:45am 15/03/08 |
Is the person responsible for the sexual assault being prosecuted?
(and to think I almost didn't bother clicking on this thread) |
| #36 07:52am 15/03/08 |
no he's still posting on qgl...
| #37 09:24am 15/03/08 |
Good Luck Slinky, sorry I can't help in any other way.
PS - To all the tards, this is not funny, grow the f*** up. |
| #38 09:36am 15/03/08 |
I know someone that would be perfect.. just pm me
last edited by Martz at 13:24:19 15/Mar/08 |
| #39 01:24pm 15/03/08 |
My sister's in her third year of phsyc and she's 19. Not experienced, but if there is a SERIOUS need for someone younger you could probably ask.
I'd recommend for someone older, though. |
| #40 01:29pm 15/03/08 |
kr0wb4r
my gf recently finished her psych degree, some of her friends that graduated with her are now doing counselling work before doing post grad, all are 21-22, pm me i'll see what i can do
| #41 01:34pm 15/03/08 |
well i'll be darned... i thought i was the only one with a psychologist girlfriend/wife (mines doing her masters now).
geeks must attract shrinks :/ |
| #42 03:25pm 15/03/08 |
or shrinks get attached to case studys
| #43 04:32pm 15/03/08 |
| #44 04:38pm 15/03/08 |
sLiNky
To those who posted a serious reply. Thankyou and very appreciated.
I talk to my sister quite a bit but there is no profession advice behind it, just what I would personally do. She needs someone to assess her to help her through and break down on those walls that people talk about. I go see my counsellor and she is great, who is easy to talk to. But my sis won't open up to anyone and she has said that she wants someone younger that she can talk to. It's just an ongoing problem. Yeah, what has happened charges have been layed and he will be prosecuted. (looking at 25 to life). Thankyou all for the well wishes. Cheers, slink |
| #45 12:11am 16/03/08 |
psych chicks are hawt
But seriously, do you really think revealing the source of your sisters grief to all of QGL is a really smart idea? The last thing she needs is a friend of a friend of a friend at her school finding out so and so's sister is dealing with an incestuous incident. She won't even talk to a counselors about it and you are advertising it on a public forum with a Brisbane primarily audience! That's really gonna help. And I'm not talking s***, I do know someone who suffered from a similar thing when they were young. I think you should use more discretion, and maybe find a sexual assault forum that deals with these kind of issues. You will surely find someone in there who has death with a similar circumstances more so than QGL. |
| #46 02:53am 16/03/08 |
You may as well just tell us everything now.
| #47 06:46am 16/03/08 |
hi, my name's persay. i specialise in incest. giggity.
| #48 08:09am 16/03/08 |
sif greazy
slinky can we have more info? then we might be able to better help you in your time of need.
| #49 12:30pm 16/03/08 |
lmnt
id ask one of your trusted female freinds to talk to her. It would be ideal because 1) female 2) closer to her age group 3) not exactly a shrink, therefore it seems more lax 4) you both can relate to her.
| #50 02:02pm 16/03/08 |
you'd think people would have learned not to post their serious life s*** on qgl
| #51 02:13pm 16/03/08 |
yeah someone gets paid out for posting a medical problem and that's funny; someone get's paid out for posting an incest/psychological problem and that's just insensitive.
WTF? |
| #52 03:49pm 16/03/08 |
i know a councillor who has dealt with this stuff but its older, in 50's so maybe the graduates migth be a better choice?
| #53 07:17pm 16/03/08 |
Where's the pic of cat with an inappropriate comment for this thread ?
| #54 10:46pm 16/03/08 |
How about you just promise to never have sex with her again?
| #55 02:33am 17/03/08 |
dice
We can at least take solace in knowing that that was bound to happen.
| #56 03:06am 17/03/08 |
You're a sick f*** dice... No one would ever want that to happen to anyone.. Ever.. You sick f***er...
oh you meant the post.. oh sorry.. |
| #57 03:15am 17/03/08 |
Smart attitude, yeah sometimes talking to another family members who cannot be objective about the issue will not help. It almost easier to talk to a perfect stranger that have a ability to look at it objectively. I don't know any "young" shrink sorry :( But I hope you _all_ get through this in some fashion. It won't be pretty but at least you've taken the first step of recognising the problem and tackling it head on. Good luck. |
| #58 09:25am 17/03/08 |
sif greazy
so was it her father that touched her?
| #59 10:45pm 21/03/08 |
how does this thread end?
| #60 11:38pm 21/03/08 |
we won't ever hear how it turned out and slinky will forever cop s*** about his f***ed up family f***ing each other?
just a guess |
| #61 11:41pm 21/03/08 |
mr sensitivity^
| #62 12:11am 22/03/08 |
slinky are you rubber_band that i used to know?
| #63 12:15am 22/03/08 |
nah it's a different guy deeps
| #64 12:41am 22/03/08 |
LoneWolf
he will be prosecuted. (looking at 25 to life).
You wish. About the only crime that could MAYBE bring that amount of time down on someone is double murder. Hell, import heroin into Autralia and you don't even get that much jail time. The perpetrator of this will be out in 5 years, if that. |
| #65 12:45am 22/03/08 |
sif greazy
slinky you can't start a thread and NOT not go into detail (and pictures).
| #66 01:15am 22/03/08 |
Tell her to start a thread on here and we will all talk her through the healing process.
| #67 05:09am 22/03/08 |
theglenn01
If your after a therapist it might be a good place to start by trying www.beyondblue.org.au or www.pacfa.org.au/find_therapist_member_assoc.html; which is a Counselling federation, you can get lists of registered practitioners from both these sites.
| #68 05:52am 22/03/08 |
| #68 |