Topic: Crowe wins bid to ditch pokies
The clatter of poker machines is set to become a thing of the past at the South Sydney Leagues Club, after a campaign by owners Peter Holmes a Court and actor Russell Crowe.

ABCNews

Although hes known to be a bit of a wanker, Russell Crowe gets mad props for this from me. Stupid fkn pokies.
dafugg
So you don't like pokies. As long as it stays at that and you don't start trying to dictate what other people can do with their money when they want to gamble.

People can do what they want, but pokies are loud, annoying, and really ruin the atmosphere of a leagues club.
groganus
People can do what they want, but pokies are loud, annoying, and really ruin the atmosphere of a leagues club.

not only that but they get rid of live entertainment for pokies.

also they are very addictive and dont contribute anything to society.
Personally, I think that the only place that should be allowed pokies are actual casino's

Bring back the live music scene to pubs an clubs!
they do however keep the drinks cheap, the staff employed, the bands playing and the licenses paid =/ if i only i could post some turnover figures lol.
In Western Australia, pokies are only allowed in licensed casinos.

It used to be live that in the rest of the country. Believe it or not its like this in most of the civilised world, for very good reason.
Also casino pokies pay out a higher percentage (by law) then club pokies.

Think casino pokies are 90cent+ out of the dollar and club pokies are like 80 - 85 cents.

f***ing stupid machines.
dafugg
Without poker machines a lot of community services in Queensland would not be funded.
Pokies are f***ing awesome when you win.
Instead of pokies they should have games of skill and arcade machines.
dafugg
Actually QOGR explicitly forbids games of skill. See.. games of skill make it hard for the treasury to predict how many trucks of cash they'll get from gambling revenue each month.
Without poker machines a lot of community services in Queensland would not be funded.

sad but true..

I can remember the Govt pushing the cost of smokes up from $3.80 the $4.50 a pack (for PJ 30's) when I was in Grade 12.. it s***'s me to tears that they've reached over $10 a f***ing pack in Tasmania now eh..

still, seeing those dollars go into paying our school teachers properly was worth it in the end. I'm not a huge fan of my step-mother, though I can proudly say the Tasmanian Govt pays her and her mates $79,000 dollars a year just to teach grade 1 and 2 kiddies thanks to cigarrette tax. Can you f***ing beleive that Labour got in and the Teachers union down there want another wage increase? I can see ciggies getting to $20 a pack down there soon.

It all weighs up in the end mate

last edited by koopz at 23:53:06 20/Dec/07
and really ruin the atmosphere of a leagues club

i thought the atmosphere of a leagues club was to sit around playing pokies

if it wasnt for pokies, the rsls wouldnt survive.

Personally, I think that the only place that should be allowed pokies are actual casino's

sorry dude, thats a wank quote. yeah, give all the gambling money to the casinos... who need the money!! try playing for a footy club down in springwood or the likes. they make nothing from the bar, most of their income comes from pokies.

without it, you wouldnt have small sports clubs either. casinos would get richer, and the poorer clubs get poorer.

last edited by mooby at 01:27:08 21/Dec/07

spose that's one of the perks of owning your own leagues club
I can see this eventually occurring to be honest.
Actually QOGR explicitly forbids games of skill.
These are too easy to cheat at.
Hopper pays!
It used to be the same in QLD, pokies banned in clubs/rsls i believe it was only about 10 years ago or so that they were allowed them. (i believe they were allowed before that, then got banned, then allowed again when the clubs all started going broke).

if it wasnt for pokies, the rsls wouldnt survive.

Bulls***.

They can survive in WA, and they survived before pokies. They would be no where near as fancy, big or cheap, but they would still survive as much as they ever have. They still have the TAB remember :)
What, like... gambling rehabilitation?
just remember kiddies

'gambling is a tax for people who can't do maths'
Gambling is fun as long as long you can keep it in check. Let people f*** up, who cares, it's all part of life. So many people want to be everyones mum and dad these days. You only get 70 or so years on this planet if you're lucky and I say just do what you want. Anyone who says they have "your best intentions in mind" is a f***wit who should be stamped out.
^issues
just remember, you can justify ANYTHING if you really want to.
Gambling is fun as long as long you can keep it in check. Let people f*** up, who cares, it's all part of life. So many people want to be everyones mum and dad these days.
What about when retarded s*** like this happens? Only in america AMIRITE
come off it, gambling isn't fun... there may be something in it for you that you enjoy, but fun? It's not bumper cars...
J
like LPG, amirite? lolol
yes, like lpg.
also they are very addictive and dont contribute anything to society.

Lies.

The pokie taxes are a huge source of state funding.

*Looks for infomation releases*
come off it, gambling isn't fun... there may be something in it for you that you enjoy, but fun?

It is fun to take a chance on something. I don't want to be a person who goes through life always taking the safe option. How boring can you get, f*** it after all it's money.
gambling means i get paid $25/hr for essentially doing nothing w00t
what do you do, Persay?
I haven't played pokies or gone to the casino in a real long time but I remember when I lost money I thought to myself why the f*** did I do that when I could have spent that money on a new game, video card or something real.
deal cards to people like rev @ casino
Tyrone
when I sore Crowe I was thinking you were talking about the crows nest hotel in the north shore
deal cards to people like rev @ casino

for real? you can run my home games when i get back.
'gambling is a tax for people who can't do maths'

I see eye to eye with what you have said, (and in a previous edit of this post included a line about how people who drive petrol-fueled cars are much the same pitiful situation as those who enjoy time at the TAB or the CAS), though it's prolly important to point something out here.

life is a gamble.

the guy who pays me is gambling literally every day - in ways that most of us would prolly want him to see court for if we knew the particulars of his day-to-day. Yet his life's gambling here in my field of computer technology provides employment (and for some of us - wealth and financial security in the short/long term) for over 40 of us in this business. Further more, his company is (imo) the best in it's class.. (despite it's pitfalls) our nearest serious competitor isn't even in this state - they're in Sydney (going by the numbers that I have to go by to make that judgement).

working for this company in itself is a gamble on my own part. many in my position choose to go onto other industries or aspects of IT, yet I remain doing what I do for the long term payoff... and yes - that in itself was a gamble. I saw it has a calulated risk, but that's a term that requires some time and experience to fathom. Seeing someones payslip hardly fills in the blanks.

Unfortunately, western civilisation sees the market in which it lives and breathes in just one great big casino.

Gotta be in IT to win it mate ;)

last edited by koopz at 22:43:27 21/Dec/07
dafugg
Idol who the f*** are you to dictate what is and isn't fun.

Here.. go read these reports to see what the treasury funds: http://www.gcbf.qld.gov.au/faqs-publications/publications/quarterly-regional-reports/index.shtml
yeah done mooby. pm when you're back too easy