Topic: Moving to Brisbane
Sparky
Hi guys & gals

I currently live down on the coast and I am looking to move in the New Year to Brisbane. Looking for a job shouldn’t be too hard with my experience however I am not too sure on the location to move too. Brisbane is big and has lots to offer, but I am a little iffy on some areas as I know there are like gangs and s*** in some areas. I just want a nice quite place to live. Also what are the main Computer related company’s that are based in Brisbane?, I am a full time tech at the moment, currently supervising 3 other techs in a tech bay that works on about 25-30 Pcs a week, so I am kinda looking for a company that works around what I do.
Anyways any help would be great.

Thanks
Adam
we spell it without the "e" up here...
PS Toowong area ftw.
^Word
you're going to rely on qgl to find you a place to live and a job...

brave man
new farm ftw.

Hi Adam

I currently live in Coorparoo, it is such an awesome suburb and heaps close to the city. Quite expensive if you want to purchase/rent, but show me somewhere in Brisbane that isn't.

Toowong is also rad, although I have never lived there. The quality of people there are more towards the 'scumbag' side. Half the c***s on this forum live there and would talk it up. It's full to the brim of pretentious wankers.

Haha
Where are you Billy
Last time I checked (about 6 months ago) rental properties were getting kind of expensive and there was a fair bit of competition from other potential tenants.
Years ago, you could sometimes be the only applicant. We went to a rental open house inspection in Red Hill and there were about seven couples, and god knows how many others had looked at it before and after we got there.

So it depends on what you can afford and what's available at the time. It's not usually like you can pick and choose too much apart from a broad range of suburbs eg. inner south etc. Unless you have mad loot and then you might have a better chance of picking a specific suburb.

As for gangs, I am sure they exist but I live on the southside and I haven't come across any trouble in over ten years. Having said that I am sure there are a few "dodgy" areas eg Darra, Inala, Sunnybank and so on. From what I have heard the Gold Coast as a whole is probably a lot worse than 80-90 percent of Brisbane suburbs.
wish people would stop moving to brissy. its overpopulated enough :/
wish away, wishy-boy
What type IT job are you looking for? I got a service desk (level 2/3 support) gig going, PM me if you're interested.
Sparky
Thanks for the replys,

As for reason for moving. umm, rockhampton sucks and its hot as hell.. internet is slow and the best i can get is like 8mb.. also i have some lady friends down there that would make life a little easier.. they all live in new farm and they say its a nice place, but iv been there and im not too sure... but yeah, any help would be great..

Adam
CSIRAC
which suburbs have gangs and stuff? i guess inala/darra is pretty s***
Sparky
Atm im fixing Laptops and PCs, both hardware and software. a lot of it is warranty work for Toshiba and optima. about 10hours of my week goes to help desk calls. other then that i supervise 3 other techs. 2 are techs and the other is a System builder. thats the simple version of what i do..

Adam
avoid anywhere south of the river... all freaks n deviants down there buddy! ;d

if you want gangs you wanna head to wynumm... byo trolley bar.

new farm & the valley if you like your crime visible & out in the open.

if you like to have several derelict cars in your front yard i suggest inala or woodridge as the places to be.

last i heard was salisbury was a suburb, on the grow;

also, im looking for perl programmers
Any
+1 Toowong.

Few IT companies in the suburb also.

avoid anywhere south of the river... all freaks n deviants down there buddy! ;d

HEY! You say deviant like it's a bad thing.

Sowfsyde fo life!
plz fix subject typo as nuking of threads often offends
Some Fat Bastard
The Brisbane River is the defining line between Gay North and Hetero South. So you don't wanna be with all the gay northerners.

Says the man using internet abbreviations like a lol kiddy on msn!

Word of advice, don't date chicks from new farm, they're also pretentious sluts!
I might have a spare room if you're happy to pay top dollar for an apartment (ie around the 200 mark but right in the heart of the city/valley)

The view

http://img136.imageshack.us/img136/2204/viewqd4.jpg
Sparky
Word of advice, don't date chicks from new farm, they're also pretentious sluts!
Casa

ill keep that in mind, lol
Thats gotta be like on top of Tognini's
Milton/Toowong are kinda the tech spots amirite?
coorparoo ftw
hey teq, yor building is full of hookers and trashbags

yor so lucky!
errr spook, you're forgetting the drug dealers
What a s*** view teq, who would want to live in the city.

http://img187.imageshack.us/img187/1571/beachpics003ij2.jpg
its more a point of view shot to give an idea of where the place is, the other view looks over the bridge and towards the river etc
also, I work in milton so living that close to teh city saves me a but load of time
Sparky
Thanks for the offer mate, but im thinking about living alone. getting my own place setup and all.. but ill keep looking anyways. lol..

i think ill move to new farm in any case, the rentals in the that area are based around my price range. i jut hope theres no bums in the area. :P

Adam

wheres that chub? like out in redcliffe or something?
Brisbane has all of two bums, the Sandgate bag lady and the old dude near king George square.
new farm isnt' cheap - you're looking at $320+ for a single bedroom apartment
What about the toowong plastic bag man?

Edit: Also, is new farm really that expensive? Thats insanity! I'm living in North Melbourne down here, a stones throw from the CBD (certainly closer to the CBD than new farm) and paying $260 for a really nice one bedroom apartment. $260 is still on the expensive side, but considering how much I save on travel costs, travel time, and not needing a car, its worth it.

last edited by Khel at 16:00:35 13/Dec/07
Xyzzy
perl programmers

I thought all the real programmers who use to do perl moved onto a language that wasn't write only but did the same job. Python or PHP comes to mind.

Oh and Stinky. But he just likes posting s*** that is incomprehensible. He is such an a******.

yeah well I just moved from teneriffe and they wanted to jack my rent to $320/wk for a 1 bed, 1 bath, 1 car spot in 'The Cannery' so I moved back to my folks, saved some cash and bought my own unit in Cathedral place ^^

If I was to rent it out I can get 450/wk (500~ furnished) for it but I want to live there for a while
don't really care if I don't get a roomie, but an extra $800/month would certainly go along way to helping me cover my booze bill

also, melbourne/south australia rocks for house prices at the moment. both of my brothers that live in melb just bought houses in the 200k range, impossible up here these days unless you're going Caboolture or further
Ziggy got moved on.
Lithium
Rockhampton is too hot... SIF

I really like the Caboolture area of Brisbane. If that is considered part of Brisbane i don't know.
caboolture is caboolture, its a shire outside of brisbane and it's lame
lots of old and poor people
wish away, wishy-boy

I lol'd.

Not too sure about work - but there is a little computer repair place on Elizabeth Street with a f***-off-massive plasma tv in the window. Theyve only been open a few months and may be open to more staff. No idea what theyre called though, something independent.

As for suburbs, heres where you want to be :

SOUTHSIDE
West End
Highgate Hill
Dutton Park
Annerley
Woolloongabba
Yeronga
Fairfield
Kangaroo Point
South Brisbane
East Brisbane
Coorparoo
Bulimba
Hawthorne

NORTHSIDE
Tenneriffe
New Farm
Albion
Indooroopilly
Taringa
Toowong
Bardon
Milton
Auchenflower
St Lucia

TheShineNZ
Hi All, I am also moving to North brisbane ( Morayfield ) and am wondering what connection I need for gaming online for PS3, i am currently in NZ and have full speed here which is pretty slow, i am wondering if 1.5mb down and 256k up is fast enough to not get too much lag?? Can someone help? And also what providers give you the best bang for the buck with a pretty good cap without being tooooo expensive?

Thanks
Scott
NZ
just get adsl2/2+ if you can, you wont get much faster out there
cable would be a better option out that far from brisbane
Sparky
theres a point. what providers are in the area ?, im assuming internode and westnet are available. theres no chance im going bigpond..

any ideas ?

Adam
J
We don't have enough water as it is, stay south fkn!
Stop immigrating north!
=P
No one mentioned paddington :(

I love living in Paddington, close to the city, but just far enough away
paddo & hamilton are pretty expensive, but nice and have regular busses to town.

Definately move to moorayfield though, its like 10x better than cabulture, the place is paradise.
I'm in Taringa which rules. If I was moving I'd probably go to St Lucia (H).
TheShineNZ
Isn't adsl2 much more expensive though? What I'm wanting to know is how much per month it'll cost for a connection fast enough to do online gaming pretty much, but not doesn't cost too much.
Hi Adam

I currently live in Coorparoo, it is such an awesome suburb and heaps close to the city. Quite expensive if you want to purchase/rent, but show me somewhere in Brisbane that isn't.

Casa i never knew that, we should meet up some day for coffee and sushi, there is a mad new one at coorparoo junction. Also ASL.
Sunnybank/Robertson, good public transport (if you can ever say that about brisbane) great takeaways and close to ANZ for QGL LANS .. oh wait!

Laptop technician eh?
Hrmmm

I'll be in touch
if you need public transport live near the busway or a main trainline, because they're they only decent public transport services in bris.

an ex of mine lived in sunnybank hills, it's ok cept garden city is a cesspit and there are azn drivers everywhere.
Sunnybank/Robertson, good public transport (if you can ever say that about brisbane) great takeaways and close to ANZ for QGL LANS .. oh wait!

salisbury!!!

all the awesomeness of sunnybank/robertson, but without the bad drivers!
Hi, Brisbane is FULL - NO VACANCY -

You might want to look elsewhere like some up and coming satellite city. If you move to Brisbane you'll only be adding to the misery of water shortages, traffic congestion and the housing/rental crisis.

Don't be part of the problem be part of the solution, go somewhere else less populated.

p.s no offence intended.
Anybody in Woolloongabba? My new job is there and I'm looking to move close to it as I'm a lazy c***. How much would rent be approximately?
+1 for wynnum
did anyone mention kelvin grove? FOAD if you did.

missus and i lived there for a year, was nice and close to everything, except people parking across our driveway got a bit annoying after a while.

NORTHSIDE
Tenneriffe
New Farm
Albion
Indooroopilly
Taringa
Toowong
Bardon
Milton
Auchenflower
St Lucia

Arana Hills
Ferny Grove
Samford
Bracken Ridge
Strathpine
Ferny Hills

LOL New Farm & Albion, asif.
Arana Hills
Ferny Grove
Samford
Bracken Ridge
Strathpine
Ferny Hills

f*** living in the boonies (and double f*** the northside boonies)

would any of these places have a cab ride home from the valley at less than $100 ?

last edited by Spook at 07:13:46 14/Dec/07
tollazor you must be around my side of town. and yes you can get a cab for under $100 $60-70 which is pretty steep, but I hate clubbing and I don't drink so that's not a problem for me anyway
s for reason for moving. umm, rockhampton sucks and its hot as hell

I was going to say, if you where going ot move to Brisbane because you think stuff happens, you are going to be disappointed. However, if you're coming from Rockhampton, then Brisbane will feel like the centre of the Universe.
Xyzzy
salisbury!!!

all the awesomeness of sunnybank/robertson, but without the bad drivers!

Except on saturday, when all the car nublets come out of the woodwork.

I saw someone without any form of plates on(No Ls or Ps) take about 7 attempts to park something that makes an excel look like a big rig. Rockape could have sat in it and hung an arm outside each window without trouble.
hey guys it's ok, khel moved to melbourne so we have water for at least 10 people

AWWW NAWWW HE DIDNT!
in b4 ban
Sparky
Thanks people for helping out. im going to keep a list of places to live with me when i visit next month..

So a Big thanks again

Adam
Anybody in Woolloongabba? My new job is there and I'm looking to move close to it as I'm a lazy c***. How much would rent be approximately?

I live in Coorparoo (Kirkland Avenue represent), small 2 bedroom unit for $310 a week. The Gabba is pretty damn close.
you know what they say about ocean views: you get over those in the first week.

Norman Park FTW - not as slummy as coorparoo, but just as close + railway line.

last edited by infi at 17:51:50 14/Dec/07
you know what they say about ocean views: you get over those in the first week.
f*** looking at it... I go out swimming and on my surf ski every single morning.

2 weeks till I get my kitesurfer and then I'll be out on that.

Living on the water pwns.
ah, the impetuousness of youth
Living on the water pwns.

Don't you mean living on the water is for prawns?

or blokes posing to be female pretentious sluts!

you say a nice quite place to live.
not sure why people are suggesting that close to the city. there are so many good places in bris. get out of the inner city ring and grab a 4 bedroom highset qld'er for 350k or so.

still takes you 20 mins to the city if you are unfortunate enough to have to work in the cbd.

most of the suggested places (new farm,coorparoo,toowong etc) pricy as f***. good for people going to uni or wanting to hang on to uni life much like the schoolies we like to call toolies.

woodridge and such areas much like the gangs you talk about but jeez mate this is aus. unless you have like looking for trouble or have a smart mouth there are no gangs etc that pose a worry unless you are young or stupid.

there are people who cant let uni life go and need to be near the hub of it all. there are people who like to move out in the middle of nowhere to save 50k in buying a house.

i say go half way and get a good place not too far from everything.

my vote nside - stafford, arana hills. affordable houses. comfortably above sea level. as in nice aspect good soil. 20 mins max from the city. close to stuff but far enough away from it all.
agreed with sleepy, stafford and arana hills are good areas. also chermside can have some good spots, bridgeman downs is really nice but can be pricey northsie ftw
Sparky
lol, thanks Sleepy. lol.. who would have thought that there would be sluts in brisbane.. i thought they would all be catholic girls with morals and high standards.

Adam
most of the suggested places (new farm,coorparoo,toowong etc) pricy as f***. good for people going to uni or wanting to hang on to uni life much like the schoolies we like to call toolies.

i would rather pay an extra $x per week so i didnt have to
-> drive that little bit further to get home
-> pay more to put petrol in ur car because ur traveling more
-> sit that little bit longer, next to a smelly person, on the bus
-> live in alot nicer area with alot friendlier neighbours than in areas that is out further and $50k cheaper

i would much rather live in coorparoo/new farm/toowong than arana hills or chermside imo
i smell a lot of b. hardball / trog hate in this thread

Sparky, check your PM
there are people who cant let uni life go and need to be near the hub of it all. there are people who like to move out in the middle of nowhere to save 50k in buying a house.

lol?

or they like living close to work, shops, entertainment etc.
how is it that someone who works on portables has to ask for work ops?

you guys are worth your weight in gold now :/
not sure why people are suggesting that close to the city. there are so many good places in bris. get out of the inner city ring and grab a 4 bedroom highset qld'er for 350k or so.

insane in the membrane?

you can't get a 2 bedroom dog box for 350k, even in the sticks
haha yes you can in the sticks you could easily get yourself a 5 bedroom really nice house. brand new in a lot of places.
Yeah in Toowoomba
show me 1 that isn't more than 15k's from the city
did say sticks. i live 20 minutes away from city and absolutely love it here. used to work in real estate last year and i know there are plenty of houses on the north side for $350000 can get brand new on southside for that much as well.
well I guess you haven't looked lately, cause I've just finished buying my first place and I couldn't get a two bedroom unit in chermside for $350k
you can't buy a 4 bedroom house in caboolture for 350k..

realestate search in caboolture between 300k and 400k
really depends what you're looking for a guess. coz i've been looking around the last few months or so and found a lot i've been interested in for around the $300 mark. that was southside tho. but i know there's still some bargains out my way. yea, chermside is getting a bit pricier now tho, especially units. those new apartments right next to chermside are really nice tho.
they'd wanna be for $390,000
I looked at those before I ended up settling on the unit I bought in the valley (for 20k less mind you)
390k is starting price in chermside for a new unit, you really do have to go to strathpine area to get something around 350k and even then, it wont be 4 bed (3 maybe), and it wont be 'new'

I live in East Brisbane, backs onto Woolloongabba.

We are in a 3.5 bedroom queenslander off vulture street for $300pw - was $285 when we moved in.

Big yard, storage under house, offstreet parking etc.

We want to move though - tied into the lease until April.
no one is tied into a lease anymore, tell your landlord you wanna move - chances are they've got 10 people on a waiting list to move in at an inflated price
did say sticks. i live 20 minutes away from city and absolutely love it here. used to work in real estate last year and i know there are plenty of houses on the north side for $350000 can get brand new on southside for that much as well.

can you please show me an example of this? seriously.

edit: i'm not trolling i genuinely want to know if i'm doing real estate wrong or you're making s*** up. cause I can't find s*** on the north side for $350k unless it's halfway to the sunshine coast or just plain crap

last edited by taggs at 19:17:42 17/Dec/07
no one is tied into a lease anymore

It's a binding contract... you can't unless you want to break that in which case you will owe money.

plenty of houses on the north side for $350000

Very true. f*** the southside in its stupid ass.
no one is tied into a lease anymore

It's a binding contract... you can't unless you want to break that in which case you will owe money.

uh, i actually meant due to the rental crisis we're having right this very minute, real estate agents are 100% happy to sign a new tenant because they're packed to the rafters with people wanting to pay more and more

no one is tied into a lease anymore, tell your landlord you wanna move - chances are they've got 10 people on a waiting list to move in at an inflated price

Actually..

A rental property cannot increase the rent of a house until the end of the lease. A tenant can break the lease and leave early, they usually have to pay a re-letters fee of 1 week's rent. This is because the lease between the real estate and the owner is still going and they cannot charge the owners another letter's fee until the lease is over.

If a tenant breaks lease and leaves. You find that the property will come onto the market from the date the tenant leaves with the current rent they are paying. They will say the rent is going up after a certain date, the date of the original lease expirary.

We are looking for a place to move to around 1st week of January, so meebee someone is looking to leave on Northside, Strathpine area :D :D
for the love of god, don't take it so literally

scenario #001

1. mr tenant wants to break his lease
2. mr tenant says to landlord, mr landlord i wanna leave so if you have someone else lined up, feel free to start the proceedings
3. mr landlord says he's got someone else that wants to move in but he says they have to pay the re-letters fee
4. mr tenant goes nah dont worry about it (bluff)
5. mr landlord realises he can get an extra $10 or $20 a week with the new tenant so he just says fine, you can go on this date
6. mr tenant moves out on said date and mr landlord tells the new tennants there rent is $oldrent+20 = more money for him
7. all happy

f***, it wasn't that difficult to understand it happens *all* the time

Go f*** a tranny 3 times teq.

6. mr tenant moves out on said date and mr landlord tells the new tennants there rent is $oldrent+20 = more money for him
7. all happy

However it is illegal to do that until the expiry of the lease. So new tenant pays $oldrent until end of old tenants lease, then pays $oldrent+20 after that date.

We've already looked at 3 houses where the rent goes up in roughly 4 months after moving due to tenants leaving early.
wrong, wrong & wrong.
if a tenant moves out and you move a new tenant in, you can tell that tenant to pay whatever the f*** you want.
go and grow 2 testicals Dint

why would I want 4 more testicles than you've got Daniel?
I hate the sticks - Stay within the circle of life, Simba.
http://img410.imageshack.us/img410/213/mapuo0.th.jpg
I think you will find the circle of life is much smaller, something like this

http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/7922/newplacesd7.jpg
Why dont you just put a circle around your bedroom. I'd prefer kangaroo point or somewhere similar as its a bit quieter but still easy access.

last edited by ctd at 21:57:07 17/Dec/07
those circles of life are the circles of every club and pub within walking distance
They aren't circles though!
LINES OF DOOM
I've gotta say, living in Greenslopes is pretty kick ass. 2 blocks away from Stones Corner, night link busses, high frequency busses. It's great.

When I was searching about a month ago, you were looking at $180 plus (starting at 1 room appartments, price going up as you add proximity to city/rooms/facilities etc), city wide. There were a few bargains to be had if you were lucky or willing to risk your health or safety. If you're hoping to live alone, I'd suggest that you be willing to pay up to $250 a week for rent.

I've also been told that the general rule of thumb that agents use is to only allow somebody if their gross income is more than three times the weekly rent. So if you're wanting a $250/wk appartment, you'll want to be making $750+ a week after tax per week.
living in Greenslopes is pretty kick ass f***ing far away from all life forms that are human.

fixed.
taggs - the house I'm living in now is pretty big 4 bedroom and only worth about $330000. i haven't actually had a look at any of these, but just chucked in a few suburbs north and south into realestate.com.au between 250-350 just to see what comes up - so it'll really depend on what you're looking at, sorted by price first, so yes there may be a lot of crap to start with. had been looking at houses a few months ago and found that there was a lot out there that i would have been really interested in (mind you, there were a lot of s***boxes in there too) i love where i'm located because i have absolutely no reason to ever be close to the city, and i don't want to be. i much prefer living in a nice quiet traffic free suburb.

Edit: link didn't work. tried suburbs like stafford chermside everton park eatons hill albany creek kedron bracken ridge goodna annerly stones corner moorooka tarragindi toowong etc

last edited by Minxy at 08:14:57 18/Dec/07

last edited by Minxy at 08:16:21 18/Dec/07

wrong, wrong & wrong.
if a tenant moves out and you move a new tenant in, you can tell that tenant to pay whatever the f*** you want.

OO I'm sorry, I must have misunderstood talking to the RTA. Where are you getting your info from again?
I own a unit and I have the bond/lease forms in front of me?
Sparky
As far as i can tel, Highgate Hill and Newfarm are the best places, rent wise.. they seem to be the cheapest for a studio apartment when it comes to a single bloke.

Adam

blahnana
Yeah Tollaz0r what you're saying doesn't make any sense (as someone who hasn't checked out the specifics but has a very vague understanding of the law).

The lease is an agreement between two people. When the lease is ended a new agreement is reached between a different set of parties. The whole finding of new tenants thing is just to allow the old tenants to break the contract without bigger financial penalties.

The landlord surely can't be under any obligation to rent his place at the current rate to some other party once the first agreement is dissolved.

_However_, if the first tenants wish to break their lease, and they find a candidate that fits all the criteria but they won't pay _more_ than the current price, I think you'll find they're absolved of anything but the fee for re-advertising or whatever. They've then fulfilled their obligation to find someone else suitable; the fact that the landlord rejects them because he wishes to get more would be up to him. Which is what Teq is saying. The landlords have the options at the moment because the rental market is so tight.

last edited by blahnana at 17:31:43 18/Dec/07
Detonator
I hate the sticks - Stay within the circle of life, Simba.

Thanks, youve just circled the entire area i stay away from unless serious life or death situations or going to work. Southside is much easier to actually move from block to block without using 10 litres of petrol and spending 30 minutes doing it.
living in Greenslopes is pretty kick ass f***ing far away from all life forms that are human.

fixed.

Where do you live then, smarty pants? I can walk to the city in under an hour. Maybe you should read a map sometime.
wortho
Hi there everyone, Im another potential resident for brisbane here. Im from perth and just finished uni so i am looking for a little change of scenery and job.
What is the Northgate area like? And what is the average rent for a 1-2 room apartment/unit?
And are there any nice beaches near brisbane - other than the obvious sunshine/gold coast that are both a bit away! Thankyou guys.

Perth doesnt have a circle of life - its more like an area of permanent hibernation and areas you shouldnt visit.
wortho - northgate is kinda s***, big centrelink area
average rent is going to be $200-250 for a 2 bedroom i'd say

no beaches, unless you ask CHUB but he will lie to you
@ ctd: epic place, would totally be down if i wan't a uni poor chump

@ minxy: i put into realestate.com.au $300k-$350k and found nothing but absolute junk for brisbane
taggs, what suburbs you looking for? number of rooms, garage spaces, bathrooms etc? can talk to the boys i used to work with and see what properties they've got going if anything sounds close
minxy you need to just admit defeat
you can't buy a 4 bedroom house in brisbane for 350k, end of story

I paid 370~ for a 2 bedroom unit, if I could have had a 4 bedroom house I would have
I get the keys to my castle tomorrow ahuhuh
as I said previously, that's how much my house is worth. and that's how much the houses i was interested were worth $370 for a unit is pretty steep tho, what suburb is it in? congrats on the plaee anyways

last edited by Minxy at 17:27:39 20/Dec/07
any suburb around the city i guess... toowong, bulimba, hawthorne, coorparoo etc.