CaPt0
Who actually did this last Sunday?
Just interested to see who else rode the 100 km's. We arrived at Southbank Sunday at 5.30am to find about 4000 bikes lines up outside the performing arts complex. Took us 35 minutes to get throug hthe start line and only took 4 hours to get to the gold coast. We only averaged 26km/h which is pretty slow but was still fun. |
| #0 03:36pm 12/10/07 |
yer, me mate operator and his missus did, and met us down the coast for a beery bbq
we were very impressed with them glad they kept the bikes off the highway, coz i would have been well cranky if the bikes had f***ed up my drive to the coast; |
| #1 03:38pm 12/10/07 |
The Melbourne equivalent of this runs next weekend, to coincide with the Herald-Sun tour - "Around the bay in a day" - which has 50, 100, 210 and 250km options.
A mate, who's never ridden more than 60km in one stint before, has entered the 210 (though he's been coming top 3 in C grade crits for the last few weeks, crit racing aint going to help on a 10 hour ride). I'm currently doing 200km a week, and have instead decided I'm doing a club XC round rather than Around the bay :D 100km on closed roads, in a peleton, in 4 hours? Yeah, that is rather slow :/ I'm doing a 27km/h average on the commute to work and have to back off for pedestrians, stop at traffic lights, and get up some pretty nice climbs. It just seems so slow when I consider that mates are doing 35km/h average over 7 hour training rides. |
| #2 03:42pm 12/10/07 |
CaPt0
Next year we intend on aiming to easily break the 30km/h. I reckon i could ahve this year but we took it rather easy just for the relaxing ride more so than a sprint.
Still never realised how easy 100km's was. |
| #3 04:33pm 12/10/07 |
I was going to do it but got put off a bit by other riders that said it was noob(so many slow riders, stops/breaks wtf?), for $50 (or whatever) it didn't seem worth it, I will go next year though.
In other bike news, I finally moved up to C grade crits :D Nundah, Murrarie and Lakeside all average up around 40km/hr. Ended getting 1st in D grade for a month straight so they gave me my last $25 and told me to f***off :) Nobody in D grade gets over 55km/hr in the sprint though, now I'm in C I get absolutely CRUSHED at the end (but do well in the breakaway/surges). |
| #4 06:47pm 12/10/07 |
chub, fizz up first matey, ud smash it, and some records for brisbane to coast times
| #5 06:59pm 12/10/07 |
Twinsen
what teh f*** $50 tooo ride 100km??? what they spend it on PETEROL!!! WHAT!!!
| #6 07:25pm 12/10/07 |
Charity ride.
| #7 07:26pm 12/10/07 |
Dad did it
some of my gfs mates did it yeah, f*** bikes |
| #8 07:34pm 12/10/07 |
your car alone would struggle to make it to the coast
| #9 07:36pm 12/10/07 |
cool. im doing london to brighton next summer : )
| #10 06:42am 13/10/07 |
MrWolf
Don't get me wrong, I'm all for cycling and for charity etc... but rides like this aren't doing anything at all to help the anti-cyclist sentament going around.
I got stuck in a line of traffic waiting for a gap in this wall of cyclists for a good half hour on Sunday. A trip that should have taken me 10mins took me 30mins, and quite frankly it was because a bunch of cyclists that don't pay for the roads (rego) occupied an entire road and didn't have the simple courtesy to slow down before or speed up past intersections. They just dribbled along across the path of cars waiting to turn and infuriated drivers with their inconsideration. I used to ride a lot and I know the danger's and what most drivers think of cyclists, but being a driver at this particular time only made me aware of what a PITA cyclists can be. |
| #11 11:21am 13/10/07 |
Cyclist should NEVER slow a motorist down, ever... if you are, you need an uppercut + get off the road.
If you're a slow turd, get off the road fullstop. If you want to take up an entire lane, do so at 5am in the morning like a normal person... otherwise, ride on the edge of the road at a decent speed and cars can pass as normal. Cars are f***ing idiots though, they need to learn to give way, this morning some chick in one of those Swifts saw me from at least 100m away approach the roundabout, I entered, I had right of way, but she blasted straight through and nearly flattened me.... I NEARLY kicked her mirror off, couldn't click out fast enough :( |
| #12 11:28am 13/10/07 |
Cyclist should NEVER slow a motorist down, ever... if you are, you need an uppercut + get off the road. disagree! i've learnt if i sit to the left, c***s wizz 100kms/hr past you, 2cms away. I now sit right in the middle and they can wait till they over take me. When they do too... they do the massive rev off, then 50m down the road its a red light, i go to the front and hear we are again. wanker drivers. i dont care if you pay rego. have you actually looked at what your paying?! 95% is for 3rd party insurance cause your a muppet and run people over. about $20 out of the $500 goes to traffic improvement. |
| #13 08:05pm 14/10/07 |
get off my road f*****
| #14 08:07pm 14/10/07 |
I NEARLY kicked her mirror off, couldn't click out fast enough :( It's kinda funny how much $ worth of damage road cleats can do to a BMW :) |
| #15 08:11pm 14/10/07 |
your car alone would struggle to make it to the coast where as if your car made it you'd be asked to leave. |
| #16 09:00pm 14/10/07 |
atleast my car runs
| #17 09:07pm 14/10/07 |
but only into poles.
| #18 09:09pm 14/10/07 |
twat
disagree! i've learnt if i sit to the left, c***s wizz 100kms/hr past you, 2cms away. I now sit right in the middle and they can wait till they over take me. Yes, so why dont you sit in the middle at the back of the traffic after everyone overtook you in the first place. No... you decide to overtake on the left hand side (illegal in Australia) and inconvenience everyone AGAIN! Now, do you think your actions contribute to road rage or not? If there were less bicycle Muppets on the road, there would be a shift in the % of our rego going less to insurance and more to road improvements. Which is much needed in brisbane. |
| #19 09:52pm 14/10/07 |
Raisty
Im assuming your meaning
(1) A driver (except the rider of a bicycle) must not overtake a vehicle to the left of the vehicle As can be seen bicycle riders having an exception to the no overtaking to the left rule Although there is the exception to the exception (2) The rider of a bicycle must not ride past, or overtake, to the Link for the legislation http://www.legislation.qld.gov.au/LEGISLTN/CURRENT/T/TrantOpRURR99.pdf Enjoy :) |
| #20 11:36pm 14/10/07 |
cyclists that inconvenience cars are complete f***wits. I spent a bit of time with road bikes and f***ed that s*** off because even if you are a reasonable rider, you cant maintain the speed limit and therefor it is impossible not to get in the way. Sure, in a 40 zone you can keep up with cars but what good is that s*** for riding... 60 zones you are being an entitled f***ing c*** and you cant argue that you have a right to the road in that regard, even if the law says you can be there, you are still being an inconsiderate prick. Its getting a lot better of course, decent bike paths over long distances and some crit type tracks popping up make it way easier. Its still boring as bats*** of course.
Mountain biking is where its at. The trails out at gap creek are f***ing good, being upgraded all the time now and cover some pretty good distances. Plus, its way more fun and far less homosexual than road riding. last edited by qmass at 23:59:32 14/Oct/07 |
| #21 11:59pm 14/10/07 |
I don't see why people get angry with riders that are on the edge of the road though.
I ride on the edge of the T2 along Anzac Av most days @ 40km/hr and the speed limit is 80km/hr, nobody has a problem passing by... yet people still seem to complain for the sake of it. To be honest, I've never had one problem riding on straight roads, but every single intersection/roundabout/corner cars just don't give way. |
| #22 07:22am 15/10/07 |
I now sit right in the middle and they can wait till they over take me. Do you drive? If so does it annoy you when cyclists do it to you? How about some old clown in a car doing 40 in an 80 zone? |
| #23 10:24am 15/10/07 |
Raisty
I'ts rather unpleasent being clipped by a side mirror as some d******* passes you too close, when your doing the right thing and staying to the side.
So much so that I now refuse to ride on the side coming through the CBD and stick to the middle of the lane. Sure its probably annoying from the driver, but I assure you getting clipped is alot more than annoying for the rider.... |
| #24 10:48am 15/10/07 |
Around Melbourne we have bike lanes down most of the main road, but seriously they're just as dangerous as anywhere else. All it takes is for one d******* to not look when opening a car door (as they do), and you're either going straight over, or have to swerve and hope there's no car to the right of you.
Hence, I tend to ride to the far right of the bike lane. |
| #25 11:33am 15/10/07 |
MrWolf
Why, if cyclists have a cycling lane, do hey insist on riding right on the freakin line? You've got a full 1.2-1.5m to work with, so if you ride the line I don't see why you'd be surprised that you get clipped.
I'm not gonna clip anyone simply because the damage to my car isn't worth the drama's, but ever since some knob punched in a panel @ West End I do carry a UBI stick in case of emergencies. :) |
| #26 12:54pm 15/10/07 |
I don't really mind people on the bikes, only time it annoys me is when they ride next to each other or on a road that has no shoulder and is like that for 5k's.
| #27 01:17pm 15/10/07 |
but only into poles. only sideways |
| #28 01:20pm 15/10/07 |
Why, if cyclists have a cycling lane, do hey insist on riding right on the freakin line? You've got a full 1.2-1.5m to work with, so if you ride the line I don't see why you'd be surprised that you get clipped. I just explained that. You're riding along at 35-40km/h, with a line of parked cars. All while trying to look for that ONE car in the bunch with a driver in it, about to open their door without looking. All that while having to worry about the cars on the right who decide to drive too close, and maybe even passing other cyclists (including them overtaking you). Not to mention traffic lights and potholes (which you on cars can just drive over, whereas for us they send us over the handlebars into the oncoming traffic), maybe even pedestrians deciding to nick out without looking to get to their cars... Riding a bike is easy. Keeping yourself alive is the hard part, and only through fault of cars and d******* drivers. |
| #29 01:41pm 15/10/07 |
some pushy riders are just freakin weird i tells ya. there is a newish road that i use to go to work & back on everyday (linkfield road) & the council have made this awesome bike path that is about 3meters wide, smooth concrete, protected from the road with a big metal fence & runs nearly the full length of the road... but at least 80% of the pushy riders i see prefer to ride on the road. i just don't get it.
i'm not complaining coz there is still more than enough room on the road for a truck & a pushy to be going in the same direction safely. but if it was me, i'd use the path! |
| #30 01:48pm 15/10/07 |
There's usually 2 types of riders.
The slow social type and the people that race (or at least take it seriously). It's impossible to ride on any type of bike path with the noobs, your chances of bailing are even higher then riding on the road. They're going less then 20km/hr, you're going 40km/hr... you come up to pass them "riders on the left/right", they turn to look around and start swerving across the bikepath and you're f***ed. They also don't ride single file and draft, so you get 2 turds side by side and your 3m path is now a deathtrap. |
| #31 01:55pm 15/10/07 |
There's 2 types of riders - Those who stick to the path and stay off the road. - a******s who pretend they own a motor car |
| #32 02:58pm 15/10/07 |
l2drivenoob
| #33 03:09pm 15/10/07 |
protected from the road with a big metal fence & runs nearly the full length of the road... but at least 80% of the pushy riders i see prefer to ride on the road. i just don't get it. Metal fence, there's your answer. No runoff or room for error (usually the fault of someone else). The road is, hence, safer. At least on the road there's room to move left and right. There's a track like this that runs suspended underneat the Monash Freeway here, which has guard rail on both sides - all it takes is for one noob to be too far in the center and you've got to swerve into a rail to miss said clown. |
| #34 03:21pm 15/10/07 |
Plus point me to a biketrack that is 60 - 80km long.
| #35 03:24pm 15/10/07 |
CHUB, Belgrave to work for me would be 49km, return that's 100km.
Home to work is 37km :P |
| #36 05:30pm 15/10/07 |
Well fair enough, provided there's NO recreational cyclists or walkers and the path is smooth (not those lame ones with lines).
I'm going to start riding Mt Mee with my friend. Only took him 6 months of riding to move from E grade to winning A grade criterium and all he ever did was Mt Mee and the Aspley Zupps ride (I went out the other day, got dropped off, they were averaging ~50km/hr). |
| #37 05:39pm 15/10/07 |
twat
Fair call Raisty, didnt realise that little exception, of course not sure if it was in there 12 years ago...
mental note: write to minister of transport and get the law amended, not cos I care for the law to be changed, but it will validate my argument! |
| #38 06:38pm 15/10/07 |
| #38 |