Virgil83
Hi guys,
Got sent this from a mate who is part of a group that photograph police and emergency service vehicles for a hobby (hmm.. sounds like fun... not!) and was wondering if anyone else had seen it? If not, what do you think? I think its very resembalant of the police car decals in the UK, but thats just me. http://www.oxleycomputerservices.com.au/photos/newpolice.jpg |
| #0 10:25am 24/07/06 |
I reckon it looks awesome, except for the Serving The Community bit.
| #1 10:36am 24/07/06 |
this is the special lebhunter edition:
http://www.subaruwrx.com/Images/wrxcop01.jpg also, this is the melb one, the bris ones are red: http://ultimategto.com/2004/02_00123_1.jpg |
| #2 10:42am 24/07/06 |
Sexy police car |
| #3 10:43am 24/07/06 |
yes, that would be a brand new cop car, the plates (JKF) mean that the car has only been registered in the past 3 weeks (my new car is JKG). I'll have to post my new car soon.
| #4 10:50am 24/07/06 |
| #5 11:04am 24/07/06 |
Virgil83
Strex, that first one looks so photoshopped LOL.
I also heard a rumour from another source that the red pursuit cars are being retired? Apparently they can't keep up the high speeds for extended periods and are having trouble catching people in WRX's flying along the Bruce highway etc. Be interesting if its true, what's next... QLD police WRX's? hehehe |
| #6 11:10am 24/07/06 |
| #7 11:16am 24/07/06 |
The new roadside camera patrols are silver - they seem so much harder to see - almost got caught out a couple of time over the weekend :S
| #8 11:20am 24/07/06 |
Pingu
"Serving the Community" How gay~ must be the new domestic disturbance line.
| #9 11:43am 24/07/06 |
nar i've seen that wrx cop car somewhere.. different pics of it.. I think it's in NSW somewhere. 350z cop car ftw :)
| #10 11:51am 24/07/06 |
http://maxe.ausgamers.com/images/j_police1.jpg
http://maxe.ausgamers.com/images/j_police2.jpg http://maxe.ausgamers.com/images/j_police3.jpg http://maxe.ausgamers.com/images/j_police4.jpg http://maxe.ausgamers.com/images/j_police5.jpg http://maxe.ausgamers.com/images/j_police6.jpg http://maxe.ausgamers.com/images/j_police7.jpg |
| #11 11:52am 24/07/06 |
| #12 11:53am 24/07/06 |
http://www.boostcruising.com/forums/index.php?act=Attach&type=post&id=180194
http://www.boostcruising.com/forums/index.php?act=Attach&type=post&id=180203 http://www.boostcruising.com/forums/index.php?act=Attach&type=post&id=180210 http://www.boostcruising.com/forums/index.php?act=Attach&type=post&id=180209 http://www.boostcruising.com/forums/index.php?act=Attach&type=post&id=180208 http://www.boostcruising.com/forums/index.php?act=Attach&type=post&id=180205 http://www.photodump.com/direct/james_1986/qld_lockie_magna1.jpg http://www.boostcruising.com/forums/index.php?act=Attach&type=post&id=180228 http://www.boostcruising.com/forums/index.php?act=Attach&type=post&id=180227 http://www.boostcruising.com/forums/index.php?act=Attach&type=post&id=180636 |
| #13 12:02pm 24/07/06 |
I also heard a rumour from another source that the red pursuit cars are being retired? HAHAHAHA. Yeah right. Like a 160kw WRX could outrun, on a highway, a 285kw Chev engined V8 Monaro. I don't think so. FLAME AWAY f***ERS! |
| #14 12:04pm 24/07/06 |
lol r34 GTR cop car, game over
| #15 12:04pm 24/07/06 |
Yeah I agree captivate... white 4wds were never a problem for me, in my 2.5 years of driving never came close. Though in the last few months of the silver/grey 4wds, there has been too many close calls.
Good move on there part. |
| #16 12:14pm 24/07/06 |
HAHAHAHA. Yeah right. Like a 160kw WRX could outrun, on a highway, a 285kw Chev engined V8 Monaro. I don't think so. FLAME AWAY f***ERS! if there were any corners to be negotiated, id take the wrx also, i seen a red ba pursuit car yesterday if its turbo ba, the cops mite be cookin last edited by Spook at 12:23:31 24/Jul/06 |
| #17 12:23pm 24/07/06 |
wallacedom
The red Monaro's in QLD were retired because the Monaro is no longer being produced by Holden. Now they are Red BA Falcon's (XR's, haven't had a good enough look to see if the are 6's, 6T's or 8's).
| #18 12:33pm 24/07/06 |
the cops have a few xr6t cars around, theres the unmarked one down at surfers with the numberplate HEAT
e: HEAT6 or something i think it is last edited by d[o_0]b at 12:37:25 24/Jul/06 |
| #19 12:37pm 24/07/06 |
HAHAHAHA. Yeah right. Like a 160kw WRX could outrun, on a highway, a 285kw Chev engined V8 Monaro. I don't think so. yeah cos every WRX on the planet is stock That said those Monaros are pretty f***ing quick, but the bad guys dont play by the same rules as the cops so theyre always at a disadvantage |
| #20 12:38pm 24/07/06 |
on a completely unrelated note: hay maxe do you remember getting beeped at by some dirty looking focker in a black astra on the icb on sunday morning. hai! (it had better have been you I saw the s1 sticker)
| #21 12:42pm 24/07/06 |
maxe, I strongly doubt that every wrx on the planet is stock
| #22 12:42pm 24/07/06 |
| #23 12:44pm 24/07/06 |
Someone enlighten me as to what that plastic s*** is on the bonnet?
| #24 12:51pm 24/07/06 |
u mean the air intake?
its directly over the intercooler |
| #25 12:54pm 24/07/06 |
no i think he's talking about on the front of all the Jap police cars
that is a good question. |
| #26 01:08pm 24/07/06 |
oh right, it stops water flicking onto the windscreen from cars infront. usefull in persuits
| #27 01:11pm 24/07/06 |
eP
I also heard a rumour from another source that the red pursuit cars are being retired? Actually all Police Traffic cars are being sprayed with the red paint job from now on... whether they are the SS, Magnas or whatever else they use. Yes the Monaros are already phased out, there is only one left and it is soon going into the Police Museum. 6L V8 Clubsports are the next police highway patrol vehicles. <-- thats a fullstop. |
| #28 01:15pm 24/07/06 |
Someone enlighten me as to what that plastic s*** is on the bonnet? Apparently its an air-diffusor. At highspeed the air-drag across the roof of the car f***s with the sirens or something, so the put the reflector thing across the bonnet so the air goes up and over the roofline At least thats what parag0ns mate in Japan said also yeah taggs i saw ya ;) |
| #29 01:17pm 24/07/06 |
oh right, it stops water flicking onto the windscreen from cars infront. usefull in persuitsBut that's why cars come stock with wipers...? edit: ^right that makes more sense^ last edited by Booyah at 13:21:23 24/Jul/06 |
| #30 01:21pm 24/07/06 |
Apparently its an air-diffusor. At highspeed the air-drag across the roof of the car f***s with the sirens or something, so the put the reflector thing across the bonnet so the air goes up and over the roofline Sounds like they're running fuel savers to me. |
| #31 02:48pm 24/07/06 |
Pingu
Those japanese police cars are pretty rare over there. All I saw when I was there for a year were tiny little hatchback things for police cars. Please excuse my ignorance but in Tokyo drift that guy reckons if you do over stock max speed the cops won't bother chasing you? Anyone know if this statement is more horse in a bs movie or if there is truth to that?
| #32 03:58pm 24/07/06 |
It is bulls***. Police chases get called off for many different reasons not just speed. There are many variables like traffic conditions, road conditions, speed in relation to the speed limit in the area, if it is a built up area or not…heaps of s***.
| #33 04:04pm 24/07/06 |
Please excuse my ignorance but in Tokyo drift that guy reckons if you do over stock max speed the cops won't bother chasing you? Anyone know if this statement is more horse in a bs movie or if there is truth to that? All ive got to go on is watching Japan street-racing/general automotive DVDs, and the general consensus seems to be that the big boys (major tuning workshops an s***) are playing with so much horsepower that theres no reason to be caught if they dont want to be. But thats coming from a very small percentage of the population who basically run the highway like a gumball every saturday night. Ive heard from the Australians living over there that the cops are pretty lax on things like drifting etc, just breaking up the groups and telling them to move on rather than the defect/confiscation kinda thing that happens here. |
| #34 04:18pm 24/07/06 |
Tokoyo Drift, lol.
| #35 05:21pm 24/07/06 |
| #36 05:50pm 24/07/06 |
I think Turkey need to upgrade their fleet.
| #37 07:35pm 24/07/06 |
| #38 07:47pm 24/07/06 |
| #39 08:02pm 24/07/06 |
TufNuT
hahahhaaha bike cops hahahahahaha
| #40 08:21pm 24/07/06 |
A cop in persuit is like: "stop!! or i'll have to peddle harder!"
| #41 08:25pm 24/07/06 |
| #42 08:37pm 24/07/06 |
TufNuT
^^LOL
| #43 08:40pm 24/07/06 |
| #44 09:29pm 24/07/06 |
Why don't cop cars ever have hub caps?
Do they opt not to buy them to save a few bucks? |
| #45 09:32pm 24/07/06 |
Tyrone
Because youths back in the days used to put off prawns under the hubcaps which would heat up while the cops would drive making a pretty bad smell.
| #46 10:02pm 24/07/06 |
they'd fall off more like
| #47 10:29pm 24/07/06 |
^^
I've seen many a holden hubcap sitting on the side of the road. Our gemini hubcaps used to spin around when you put the brakes on and cut the tyre valve stem in half, letting down the tyre so we used to take them off & leave them off. |
| #48 11:06pm 24/07/06 |
Pingu
Im pretty sure I've seen bike cops in Melbourne city. I laughed 'cos they were wearing spandex too.
| #49 11:07pm 24/07/06 |
They don't have hubcaps cos they're pursuit rims, not the standard rims ffs... |
| #50 11:23pm 24/07/06 |
Why don't cop cars ever have hub caps? Most fleet cars don't run the wheel covers, but if you see the cop commodore there, it does actually have hub caps (caps to cover the hubs). Why don't they run wheel covers? They'd be smashed/lost/stolen in 5 minutes on a fleet car. On the cabs we take the wheel covers off, chuck them in the shed, spray the wheels with $2 silver spraypaint and put the wheel covers back on when the car is finished its life as a cab. |
| #51 09:03am 25/07/06 |
| #51 |