PRO--GEM
Hi there
whilst attending a work training nite in the city, i parked on turbot street in the valley, right next to the sign were it clearly said it was cool to park there at this time. Which was like 6:15 pm. I got back 2 or so hrs later and i have a $120 fine. With my offence being described as "Offence: Contrary to official traffic sign clearway between times." I have to other witnesses who can say wat the sign stated. But does any one have any ideas to wat my offence was?? Thx peace out |
| #0 10:36pm 19/04/06 |
you might've been there at the wrong time, some areas are signed as ok to park in at certain times of the day, and not others. I'd check the sign again, and if you seriously reckon that you're in the right you should be able to challenge it
| #1 10:43pm 19/04/06 |
Boofe
Parking between certain times, i.e. 2P 9am-5pm mon-fri. Else clearway all other times? Thats all i can think you got booked for.
If you got booked for parking in a clearway im suprised they didn't tow you! |
| #2 10:44pm 19/04/06 |
$120 is pretty hefty for a parking fine, my last one was like $50 that I can remember.
| #3 10:47pm 19/04/06 |
PRO--GEM
boofe, u may possibly be right. lol my freinds said it was cool to park there, i wanted to park at the myer center. My mate said he will pay for it if he is wrong. if he is i wont make him pay all of it lol.
| #4 10:51pm 19/04/06 |
Isnt the entire city 2 hour max?
Or is that only certain times? |
| #5 10:51pm 19/04/06 |
Take a Photo.
Take it to Court. |
| #6 10:52pm 19/04/06 |
PRO--GEM
i dont see wat its a clear way for, its the street that woolies is on in the vally, theres no drive ways or any kind of s***
| #7 10:54pm 19/04/06 |
Reason: Inappropriate |
#8 11:25pm 19/04/06
parking are generall 60~65... not that mcuh. we're you blocking a clearway/drive way or fire hydrannt perhaps?
i think the valley is only 2hrs max mon-fri 7-7 i could be wrong. |
| #9 03:12am 20/04/06 |
prol a clearway.. u lucky u didnt get towed
| #10 03:39pm 20/04/06 |
and a clear way means no street parking during peak times so they can move more traffic through.. usually if cars are parked in a clearway they tow them.. and theres usually towtrucks waiting to tow them as soon as the clearway comes into effect
i remember being parked in the city and it was only 10 mins after the clearway time.. and there was 4 towtrucks towing cars.. they got to my bike just as i got back and were glad i came back cause they didnt want to lift it onto there truck :) i still got the ticket though also most inner city streets are clearways between 5-7pm |
| #11 03:44pm 20/04/06 |
PRO--GEM
i see how they are beeing bastards there.
| #12 05:28pm 20/04/06 |
nah iv been done for a couple of 120 clearway gaybars back when i was courier driving. it sux. when they cant get to your car to put it on your windscreen they mail it and it arrives a couple of weeks later when you think youv got away with it
| #13 05:46pm 20/04/06 |
From memory, the clearways on Turbot Street (yeah the street where whoolies is) is a clearway between 4pm-6 mon-fri and sometimes on weekends? (I don't know what the times are in the morning). Even though there is bay parking there it's still a clearway between those times.
My Dad works on the street (across from whoolies) and he has related stories to are that are exactly as Superform says - tow trucks lying in neighbouring streets before 4pm to tow people away if they don't make it back to their cars. So you're lucky you didn't get towed. Maybe that's why they gave you such a heafty fine. |
| #14 05:50pm 20/04/06 |
PRO--GEM
yer i agree, if they towed it i woulda been f***ed, my mum needed the car at 10 to 10 so im glad i got the fine, plus my 2 mates said the will split the fine with me, as they said it was cool to park there.
| #15 06:39pm 20/04/06 |
I've had so many parking tickets... it's better than getting towed.
| #16 06:55pm 20/04/06 |
You dont even sound old enough to be driving ?
| #17 03:06pm 21/04/06 |
i got a parking ticket today. only 35 bux though.
| #18 05:21pm 21/04/06 |
| #18 |