Hiya's I'm looking to do a sport that isnt a Team thing. One vs One stuff, anyone got any suggestions?
Not running, cycling or anything like that. Karate or similar is all I can think of. :/ |
| #0 09:57pm 24/01/06 |
Tennis/squash?
| #1 09:59pm 24/01/06 |
épic™
tennis
| #2 09:59pm 24/01/06 |
Sweet, didnt even think of anything like that, cheers.
How much does something like tennis cost to start up, buying the crapiest equipment? |
| #3 10:00pm 24/01/06 |
Not sure on racquet prices but you could get something you could hit with for no more than $50, I'm sure. As always, the better gear is really expensive. You'll also need tennis balls, but they ain't too bad.
If you haven't played much tennis its cool to find a wall somewhere and have a hit against it just to get your eye in and some of the basic motor skills up to speed before playing against someone real! Heaps of places rent courts - I played @ UQ a couple months back, I think it was like $10 / hour for students? |
| #4 10:04pm 24/01/06 |
table tennis is insane fast tooo ( Brisbane table tennis centre @ windsor). |
| #5 10:07pm 24/01/06 |
squash is a lot more satifying and a better work out then tennis
id give it a go i love my squash |
| #6 10:09pm 24/01/06 |
Golf...
| #7 10:24pm 24/01/06 |
Golf is too slow for me, thanks tho.
Might have a look at squash, even tho the eye-socket size squash ball scares me a little. |
| #8 10:27pm 24/01/06 |
Golf!
Get a cart so you dont need to do anything physical.. Get a girlie to deliver beer topless so you dont need to drive the cart back to the club house.. Once you have the above, you don't even need to know how to play. But in all seriousness, golf is a great game to play solo. You can go for a few hits at the driving ranges around Brisbane after work for practice and then play a 9-hole or 18-hole course by yourself when your upto scratch. |
| #9 10:29pm 24/01/06 |
Full contact chess
| #10 10:31pm 24/01/06 |
Squash ftw. $100 max! for a cheap raquet and some glasses. Any shoes that don't mark the floors and grip are fine. Its a great game, good for taking out aggression and its a great work out.
| #11 10:34pm 24/01/06 |
Might have a look at squash, even tho the eye-socket size squash ball scares me a little. Yeah my mum got nailed in the eye years ago by a squash ball. Ended up in hospital with patches and s*** for ages. In saying that a mate of mine also got hit in the eye while playing tennis and nearly lost sight in that eye. Both good games though. |
| #12 10:34pm 24/01/06 |
Hey Brendan!
Jess and I are taking tennis lessons, me cause I havn't played in 9 years and Jess cause she wants to learn to play it. We pay $30 for a half hour lesson between us, she paid about $70 for her racket and its ok, super Amart have sales quite frequently on tennis rackets. Aside from that, $10 for a can of tennis balls and you're set to play. |
| #13 10:42pm 24/01/06 |
boxing
| #14 11:11pm 24/01/06 |
Hiya Brettslaw!
Yer, I'd need a few lessons on the basic hitting. Then a few hours in front of a wall. Then when I get all the power and money, I can get the woman.. $10 for a can of whoopass! |
| #15 11:23pm 24/01/06 |
Gol
Bodybuilding
Skiing and other snow sports Shooting Archery Horse Riding (This is the one for you) |
| #16 11:30pm 24/01/06 |
Morgan
Boxing requires a decent amount of time and effort to be good at it. you really have to spend time at the gym n eating right. then you have chicken legs n a big upper body.
For the average person i'd say BJJ, its competitive, no one gets hurt. its HEAPS of fun rolling with people. you become proficient pretty quickly n the friends you make. you dont have to be massive to do it or spends heaps at the gym.. look at royce gracie. practical 1 v 1 too. if you really wanna get in too fighting id say mma. |
| #17 11:35pm 24/01/06 |
wtf is bjj and mma?
| #18 11:39pm 24/01/06 |
mixed martial arts and brazilian ju-jitsu...
Basically no holds barred fighting techniques specialising in hard striking, ground wrestling and submission wrestling |
| #19 11:49pm 24/01/06 |
by woman i hope u mean mail order russian tennis player brides!
I'll be investing in a couple of those myself, nice way to jump start a harem. |
| #20 12:23am 25/01/06 |
play a MMORPG such as WoW. you will meet heaps of new people and may even find your life parter and get married...
Disclaimer: Any people you meet are most likely fat, balding and over 40.... or Korean. |
| #21 12:27am 25/01/06 |
who wants to meet people, bah!
Also, fade, is there any other kind? :D |
| #22 12:37am 25/01/06 |
Boxing, kickboxing
rock climbing (be it technical or speed) not quite a one v one thing, but it's still a solo sport/art: flatland bmx |
| #23 12:47am 25/01/06 |
Archery is fun, my old place had a HUGE back yard, just grabbed a few bales of hay and attached some targets to it. Might have to dig out my bow and look for a place to start it up again.
| #24 12:53am 25/01/06 |
Weights! Great way to stay fit and you get to look hot at the same time. |
| #25 08:29am 25/01/06 |
Parkour / Freerunning? There's a few people on this board that regularly do it.
| #26 08:48am 25/01/06 |
Come and do submission wrestling with me, its fun and it hurts. BJJ is cool, its fun twisting someones limb and hearing them scream. Boxing is great, but kick boxing/thai boxing is better.
| #27 10:14am 25/01/06 |
Morgan
Hey Dirty, where do you train at?
| #28 11:11am 25/01/06 |
Off the top of my head individual sports include...
Tennis Squash Badmitin (spelling) Golf (is it really a sport ?) Any martial art (including boxing/fencing) Swimming Diving Scuba (its kind of a sport) Rock climbing Sperlunking Sky diving Table Tennis Lawn Bowls (hey its fun) gymnastics cycling most track/field events surfing sailboarding kite boarding skiing snow boarding skating ice skating rowing (kayak and single sculls) fishing (they do have comps and stuff) orienteering rogaining go karting racing (cars/bikes/4wds/trucks) |
| #29 11:20am 25/01/06 |
I train at South Brisbane on Monday and Wednesday nights from 7-9:30. Great class, it is not an easy class thats for sure. We start of with grappling than we do wrestling followed by kickboxing/boxing and than we finish off with some sparring. If you are keen it costs $55 a month, for 2 lessons a week.
| #30 11:28am 25/01/06 |
FOUR WHEEL DRIVING!!!
| #31 11:31am 25/01/06 |
Golf (is it really a sport ?) Same could be said about racing and go karting. |
| #32 11:52am 25/01/06 |
Racing (in any form) is a lot more physically demanding than golf.
| #33 12:34pm 25/01/06 |
What is not demanding about driving in a cart, drinking piss and smoking. I would really like to know?
| #34 12:38pm 25/01/06 |
My father races Super karts and on many a time ive gone out to Queensland Raceway to help out and i can tell you quite a number of drivers arnt what you would call fit. I agree that the heat takes alot out of you, but all your doing is sitting in the one spot. Golf on the other hand requires more physical excursion, your actually using muscles in you arm and upper body.
| #35 01:00pm 25/01/06 |
Even after just racing s***ty standard karts anyone can drive at kingston park or wherever, I always find I'm buggered at the end of the day and find muscles in both arms and legs aching. There's a lot of physical and mental endurance. I've played 18 holes of golf and I reckon going racing is more physically exhausting.
| #36 02:41pm 25/01/06 |
Weights! But these f***en suck to do! Such a grind |
| #37 03:14pm 25/01/06 |
Tennis Agreed. Badmitin (spelling) Do NOT recommend. Stupid shuttle cock *#%$%. Golf (is it really a sport ?) Agree that it is a sport. Never played it though. Any martial art (including boxing/fencing) Yes! Swimming My sport of choice, kthxbi :). Diving Would be fun. Prob a little pricey though. Rock climbing Yes! Soooooo much fun. Can go to indoor rock climbing places too. Also good for building upper strength. Sperlunking What's that??? Sky diving Sounds like fun but not really a "regular" kind of sport u could participate in (practicalities, costs, etc). Depends though - are u looking more for a hobby (for fun?) or a fitness type of sport (for health, whatnot)? Also, whilst you're mentioning it, parachuting or hangliding could be an option too. Table Tennis Ya, ok. Lawn Bowls (hey its fun) Zomg! NO!!! Ever wonder *WHY* old ppl go crazy?!?!?!!! gymnastics Yeah, gymnastics is good. I think you've got to be below a certain height though. Also, if ur short, u could also be a jockey. cycling YES!! Good exercise plus wind through ur hair - nice in summer down by the water. most track/field events Yeah. My advice - learn to breathe properly though (bad experience). surfing Haha, yeah - would be fun! Bodyboarding too is good I've heard. kite boarding Is that the same thing as sailboarding? Or similar? (not sure). skiing In Brisbane? Would be fun though. skating Yes!!! Ice-skating ftw!!! rowing (kayak and single sculls) Haha - I don't ever usually choose to go kayaking but always had interesting experiences on school camps and whatnot, lol. Was fun though. Cost may be an issue though. fishing (they do have comps and stuff) Never been fishing but I think that would be fun. But then, I like pretty much all water activities :). Plus, if u get good at it - there's dinner (win-win)! orienteering Hmmm. Maybe. rogaining What's that? go karting Yes!! I've been told it's sooooo much fun. I'm going to have to do it one day. racing (cars/bikes/4wds/trucks) Meh. Could be fun. Must be a guy thing?? Overall, I suppose ur going to have to think about practicalities (costs of equipment, getting to place to do the sport, etc) and whether or not u want to do a sport for fitness, health, just for fun, or all of the above. Overall, I think that they were pretty good suggestions though. /My two cents. |
| #38 03:41pm 25/01/06 |
u care, u really care
| #39 04:09pm 25/01/06 |
Haha.
Yeah...I'm also bored...very very bored. (Pay day isn't until 2moro). |
| #40 04:10pm 25/01/06 |
Your 2 cents is worthless...
| #41 04:15pm 25/01/06 |
if YOU say so r_mazing...
ur entitled to ur *opinion* though. |
| #42 04:19pm 25/01/06 |
knobbing is a sport surely
| #43 05:09pm 25/01/06 |
martials arts ftw. used to do wing chun kung fu and a bit of bjj it was awesome. alas can't do it anymore as i work nights and the school i trained at moved from the city to browns plains.. where the f*** is browns plains?
| #44 05:13pm 25/01/06 |
About 35 minutes from the city, southside, past sunnybank.
And sif "weights" is a sport. last edited by Bah at 17:17:05 25/Jan/06 |
| #45 05:17pm 25/01/06 |
Spelunking - One who explores caves chiefly as a hobby; a caver
| #46 06:23pm 25/01/06 |
Lunch
Badmitin (spelling) I Love badminton, I play it far too much :) and am heading down to melbourne to watch it for the commonwealth games. played at a decent level though, its really hard and you need insane reflexes :) for an example the highest shuttle speed for badminton is 332km's an hour compared to Andy Riddicks fastest serve at 246 k's. I think its sorta like squash where it's understated the amount of skill/endurance needed. |
| #47 06:31pm 25/01/06 |
Yes squash is a potential hazard for the eyes - if you are concerned about this there is a broad range of eyewear available. Most adult players don't use them, most children players do because of comp rules.
If your technique is proper (you face the front wall at all times) the chance of being hit in the eye fast enough to get hurt is extremely low. I'm a cautious player and even I got one of my front teeth smashed in half when the other dude decided to suddenly change his mind mid-stroke about where he wanted to swing his racquet. But, s*** happens in any game. |
| #48 07:09pm 25/01/06 |
Rollerblading?
| #49 07:48pm 25/01/06 |
Your 2 cents is worthless... Her two cents is rounded down to the nearest dollar, zero. |
| #50 09:45am 26/01/06 |
| #50 |