As you can see i'm having trouble with my pc I'll give you a quick run down of what happened. I was playing cs when my pc's screen flickered and went blank (I don't think it was a power outage as none of my other things TV,video,lights ect flickered at all) The next thing some writing came up on my screen with some details of my video card while the rest of my screen was still blank. I couldn't do anything so after awhile I just turned my pc off at the wall.I then tried to restart but now my monitor isn't turning on the pc sounds like it's starting but like I said I get no light on my monitor and obviously no power. If anyone can help me out I would be forever in your debt. thanx. P.S.the only reason I have been able to post this message is because I'm at a mates place using hisa pc. |
| #0 09:14pm 26/11/00 |
PornoPete
you could try taking your dick out of the moniter jack :) |
| #1 09:22pm 26/11/00 |
munchie
the only times i've had that happen (the sounding like it's starting but not) is when my ram wasn't working/sitting right, or when my motherboard wasn't sitting right... oh, and when i fried my cpu...that just gave me an on light though, no sounds... |
| #2 09:27pm 26/11/00 |
Psco
have you tried only using the monotor by its self just to c if it power or computer have u tried using differnt cords 4 it what kinda power does it get, as in does it go throught your pc or through a seperate power? |
| #3 09:27pm 26/11/00 |
Harsh porno :p Raider. |
| #4 09:41pm 26/11/00 |
PornoPete
pfft you wanna see harsh taipan is a big boy i think he can handle it btw taipan there is a good chance that munchie is right |
| #5 10:40pm 26/11/00 |
Thanx guy's I'll look into all of your advice particularly your's PornoPete as my cock is so big that it often gets in the way.It just leaps out of my pants while i'm watching porn. So PornoPete how did you know thats what my problem might be?????? have you been watching me you dirty dirty little man.:-) If you guy's can think of anything else please let me know. thanx |
| #6 08:34am 27/11/00 |
Could be a problem with your video card. A similar thing happened to my parent's PC and it looks as though the G400's bios s*** itself. So that'd be my suggestion - replace your video card with preferably a PCI card (in case it may be your AGP port) and see what happens. If it's fine, try your card in someone else's machine. Cerb |
| #7 09:32am 27/11/00 |
Moridin
Oooh. I had a similar thing happen once when my CPU was not seated properly. It would turn on sometimes, but would lock up after a few minutes use. Took me bloody weeks to figure out what the problem was too. Havent had any problems since I reseated it though. Could have happened at a worse time, eh Taipan? :( |
| #8 09:47am 27/11/00 |
Comatose
Something similar to this happened to me when i upgraded my computer. It just sits there making fan noises with lights but no other activity. Turned out that i needed a new powersupply cos my old one sucked. Good luck fixing your box |
| #9 10:35am 27/11/00 |
Ok the first thing you want to do it try your monitor in someone else's computer (if you can). Then replace your graphics card with a cheapo PCI one or something like that (don't buy one people often have them sitting around. btw could you please list the specs of your comp. Mainly the motherboard, graphics card and CPU. -Nitro |
| #10 01:55pm 27/11/00 |
Moridin
How are the repairs coming Taipan? Man, I really feel sorry for you. Fate has really thrown you a harsh one eh? BTW, I was looking at this post, and who would agree with me: 'rooted' has to be one of the best Australian words ever created! |
| #11 02:18pm 27/11/00 |
saVage
too right mate! fair dinkum rippa of a word! ahhh...stone the crows...the flamin roos are bonkin the sheep again. THAT is rooted. |
| #12 02:53pm 27/11/00 |
Crunchy
Yeeeha |
| #13 03:05pm 27/11/00 |
I always have a laugh when I hear Americans saying that they're "rooting for the Yankess" or something. :-P Cerb |
| #14 03:22pm 27/11/00 |
I am getting the G400 vid card is it good? Raider. |
| #15 03:40pm 27/11/00 |
Wog
First of all Taipan, if it doesnt work dude, take out your bridge card (sounds like you got one) then get a new one. If that doesnt help, sorry, and try swapping ram dimms around. If that still doesn't work, tell me what type of case you have got and take out your (obviously) agp video card and check all the resistors on it to see if they are still connected. Raider the G400 is good, but definately not worth the money, spend the money on an nvidia product cos detonator rocks j00. |
| #16 03:49pm 27/11/00 |
Raider: I still run a G400 DualHead in my Athlon. It's pretty decent, but can't compete with GeForce's (not even the old SDR's, but then again, it came out at the same time as the TNT2. :) With a bit of tweaking, I've managed to get it to basically maintain +100fps on q3dm13. The DualHead feature is awesome - combined with my Actima 8x (region-free) DVD drive, I see no need for a dedicated DVD player. I use the S-Video connection to the TV and it works really well. ICQ me on 46044319 if you want more info or need help with it at all (or if you want my q3 config. :) Also, go hang out at http://www.matroxusers.com - very handy site. :) Cerb |
| #17 06:29pm 27/11/00 |
Taipan: Any luck fixing it yet? Cerb |
| #18 11:06am 28/11/00 |
Thanx guy's all your advice was greatly apreciated. I found out what the problem was by interchanging some of my parts with ones that I knew worked. It turns out that my mother board was a cheap and nasty one (thanx to Computer scene at the Gabba)So I got it replaced by the guy's at Computer drive Alderly. who were very helpful they even let me sit in on them working,which was good as I know little about the insides of a pc. The new mother board is an MSI(MS-6163 pro)I don't know if that means much to you guy's but means jack s*** to me hehehehe.But it has also fixed a few other problems I had so I am now pretty happy with the way it's working. Thanx again guy's. It's great to be back |
| #19 07:36pm 28/11/00 |
Mick
MSI Hardware is poor, but depending on what preformance you are looking at it should be ok... :) Next time don't go for price go quality, Asus or Abit. Anyways :) |
| #20 11:26pm 28/11/00 |
Asus or Abit you can't go wrong with. MSI make some good solid boards, when someone says they are crap they often are talking from an overclocking standpoint (like Aopen boards, they are good at what they are designed to do). Anyway, good to hear everything's fixed for the finals - I'm guessing you're coming?? -Nitro |
| #21 11:44pm 28/11/00 |
f***pot
hey nitro are you the nitro who spelt his name in cs /Vitro and i kept calling Vitro due to my stupidity? |
| #22 12:19am 29/11/00 |
Actually, MSI boards *ARE* of low quality, you get what you pay for. My A-Trend 6220v2 (I know its not MSI, but its still a LQ board) was good for overclocking but its still a piece of crap, I've had nothing but problems with it, and after all it was cheap. I've spoken to many techs, and they all agree, MSI suck for quality. Matter of fact, one guy said that out of all the MSI boards they had, ALL had problems and had to be returned to the manufacturer. Life would be much easier without cheap components... :) |
| #23 02:04am 29/11/00 |
Mick
it's funny... when I think of "rooted" in relation to an inanimate object (such as a computer), I can't help but think of Barak. |
| #24 06:53am 29/11/00 |
Moridin
Yeah Hunter, in a perfect world...:) See ill be seeing you at the finals Taipan! |
| #25 12:50pm 29/11/00 |
Yeah Moridin I'll be at the finals but I won't be playing it'll be more of a fact finding mission for me plus a beer to if I can get one. I just want to see how all you guy's set yourselv'es up so I can learn abit as I have never been to a LAN before. It should be realy interesting. |
| #26 02:45pm 29/11/00 |
KryoN
f***... u picked a good lan to start at :) |
| #27 10:43pm 29/11/00 |
TheKid
C'mon Taipan it is going to be my first Lan as well but WTF got to start somewhere, may as well be the biggest and best. 1 thing though you guys are going to let me win ?? i mean no shooting me or anything right :) |
| #28 12:17am 30/11/00 |
HAHAHAHAHAHA nice try TheKid but if there is one thing I have learnt in my short time playing online games,that is that the boy's here at QGL are a blood thirsty bunch of muthers and they cut noone any slack.:-) If I deside to mix it up with them I want to be prepared.I might just put my pc in the car so if they get any spare place's I'll join in then.I have heard you need a network card I don't even know what one of them is let alone if I have one.Like I said I'm only new to this stuff. But I will be well and truely prepared for a beer(as per usual) |
| #29 12:41am 30/11/00 |
f***pot:- yes that's me, one and the same :D Ditched the /V crap cause I got sick of being called Vitro hehe, it was gay anyway. So long time no see eh? Coming to the finals? Btw to all you people think MSI are crap, well obviously none have you have had experience with PC Chips brand mobos :-) |
| #30 06:11pm 30/11/00 |
Lol, PC CHIPS. I have heard of them, the name alone sounds dodgy. Anyone heard of these dodgy CD-Rs called Mr Data? Or ones called Mr Platinum? |
| #31 09:18pm 30/11/00 |
f***pot
no im not going to finals :( |
| #32 10:07pm 30/11/00 |
Moridin
Mental note: do not by 'Mr. Data' Cds. But then, I once bought a few TDKs, and it took 3 CDs before it finally burnt properly. For no apparent reason (burned a slow speeds, nothing was copy protected/illegal etc.) Maybe I just have bad luck. |
| #33 11:03am 01/12/00 |
| #33 |