Topic: Got my dreads :)
got bean
Got them for $100 off, she quoted me 3.5 hours but took her 4.5 :-)

http://users.bigpond.net.au/g0t_bean/dreads1.jpg
http://users.bigpond.net.au/g0t_bean/dreads2.jpg
A photo with your face in it too?
So then I can see how badly they suit you.

That's a lot of dreads :)

last edited by Hemerage at 14:57:03 30/Oct/04
I bet your boyfriend will love them.

By trog
BoDGie
gay....
Can hardly wait for the smell
got bean
Hemerage the emphasis is on the dreads, not my beautiful face :p The reason I didn't get one with my face is because it's hard to take pictures of yourself :S

They don't smell if you look after them properly, which is what I plan on doing :-)

Thanks eXis :)
they look okay
Deathwalker
i rekon they are heaps good dreads, so how much did it end up costing you? and take one with your face you little bitch.
got bean
I've packed dads camera away already, I'll get around to it later :P

$99 an hour, so ending up costing $371.50 (should have been $471.50)
hahahaha f*** THAT
sif waste that much money on hair. looks like s*** btw
pillsy
good shiz man
Charlie Hode
dont worry about a pic with your face in it, i can see u are pretty ugly already.
Hemerage the emphasis is on the dreads, not my beautiful face
I know that, but dreds looks s*** on most people

Can't tell how they look yet..
I read a true story about a dude with dreads and he had redback spiders living in them. And when he went to get them cut he disturbed their nest and he got bitten and died.
Bean, msn me when msn gets back up
Deathwalker
yeah but he probably never washed them and had thick ass ones the sick f***, contrary to what everyone thinks you CAN wash dreads
bonsai_boy
haha bean, they look mad, nice size... not to fat, and not to thin.

what will school say about them? mine would go nuts, i.e. make me shave them off :(

(p.s. 15 days to go :D)
I read a true story about a dude with dreads and he had redback spiders living in them. And when he went to get them cut he disturbed their nest and he got bitten and died.

lol ive heard a diff version to that.
got bean
haah true, I was going to get them ~1 year ago but I went on the safe side and asked if we were allowed them and they said no >< But only a week for us (then block exams) so it should be cool
hhaha what teh f*** rev.

well i dont know if there is more then 1 accounts, but my story is a bit different 2 that

my dads best mate who lives @ byron bay had a friend who lived at nimbin.. was a full out stoner kinda guy

kept getting sick so went to doctors to get checked out, they said we will fix ur f***ing hair (dreads that were like 2 yrs old and completely f***ed out and feral)

they found a redback nest in there and thats what was making him sick, when they bit him (musnt hav washed his hair for like ever)

so did they perm them in or did they do em the old fassion way ( the good way )

those dreads are preety good. got a set of dreads myself. Fatter ones though.
existance i've heard so many f***en stupid stories about redback nests in peoples dreadlocks and whatever but i still think they are all bulls***.. just myths..

EDIT: f*** i just round red backs in my hair.. f*** they just bit me! f*** I'M DYING!

last edited by Makaveli at 15:45:21 30/Oct/04
Ditch
wikid mate, i plan on getting some as well, i just gotta find the right place, and then i gotta wait another 5 days (YEOPPPPP NO MORE SCHOOL! :)) then ill go for it.

a mate has got them b4 by some dood who apparently knew wat he was doing, i just wanna make sure i dont get some half ass job.

gimme some more info man, and yea some more shots would be cool. cheers
got bean
Dad just took some of me front on (haven't transferred/uploaded yet Hemmy)

I highly recommend Black is Black (Stones corner), really experienced :-)
I'll dread the day i get dreads that's for sure. But for what it is, i must admit in that 2nd pic they'll look good.... for about 2 days.

$99 an hour, so ending up costing $371.50 (should have been $471.50)

hahahaha f*** THAT
No 2 ways about it. But if you're happy spending hundreds to go for the dirty look just become a bum eh.
All of those spiders in people's hair stories are bulls***.
Ecstasy
they found a redback nest in there and thats what was making him sick, when they bit him (musnt hav washed his hair for like ever)

Ermm, No. He would have been DEAD!
just myths..

all myths/legends come from truth

haah true, I was going to get them ~1 year ago but I went on the safe side and asked if we were allowed them and they said no >< But only a week for us (then block exams) so it should be cool

if u did this at my school u wouldnt graduate :/
all myths/legends come from truth
No they don't.
Jum
$370? f*** that, do it yourself or dont do it at all (second option is better, normal long hair looks better than dreads)
Deadly-Fly
$99 dollars an hour to f*** with someones hair, not bad pay.
grab some eggs and hair wax and make your own dreds, did it for a friend took us all night, and i think i spilt beer in his hair, end result was okish, but we ended up shaving his head 4 weeks later because of teh stench, stupid f***er wouldnt wash his hair
No they don't.

yes they do fullstop
G it up no they dont.
N-Dude
Ermm, No. He would have been DEAD!

Actually, the bite from a redback won't kill a healthy adult. They will make them sick for quite a while, but you can also develop resistance to it.

Learnt this when one of my friends got bitten at my house when I lived in the sticks. He'd already been bitten twice before in that one year, so they weren't allowed to give him antivenom. They didn't even hold him overnight.

From memory, no single spider bite in the world is deadly by itself to a health adult. Snake bites though...
Funnelweb spider bite will kill you quite nicely.

Go read snopes ravn0s.
redback will kill you too, its a case by case basis. depends on person, bite and where you're bitten etc etc
Boofe
Dreds look gay/dirty and down right yuck.

You don't look cool bean...
The reason I didn't get one with my face is because it's hard to take pictures of yourself :S

lucky I never throw anything away then huh :p
http://users.bigpond.net.au/ritsuko/pjs.jpg

that's bulls***, there's some foxtel show that had this myth on it, some spider expert said there's no f***en way spiders would live anywhere near someone's head.

last edited by WhoopAss at 17:13:09 30/Oct/04
Boofe
that's bulls***, there's some foxtel show that had this myth on it, some spider expert said there's no f***en way spiders would live anywhere near someone's head.

Unless you had dreds!

Jesus. It cost my friend $0 to get his dreads. Then again he did it himself over a few weeks...

$400....s*** I could have given you dreads for $50.
Yes unless you had dreds. But not Dreads !
got bean
Next time Conor :P
Grunt
hi2u hot chick in pic.. :P
riot'us

Am I the only person who notices the stench of trollbait coming from this post... damn you guys suck.
thats really expensive where did u go? looks good but very expensive, i spose cornrolls are bout 300 or so, but i thought dreads where like 200?
NaBeL
well done bean looks mad.

dont listen to these f*****s. there homo.
Sc00bs the price depends on how long they take.. the place i went to i payed $70 an hour and i bought dreadlock shampoo , dreadheadhq wax and this locking accelerator stuff. Overall cost came to $384. Only took 2.5 hours.
Supergreen
dammit, scrolled all the way to here, and no proper pix.

get on it bean !
Ditch
yea more pix cobba.
Sorry dude, dreadlocks on white people just look f***in stupid
I don't think dreadlocks look good on girls ...
There's no point in giving him negative feedback on his dreads since he's gonna be stuck with the sideshow bob look for a while no matter what people say about it. Unless you wanna really make him feel like he wasted $400 then please go right ahead.
yea with nabel
they look pretty decent and if u like them i wouldnt worry about these girly fags :P
There's no point in giving him negative feedback on his dreads since he's gonna be stuck with the sideshow bob look for a while no matter what people say about it. Unless you wanna really make him feel like he wasted $400 then please go right ahead.

If he is dumb enough to post it here, we can be dumb enough to tell him how much of a fag he looks like with em.

I think there is something in that for all of us.
They will make them sick for quite a while, but you can also develop resistance to it.

I'd hazard a guess that you could also develop an allergic response to bites if you've been biten more than once. You can for many chemicals, and with bee-stings too.
i feel sorry for beans parents

It could be worse, at least he doesn’t look like a toy boy for rockape anymore …
got bean
Actually Spook, my parents wanted me to get dreads cos they hated my hair :P

They absolutely love my dreads hehe

Bad sign spooky :)
worried that your kids will do stuff like that? (well comon you ARE married, expectations are getting higher ;))
Bean if that's the case ask your parents to fork out some money for tats and body peircings.
Hang on ...

Bean, how olds your mum? (pics also)
Supergreen
36 hrs and counting, still no face shots.

and if you could go ahead and chuck the jammies back on again that woul d be just super.
got bean
Wrong idea Booyah - we aren't hippies, mum just hated my previous hair :P

typo, I don't care what you or anyone else says about my hair, it's only your opinion... which doesn't mean much.

last edited by got bean at 08:04:40 01/Nov/04
got bean
Hermitech, I'm trying to find them but the pictures of your mum has dominated my 'milf' folder
Murderer
Yesturday I started work on some dreadlocks for a mate, I've done about 8-9 so far about twice the thickness of bean's.

They take for fkn ever, I think I spent about 4-5 hours on it and it was the first time i've ever tried.

All you really need is a comb/bees wax and some little plastic hair tie thingies.

Dreads are pretty siick mate.
How do you look after dreads properly?
Murderer
Not meant to let them get wet and use wax every now and then?

I dunno, I'd assume they were high-maintnance though.
theres some site on DIY dreads they even have special dredding wax and combs etc you can buy to start/maintain them

cant remember where it was though

and of course instructions

last edited by rubba-chikin at 12:25:41 01/Nov/04
How do you tell a guy hes a skank ?
about time trog goes the dreads I think.

Looks sick btw bean
I reckon trog could pull off dreads pretty well actually
you can get dreads wet but you cant get them wet in the first 2 weeks or so you have them.. you gotta wax them about once a week or two weeks for about 6 months.. then after that you don't have to wax them anymore but people still do to keep them looking healthy/neat.

Edit: i swim with my dreads and they are fine.. had mine for nearly 6 months.

last edited by Makaveli at 19:46:18 01/Nov/04
JiggaMan
Where the f*** are the pics of your face beaaatttchhhhh
typo, I don't care what you or anyone else says about my hair, it's only your opinion... which doesn't mean much.

then why post your picture here asking what we thought of them?

also, for all who want his face picture, just look at that picture I posted, that's the pic he posted of himself a few months ago, imagine that face, with dreads.

imho I think they look s*** and untidy on just about anyone, except maybe those guys in cool runnings 
Protius-X
I thought you were dead makavelli! I had a flower arrangment made and everything!

You cared enough to tell me ... im touched.
riot'us
trog, for info on care and actually doing them as well go here.. www.dreadheadhq.com
aha thats the site i was talking about!
i got my products from that site, they got great tips on keeping them looking nice too.
you can get dreads wet but you cant get them wet in the first 2 weeks or so you have them..
isn't it gonna start smelling bad by then? if you can't wash it, then how they hell are you gonna clean them?!!?
YOu can wash them for f***s sake.
and you squeeze them dry when they're wet anyway..
but you said you can't get them wet for the 1st 2 weeks....

anyway, how long must your hair be before you can dread them? i was considering the idea when i left the army...
clipto
I was under the impression that while dredlocks can be washed, you can't clean inside the dreads themselves, especially if you use wax. So after a few months/years it will get pretty funky in there.
Read that site already it tells you everything ppl have been asking!
3 inches minimum length to get dreads.
got bean
This is what you've all been waiting for :)

Right after they got done:
http://users.bigpond.net.au/g0t_bean/dreads3.jpg
http://users.bigpond.net.au/g0t_bean/dreads4.jpg

Just then:
http://users.bigpond.net.au/g0t_bean/dreads5.jpg
http://users.bigpond.net.au/g0t_bean/dreads6.jpg

last edited by got bean at 19:25:29 02/Nov/04
Re: The redbacks....
N-Dude is correct, a redback can, but usually won't, kill a healthy adult from a single bite, they'll get feverish and sick though.
AFAIK, antivenom isn't administered for redback bites unless symptoms are severe, and if it was a recent bite I'd say they would be held for observation for a few hours before being discharged (or antivenom administered).

A Child is different story though.

N-Dude is also wrong where fpot is right, a Funnel Web will take down a healthy adult in a few hours.

And daddy-long legs being incredibly venomous is a myth as far as I know too.

Oh, also, hi guys!
[edit] for pics: Dude, grow some facial hair or something =) You look too young for dreads (no offense) but I dont think it suits really.

last edited by Loki at 19:31:06 02/Nov/04
got bean
I shave because facial hair is stupid at school; out of school is a different story
Charlie Hode
The dreads make your nose look bigger and/or swollen.
I don't mean grow a beard or goatee or anything, just get a bit of stubble/re-growth or something...

Something to break up the "young" face.
Protius-X
Yeah, even Makavelli has the facial hair growing!

last edited by Protius-X at 19:42:33 02/Nov/04
yeah i just saw those photos and it just doesnt look right
Grunt
bean your name isn't Dean is it?
got bean
Yer haah, I got smachked in the nose this morning by my mate, he was jumping on chairs so I pulled him back and he accidentally swung round and connect with my nose :( Brutal punch too

It's also hard to take proper pictures of youself

last edited by got bean at 20:09:10 02/Nov/04
Grunt
hes got to much of a babyface to get some decent stubble at the moment i reckon.. puberty is still kicking along :P
Grunt
I bet you go to Ferny Grove and have a brother named Luke!
i'm stalking
I thought daddy long legs were really deadly they just didnt have large enough fangs to pierce human skin? I dunno. anyway dreads look ok. your face is funny lookin
got bean
haah Grunt wtf :|
Grunt
add me to msn fool i'm daleferg
^ Like I said, myth.
Their jaws do not open wide enough to pierce human skin, yes.
But it is myth that they are incredibly deadly, there is no evidence to suggest they are more venmous than redbacks to humans (just because they can kill redbacks doesn't mean they are more deadly)...

I'm not sure if there is even evidence to suggest that they are venomous to humans -at all-... since they can't bite us, we don't care?
got bean
That was you who added me :S
I was wondering cos I was typing something and accidentally blocked and deleted you when thingy popped up :|

What's your msn
Grunt
daleferg_@
O/T. you should have gotten corn rows. hahahaha
Supergreen
bft for the pix bean.

looks good, go forth and multiply.
Didster
very good looking dreads, i had mine done ages ago back in feb, i still have them and after a recent little snip on the ends of the dreads, they're a lot better now. Make sure you use proper dread wax and shampoo. Maybe later on i'll post a pic of my dreads too
got bean
Yep just waxed them with Harrys Beeswax I think, took me about an hour. Lady said to not use much or the dreads will become real oily
Didster
Harry or u mean Murray's Bees wax..?

last edited by Didster at 17:41:32 03/Nov/04
got bean
That's the one! Murray :) It sounds similiar :P
murrays wax is s***.. it's got stuff in it that will make ur dreads smell like poo and will make them get gooey on the inside.. can't remember there's an ingrediant in that wax that makes them bad..

Just a heads up.
got bean
What should I use then?
i use dread head hq stuff.. good stuff. i hope you're not washing your dreads with normal shampoo aswell?
I've also heard knotty boy products are very nice

here www.knottyboy.com
also www.dreadheadhq.com
got bean
Nar can't wet it for 2 weeks.
I was told to get cheap shampoo; it's the best for it (apart from the special dread shampoo)

How long does it take to arrive if I order from dreadheadhq site or wtf it is?
humm could take awhile.. but i got my dreadlock shampoo and wax from the place i got mine done. But i think the place i got it done now only stocks knotty boy stuff.

www.doyernut.com
Makaveli i always had the impression you were of efnic background. I think it's cause of your nik that made me think so.
Nah i'm white as day. Sorry to dissapoint :P
Grunt
if you can't get it wet for two weeks i just wouldn't shower
sure your balls will smell like blue cheese, but think of the advantages
/(ceTAME
bean, you look like a chick ...

your head is a weird shape, and has no masculinity. do something about it...
Didster
get a plastic shower cap, that way if u do need to take a shower, u can keep ur dreads dry and wet them twice a week or so. I usually wet my dreads twice a week and wax once a fortnight. Also use a hair net (u can buy from priceattack) to wear on when u go to bed, keeps ur dreads from making everythign waxy
got bean
Nar just don't shower for 2 weeks..
Jokes :P I just jump in the shower and don't wet my hair, it's all good :)
Ditch
come on Didster bust out some pics. you to marerkkeaslivvvaa or wateva.

skool finishes for me 2morrow so ill getting mine done in the next few weeks i reckon, i just need to wait a BIT longer so i can tie all my hair back, cos otherwise at work the boss will seriosuly kick my ass if i have dreads and can't tie them back, i have to tie mine back already and its not even that long :S

also bean u should tie urs back see wat it looks like, i just want to see it for research purposes ;)

last edited by Ditch at 18:29:02 04/Nov/04
I had an old as photo in the show us your picture thread.. but got no recent ones sorry.