Topic: Rim shinning ?

Hey peeps, I got these sets of rims fitted and alligned just yesterday..

http://img34.photobucket.com/albums/v104/zeezee/My car and friends/04053000.jpg

http://img34.photobucket.com/albums/v104/zeezee/My car and friends/04053003.jpg

http://img34.photobucket.com/albums/v104/zeezee/My car and friends/back.jpg

For the people that own chromies out there...I was just wondering what do you use to safely clean em without having to scratch em and what not.. or do you get em professionaly cleaned and shined ?

(you can blame suhaib's camera for the pfft quality of the pics :P)

Ta.
Rim shining sounds like something you pay a lot of money for down the valley...
phone camera, get it right :P

also haha @ thread title.
you wash them, with soap n stuff
brett
use a chamis, nice finish.
TufNuT
booyah those rims look Hot!!
mabrook bro

last edited by Irhabi at 21:30:58 30/May/04
v. shinned, shin·ning, shins
v. tr.
To climb (a rope or pole, for example) by gripping and pulling alternately with the hands and legs.
To kick or hit in the shins.
Bart: Don't you mean 'Shining'?

Willy: Shhh! You want to get sued??!

Woah talk about lurking...

Doesnt anyone here own chromes ?

So what about like ...dumping the car? do i need like.. someone to take a dump on it ? OMG LOLS !#@!@!

Seriously but.. so i can shine my knob rims with an ordinary wash ?

Yeebarak feek Irhabi.

last edited by Booyah at 21:44:40 30/May/04
They look out of place
Boofe
^^^ Im with hemmy on that one!
I think they'd look better on an Excel.
Nah

And if you do think that, then why buy them?
I bought them cause of sarcasm, and im beginning to think you are too.

last edited by Booyah at 21:58:11 30/May/04
haha, good thread title.

anywho, some rim/cleaner/polisher then some sort of polishing agent if u want extra bling factor I guess.

best bet would be to ask Spook. He has a set of mirrors on his tyres too.

I've forgoten the colour of my rims, stopping means brake dust :(
Hashy
I think they'd look better if they span backwards.

Fully sik bro.
never have liked chromes. I dunno, they just stand out far too much. I think brushed alloy looks nice, it's shiny, but not TOO shiny. Chrome's just look like a cheap plastic hubcap to me. If I see them from a distance I just think "hubcap"
http://users.bigpond.net.au/ritsuko/mag_tyre.jpg
yes I know they look s***, but when done right I reckon brushed alloy looks nice.

last edited by WhoopAss at 22:11:03 30/May/04
Hashy
If you guys spent the money you spent on ricing on your cars you'd have decent cars.

'nuff said.
chrome Rims + 16' rubber = $500
Hashy
chrome Rims + 16' rubber = $500

Effectively doubling the amount you've spent on your car so far.
nat
yeah i have to agree chromies look way too much like plastic...

polish with some 100 grade sandpaper and u'll have some lovely brushed silver alloys in no time :)
Effectively doubling the amount you've spent on your car so far.

Effectively trippling the amount yo mamma offered me to visit her last night.
Hashy
Effectively trippling the amount yo mamma offered me to visit her last night.

Yo' mamma came with my car.

last edited by Hashy at 22:36:10 30/May/04
SD Gundam
Chrome rims look terrible. And god the other day I say a Toyota Hilux that not only had chrome rims but also a chrome grill. Don't people know the saying about people and chrome on their cars?

Except my mamma looks alot like your sister.
them photo's don't do `em justice..

suite the car very well... the car just needs to be dumped on its nuts now.
nat
Don't people know the saying about people and chrome on their cars?

i dont :S

plz elaborate...

you're not even old enough to drive. ask your mummy for a lift to school tomorrow.
hef
^^

you're not even old enough to drive. ask your mummy for a lift to school tomorrow.

aww s***...

I wasted my time with a 16 yr old.
Hashy
I wasted my time with a 16 yr old.

Maybe if Suhaib had a clue, you'd be right.
SD gundam

that wouldn't have been a black hilux by any chance? with a personalized plate with someone like ute 452?

it lives round the corner of my mate and comes thru my work all the time, i reckon its a f***in phat as car.

i do.. you are 16 years old.
wowsers that means im right.
DigitaL
u can buy this spray from super cheap called wheel cleaner spray. you spray it on after youve washed it with carwash or watever then rinse off then dry with a chamiois (sp) brings it up beautiful.
Thanks DigitaL (and Enigma) i was waiting for someone to kinda get back on track.

Im not too fussy about turning em into mirrors otherwise it'd really look outta place for a car without all that "wow factor" itself. Just dont wana have to cause any major scaring =)
benneth
i don't think those wheels are worth shining.
Hashy
http://my.ausgamers.com/media/sig-18904.jpg
SD Gundam
No the ute was white.

And you know what they say about chrome on cars. The more chrome on the car, the smaller the driver's dick.
ha I didn't even see your question about cleaning them. saw a couple of pics then autoscrolled down to reply :(

always put questions before a long line of pics!

We use some metal polish stuff at work, it looks similar to oven cleaner, you spray it on & it all foams up & froths & stuff, looks like a can of rabies. It doesn't burn if you get it on your skin so it's not oven cleaner. I can't remember what it's called, I think stainless polish or some s***, but it's actually meant for chrome, stainless, other stuff. I remember the name emphasised stainless, but it can me used on chrome. I think it's made by same people who make autosol....or you could use autosol, but that tends to scratch some chrome.

I used brasso on my dremel's polishing wheel to polish the chrome reflector inside my car headlights, came up quite shiny...maybe try brasso?

Whatever you decide to use, take the rims off and try it on the inside where no one's going to see it if it does wreck it. That way you won't really care so much. :)

edit:--
And you know what they say about chrome on cars. The more chrome on the car, the smaller the driver's dick.

lucky for me there isn't one bit of chrome on my cars :) My gemini had s***loads of it, but it's all gone now :p

last edited by WhoopAss at 23:22:04 30/May/04
Do you work at a car/tyre place or in some sort of kitchen ? Cause a friend was telling me those pro people charge like $35 a rim and frankly I dont wanna spend quadripple the amount of what my car is worth.
work in a motorbike exhaust place. We don't like, clean stuff professionaly. Though I can polish stainless to look sort of like chrome :) I meant we just use the stuff...like if we get finger prints on the chrome, or paint, or something like that, turps, autosol, this cleaning stuff I can't for the life of me remember the name of. I'm not a cleaner, although I suppose for a few hundred thousand I could be :p (assassin joke)
Insolence
So hard to find a non chrome nice looking wheel from most australian manufacturers. Drive past any tyre mob these days and its like driving past a 10-15m long mirror :( All good and well for those who like chrome, but makes it hard for those with taste :P
Go Hard bits first, Aesthetics later, sheesh, ricers. :P

Soon as I get my new job is a red/blue 308 with VN/VP heads on the way =)

Orrr yeah, VN/VP powah with no legal requirement for that pollution f***ing crap stealing my horsies :)
lucky for me there isn't one bit of chrome on my cars :) My gemini had s***loads of it, but it's all gone now :p
Sif take off stock chrome pieces Whoop :(

They saying was made for people putting after-market chrome on, ala rice :)
TufNuT
hey man Nelly says that you should walk into pick n pay or any car accessories store and buy a high quality chrome cleaner its usualy just a foam and you leave it on for a while then wash tyhem off or you can use your Meguiars car accessoires but youll have to dig deep into your pocket for the same thing.
Skyhawk
Autosol is great for chrome, got a variable speed buffer? 1500-2000rpm

I would use that,

a decent terry towel would be fine also :)

comes in a toothpase tube for $8
asta
It cost $500 for rims and tyres?? No way you would get my driving in your car.. the wheels must be as wide as rollerskates and really s*** quality.
Nah they're 205/45/R16 with pretty good tread actually. Again those pictures are pretty s*** and dont really show much. Feels like there's alot more traction when driving compared the ol 14's. I bought em off a mate who was in urge for cash so it was a pretty good perk.
Blackout
shadow chrome is as far as id go...
asta
ah ok! off a mate i thought you just bought them from a tyre place.. that explains the cost..

I have $450 tyres on my excel haha yes excel.. (not for to much longer though!!) but you can throw it around corners and it wont slide its like a gokart i love it! :P
Nah i'd be crazy buying 7 spoke multi-stud chromes with almost new rubber from a tyre place... I'd be looking at alot more than just a grand.
I have $450 tyres on my excel haha yes excel.. (not for to much longer though!!) but you can throw it around corners and it wont slide its like a gokart i love it! :P
That's nothing, I forked out $650 for all four of mine (SF-340 Eagers), people with huge rims and want low pro's usually pay up even more than that!
my rims n tyres were $800... 2nd hand :/ 235's all round bitches, I want wider on the back though !
I was gonna chuck on these 214 45 R17's Alloys for a similair price but then i remembered i was only driving a rolla.

I'd stay away from wheel cleaning solutions. Your normal carwash stuff will work just fine on alloy wheels. Use a sponge or a brush if there's some hard-to-move crap on there.

Then polish them up with some terry toweling.
heh, Azenis semi slicks set me back $290ish a piece.