Topic: Nintendo @ E3
Nathan
Would have made this a news item, but the news feed will be full enough as is I suspect for the next few days :)

I've mirrored the screenies for Nintendo's "big 4" being demonstrated at E3 - Legend of Zelda (working title), Super Mario Sunshine, Metroid Prime, Star Fox Adventures.

Of particular interest is the 'cel shading' techniques that Zelda is using. Personally I think it looks quite cool (playing a cartoon!) but term and trog gave it thumbs down. Opinions?

http://www.ausgamers.com/images/screenshots/Legend of Zelda/e3_zelda_gcn_ss01.jpg
Shot from Zelda
wtf thats like cartoon graphics :S
acrylic
yeah looks gay but its ment to play really well
Vorador
bahahahahahahahahahhaahahaha.
that is all
Cholmah
I reckon it looks pretty nice, I was a bit iffy on it at first but after watching the new trailer that was just released I'm convinced this will be sweet.
I think robotech uses that cell shading stuff too
I really love cel shading, you arent allowed an opinion until you have actually played a game like jet grind that uses cel shading

cant wait!
Ad

did you see that!!!! boats! you get to hoon around in boats!!!!

w00t w00t!!
yeah.. this is gunna be great :D
the animation that that game has is f***ing amazing, the few little video clips i have seen of it has blown me away.
series
how mad is that music!
Omg, Yoshi's in Mario!
yay :)

Metroid looks awesome of course.
Vorador
I just looked at Metroid, I'll indeed say that it does look very nice
but that zelda pic, or at least zelda as the character looks assy
[K]
Zelda will play well. Its a Nintendo game. Stop worry about what its gonna look like. And worry about how the story is gonna unfold, i mean Link rescuing his sister? Not Zelda? WTF? Story changes. Might aswell be a Mario but Elf instead of plumber and Sister instead of princess
Cholmah
As long as Ganon or Ganandorf is the big bad I don't mind, the whole zelda/shiek thing annoys me anyway.
GeNociDe
i reckon it looks good. its just a different style that ppl arent used to. it looks to have HEAPS of character and style. i'll luv it.
Nathan
Zelda's E3 Trailer

GeNociDe
omg SPOOOFFFF
[K]
AHh s*** is this spelt right? I just watched that video of Zelda and now i have jizz all on my screen s***.
WELL OMFG!!! GIMMIE NOW!!
Denny
what is it with people demanding realistic graphics in every game that comes around.

Realism is all well and good when you play FPS or any game that is designed to be realistic. But the entire Nintendo stable is of games that are FANTASY in nature and as such they gain NOTHING by trying to peddle off realism
Nathan
Mario looks great, cept it once again looks like it will be a full-bright extravaganza (hello, we have light maps now!)
Denny
yeah after having viewed them it looks to me like thus:

Mario will be a graphically enhanced Mario64 as the gameplay looked almost identicaly (that's not a bad thing for you newbs)

Metroid looks graphically quite nice but i'm weary of FPS on console as they just don't work IMO.

Zelda OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG *denny messes up his pants*, lets just say i found 1 brilliant reason to buy a Cube. Anyone who doesn't spoo over the graphics in that game is homogay to the extreme.
Haha, OMG, that Zelda game looks like so much ass. Cell shading, in my opinion, just ends up making games look tacky and badly made. I can't help but look at those screenshots and think I had games on my Mega Drive which looked better...

And the main character looks like an alien, or Mr Macky off south park, with its huge head and tiny little squashed neck. So wrong.
Denny
khel did you watch the video???

it's worth it
khel u are obviously blinded by your hatred towards nintendo.
Denny I doubt Metroid will be like any other fps game, quite different in fact. See her roll up in to a ball and go through the pipes? This is going to have the gameplay of the previous Metroids, but with awesome first person shooting action.
GeNociDe
really. cel shading looks spiffy. it looks different which is a good thing. soo many games coming out right now that look like plastic, not concrete, glass etc.
[K]
I don't understand ppl. They see one bad game and say Nintendo suck? Ppl forget that its not always Nintendo's in house developers making games? That there are other companies making games. Just because a few games might "suck" in your opinion doesn't mean the console itself is s***.
What's the deal with the Ausgamers link not letting you save the file? Everytime I try and stream it the ghey MP7 f***s itself.
Tael
Reverend Evil - Just use a download manager.
ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh hpw gay i am the bigest fan ever. damn u nintendo damn u
Looks like playing toontown.....
shutup brett.
GeNociDe
go play fkn toontown ya lamer.
Tael
Anyone managed to find any decent shots of F-Zero GC? All I've been able to find are these pissy little shots from Gamerweb.
http://www.gamerweb.com/e3-2002/media/conf_noa/fzero/fzero01.jpg
http://www.gamerweb.com/e3-2002/media/conf_noa/fzero/fzero02.jpg
http://www.gamerweb.com/e3-2002/media/conf_noa/fzero/fzero03.jpg
http://www.gamerweb.com/e3-2002/media/conf_noa/fzero/fzero04.jpg
GeNociDe
i havent really been looking for any.

ahh s*** I NEED A GC
Your an idoit suhaib
Cam
Zelda is gonna rock, so is Mario. I'm gonna get em both, or at least my brother is =D.
I'm not going to judge Metroid Prime until I play it.
I love the original Metroid games, and the animation, style, lighting, modelling etc in this one look absolutely jaw-dropping, but I'm not a big fan of console FPS's and the FOV looks all screwed up to me.
One thing I hear is is that the control scheme is completely original and not at all like other FPS's. Something about some crazy targeting scheme where you can targte and shoot down multiple enemies and completely different movement. Apparently it works brilliantly once you get used to it...but I'm yet to have any concrete evidence.
its more of a adventure game anyway
Tael
I downloaded some Metroid Prime footage (it was of some guy playing the demo booth at E3) and it looked pretty cool, and I was pretty sceptical of the move to first person, especially with Retro Studios working on it.

Edit: Found the footage, as well as some F-Zero GC footage.

Metroid Prime
F-Zero GC
Tael
F-Zero GC looks f***ing cool... If you've ever played any of the F-Zero games and liked them, download that footage...