Author |
I've been playing indoor soccer at UQ pretty much since my first year there and one thing that has always bugged me is the teams that don't seem to grasp the concept behind the "social" competitions. Ever since our first round it seems that we've played against guys that just can't STAND the thought of losing in a social competition, and they play the game like it was their last hope at saving their manhood, or something.
I just got back from another game of basketball against a team that we're currently playing in both basketball and soccer. These guys are pretty good players, but they still feel the need to do things like yell at us when we're trying to shoot, and playing full court press (a nifty term that nathan just taught me which involves the other team doing stuff that is lame as well). I'm sure in a real competition all these low down dirty tactics are acceptable, but s*** - we suck at basketball. We're not really any good. And we're not there to win, we're just there to have a good time with a bunch of other people that we'd like to think are doing the same thing. But when the other team is hell-bent on winning to the point that they're playing really hard, and using these stupid childish tactics to try and faze us, it just ruins it for me. It turns it from something that should be fun into something that's just annoying, and then I get pissed off. Its especially annoying because these same guys do the same thing in soccer as well, so I know its not just some specific character defect that only shows in soccer, its an actual flaw in their personality that means they're playing solely to win, and f*** the other team. Its worse in soccer, because its a bit rougher, and what _really_ pisses me off is when these toughnut guys go in on hard tackles with girls. We had one of the chicks in our team - an awesome soccer player - get taken out 2 weeks ago by some lamer going in for a hard tackle and challenging her like it was the World Cup or something, and she tore a ligament in her knee. What really sucks is she was just playing in this to help us out, and she actually plays competitive soccer back home (she's from the USA). So if you're one of these irrepressable lamers that can't get over themselves long enough to relax and have a friendly game with a bunch of people that you're obviously better than, then please go away and play in a proper competition. I guess, of course, its always possible that you tried that which is why you're back in the social league - you're good, but not good enough to win in a real competition - you pussies. |
#0 03:49pm 02/05/02 |
#0 |
Frag Terminator
Thats why i dont play in local teams anymore. They're all tards.
#1 03:51pm 02/05/02 |
B@ssM@n
Hear hear Trog...
Apart from this occasional occurance, UQ indoor rocks IMO... For the serious stuff I play every Tues night @ chandler... |
#2 03:52pm 02/05/02 |
sweaty bum crack
You and your team should just take it easy, laugh and let the serious heads go about their business. One of my favs in old boy rugby when someone is taking it a bit to seriously is reminding them that Wallaby tryouts are on the other field.
#3 03:53pm 02/05/02 |
sif u'd play sport
#4 04:01pm 02/05/02 |
sif u wouldnt
sport ownz |
#5 04:07pm 02/05/02 |
Goa`uld
My impression of sport is that it's a surrogate for man's instinct to fight, have wars, conflict etc... So it's not surprising people are playing like they are fighting for their life, and why fans of sport get worked up like it's something that will affect society and future generations.
Don't say "it's just a game", because psychologicaly - it's a real combat. |
#6 04:12pm 02/05/02 |
Denny
full court press is rather gay in a social competition.
If they do it again just play a really quick game. Have all your team sprint back at each score and just lob it down to them. Because they are doing a full-court press they won't be expecting it and will probably be over committed in the back-court. Do that enough times and they'll stop being wanks and will rather let you take the easy passes in the back court while defending their court. Also remember in basketball if they are being over-aggressive in defense then take it to 'em, you'll always have the advantage in that if the defender is moving when contact is made then it's a foul against them. If they get fouled enough times then they'll back off mighty quick. When i played b-ball (rather badly :D ) only the ace teams ever pulled off full-court press with any success and the teams that tried and failed always looked like wankers. Also people who take amateur sports agressively (and i'm guilty of this at times) are annoying. It's like video games if you aren't enjoying it and you aren't getting paid for doing it then what the f*** are you doing? |
#7 04:26pm 02/05/02 |
eYe_kAnDy
Im a soccer goalie and i seem to get hammered every game :(
#8 04:36pm 02/05/02 |
Gobo
Full court press rocks!
It doesnt have to be necessarily aggro, it's also a lot easier than teaching a s***house zone D, I mean at its root level it's merely man to man, which every pickup game under the sun goes by normally. And its much better exercise. But you're right, overly aggro ppl in social comps suck. So do dweebs who think that theyre Rasheed Wallace if they swat some 5'0 chick's shot into the stands. Corporate comps are even worse - our team went undefeated in a mixed teams hoops event and lost the final after our star female player (compulsory minimum 2 girls on the court at all times) had her JAW BROKEN by a guys elbow. Yes it was an accident but if he hadn't have been wrenching his arms around like a hyped up aggro retard it would never have happened. In a different game (same comp) I was sent flying from behind after I was out on the break. My mistake was slowing down to lay the ball up and this guy SMASHED me from behind. His excuse "no free shots". In a social bball comp. I took the ball and erm, rammed it into his gut. Which then sent him crazy. The outcome was he was sent off for the game, where this FORTY YEAR OLD GUY sat yelling out threats to me for the rest of the game... and then came onto the court to apologise at the end. Sad. EDIT: Aren't I the tard, full court press not equalling man-to-man and all. |
#9 04:45pm 02/05/02 |
Phoenix
I have this one guy on my hockey team that feels the need to yell out at the other team just as they are about to take the hit, if I was the ref I would call him for unsportsmanly play, it REALLY s***s me when he does this. The same with the guys that get all worked up, im 17, playing in mens division hockey, and this old fart about 50 yelled at me and grabbed my stick because I tackled him. In my experience there is one dick like this in every team, Ive had one guy raise his stick up to hit me before, I just stepped in so close so he couldnt swing it. Its ridiculous
#10 04:41pm 02/05/02 |
Denny
EDIT: Aren't I the tard, full court press not equalling man-to-man and all. I forgive you gobo :P There's nothing wrong with man-to-man defense, playing it full-court is pointless and annoying most of the time though, it just serves to annoy the other team. |
#11 04:51pm 02/05/02 |
Gobo
Any time I play basketball full court press isn't required by my team, as I serve to annoy the other team.
Of course once I busted out the patented nike ad ripoff knee crossover people are too busy screaming "carry" or "double" to worry about any defensive schema, which then allows me to get open and... clank. |
#12 04:53pm 02/05/02 |
conrad
uhh yeh you kinda have a point, sux about what happened with that girl, but why on earth would you bother posting about it on an internet message board... my guess is the people you're talking about would never come here or see this message, heck even if they did why wouldn't you say this to them in person if they are being such wankers? |
#13 05:15pm 02/05/02 |
Gobo
Maybe trog was making small talk.
Maybe also he thinks it's a subtle way of getting people to think about how they behave online. He's devilishly subtle, that trog guy. Devilishly. |
#14 05:19pm 02/05/02 |
Rommel
Yes, it is a defect in their personality, caused by playing CS.
#15 05:17pm 02/05/02 |
I played indoor soccer at UQ last year, and it was great fun. It was really cool having the mixed teams - I had my g/f on the same team (and she was our 2nd best goal scorer lol). We came 2nd last i believe, but i'll bet we had more fun than some of the losers who were really uptight about the matches.
I only got pissed once when some idiot deliberately pushed my g/f over during a match. But i didn't kill him, so it's all good now :) |
#16 05:26pm 02/05/02 |
sif u'd play sport What the f*** else is there?? playing CS?? comon...can anyone say geek?? |
#17 05:26pm 02/05/02 |
I have this one guy on my hockey team that feels the need to yell out at the other team just as they are about to take the hit, if I was the ref I would call him for unsportsmanly play, it REALLY s***s me when he does this. The same with the guys that get all worked up, im 17, playing in mens division hockey, and this old fart about 50 yelled at me and grabbed my stick because I tackled him. In my experience there is one dick like this in every team, Ive had one guy raise his stick up to hit me before, I just stepped in so close so he couldnt swing it. Its ridiculous hehehe, I SO know what you mean about that =) when I was playing hockey for pine hills, I was a bit on the overweight side (this was when I was in year 9). This f***** from the Valley hockey team was screaming pathetic, immature s*** at me all game such as: HEY YOU FAT s***! YOUVE GOTTA EAT SOME MORE CHEESEBURGERS FATTY!@#... really started getting to me. last 3 mins of the game... I belt down on his hockey stick with mine as hard as I could when he went for the ball (my hockey stick was a metal 'talon' hockey stick, his was wooden... sucker)... clean snapped his stick in half, jarred his finger. He went off crying to mummy, and I didn't even get penalised... makes me smile when the ref lets something like that go through, poetic justice if you ask me =). also, trog... isn't the basketball team you played comprised of Fade2Black, tung etc? |
#18 06:34pm 02/05/02 |
I rekon if a team wants to try and win let them, after all that is what the comp is. Otherwise it wouldnt be a comp, with no rankings.
So what if the other team is playing hard? Surly if your there to have fun then that shouldnt bother you? Cause you'd have fun ether way, bug win or big lose. As for your friend getting hurt, there are risks with playing any sport. And if she plays overseas on a more serious scale then why would a dude challenging be a bad thing? Maybe the other guy wanted to try his skillz against a decent soccer player? albiet a little harshly, but sport will be sport. Games will be games. Kids will be kids :p In fact I get a little anoyed when the opponents take it easy on me, I'd rather them go has hard as they can so that I learn the right things to do, not the wrong things.. |
#19 06:43pm 02/05/02 |
MIMEO
even in friedly, muck around games - playing competitively and winning is heaps more fun, unless u totally cain the opposition beyond belief such that u arent even trying - thats gay, but playing heaps serious and really hard is a LOT of fun - more so than being laid back
#20 07:08pm 02/05/02 |
fax0r
I used to luv playing indoor soccer but some of my mates got injured badly like knee ligament and hamstring. Then I thought, why would you pay money for a chance to get injured. Not only will it effect you at work but also everyday life. Might as well just go out and play once in a while with friends.
#21 07:19pm 02/05/02 |
If they're in your face, just throw the basket ball at their nose. Tears will fill their eyes and you keep playing. That should keep their mouths shut for a while. Plus it would be f***in' funny to watch.
8-) |
#22 07:30pm 02/05/02 |
Then when you are knocked over, grab a fist full of sand and throw it in their EYES!
#23 07:38pm 02/05/02 |
Koopz
Not only will it effect you at work but also everyday life. Might as well just go out and play once in a while with friends. I rollerbladed and skateboarded on halfpipes until the day that became a reality. Sports are great, but losing worktime and suffering the anguish of physical pain make them not worth doing anymore. It's just a matter of weighing up your priorities. |
#24 07:42pm 02/05/02 |
fax0r
well the guy that did his knee worked in the building industry so he had to do heavy labour. He was out for a month before he could walk but lucky his boss was a good bloke and gave his job back when he recovered.
But I guess anything could happen anytime anywhere. |
#25 07:46pm 02/05/02 |
That is why online 'sports' r0x0r. Only if your silly, you might die from a siezer..
#26 07:54pm 02/05/02 |
infiNex
Indoor volleyball and netball are the go. I been playing volleyball weekly (and up to 4 times a week during winter) for 6 years and never had a major injury. hehe.
Netball is also a good release to play occassionally. Though it is tough on the lungs. It has mnore injuries though. In my experience - I have played the social league and the premier league in volleyball for all 6 years - guys are just instictively aggressive. I am a competitive player, and I will admit I don't like to lose. I know it ain't sheepstations but at the same time there is a point to playing sport - to determine a winner and loser. In fact I get worried when the opposition guys are NOT competitive. It means they must be on prozac or something. That is one reason guys play in guys only comps sports - so that they can go hard and not worry about trampling the girls. :) |
#27 08:37pm 02/05/02 |
Trog if u saw our game you'd know just how much I share your sentiments, I got rather angry at the amount of dirty slapping our opposition were doing and i let them know it.
One of them in particular didn't like it and started trying to bully me and nats around, we lost pretty badly but I enjoyed the match the most out of any so far, cause the guy that got pissed played as hard and aggressive as he could and I still managed a couple of blocks on him (he's taller stronger and faster than me) which really really pissed him off. After the game as we shook hands he had another go at me, we argued, the result being Nats was rather certain the dumb f*** wasn't very good at english. IMO he's just an egocentric retard who plays the social league to bully others. Unfortunately u guys have to play them next week, take my advice coming weraing body armour :D Oh and about that yelling when people go up for shots, U just know that me, nats, undertow and Tung are all gonna yell out "FIRE UP TROG" if u get the ball when we play ya's next :D |
#28 09:01pm 02/05/02 |
Fade, yeh, nathan told me a bit about it. f***in wangs.
#29 09:38pm 02/05/02 |
Gobo
"The T-bone". Learn it, love it.
All you have to do next time hero aggro smarty man is thorwing his weigth around is leave one guy back on D your next trip up court... turnover the ball by "accident", and then let me (edit: I meant him but it's a pretty funny freudian slip) tear down court for the easy dunk/layup. Except the brave last line of defence guy accidentally gets in the way at the last second. Voila, instant broken wrists <--- voice of experience. I'm only half joking. I don't mind playing guys who are good, but its rarely them who are aggro f***nuts, it's usually the s***kunt players who have the attitude. |
#30 10:40am 03/05/02 |
GeNociDe
heard all about it. i think u'll find though that this applies to games as well. gamers r horrible when it comes to pub games. be it q3, cs, wolf etc etc. they just HAVE to win or they dont have fun. they do the most annoying things to win, and in general arent very nice. i almost think its a character flaw to NOT care about winning since there r so many ppl like this.
#31 11:45am 03/05/02 |
InSoLeNcE
i used to play mixed indoor netball in a friendly competition down at wynnum. Most of the time it was fine cause the people we played against were of similar age to us (19-20) and just in it for a bit of fun. One of the teams however, was full of 30+ yobbos who seemed to think that winning was all that counted. In one of our games i beat their biggest player to the ball and grabbed it before he could, before i could pass it he pushed me over and grabbed the ball.
Now i dont mind if people challenge for the ball legitimately, but when i've already got the ball and some wynnum bogan twice my size and age wants to have a go at me, it makes you wonder why you bother. My side got a penalty (woot) but surely some sort of action should be taken against people like this (disqualification, removal from the game). |
#32 11:49am 03/05/02 |
if you did that in the valley netball centre you would be sent off
ive seen many players sent off for much less than that which is how it should be |
#33 11:53am 03/05/02 |
S p i d Z
Yeah, I used to play in the indoor soccer social games (mixed) and in the basketball comp as well.
Our team was only a social team too, although we were quite good, with a few former qld reps in both basketball and soccer. We made a point of not taking it too seriously and generally had a good time, but every now and then we came up against wankers liek you speak of, but we really pissed them off, cause they ere so hellbent on winning and we didn't really care, yet we would still mostly ownz0r them :P We made a special point each time we played them to win, yet we often lost games to the very s*** teams. Then in soccer we came up against some real wankers, i played goalie and they used to just f***ing kick as hard as they could at me, and these wankers could kick it HARD. I am quite a big guy, and play A grade Rugby and these little pissants trying to intimidate me made it quite funny. In the ned we got sick of dealing wit wankers and organised out own social comp with about 50 mates, and we play a diff sport each week, and its mainly house vs house with a round robin. We play beach volleyball, half-court basketball, tennis, touch footy and a few other games we made up. I would reccomend the same to anyone, its twice as much fun, doesn't cost anything and you are playing with mates, and we constantly get more people joining in every week. |
#34 11:58am 03/05/02 |
wolfieee
Hey guys, i agree with you all. You all have valid points. Its good to see that we all dont just sit in front of computers all day long. First question is to Spidz: when can i join ? I'd love to play some more sport with more people. At the moment we play some friendly squash on friday nights and we have a little group of about 10 of us. We hire out two courts and play to three points and then rotate. That way everyone gets a turn. We even got a few girls interested :P
Trog: I thought the purpose of competition was to compete and inifex is right when he says all males are aggressive and competitive by nature. I think its just the way it is...but youre right, sometimes people go overboard. I used to play A Grade basketball and social soccer, back in my hay day and what you guys are all talking about are just common tactics we used when playing each sport. For instance, full court press would s*** some teams and wouldnt work on others, so each game would be different and we would have to adapt to the game. But if anything puts people off, it would have to be trash talking and muscling up an opponent. I'm not a very big guy compared to some of the monsters we played but i would always play physical, no matter how big the person was....and believe me it used to s*** everyone, the referee's would nine times out of ten call a foul on the big guys instead of me, even though i was fouling like crazy. Box outs are so much fun as well. Everyone gets pissed off at them. So i guess in total the game is just full of tactics. Personally i'd prefer to win, but then again i'm not to fussed if i lose unless i'm physically threatened, then you play hard or go home. Take your pick. "No matter how hot she is, someone else is sick of her s*** !" |
#35 01:24pm 03/05/02 |
Phoenix
when I was playing hockey for pine hills, I was a bit on the overweight side (this was when I was in year 9). This f***** from the Valley hockey team was screaming pathetic, immature s*** at me all game such as: HEY YOU FAT s***! YOUVE GOTTA EAT SOME MORE CHEESEBURGERS FATTY!@#... really started getting to me. One day im going to find a team picture with you in it and post it here. |
#36 07:53pm 03/05/02 |
#36 |