Topic: Hurricane Katrina pics
Does anyone have any cool (that's sounds bad) pics showing the carnage of this? I just grabbed a few from the Courier Mail site and by now there should be heaps of stuff around.

http://www.members.optushome.com.au/gpahl/kat01.jpg

http://www.members.optushome.com.au/gpahl/kat02.jpg

http://www.members.optushome.com.au/gpahl/kat03.jpg

http://www.members.optushome.com.au/gpahl/kat04.jpg
Not sure what is going on in the first one?

That Maccas is in pretty bad shape tho!
A_W
You can't get any pics of new oreleans, cause the whole city is under 10 - 20 feet of water now. Pretty bad. But that's what you get for building a city below sea level. And between a big lake and a huge long river. trouble factor tripled.
phathead
and that first pick is of an oil rig which broke free of its like shackles..moorings or whatever and floated into the bridge.
http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y154/tiny04/Katrina1.jpg

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y154/tiny04/Katrina2.jpg

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y154/tiny04/Katrina3.jpg

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y154/tiny04/KAtrina4.jpg

It ripped off the tiles on the stadium - and thats a sturdy building.

last edited by Tiny at 12:10:43 31/Aug/05
god
s this about that tornado thing that hit orlando or something in america?
There all from Hurricane Katrina which hit New Orleans yesteday i believe.

You should know

last edited by Astroboy at 12:15:43 31/Aug/05
You could start a thread about favoured types of games / thats a better idea, this thread is about Katrina.
A_W

^ false god.
Hes from the deep south.
Dodgymon
how the hell does a hurricane in america influence oil prices?

I'm confuzzed
....well because America is the third largest oil producing country in the world. Saudi Arabia is #1 and Russia is #2.

So when they stop production it inflates prices. They are also the largest importer of oil world wide. So stopping production in the Hurricane affected area means that exporters can charge everyone more.

last edited by Twisted at 13:00:01 31/Aug/05
There are huge oil refineries around the gulf of mexico. I'm guessing that if they are underwater they can't refine crude oil!
http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/image/0508/katrina_goes12.jpg

http://uhohwereintrouble.ytmnd.com/
^ haha, that cracked me up
pwhoar is there any vids out there?
Examples of devastation:
-Serious levee break at 17th Street Canal still allowing water from Lake Pontchartrain into the city... floodwaters continue to rise in many areas
-Rising water continues to overwhelm Tulane Hospital. Air evacuation expected.
-Oil tanker brought aground, leaking into floodwaters
-"Probably 80% of our city underwater"
-Pumps inoperational
-Water as deep as 20 feet
-"Many of our residents still waiting on roofs"
-Mass looting of supermarkets, drugstores, liquor stores, etc.
-Both airports underwater
-Twin span roadways completely destroyed
-Yacht club and other structures on fire
-City inaccessible by highway... large sections of I-10 underwater
-Underwater gas leaks throughout the city... starting new fires
-Bodies floating in the water... "a significant amount of loss of life in the city... mostly from New Orleans East"
-No potable water
-No electricity... expected to be out for 4-6 weeks

this was the status as of yesterday, today it got worse

http://www.wwltv.com/sharedcontent/breakingnews/slideshow/082905Katrina/img/1.jpg
Object flying through air = School bus

http://home.comcast.net/~pioneeraudio/nola_katrina_med.wmv

last edited by Lowgoz at 14:45:57 31/Aug/05
^^ holy s***

Officials said a one-metre shark had been spotted cruising the flooded streets.

uh oh :S
How come white people 'find' but black people 'loot'? :/

edit: I know it's just media bias. All of them are of course looters... I just thought it was kkkinda funny that the good white ppl just 'found' the loot.

last edited by demon at 15:59:37 31/Aug/05
Imagine the force to get that off the ground let alone moving at that height!
How come white people 'find' but black people 'loot'? :/

because they are black, that is what they do
fingers
cause the black dude looks like he is looting...shifty f***er...

the white people look like they got a couple of items to eat and they dont look suss at all..

to put into perspective, imagine the black dude as a white person...id still say they were looting
One day people will learn not to build cities below sea level.
Those white people in the pic look like backpackers an you just know that those dirty lil f***ers are thieves...
I recently spoke to my buddy on Bourbon street, and he said there is about 3 and half feet of water in the bar.

My friend that is a firefighter is now holed up with my buddy on Bourbon street. Said he has not seen one single National Guardsman anywhere. He has been running around in airboats picking people up.

He also said they had to skirt around a gunfight between cops and some looters in a bank.

Along with this, there have been about 10 more people that tried to come and steal crap from the bar so I can only imagine what is happening on the rest of bourbon street.

This is f***ing nuts.
Serves them right for staying
Its typa like telling everyone in Inala to move to NSW. Some people just dont have cars mate and couldn't get out
that video is crazy (well its a bunch of stills merged into a vid)

shows the carnage!

nice soundtrack as well
that vid is lame
If anyone has the stomach for it, orgish has some pictures up
sLiNky
Thats freakin sick!

Wsome vid. But the first song is better as an original. Soo much better song by josh Groban.

That is alot of carnage. I would not want to be there.

But i suppose it would be kewl to see shootouts in the street :D
Excruci@ting
Golden first post lol.

Rev, is that an oil rig stuck under the bridge in the first photo :P. It sure as hell looks like it.
yeah its an oil rig guys
Object flying through air = School bus

actually no, it's a roof, see the first picture here

http://www.time.com/time/photoessays/hurricane_katrina/?cnn=yes

"The roof blows off a Backyard Barbeque in Kenner, La."
umm seriously, if i was there, i'd be looting aswell..
Somehow Bush will make the Hurricane into a terrorist attack, and use it as leveredge to invade Iran.
an7|kappa
"Katrina does New Orleans"
A_W

lol. that is too funny Demon. Great pointer.

Both from the same place. (grocery store)
Both have the same food item. (bread)

Where's the difference in the action??

The whole city is flooded. You find it floating 20 feet outside the store or you go into ruined store and get it. Stealing is Stealing. A clear racial bias difference between those pics. Even if unintentional.

What if they stole it to feed there hungry storm ravaged children?
that thing stuck under that bridge is a drilling rig according to the ABC news website..

http://www.abc.net.au/news/newsitems/200508/s1449647.htm

"At least two drilling rigs were knocked adrift and one in Mobile Bay, Alabama, broke free of its mooring and slammed into a bridge."
What if they stole it to feed there hungry storm ravaged children?

They are saying that taking food and water is ok but taking knife sets and stuff like that is gona get you shot by the POL - ICE
http://www.abc.net.au/reslib/200508/r56983_155729.jpg

http://www.abc.net.au/reslib/200508/r57053_155924.jpg
Johnny Be DEAD
At least two drilling rigs were knocked adrift and one in Mobile Bay, Alabama, broke free of its mooring and slammed into a bridge.

did someone say a drift? :)

http://aaron-77.com/galleries/s1_trackday/images/IMG_0052.jpg
I can see your number plate
Thats the point of personalised plates you see.
A_W
Which is prefectly reasonable Lowgoz. Everyone needs highly crucial food and water supplies, but they don't need knife sets, footballs, sports clothing, TV's, microwaves, and so on. That's blatant burglary for personal gain.
personalised plates nF? I always thought you were hetero
Came with the car. Stripe also.

http://images.ausimages.com/upload/2005-08-31/44.jpg

http://images.ausimages.com/upload/2005-08-31/2074356.jpg

http://images.ausimages.com/upload/2005-08-31/2074994.jpg

hahahahahaha

OH hugh
A_W
nfi is the poster with the blank name? Ah huh.....
Greazy
is it wrong to laugh at the pictures?
turn your avatars on a_w and you'll see who it is
you'll also notice he is a forumhero
Saw some footage on the news which i thought was great. Firstly you see a cop with a pump shotty pointing at a looter shouting, "DROP IT, I SAID DROP IT."(i think this looter had some stolen clothes). Then in the next scene a cop is standing outside a supermarket whilst people are walking out with handfulls of clothes and other items and as the looter's eyes meet the cops eyes, the cop says, "I dont approve of what you're doing, but joo gotta doo what joo gotta do to survive."
You dont see cops letting people get away with crime everyday. But they were clearly out-numbered.
you'll also notice he is a forumhero

says him...

last edited by Astroboy at 22:53:18 31/Aug/05
there's a lotta black people in that video
that last pic, with all those little boats, I thought they were all fish at first.

did someone mention pics of kat?
http://users.bigpond.net.au/ritsuko/kat.jpg

last edited by whoop at 23:11:29 31/Aug/05
Hahahaha

Man, I love the photos Demon posted. The white people "found" some bread floating outside a grocery store while the black person was "looting" the exact same thing.

That is f***ing hilarious!!!!

All I got out of this thread was that nF admits his car isn't hetero.
yours isn't either Obes
obes drives a girls car
They are saying that taking food and water is ok but taking knife sets and stuff like that is gona get you shot by the POL - ICE
Even Australians new the hurricane was coming. If you didn't have food, water, batteries you are a fool. Looting bread is still looting.
you're right, his car is hetero. It's just gender confused.
WhiteWolf
If you didn't have food, water, batteries you are a fool.
yeah, but a f*** load of help stocking up on bread and bateries and whatnot is when your f***ING HOUSE AND ALL CONTENCE GETS BLOWN THE f*** OUTTA THERE!

also. people need cloths, for many people everything they owned would have been destroyed.
there's a lotta black people in that video

Holy f***ing s***! Black people in New Orleans!

Did anybody else open this thread expecting to see Kat2.zip? Pictures of Kat in the Star Wars toilet would rock!
http://www.livejournal.com/users/interdictor/

this guy has a blog from downtown, i think hes in a secured apartment complex dawn of the dead style. Prob on satelite internet AND has a f***ing webcam set up !!
http://old.mises.org:88/NO2

Random quotes:

Looting: The police are looting. This has been confirmed by several independent sources. Some of the looting might be "legitimate" in as much as that word has any meaning in this context. They have broken into ATMs and safes: confirmed. We have eyewitnesses to this. They have taken dozens of SUVs from dealerships ostensibly for official use. They have also looted gun stores and pawn shops for all the small arms, supposedly to prevent "criminals" from doing so. But who knows their true intentions. We have an inside source in the NOPD who says that command and control is in chaos. He reports that command lapses more than 24 hours between check-ins, and that most of the force are "like deer in the headlights." NOPD already had a reputation for corruption, but I am telling you now that the people we've been talking to say they are not recognizing the NOPD as a legitimate authority anymore, since cops have been seen looting in Walmarts and forcing people out of stores so they could back up SUVs and loot them. Don't shoot the messenger....
http://www.wlbt.com/

That site has a 20 minute video of a news chopper flying along the coastline and there is some wicked carnage going on. There's f***ing floating casinos one hundred metres inland, and these things are like floating hotels, so it really shows how f***ing strong the hurricane was. If you wanna see some carnage, check out the video in that link.

EDIT: Hmm, seems they've added a new video that runs for about 30 minutes.

last edited by Reverend Evil at 11:04:02 01/Sep/05
One lady on one of the news reports said something like "it's a war zone here like someone dropped a bomb".

How ironic.

God hates them.
Check out reverends footage - look at the bridge about 27 mins in - insanity!
One lady on one of the news reports said something like "it's a war zone here like someone dropped a bomb".

How ironic.

God hates them.

in your theory that means god hates arabs...or allah hates, im confused
im confused
Say no more.
no more
A_W
haha Booyah. Too true.

Warzone? looks like a bomb dropped? You mean you know what you've done to other people purposley many times looks like first hand now? Interesting learning experience for you then.
Looting bread is still looting

And Australia wouldn't be the country it is today if someone hadn't of stolen bread a couple of hundred years ago....

Stealing food to survive in my opinion isn't wrong, stealing objects due to the fact that opportunity presents, thst s*** is..
http://img188.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img188&image=img11145qs.jpg
^ f***ing nutter redneck
A_W
omg.....lol.
i vote photoshoped
either way he has a point...

/s***-stir
Holy s*** at that redneck mobile, I sure hope that is a photoshop, but I'm gonna guess that is probably not
http://img143.imageshack.us/img143/2483/thatsracist7oj.gif
care of SA
Holy s*** at that redneck mobile, I sure hope that is a photoshop, but I'm gonna guess that is probably not

nope, good old aryan pride on that one. They love their sticker printing, it makes it all seem so legitimate
I, as well as many others, would really like an up close and personal with that driver and his ute. Such a hero *roles eyes*

I wouldn't be suprised if spidz hopped out from one of those.

last edited by Booyah at 16:38:25 01/Sep/05
Nice photos im searching for some now ..
Notice the racist spaz mobile had a disabled lisence plate?

Still, $10 says a well done photo chop
idonwananame
reload thats a big bag that little kids got id call that looting.
most of the footage ive seen more than 90% of people there r black.
fair to say most of the looting done by black people but there was whites and others looting too.
i drive a daewoo with collingwood stickers, but you're close booyah.
This hurricane obviously just wanted attention.
A_W

I bet Bush thinks this hurricane was caused by enemys of the US who are jealous of democracy and the lifestyles of the free nations and somehow managed to use super ultra omfg secret wheather control technology to make a massive hurricane just outside the gulf region.

New WMD's -----> Wheather.

And you don't have to look hard to find it, it's all around you. lol.
^ i think that poor joke has already been made...
digit
i don't think that even ranks as a joke

you suck.
Poor joke but 10/10 for reiterating the fact bush is dumb c***asaurus.
wolfieee
check out scalar and harrp weapons for more info...

poor people, i hope that most people are ok.
A_W

Booyah is on the money. Poor joke if you read it as a joke, but really i am just re-cofirming how dumb bush can be by using another hypothetical scenario based on recent RL events. :)
I bet A_W thinks this hurricane was caused by enemys of the US who are jealous of democracy and the lifestyles of the free nations and somehow managed to use super ultra omfg secret wheather control technology to make a massive hurricane just outside the gulf region.
i retract my looting comments. This is from a doctor at a hospital there
The city now has no clean water, no sewerage system, no electricity, and no real communications. Bodies are still being recovered floating in the floods. We are worried about a cholera epidemic. Even the police are without effective communications. We have a group of armed police here with us at the hotel that is admirably trying to exert some local law enforcement. This is tough because looting is now rampant. Most of it is not malicious looting. These are poor and desperate people with no housing and no medical care and no food or water trying to take care of themselves and their families. Unfortunately, the people are armed and dangerous. We hear gunshots frequently. Most of Canal street is occupied by armed looters who have a low threshold for discharging their weapons. We hear gunshots frequently. The looters are using makeshift boats made of pieces of styrofoam to access. We are still waiting for a significant national guard presence.
http://graphics8.nytimes.com/images/2005/08/30/national/evac.184.1.650.jpg

http://www.phuckdrifting.com/gallery/albums/Random-Pictures/29storm_slide11.jpg

http://static.flickr.com/26/38676723_85f49fd0d3.jpg?v=0

http://www.spiegel.de/img/0,1020,512700,00.jpg

http://us.news3.yimg.com/us.i2.yimg.com/p/afp/20050901/capt.sge.dog55.010905014801.photo02.photo.default-384x252.jpg
http://us.news3.yimg.com/us.i2.yimg.com/p/rids/20050901/i/r539979715.jpg
Hahahahaha

Those last two pics are f***ing hilarious.

lol at the first pic too.
4.8 meg vid: http://www.riotvideo.com/videodir/227143325455427784.wmv

why did i just post this in another thread wtf
Dopefish
Pics Courtesy of CiXeL| the mad cainer and #interdictor ops.

I uploaded these to an Australian server so it should load quite fast unless it gets hammered.

I believe Radius from SA still has his blog up here.
http://www.livejournal.com/users/interdictor/

The site hosting the pics has died after being slashdotted, so here is an Open Directory for the pics (aussie host) = http://files.omgz.info/katrina/

These are a few good ones, the rest are at the url above.

http://files.omgz.info/katrina/DSC02907.JPG
http://files.omgz.info/katrina/DSC02915.JPG
http://files.omgz.info/katrina/DSC02920.JPG
http://files.omgz.info/katrina/DSC02906.JPG
http://files.omgz.info/katrina/DSC02888.JPG
http://files.omgz.info/katrina/DSC02862.JPG
http://files.omgz.info/katrina/DSC02854.JPG
http://files.omgz.info/katrina/DSC02853.JPG
http://files.omgz.info/katrina/Picture124.jpg
http://files.omgz.info/katrina/Picture069.jpg
http://files.omgz.info/katrina/Picture107.jpg
http://files.omgz.info/katrina/Picture172.jpg
http://files.omgz.info/katrina/Picture129.jpg
http://files.omgz.info/katrina/Picture159.jpg
http://files.omgz.info/katrina/Picture140.jpg

Pics should work in a few minutes if they dont already.

last edited by Dopefish at 15:27:33 02/Sep/05
A_W

Wow. Look at all those people "looting" .

lol @ tough black guy riding bike with shotgun. I bet he looted those too btw.

What's that white guy walking past him found tho? Aint holding much.

oh btw. Great wheather images. :)

last edited by A_W at 15:30:59 02/Sep/05
Hahah, they are all blacks looting. No suprises there
Except for the guy at the bus stop, he's got a "this blows" kinda face on but he's the one that looted the entire bus.
I read somewhere that it's hard to measure the real devastation of a storm unless there are trailer-parks in its path :)
SD Gundam
http://img271.imageshack.us/img271/2595/zangeif0rk.gif
darius
uh oh :( must ... resist ... urge to turn this thread into a crazy rgb.swf / lots of gifs thread :(
some hi res satelite images can be found at this link

http://www.digitalglobe.com/katrina_gallery.html
sLiNky
The first picture in the thread is fake. N.O. Has No electricity what so ever. And they are using what little generators they have to payer a clothes shop? I don't think so.
Greazy
At first the people of the United States of America were likehttp://img306.imageshack.us/img306/1221/m0zincoming3bo6kt2cb.th.jpg.

My reaction was:http://img333.imageshack.us/img333/893/craftyfrogex0hg.th.jpg then I was like http://img352.imageshack.us/img352/2146/dongcattn1ud.th.jpg WTF at all the negros stealing n s*** http://img377.imageshack.us/img377/138/guytv0kl.th.jpg I thought it was completely http://img381.imageshack.us/img381/2783/squirrelnut1dj7br.th.jpg.
A_W
Nice image story there Greazy.
A_W...I know this is petty but f***ing learn to spell....its WEATHER not wheather.
A_W

no one cares about 1 letter. typo's happen. big whoop.
I bet Bush thinks this hurricane was caused by enemys of the US who are jealous of democracy and the lifestyles of the free nations and somehow managed to use super ultra omfg secret wheather control technology to make a massive hurricane just outside the gulf region.

New WMD's -----> Wheather.

And you don't have to look hard to find it, it's all around you. lol.

oh btw. Great wheather images. :)

In 2 threads?

Dopefish
Trog i think they want some more mirrors for the live streaming etc.
I know you're really into america etc so if thats interesting for you maybe you can mirror some crap. :-D
A_W

haha @ this news report. Some rapper guy performing at a televised charity benefit got away with with ripping on bush badly and the whole east coast heard him because the censor didn't realise he had gone off script.

http://entertainment.tv.yahoo.com/entnews/ap/20050902/112572168000.html
got bean
http://x700.putfile.com/videos/24420044548.wmv
i think this is the vid a_w
A_W

Thanks got bean. Brilliant. lol.

"George Bush doesn't care about black people. Please ca *cut off* "

He won't be back on TV doing anything regarding the relief effort again.
OMG that clip was awesome! That guy is my new hero. I just love the looks on Mike Myers' and Chris Tucker's faces. They probably agree too.
© Copyright 2001-2025 AusGamers Pty Ltd. ACN 093 772 242.