Topic: Possible terrorist attack in London
News radio is reporting that there was an explosion at Liverpool street station with people fleeing the tube injured, and that the underground has been shut down due to a 'major incident'. A few minutes later a bus exploded in central london.

link
google has it covered

http://edition.cnn.com/2005/WORLD/europe/07/07/london.tube/
channel 2 now
superform your link says nothing of the bus that went kaboom.

first link talks of both trains and buses. gotta be terrorists if both a bus and a train coincedently blow up at roughly the same time.

The ABC news break which showed CNN focused on the bus too, so it's not just AFP/ABC thinking a bus blew up.

CNN now recognise the bus blowing up too.

last edited by natslovR at 19:40:58 07/Jul/05
... waits for comment from mooby.
ya.. looks like 2 explosions/crashes in the underground.. then a bus exploding

UPDATE

3 BUS BOMBS

http://www.nbr.co.nz/home/column_article.asp?id=12352&cid=8&cname=News
Dopefish
ffs.
This really sucks.
6 explosions in the london underground system and 3 explosions on busses around london.

1 bus explosion has been confirmed and all hospitals have been put on major alert in london.

just got confirmed as a terrorist attack - al quidia or linked group suspected

possiable that the g8 summit was targeted... aparently bears the fingerprints of a terrorist attack.

The G8 summit is in Scotland...
And concidering that London just got the 2012 olympics too...
The bus that exploded was a tourist bus with a covering, lady is saying that she couldn't see anyone injured due to everyone getting evacuated so fast. Aparently the bus explosion blew the top of the bus and completly destroyed it.

There are fatalities in the bus explosion which happened in Tavistock square. FOX saying that this appears to be a "major" terrorist attack. eyewitness reports from the underground system reporting "numerious" fatalities.
mate lives at liverpool street, prolly 50ms from the tube. he slept in this morn and missed it by 10mins

f***ing french.. loose the olyimpics bid...

yeah, on bbc tv scotland yard came on and said blew the top off one bus.. blood inside.

other 2 unconfirmed.
Witnesses reported a secondary blast at one site. Explosions were at rush hour. At least 3 double decker busses have been the target of explosions. at least 90 casualities at ONE station underground
" a lot of bodies" on the ground were getting treated on the bus. Tables from a nearby hotel were used as stretchers. The bus exploded a few hundred meters from a station that was getting evacuated after a previous bomb explosion.
dammit, they missed my ex.. an after all the money I paid em...
Good news source, very up to date: http://blogs.guardian.co.uk/news/

1048 Home Secretary Charles Clarke has just appeared in front of Downing Street, talking of "dreadful" incidents, and "terrible injuries" in the explosions. He is sending sympathy to those individuals and families affected. The COBRA committee - the government's emergency response body - is meeting, as is the Cabinet.

Skynews is saying 90 casualties at Algate station alone

last edited by natslovR at 20:08:36 07/Jul/05
Channel 7 has the best coverage at the moment

London was inevitable.
Army is on the streets now, working with the police. No mobile phone coverage anymore. 100,000 people walking out of the city. Busses packed trying to take people out of the city.
Armed police with Mp5's outside buckingham pallace guarding it
thats bs about mobiles.. i can call
theres always leet dudes with mp5 a bucking and parlimant house
alot of lowgoz information is bogus, stop talking s*** you f***ing idiot.

last edited by d[o_0]b at 20:24:39 07/Jul/05
Queen is in scotland as far as FOX is concerned. London police say that there have been at least 6 explosions which have been confirmed.
Bomb sniffing dogs everywhere - people trapped underground in burning trains

Bus's roof got blowen 10 meters into the air. The bus in qudestion was crowded,
but people were moving around on the top deck after the explosion.

staff are running from hospitals with blood bags and weelchairs. looks like most of the people are off the bomb bus and in a cas ward on the street
but its the word of god, o wait god isnt english he wouldnt kno anyway
alot of lowgoz information is bogus, stop talking s*** you f***ing idiot.

im sitting in front of CNN and FOX flicking between them and typing what has been said on the reports.

Get a clue idiot
think its just network congetstion. our mail servs up and down cause everones emailing around.
Oh yes because Fox and CNN are the bastions of journalistic integrity... Now where was that clue again? Also, I think people such as m00by who are there might know MORE.
According to Sky News Police are telling people to make their way to National Rail stations and evacuate London.
steady lowgoz... im just sitting in the middle of london and i just reciveed a call.

who knows whats going on really.. early stages.
the reporter said on FOX that he took an hour to get through to the studio

he said some networks were down but obviously not all mate
those rotten al-qaida f***ing c***s.

this is terrible.

UK and international anti-terrorist agencies failed again.

is sydney next? :(
yeah mooby i was wrong in saying that mobile networks are down.

"mobile phones in central london have gone down due to congestion. Landlines are starting to go down and telephone providers have reported that they are dedicating recourses to the emergancy services" .. thats straight from CNNI but obviosly its not accuarate.

sortry for typing and s***, im in the dark on a laptop
if the cops shut down the networ.. youd get "no service"?

anyway... i reckon theres more to come.

that area is the obvious target. finacial district, stock exchange ect.

last edited by möoby at 20:35:54 07/Jul/05
they are dedicating commuinication services to the emergancy services as far as CNNI is concerned. both cnni and FOX are saying the phone system is down, but obviously they are wrong ! lol. Police are on telling the news people to stop telling the public crap, obviously they are giving false info
moby, pics, now !
According to Sky News Police are telling people to make their way to National Rail stations and evacuate London.

WHAT????

no way
It could be the French, They did just lose to London in the Olympics!
6 bomb explosions on the london underground and 4 bus explosions... says:
cam im scared... they have brought the army in here and saying get the f*** out of london

My freind has a mate in london, reckons its nuts.
ffs.
This really sucks.

It's okay, your sig makes me think happy thoughts.
2 deaths reported at aldgate (station?) by police.

Whats happened is that the blasts on the subway system have driven people onto the streets where the bus explosions have taken them out. Pretty crazy because even the police commisioner doesn't know what the "whole picture is"
I have two mates in london. Neither seem fussed

last edited by Kat at 20:43:02 07/Jul/05
News is saying that public transport is now shut down.

Geez this is terrible. Poor bastards on the trains etc. Innocent people.
Horrible to see all the people wandering around in shock.

WTF is the thinking behind this? So senseless.
slap69
28 days later styels
some c******* is on channel 9 saying that the response was very poor and that things could be done better. What a tosser, he hasn't got a scratch on him

earlier they were talking to a guy with blood all over his face who told it like it was, rather than just paying out the goverment
Sky had 90 deaths before (channel 7), then channel 9 had 20. Who knows, hopefully it won't grow from either of those figures...

And concidering that London just got the 2012 olympics too...

i blame the frenchies---

the cricket is still on btw... they just cut back to it. the show must go on.

ps this is really f***ed up. dont get me wrong!

Sky had 90 deaths before (channel 7), then channel 9 had 20. Who knows, hopefully it won't grow from either of those figures...

no, 90 CASUALTIES = injured !
if they are evacuating london they know something that we dont... i find it hard to beleive.
^^ Big Brother not working out for you anymore eh Lowgoz?
2 deaths 90 casualties last time I heard on channel 2
heh, i ate to much nando's and now im really horny
west london to central london has been blocked off by the cops to stop trafic and people.

people are unable to use their phone, landlines are difficult. chief of police fears explosions co-ordinated.

IE news networks have no new news
pictures of ambulances arriving at hospitals, a chick is doing CPR on one of the people getting taken out of the ambo

lots of people are gona die, f***
Skyhawk
Where is the this is US policy bulls*** here.

f*** THE TERRORISTS
In at least one of the incidents, most of the injured people have come from an area closer to the station (ie further from the blast) so there could be a lot more badly injured/killed.

Hope not but it doesn't look good.

Arab sources have said to BBC that this was almost certanly an al quidia attack.

that guy they were doing cpr on was black with soot :S
slap69
im sick .
f*** man, when are they gonna pull the cricketers!

last edited by slap69 at 20:56:14 07/Jul/05
lowgoz get off the sugar dood...
im posting s*** as i hear it on cnn
i mean i can stop if you want
Excruci@ting
It could be the French, They did just lose to London in the Olympics!

Agreed
tony blair just did his address. he and bush have been rehersing those at camp david for years now..

makes you wonder if jonny howard has a speach or an address to the nation prepared too when/if this happens on ausie soil.

last edited by sleepy at 21:09:16 07/Jul/05
howard might have a speech but the smaller cities (brisbane) arn't prepared in the least for an attack on the scale of london. seriously 6 blasts in brisbane would render the city f***ed.. completly
mm.. all pretty crazy. heathrow and s*** will be a nightmare. lucky i just got back form denmark.

text messages are comming through.
hahah lowgoz is going skitz

also stupid terrorists~!
nothing quite like a terrorist attack to get the news rolling 24/7
confirmed 5 tubes, one bus
i doubt is has anything to do with the olympics, i mean these things arnt just spare of the moment get out of bed and blow s*** up ya know? it's probably been in planning for some time and also part of a bigger scheme.
new map.. de_morgate not funny i know.
doob is right, if anything its about g8 and not olympics
i dont think anyone was serious about the olympics guys. seriously
Blah blah blah blah.

Let's get to the point, who are we going to invade for this ?
footage of the street where EVERYONE is on their phones lol good work ya poms
isralie source saying that london was tipped off to these attacks but that hasn't been confirmed yet
where EVERYONE is on their phones lol good work ya poms

what? bombs just went off.. who in the area wouldnt be on their phone.
Terrorists win.

somehow i dont think its over.

at kings cross station, operations on victims are being performed on the station underground platforms, obviosly there's f***ing carnage

royal london hospital said that there mobile responce team was on the scene quickly, 95 casualities in the hospital, 10 patients seriously ill, 7 patients critical.At least 3 double decker buses arrived at the hospital full of injured at this hospital alone.

West london hospital has 40 casualities, 4 in critical conditions

It is just Muslims blowing up Muslims with a few actual English people getting hurt.
Places not to visit list:

-Bali
-London
-Any arab country
-America
It is just Muslims blowing up Muslims with a few actual English people getting hurt.

What Muslims?
Peak hour commuters in London....I don't think Muslims were specifically targeted.

...and I'd say quite a few people hurt and killed, English or otherwise. How could you downplay incidents where bombs explode in crowded public places killing innocent people?

gimpy was obviously a cotton wool baby
slap69
I'm getting confused with all this mis-use of the word casualty.
Tony Blair seemed pretty certain it was because of the G8 when he made his speech, like certain in a "We know lots more than we're saying" way, or a "we kinda expected this was going to happen cos we were warned about it" way.
yeh cnn got caught out also

casuality = injured
fatality = dead
Lowgoz, I'm just a victim of scare tactics :(
i think we should nuke naru
bbc had footage before of some guy getting cpr, looked pretty messed up :(

now its just the yellow jacket people and the wrx parking repeatedly
they should say injured instead of casuality becuase casuality can mean both dead or injured, but most ppl think of it as dead.
now its just the yellow jacket people and the wrx parking repeatedly

Haha, is that the one that parks, and the three people get out and get backpacks out of the boot and put them on? f***, I must have seen that footage fifty times by now.
f*** this makes me angry

i f***ing hate terrorist and their loser ideals

leave f***ing civilians alone
depends on the context, the brits have casualty wards in hospitals (ie emergency)

so clearly it doesn't mean dead to them
Haha, is that the one that parks, and the three people get out and get backpacks out of the boot and put them on?

Yep, theres also a guy reverse parking. Gives it a massive angle, but manages to pull it in and get it perfectly straight.

Top job really.
Peak hour commuters in London....I don't think Muslims were specifically targeted.

High population of london is Muslims, obviously not the target but are going ot take out alot of their own (Dont give me this..."IT PROBABLEEE ISNT MUSLIMS LOL@*#(@" that is silly talk)

Have you been to london? Do you have a clue?

last edited by Astroboy at 21:48:08 07/Jul/05
To think all this destruction has happened just cause some brainwashed arab wants to get his half dozen virgins in heaven.
/cue booyah
to think somewhere someone is having a glass of champagne over this
High population of london is Muslims

I highly doubt "muslims" were the intended target. I think the public transport system was targetted in order to cripple London and to also spread general fear. To say that Muslims were targetted is just ridiculous.

It is obviously a terrorist attack against London, not muslims as you suggest.
(Dont give me this..."IT PROBABLEEE ISNT MUSLIMS LOL@*#(@" that is silly talk)

No one has claimed responsibility yet, although early unconfirmed reports have claimed that some European Al-Queda group has posted a notice of responsibility on their website.

I am not saying that it is or isn't Muslim terrorists. It could be some kind of G8 protest for all you know. What I am saying though is I highly doubt your claim that it is Muslims blowing up Muslims with a few English people getting injured.

Have I been to London? No. What the f*** has that got to do with anything?

Its like the start of an episode of 24. This is just the first attack, the one that is meant to create chaos and cover up the REAL goal of the terrorists.
which was to steal a s***load of gold after the alarm systems were taken out by the explosions

then bruce willis would come in and save the day
Well, this blows. Its interesting to see that the majority reaction now seems to be less like it was for 911 ("omg wtf") and more anger and rage.
the good thing is that england has a well oiled system for dealing with attacks because they are used to the IRA a******s.

The bad thing about this time is that the attacks are so wide spread that no one knows whats going on

ive got my bets on 70 people dead
Humans will end up killing themselves.

Wonder what the dinosaurs decided was a good idea.
I think people are more cynical after 9/11. We (sadly) almost expect these things now. Especially after Bali and Spain, the reaction is far more likely to be anger than disbelief.
Why don't these f***s just PVP like the rest of us??
one of my friends who works with the aust govnt in london has friends missing

she was hot too but thank f*** shes ok
east london is full of indians....

for the record, the tube carries 1million ppl a day... busses.. who knows.. closing down the tube is a big deal. was such an obvious target. *they* have been saying that for ages.

always warnings about unattended laugage ect.
aus gov building is in "bank".. in that area.
Cassie was saying that shes been locked in her workplace, she works for DFAT office in london, they said that all the dead have been removed so im guessing it wont be over 100
Blair is leaving for london in a chinook, what an idiot taking a lumbering millitary beast in the middle of a terrorist thread, id be taking a backseat in a f***ing harrier.
only Leonard Nimoy can save them now.
On the bright side, there is like 10 bazillion people in London so if 90 or so is all, THEY SUCKED ASS.

Dunno if you meant it or not, but making a point of saying she was hot sounds a bit shallow. It kinda undermines your earlier "concern" when you say "oh she was hot so it good she's ok." Like if she was ugly or plain would you be like "Meh! She's been maimed but she was a minge, so that's no great loss."

Or were you just excited that you actually knew a hot chick once and thought you would take the opportunity to let us know?
Sorry, I'm just breaking your balls but you must admit the link between her being hot and surviving the attack is pretty tenuous.
ok i rephrase

she was hot AND thank god shes ok
Blair is leaving for london in a chinook, what an idiot taking a lumbering millitary beast in the middle of a terrorist thread, id be taking a backseat in a f***ing harrier.
I dunno, I get the crazy feeling that he'll probably have an adequate escort

whats her number? ill go check up on her
I blame millitant lesbians.
shes a hot little rich girl, was going out with one of my friends from work but went to england to live with her first boyfriend because she never got over him

her reason for going back to him is that "he cooked for the queen once", her daddy is high up in the govermenet and she drives a new mini and shes like 23 years old so shes set, but one of those weird chicks who is a little weird in the head.

anyway she jumped offline really fast, she said shes scared but i told her that the queen is ok so everything will be ok then she went offline, so im sure that shes happy that the queen is ok

Lowgoz, stop bouncing in your chair.

also

what Booyah said.

hmm lets see,

NYC, Madrid, London, >insert your local shopping mall here.<
Merlyn
Man, stroke of luck for me.
I was supposed to have gone to London Wednesday till Sunday, but had to pull out to work on the Iron Maiden concert. Hate to be trying to get around with all this going on.
http://images.ausimages.com/upload/2005-07-07/TN_London_Burning_copy.jpg

Monopoly anyone?
Still too early to blame anyone lesbian or otherwise. There's any number of political, social, ethnic or miscellaneous groups that could be responsible.
^that was quick^
Photoshop is my new best friend.
Would have been funnier if you only did it to Kings Cross (edit: and liverpool).

Disclaimer: And when I say funnier, I dont mean to imply of course that this situation is in any way funny. But were some kind of sick individual looking to find humour in this tragic event by making a monopoly board with exploded stations, the attempted joke would be a better effort if only the stations actually attacked were blown up on the monopoly board.

last edited by Khel at 23:07:25 07/Jul/05
^^ and liverpool street.
Well not really meant to be funny as such.
Just the first thing that came to mind. What I was getting at was that the iconic and seemingly infallible and immortal images of Western civilisation are not safe from the modern regime of terror.

Seems like Ausimages agrees with you though, as they have banned my image :(

Heh, thats the reason I added my disclaimer, when I noticed the image had been banned :P
f***ed up.
Thank you for that in-depth analysis of the situation sir.
Sorry about that.

There will be a big list of wild speculations coming soon. Hate to be seen to be not contributing.
I can't imagine what this sort of a situation would be like without wild speculation and circulation of rumour... let alone the knee-jerk reactions.
Hopefully some footage coming soon.
hast
Reasons it wasn't the French:

a) One of them was supposedly a suicide bomber.
b) The French would of bombed Trafalgar and Waterloo stations.

Also, one of the news presenters said, "How did this happen? There are cameras everywhere.". Oh dear. This is why the UK is going to get national ID cards.
hUON
According to Lonely Planet (perhaps)

"One of the great novelties of London is the double decker bus. A ride on one is not to be missed, it goes off."

hate me if you want to
I can tell you one thing....after this its gonna be Schapel Corby who??
Hashy
What about Natalee Holloway? Fox has been showing NOTHING but that (omg middle-cless white girl MISSING, BREAKING f***ING NEWS) for the past couple of weeks.

I'm beginning to the bombings were a giant scheme from our man Murdoch desperate for something to show on his channel.
Asif you can blame anyone but the French!

Also i'm sick of hearing about it on the news/radio already
stagrrr

Well a few days ago Chirac sat around with his appeasement buddies Schroder and Putin and made negative comments about English food. Im not saying that this directly points to a French role in these, coincidently timed, attacks however, comments like his creates an environment where terrorism can take hold and flourish.
r_bazz_t
Has the Bangladesh cricket side gone home yet, cause you just never know with the sub-continentals.
lmao@stagrrr

Also, people are so f***ing annoying. Does anyone remember Live8? It's not like it was long ago. It is terrible that people have just died in London after being attacked, but what about those kids dying of poverty and curable diseases, once every 3 seconds? Do you know how many people that is in JUST ONE DAY? Is the only difference that this one is unexpected? That's just wrong IMO IRL.
Scary. Just heard from a friend who recently went to London for a bit of holiday and work. She is fine, but the scary thig is, she sent us this email on Tuesday:

Hey guys and gals

Hows things? I am going well. Finally getting over my contiki cough after four weeks of coughing and spluttering like a freak. I am back in cold, wet and grey London (and this is summer...nice) and have started the search for a job over here. But first I thought I would tell you about my scray London experience I had just the other day.

Went into the city the other day to catch up with Chris and when I got off the train at Charing Cross (we were meeting at the London Eye) everyone was screaming and running towards the exit. I turned around to see what was going on and couldn't see anything so I watched it that general direction until the back carridge of the train I just got off EXPLODED. Thats right exploded with a huge bang and massive red flames spewing out. I shat my pants then decided to run with everyone else. Cops and fire men came out of everywhere and the whole station was evacuated for a couple of hours. The strangest part is, that there has been NO mention of it at all in the news, tv or newspaper. I think they are trying to hide it because the Oylmpic bid is on at the moment and the decision happens on Wednesday so this could hurt their campaigne.

After my train experience, Chris and I decided to go for a walk and ended up and Hyde Park where the Live 8 concert was on. We stood around the fence straining to hear what band was on at the time, but it was pretty good fun. The amount of people the pee in the street here is totally disgusting and then other people walk through it. I feel sick every time I see it.

Like WTF? This happened and there no absolutely no report of it? And I see all these politicians on TV saying lastnight "oh there was no warning about any bombing" WTF? I don't know, this was a preeeety big clue to me.

It's sad that they're more concern about wining the stupid Olympic game (which they'll end up loosing money anyway) bid than protecting thier f***ing citizens.

I wonder when it's gonna happen here? I know that sounds bad, but we're just as big a target like the US and UK. Stupid f***ing terrorists, f*** they're dumb.
but we're just as big a target like the US and UK.

No we're not. And if we do get "attacked" then hopefully it will only happen in Sydney or Melbourne.
I'd rather it happen somewhere like Ipswhich where it doesn't matter.
I was trying to imply that it doesn't matter in Sydney or Melbourne;)
Hehe

I <3 Billy.
but we're just as big a target like the US and UK.

Bahahaha your as bad as Little Johhny Howard believing Australia really counts in world politics.

a bit old but you should get the picture.
http://www.globalsecurity.org/military/ops/iraq_orbat.htm
Troops

USA - 114000
Coalition 23000 from 35 countries

AUS 900 now down from around 1500 tops.

To put this in prospective, the Ukrain sent 1400 so did the Dutch. Th Poms sent 20000 at the begining.

Australia could be a target, an easy target, but really that would prove nothing, bombing London or New York, thats a whole different kettle of fish.
Yeal well, I know nothing about the politics behind this stuff so hopefully that's all true and we can live safely.

Bah Politics has nothing to do with it, outside of Australia I doubt anyone even knows we have troops in Iraq, including the Iraqies, we all look the same to them... :)
Was actually three train blasts that happened between Aldgate East and Liverpool Street tube stations, between Russell Square and King's Cross tube stations, at Edgware Road tube station and on bus at Tavistock Square. Good to see the death toll is reletively low. The financial impact should be quite significant however.
the olympics should be in falluja in the dessert.
Its hard to imagine that the government could cover up something like that Opec.

Not saying it didn't happen, just suprised that a government could manage to do it.
Maybe it wasn't an explosion caused by a terrorist.

Link to article
Fade2Black, yeah I was surprised that there was nothing in the media about that *at all* not even in Britian let along the world. And this was only a couple of days ago.

I don't know if it was a "cover up" per se, but perhaps the media were told to keep quite about it until all the olympic stuff is over? I'm just guessing here of course.

But what really puzzled me was the way the politicians (and even authorities) over there reacted as though there were no warning of any kind before yesterday's attack. I mean WTF bombs went off, I'm no intellegence export but that's a pretty clear sign that's something isn't right.

Oh well, at least my friend's ok - I feel sorry for the other people that got injured and killed :(
Government lying ? As if politicians ever do that!
f***ing idiots as if it has anything to do with the G8 protesters. The people that were protesting that were just hippies this is obviously terrorists. I never said muslims were the target I said they will be taking out alot of their own because london is pack full of them.
Also, people are so f***ing annoying. Does anyone remember Live8? It's not like it was long ago. It is terrible that people have just died in London after being attacked, but what about those kids dying of poverty and curable diseases, once every 3 seconds? Do you know how many people that is in JUST ONE DAY? Is the only difference that this one is unexpected? That's just wrong IMO IRL.

No, the real difference is saturation coverage in the media. Why is that, because white people are dying and that's all inherently racist countries like Australia and the US care about.
we're just as big a target like the US and UK

We're such an insignificant player that we barely get anyone's attention thankfully. However the way Howard tries to act like a big shot can only change that for the worse.

P.S. Well thought out stagrrr
Well, this blows. Its interesting to see that the majority reaction now seems to be less like it was for 911 ("omg wtf") and more anger and rage.

15 June 1996: The IRA detonates a 3,300 lb (1,500 kg) bomb in Manchester, injuring 206 people and damaging seventy thousand square metres of retail and office space. [England]

18 February 1996: An improvised high explosive device detonates prematurely on a bus travelling along Aldwych in central London, killing Edward O'Brien, the IRA operative transporting the device and injuring eight others. [England]

10 February 1996: The IRA ends its 1994 cease-fire, killing two civilians in a bomb adjacent to the South Quay DLR station in London's Docklands. [England]

1993: The PIRA detonates a huge truck bomb in the City of London at Bishopsgate, which kills two and causes around £350m of damage, including the near destruction of St Ethelburga's Bishopsgate. [England]

1993: Two IRA bombs at opposite ends of a shopping street in Warrington, timed to go off within minutes of each other, kill two children. [England]

12 October 1992: A device explodes in the gents' toilet of the Sussex Arms public house in Covent Garden killing one person and injuring four others. [England]

10 April 1992: A large bomb explodes in St Mary Axe in the City of London killing three people and injuring 91. Many buildings are heavily damaged and the Baltic Exchange is completely destroyed. [England]

28 February 1992: A bomb explodes at London Bridge railway station injuring 29 people. [England]

18 February 1991: A bomb explodes at Victoria Station. One man is killed and 38 people injured. [England]

30 July 1990 Ian Gow MP is killed when a device explodes under his car as he is leaving his home. [England]

1989: Ten Royal Marine bandsmen are killed and 22 injured in the bombing of their base in Deal in Kent. [England]

1984: In the Brighton hotel bombing a bomb in the Grand Hotel kills five in a failed attempt to assassinate members of the British cabinet. Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher narrowly escapes. [England]

1983: A Harrods department store bomb planted by the IRA during Christmas shopping season kills six (three police) and wounds 90. [England]

20 July 1982: In Hyde Park, a bomb kills two members of the Household Cavalry performing ceremonial duties in the park.

26 October 1981: a bomb explodes at a Wimpy Bar in Oxford Street London killing the bomb disposal officer trying to defuse it. [England]

10 October 1981: a bomb blast on Ebury Bridge Road in London kills 2 people and injures 39. [England]

There are a lot more than this, but the essence of my point is that terrorists have tried this tactic on England before and all it did was solidify England behind Thatcher. The younger kids might be a bit rattled, but for the rest of the Englanders it is business as usual.

last edited by typo at 16:55:07 08/Jul/05
zectbumo
I suspect the bombings were a joint governmental planned act of terrorism from the US and Europe designed as a public pre-justification for the next planned takeover of neighboring Iraqi countries.
The next takeover should now happen within the next six months.

But what can you do? I'm going to start drinking and play some BF2.
"Al-Qaeda claims: we did it"

Link to article
f*** news.com.au are lame with their headlines sometimes. Some bulls*** unknown group posts they did it on a WEBSITE (The Internets! it must be real) and bang, look out its Al Qaeda.
defi
we got a phone call from my cousin.....she was on a train when the first explosion went off, and saw it on the news while on the train. She got off next stop to catch a taxi to work and the train she was on suppposedly had an explosion 200m from her work......lucky girl
hast
trog:

Supposedly, this isn't just some website, but the website where other groups have claimed responsibility for similar acts.
Difference between the Micks and the Mueslies (as in breaky serial) is that only the Mueslies are into the suicide bombing thing, the micks think it's a sin to commit suicide cause you won't go to heaven. Which in turns that the micks are less likely to perform bombing runs unless they can get away with it...

Both groups of extremists are equally f***ing stupid....
Difference between the Micks and the Mueslies (as in breaky serial) is that only the Mueslies are into the suicide bombing thing, the micks think it's a sin to commit suicide cause you won't go to heaven. Which in turns that the micks are less likely to perform bombing runs unless they can get away with it...

Still, london have been subject to dozens of terrorist attacks (often with big ass bombs) over the last 40 years. Also, bombing England has only solidified the English public resolve against the people commiting the bombing.

Both groups of extremists are equally f***ing stupid....

I think that terrorists would have more success with some digital cameras and documenting how much the western world have been f***ing with the middle east.
stagrrr
P.S. Well thought out stagrrr

Too bad the same can't be said for your tripe.

No, the real difference is saturation coverage in the media. Why is that, because white people are dying and that's all inherently racist countries like Australia and the US care about.

I'm sure this is some kind of troll, as I cant possibly see that Australian coverage of the UK and US terrorists attacks is an indicator of Australia's inherent racism. You forgot the Bali bombings. We covered those too, but no doubt because we are racist and 88 Australians died. We also covered the Tsunami that hit Asia recently. But Im sure it was because 30 odd Australians died rather than 100,000 gooks, chinks, and boongaboongas. Im sure all those racist Australians that donated hundreds of millions of dollars must be kicking themselves when they found out that their money was going to a bunch of jungle bunnies. And our big noting Government must have misread popular sentiment when it gave 1 billion dollars in aid, including sending the military. Even the racist Americans who hate everyone sent a carrier group, and its formidable airlfit capabilities. They probably just had one lying around.

We're such an insignificant player that we barely get anyone's attention thankfully. However the way Howard tries to act like a big shot can only change that for the worse.

Im sure since you werent watching racist TV, in this horribly, inherently, racist country, you may not have noticed the Bali bombings that took place in 2002 where 88 Australians died. Im not too sure when you think Howards big noting started, but since you think we are still an insignificant player i am assuming it is post 2002, and probably something to do with the Iraq war. Either way, I doubt we are now more of a target, than we already were, and have been, because of Howard being a "big shot" (whatever that means.)
London survived the blitz ...

3 trains and a bus is piddly compared to that. Sad, but not likely to destory the place.
London has known it would be attacked by terrorists hiding behind corrupt Islamic ideaology for a long time. They've stepped up security and, as you can see from the chronology above, curtained terrorist (non-islamic) violence by installing CCT everywhere. The problem is this does not deter people who are willing/wanting to die.

Since the last IRA bomb they have broken two major islamic terrorist cells in London that I've heard of. The first had plans to fire rockets against passenger jets as they took off from Heathrow, the second was a group producing Ricin to distribute through the underground.

There was a great UK movie last year about how London responds to suicidal terrorism, Dirty War, which pretty much played out like this incident did, except yesterday's bombs were not designed to spread radioactive material.

When Sky News mentioned (falsely) that the national rail was still carrying commuters and that'd they shut off freight trains, and please move to a national rail station and evacuate london, i just assumed that it was real, since that is in line with what i've read. I believe evacuating London has always been the plan in the case of dirty bombs, remembering that there are 22 million or so people that call London home (most in Outer London) and that pretty much all of them that work do so in Central London, so evacuating London is really just getting people home.
Thread title needs to be changed.

K stagrr, you might want to read this nice and slow to make sure you understand it.
I'm sure this is some kind of troll

The point is that the general public don't care as much about an exponentially larger number of Africans or Asians dying and that's reflected in the TV programming due to the ratings they would achieve. Let's face it all TV comes down to ratings (often via sensationalism and playing on the public's fear of all things foreign) rather than coverage of important news and facts.
as I cant possibly see that Australian coverage of the UK and US terrorists attacks is an indicator of Australia's inherent racism. You forgot the Bali bombings. We covered those too, but no doubt because we are racist and 88 Australians died.

It would be naive to think we would pay anywhere near the amount of attention we did if Australians weren't involved.
We also covered the Tsunami that hit Asia recently. But Im sure it was because 30 odd Australians died rather than 100,000 gooks, chinks, and boongaboongas. Im sure all those racist Australians that donated hundreds of millions of dollars must be kicking themselves when they found out that their money was going to a bunch of jungle bunnies. And our big noting Government must have misread popular sentiment when it gave 1 billion dollars in aid, including sending the military. Even the racist Americans who hate everyone sent a carrier group, and its formidable airlfit capabilities. They probably just had one lying around.

So what 200000+ Asian deaths (and a hell of a lot more loss of standard of living etc) equates to a similar level of media coverage and public feeling to 9/11? (Not to mention that much more government action came from 9/11 than the Tsunami... quelling insurgents ain't cheap...) What exactly does that make the exchange rate for white vs non-white lives?
Im sure since you werent watching racist TV, in this horribly, inherently, racist country, you may not have noticed the Bali bombings that took place in 2002 where 88 Australians died. Im not too sure when you think Howards big noting started, but since you think we are still an insignificant player i am assuming it is post 2002, and probably something to do with the Iraq war. Either way, I doubt we are now more of a target, than we already were, and have been, because of Howard being a "big shot" (whatever that means.)

You make less sense towards the end here. But my only response here is that apart from countries in our region and other western countries, our existence is barely noted. We are a small country in terms of population and economy and at the moment nobody cares about us. If Howard wants to advertise us as America's deputy sherrif, then eventually some of the stigma associated with the US will rub off on us. But to say that we are a target based on the Bali bombing as an example is completely false. That was carried out by locals wanting to get at westerners in general. It's not like a group went half way around the world to get some Aussies. All you have to do is look at typo's post to see what happens in a real target country over a 15 year span. When was the last time someone came from another country to our soil to successfully blow something up?

I used to have faith in the Australian public, but in the last few years I've lost that idealism that you displayed in your post and the truth has replaced it in a bitter way.
The resource manager from my work, Kristina, was on the train that blew up at kings cross, she was 1-2 carriages back from the one that exploded. She was hospitalised but it was all minor injuries, shes quite alright now.

One of our network engineers, David, was on the train behind kristina's, they were stuck on the train for about 4 hours with no lights or anything, apparently a women went into labour as well, they were eventually rescued and led out of the tunnel by rail personel.

Another network engineer, Darren, was in a building in the square where the number 30 bus exploded, he saw the whole thing, has some interesting stories. And sadly our managing directors personal assistant, Anisha, her boyfriend was on said bus and is in hospital in a critical condition.

I got off the central line just before it was evacuated and came close to being in it myself. All in all it was a terrible event, the news this morning said 37 confirmed dead and over 750 injured.

Edit- I've actually just read some of the other posts and typo has it right, England has been dealing with this sort of attack for a long time, they were well prepared for it, emergency services responded immediately and a well rehearshed plan was put into action. Today (friday) nearly all transport services are running again with the exception of the specific areas that had explosions, and everyone is going to work like normal, you cant scare the average englander with a few bombs.

last edited by Viper119 at 22:41:34 08/Jul/05
Heals
You can't even scare them with several thousand bombs, the Germans discovered that one out a while back...
stagrrr
LOLS, Chakas, at least now i know its a troll. And, a good one, since i keep getting caught.

The point is that the general public don't care as much about an exponentially larger number of Africans or Asians dying and that's reflected in the TV programming due to the ratings they would achieve. Let's face it all TV comes down to ratings (often via sensationalism and playing on the public's fear of all things foreign) rather than coverage of important news and facts.

This wasn't your point. Your point was that Australians are inherently racist. However, i will respond. Firstly, over $450 billion dollars has been sent to Africa in aid over the last 20 years, from racist western (and other) countries.

As far as Australia is concerned we have been sending over a billion dollars a year in aid to Africa for over a decade. In 2000-2001, Australia had allocated 1.6 billion in Aid to Africa alone. This is an ongoing commitment. Meaning, many billions have been sent to Africa. This dwarfs the cost of our sending military units to both Afghanistan and Iraq which i think (off the top of my head) have costs of ~90 million for Afghanistan and ~450 million for Iraq by the end of the this 12 month committment. Again, you will notice that this combined 4 year total is quite small compared to our ongoing African commitment and our single day 1 billion dollar pledge to Indonesia plus of course all the other aid that went to Asia plus all the money sent to Aid agencies etc etc.

The problem is Chakas you equate media coverage with action. And, as soon as the media moves to another story you think the whole thing stops. It is a grossly unfair generalisation to say that the media is Australia's collective conscience. And that what it feels, we feel, and when it moves on, we move on. This is not true. Other than to say some issues get attention more than others at certain times. Thats true, but its a massive jump to the conclude Australian's, the UK and the US are inherently racist.

So what 200000+ Asian deaths (and a hell of a lot more loss of standard of living etc) equates to a similar level of media coverage and public feeling to 9/11? (Not to mention that much more government action came from 9/11 than the Tsunami... quelling insurgents ain't cheap...) What exactly does that make the exchange rate for white vs non-white lives?

While Ive already covered most of this I will reiterate: the media is not Australias collective conscience as demonstrated by our long term aid commitments. More government action didnt come from 9/11. Military action came from it, yes. But it required a military response, i doubt sending the taliban packets of food would have convinced them to hand over the terrorists they were harbouring. Has this post 9/11 military commitment been greater than our aid commitments?: no. As far as the white v non white exchange rate, if you want to put it in those terms, it would be in the 'non-white' favour by a considerable margin. I dont put it in those terms because i know that in the world trade centre attacks people from over 80 nations died. Many of these people were not from your hated 'all-white' nations.

You make less sense towards the end here...But to say that we are a target based on the Bali bombing as an example is completely false. That was carried out by locals wanting to get at westerners in general. It's not like a group went half way around the world to get some Aussies...When was the last time someone came from another country to our soil to successfully blow something up?

This was my point. Howard being a 'big shot' isnt what motivates people to attacks us. Its, as you said, locals wanting to get at westerners in general. So, if you want to worry about something, dont worry about Howard, worry aboiut the fact that people hate us just for being a western democracy or as you always like to define it 'white'.
stagrrr, Chakas' initial response was to my post, can you reply to my post?

I was trying to make the point that thousands of people die every day and it doesn't seem to be as important in the "public sphere", which is really the media.

The worst issue is that these deaths are preventable, and yet aren't prevented.

last edited by Hardball, Billy at 09:31:48 09/Jul/05

It's a stupid line of reasoning. There have been significant problems in Africa for decades or even centuries, vast sums of money have been thrown at all aspects of the problems faced yet not much progress has been made. Maybe you should read up the problems of merely providing aid rather than empty phrases about Africa kids starving.

As for the media attention, I find it hard that you fail to see that people might be interested in this story, even in this thread we've had people in close contact with people injured in London, and i'm sure as soon as a lot of people heard about it they tried to contact their friends and family in London, I mean there are a lot of Aussies over there.

Bringing up starving Africa is a ludicrous argument and a slippery slope which could be applied to any media.
stagrrr
stagrrr, Chakas' initial response was to my post, can you reply to my post?

sorry, big fella, i didnt mean to leave you out.

I was trying to make the point that thousands of people die every day and it doesn't seem to be as important in the "public sphere", which is really the media.

The worst issue is that these deaths are preventable, and yet aren't prevented.

Thousands of people do die everyday in Africa and it doesnt get as much coverage as it did 20 years ago. But, as i said $450 billion dollars has been sent in aid to africa over the last 20 years. People do care, aid is sent, just because the media isnt covering it doesnt mean it isnt happening.

The problem in Africa is that many states are controlled by dictators or warlords. Aid money is mostly taken by these people and never reaches those who need it. That is why Live8 and Debt relief is a waste of time. Debt relief only helps those in power, the money saved and freed up will be figuratively placed in the pockets of dictators.

The only way to solve hunger in Africa is to replace the current regimes and power structures. There is only one way for that to happen and most left wing elites would cry imperialism by western democracies.

Can it be prevented? yes. but to do it would mean creating lots of Iraqs which would be unpalatable for many people.
LOLS, Chakas, at least now i know its a troll. And, a good one, since i keep getting caught.

Lol at you.
This wasn't your point. Your point was that Australians are inherently racist.

It's the same point. Australians care more about people in the UK or US than Africa and that's a benign form of racism.
However, I will respond. Firstly, over $450 billion dollars has been sent to Africa in aid over the last 20 years, from racist western (and other) countries.

Many African nations pay more in interest on loans from western countries than the aid that flows in the opposite direction. So in other words the aid is pointless when we would be better off cancelling or reducing the debt which was the point of live8.
As far as Australia is concerned we have been sending over a billion dollars a year in aid to Africa for over a decade. In 2000-2001, Australia had allocated 1.6 billion in Aid to Africa alone. This is an ongoing commitment. Meaning, many billions have been sent to Africa. This dwarfs the cost of our sending military units to both Afghanistan and Iraq which i think (off the top of my head) have costs of ~90 million for Afghanistan and ~450 million for Iraq by the end of the this 12 month committment. Again, you will notice that this combined 4 year total is quite small compared to our ongoing African commitment and our single day 1 billion dollar pledge to Indonesia plus of course all the other aid that went to Asia plus all the money sent to Aid agencies etc etc.

Sorry, my point was unclear, I was talking about total expenses in Iraq etc which mainly comes from America. Your point is correct in the context you used it.
The problem is Chakas you equate media coverage with action. And, as soon as the media moves to another story you think the whole thing stops. It is a grossly unfair generalisation to say that the media is Australia's collective conscience. And that what it feels, we feel, and when it moves on, we move on. This is not true. Other than to say some issues get attention more than others at certain times. Thats true, but its a massive jump to the conclude Australian's, the UK and the US are inherently racist.

The media is a better measure of the public's views than governement action for example. The governement can make some unpopular decisions and people accept it as long as they make enough popular decisions around election time. However if a media outlet does something people don't like, there is an immediate option to change. Hence the media has to follow what the people want much more that any other bodies, therefore it is a good reflection of what people care about most at any given time.
This was my point. Howard being a 'big shot' isnt what motivates people to attacks us. Its, as you said, locals wanting to get at westerners in general. So, if you want to worry about something, dont worry about Howard, worry aboiut the fact that people hate us just for being a western democracy or as you always like to define it 'white'.

This is getting uncomfortably close to the US rhetoric of targetting "freedom hating" foriegners. Nobody hates freedom (I know that's not what your saying, but it's a point I feel strongly about). People are jealous of our freedom but also don't like it when we impose our ways on them. Howard talking up bringing freedom to other countries will come at a long term cost. Even if we cut off one head, two more will replace it... maybe I'm just in a particularily cynical mood after seeing Team America for the first time last night.
The only way to solve hunger in Africa is to replace the current regimes and power structures. There is only one way for that to happen and most left wing elites would cry imperialism by western democracies.

You cannot seriously believe that's an option! The resentment created by that course of action would have drastic consequences.
Many African nations pay more in interest on loans from western countries than the aid that flows in the opposite direction.
Do you havea link for this please?

Want to ask stagrrr for links to any of his figures?
So it's wrong and if he can do it I can do it too?

Please provide a link, I would be interested and reading about this claim.
Thousands of people do die everyday in Africa and it doesnt get as much coverage as it did 20 years ago. But, as i said $450 billion dollars has been sent in aid to africa over the last 20 years. People do care, aid is sent, just because the media isnt covering it doesnt mean it isnt happening.

Governments care in money, but I don't think the public do. I hear what you're saying that it's the situations in those countries, but I guess that just means that, despite all those deaths, it isn't worth trying to fix those countries.
vsft, i just googled "african nation interest loans" - try first link
In Tanzania where 40 percent of the population dies before age thirty-five, the government spends nine times more on foreign debt payments than on health care. - Oxfam

last edited by Hardball, Billy at 10:07:37 09/Jul/05
The only thing I could find quickly said some countries pay back 100% of their aid in debt repayments, mainly on interest. I'll link some better data later when I have time.
Of course if you cancel their debt they'll spend nearly 100% on cocaine and hookers.
© Copyright 2001-2025 AusGamers Pty Ltd. ACN 093 772 242.