So anyway i was bored so i decided to make a flamethrower out of the 45kg LPG cylender that i found... yes... foundd..
http://img142.exs.cx/img142/7887/pc290002medium9oz.jpg Attached some tubing to it to redirect the high pressure gas to a safer place to burn off http://img142.exs.cx/img142/8195/pc290003medium0ko.jpg Then ran the tubing to this baby, 2 meter brass pipe, nothing is gona break this baby (complete with saw horse support stand) http://img142.exs.cx/img142/4347/pc290004medium2nm.jpg So annnyway i run this whole rig outside and light the pilot light (cloth soaked in metho wrapped around the pole) http://img142.exs.cx/img142/5793/pc290005medium5ba.jpg http://img142.exs.cx/img142/37/pc290006medium4mi.jpg http://img142.exs.cx/img142/9720/pc290007medium0rg.jpg Ohh predddyyy then i open the valve ... http://img142.exs.cx/img142/6096/pc290008medium6so.jpg http://img142.exs.cx/img142/2897/pc290009medium0tv.jpg Heres the 2.7mb movie in quicktime format.. you wanna see this :D www.gusrc.org/burn.MOV hehe |
| #0 09:13pm 29/12/04 |
total fire ban?
also, thankyou for doing your bit in preperation for the terrorist invasion |
| #1 09:15pm 29/12/04 |
you are so negative, maxe
| #2 09:16pm 29/12/04 |
haha maxe
thread title has "so i..." in it, banned ;) That's pretty cool, maybe not as impressive as I might have hoped, but good effort none the less. Maybe try to somehow make it higher pressure or something to get a flame that goes further? |
| #3 09:17pm 29/12/04 |
the pics dont do it justice unfortunatly, the video is a little better... the flames are way over my roof at the moment anyway and i really dont want to go higher for fear of people thinking that my house was on fire (more)
| #4 09:19pm 29/12/04 |
Hashy
Thanks for knowingly making the thread dialup unfriendly rather than taking the time to simply host with imageshack and using the thumbnail option.
As if dialup users weren't alienated enough already You're a true credit to the internet. |
| #5 09:20pm 29/12/04 |
cool
i cant see any possible problems occuring mucking around with gas and flames keep up the good work josh! |
| #6 09:21pm 29/12/04 |
hehe cooldude.
Id do something like that... actually no I wouldnt - lazy. |
| #7 09:23pm 29/12/04 |
"there are currently no bans in place in queensland" Fire ban info line :) 1800 020 440 Also for the broadband haters, im not thumbnailing s*** because it detracts from the magnitude of my efforts kthnxbi |
| #8 09:23pm 29/12/04 |
Hashy
Broadband haters?
Splat, normally I wouldn't care about having issues loading this thread because having your nick next to it is synonymous with a flashing sign that reads "Who f***ing cares?"... but after the amount of bulls*** broadband-woven arrogance towards dialup users that's been ocurring on the internet lately this was the straw that broke the camels back. One can only hope that cannister springs a leak. |
| #9 09:28pm 29/12/04 |
I can only assume that this will become a beacon to stupidity everywhere and if we're all lucky will end up in a Darwin award that we can say we all but saw unfolding before us.
P.S. That's awesome!!!! |
| #10 09:28pm 29/12/04 |
hashy even tho you piss me off i still love you. dont ever change
| #11 09:31pm 29/12/04 |
Hey splat, get a flashback protector on the end of the bottle, it stops the flame sucking back into the bottle and exploding. Pretty cool though, just be careful without flashback protector.
| #12 09:31pm 29/12/04 |
SushiGalsdotcom
use it to light yourself on fire!
| #13 09:32pm 29/12/04 |
epi.
looks pretty safe and useful
| #14 09:35pm 29/12/04 |
rodolphe
use acetylene + oxygen for bigger flames, and bang if you get it wrong
| #15 09:36pm 29/12/04 |
You idiot Josh. Well done :) |
| #16 09:38pm 29/12/04 |
oxy and acetylene is mass fun, go buy a 2nd hand oxy kit and modify the torch
| #17 09:38pm 29/12/04 |
Hey, a 45kg tank attached to a 2m brass pipe giving him a great balance between accuracy and the ability to burn his own eyebrows off will make him more prepared for when the terrorists attack than most of us.
| #18 09:44pm 29/12/04 |
I have to say that the video was quite impressive. In fact it was one of the most impressive things I've seen today.
| #19 09:47pm 29/12/04 |
Melissa
i like how the pics depict him hiding next to the gas bottle
| #20 09:48pm 29/12/04 |
burning stuff in such a manner... quite unlike you splat...
Is that sprinkler hoseing attached to the gas canister?? hehe i cant wait to see the news tomorrow :p |
| #21 09:58pm 29/12/04 |
supersoaker flamethrower is so much better.
| #22 10:00pm 29/12/04 |
SD Gundam
Hurry up and post a movie of you blowing yourself to bits
| #23 10:01pm 29/12/04 |
I was a teenage hand model
so your selling what now?
| #24 10:03pm 29/12/04 |
Hellman109
Cry more hashy!
| #25 10:08pm 29/12/04 |
WhiteWolf
I love it when people do something increadably stupid. and i love it even more when it backfires.
all in all, thanks for entertaining me. :) |
| #26 10:11pm 29/12/04 |
WhiteWolf
die more Hellman109
| #27 10:12pm 29/12/04 |
Hey where is the *children don't try this at home* warning?? I might do this now and hurt myself and SUE YOUR ASS!@!!@#!@ :p
| #28 10:16pm 29/12/04 |
Hellman109?
As in the guy who wacked it at QGL? |
| #29 10:17pm 29/12/04 |
Hashy
Oh my
| #30 10:25pm 29/12/04 |
Thanks for the info about the blowback protector, i will get one before i do my next experiment...
speaking of which... Im going to set it up horozontal and put a old computer in front of it then fry the bastad in the middle of the flame then next weekend im going to set up a bubble matrix on the bottom of my pool and ignite it after the gas bubbles to the surface hence "lighting my pool on fire" .. will be a good effect i guess but blowback protector is my no1 priority at the moment, these things must be safe !!! |
| #31 10:41pm 29/12/04 |
Is that sprinkler hoseing attached to the gas canister?? hehe i cant wait to see the news tomorrow :p Yes :$ but gas is reverse thread so i had to typa shove it in there. Safety was a main concern so i shoved it in good |
| #32 10:42pm 29/12/04 |
This all sounds like one big parody thread or something awful ripoff to me.
| #33 10:43pm 29/12/04 |
Melissa
surely splat isn't this silly/immature?
i'm voting gimmick |
| #34 10:44pm 29/12/04 |
I guess there's a lot to be said about gimmicks.
| #35 10:48pm 29/12/04 |
surely splat isn't this silly/immature? im not the one getting my weiner chopped off hehe jokes :) |
| #36 10:55pm 29/12/04 |
Melissa
I DONT HAVE A f***ING CHOICE IN THE MATTER
NOW WILL YOU f***ING ASSHATS STOP BRINGING IT UP AND f***ING TELLING ME IM THE ONE WHO WONT SHUT UP ABOUT IT f*** |
| #37 10:57pm 29/12/04 |
Fire up!!!! (I'm not even sure if I'm talking about "Melissa" or the flamethrower, LOL!!!)
| #38 10:59pm 29/12/04 |
Hashy
THERE IS NO AMOUNT OF CAPS LOCK ABUSE THAT CAN EXPRESS HOW I AM FEELING
| #39 11:04pm 29/12/04 |
some guy on SA made one of these a while ago, but his was strapped to his back.
| #40 11:07pm 29/12/04 |
Hashy
There is no originality on the internet.
SA is the origin of all web content. Can anyone lend me :10bux:? |
| #41 11:10pm 29/12/04 |
By Khel |
| #42 11:24pm 29/12/04 |
This thread is already retarded enough thanks, it doesn't need your help.
| #43 11:24pm 29/12/04 |
Melissa
By Khel |
| #44 11:27pm 29/12/04 |
haha hashy exactly what I was thinking everything is done on SA first...
also laff - this is deffinately a josh/splat/lowgoz thing to do it's actually pretty good :) |
| #45 11:26pm 29/12/04 |
cmon kids, stupidity on a grand scale was the original point here - let's get back to what made this thread great.
| #46 11:31pm 29/12/04 |
hey I wasn't saying omg old, the point was the guy on sa had his strapped to his back. I can't search since I don't have that ability so can't find the pics.
edit: through some magic ninja hacks, I found the thread. http://forums.somethingawful.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1107178&perpage=30&pagenumber=1 last edited by WhoopAss at 23:38:05 29/Dec/04 |
| #47 11:38pm 29/12/04 |
That is one of the most silly and imature things to have done Josh...and I like it!
8-) |
| #48 11:40pm 29/12/04 |
At least this thread doesn't need more dragons as much as most do.
| #49 11:42pm 29/12/04 |
Ok, i talk about safety and you know, im really crash hot on safety
and IM NOT STRAPPING ANYTHING TO MY BACK. Maybe a smaller bottle but no f***ing way 45kg of LPG no f***ing way in hells god green earth I see a lot of people have stairs in their houses. Yes i saw the SA thread but he compressed petrol in a backpack which is completly unsafe compared to my garden hose design |
| #50 12:57am 30/12/04 |
| #51 12:59am 30/12/04 |
a handheld design wouldn't work with lpg because you would need a big tank capapable of dumping a high volume in low amount of time which means you manafacture it yourself. its way to risky with the chance of explosion of the tank and whatnot, low pressure high volume is better
anyway.. the pool mod of this is coming to qgl in 2 weeks |
| #52 01:02am 30/12/04 |
Lynx
Hahaha |
| #53 01:08am 30/12/04 |
rofl @ photoshop
| #54 01:46am 30/12/04 |
caffeinebear
Nice work Josh :)
| #55 02:05am 30/12/04 |
Dont encourage him.
| #56 06:27am 30/12/04 |
awesome work goz
would make a neato nye party trick |
| #57 09:22am 30/12/04 |
rodolphe
i reckon if you added a venturi at some point along the copper pipe you would get heaps better flamage, probably blue flames rather than just pussy yellow/orange flames. towards the end of the copper pipe would be a good place for it i guess. a venturi won't work under water, unless it is placed before the pipe goes under the weater. failing that bung on a compressed oxygen cylinder... but use sparingly or it could go bang. instead of compressed oxygen you could also just use compressed air from a standard compressor, i wouldn't pump it through at a full 8 bar though.
flash back protector or whatever it was called sounds like a good idea to me if you are going to start using air or oxygen at pressure... if you don't, the flashback protector seems a bit pointless, how the hell will the gas ignite right back at the gas cylinder when you have several metres of hose ?? The isn't any oxygen in the pipe... unless you have an air leak in which case air may being sucked into the pipe, or gas pumped out... test your connections with soapy water in a spray bottle, and seriously consider buying proper brass fittings to plumb the gas from the cylinder. you don't need copper pipe the whole way, you could just use proper flexible gas hose. |
| #58 09:29am 30/12/04 |
Skyhawk
Yer they are called Flashback Arrestor's, But you they can still fail,
I remember at tafe We got the talk on safety with Oxy Torches, Was rather scary when your working on your project and bang, backfires scared the s*** out of you at the time, Was told that if a flashback went to the cylinders (this at ithaca tafe) It would blow up the entire block, Pressurized cylinders are VERY dangerous s***, Even small cylinders have potential for Massive explosions. On That note, Flame on ! :) |
| #59 10:07am 30/12/04 |
rodolphe
Most large gas cylinders used for welding (oxygen, acetylene, argon etc) are filled to about 600 BAR, that is 600 times normal atmospheric pressure... so a 10 litre cylinder for example filled at 600 bar is holding 6000 litres of gas (if it were not under pressure). Massive amounts of gas, under enormous pressure, when they go bang it is catastrophic... I am sure many people have heard this, but if one of those gas cylinders fall over and the brass regulator and tap assembly is knocked off they take off like a missile, after all there is 600 bar pushing it along. A bloke at my work saw one get dropped out of a ute when it was being unloaded, it went up into the air, through a 2nd level window of a building and out the other side of said building... they are also known to simply punch a round hole straight through brick/concrete walls if the top is knocked off. That is why they should always be secured with chains :o) At work we have several cylinders and only 1 was secured, then I chained the other one... we still have 3 unsecured... pretty dodgy. People get complaisant I suppose.
For a bit of fun, next time you light your oxy-acetylene gun, have the oxy running when you light it (normally you just run the acetylene), it sounds like a .303 when it is lit... it is sure to make the biggest man s*** himself :o) |
| #60 10:43am 30/12/04 |
More stories of gas related incidents pls.
| #61 10:48am 30/12/04 |
rodolphe
BTW your 45kg LPG cylinder isn't filled to 600bar... something like 150bar i think, i am prolly wrong though.
| #62 10:59am 30/12/04 |
Sover
Anyone got any plans for a pneum atic spud cannon or combustion one :).
| #63 11:16am 30/12/04 |
Combustion ones are pretty easy, you just get the electric started from a lighter and use aerostart (which is like ether and petrol in a can).
| #64 11:19am 30/12/04 |
parabol wins the thread
| #65 11:25am 30/12/04 |
Over in salisbury there in a factory they use to get huge long bits of H iron and sit acetylene bottles in it and knock the heads off em and they would fly through the rail, one day it went through the wall and out onto the main road, in fact I think someone copped it in their car.
| #66 11:27am 30/12/04 |
its funny you mention spud cannons because this is what started it all.
If anyone is gona make one pls make sure you use PRESSURE RATED PIPE.. at least 120psi ! If you use normal downpipe or normal PVC it will explode on you and you will get shrapnel! Make sure you are safe people! All the lpg cylenders have collars on them to protect the top valve but if that baby does come off hell will ensue. |
| #67 11:32am 30/12/04 |
Didnt Hitler and friends expierment with flamethrowers as weapons in ww2? With lots n lots of failurs?
| #68 11:53am 30/12/04 |
yeah, but im like.. smarter
hehe |
| #69 12:01pm 30/12/04 |
RIP Lowgoz...
| #70 12:22pm 30/12/04 |
asif youd light your oxy without a little bit of oxygen... pure acetylene = paratroopars ohnoes
| #71 12:22pm 30/12/04 |
You're not meant to use oxy when lighting the acetylene.
| #72 12:29pm 30/12/04 |
but breathing in all those chunks cant be too healthy either
| #73 12:33pm 30/12/04 |
meh, do it quickly, the chunks only come off when you back the acetylene off to turn on the oxy mixture.
| #74 12:36pm 30/12/04 |
rodolphe
I know your not meant to use the oxy when lighting acetylene... hence it sounds like a rifle going off when lit.
As for spud guns... i was going to make a combustion canon for shooting golf balls... reason i was going to use golf balls is because they fly well and are uniform size ensuring consistency when firing and enabling good compression as you can make it a firm fit in the barrel etc. I have access to good materials at work and lathes/mills etc so i could make a very sturdy explosion chamber and the precision of the barrel would be no problem. I was even toying with the idea of using a rubber sleeve at the start of the barrel and boring it to be a fly s*** smaller than the diameter of the golf ball. I was thinking aluminium for the chamber and where the ball sits and using plastic (PVC or other) for the barrel... the barrel itself shouldn't be under too much load... Anywho i haven't got around to making it yet though... would be pretty lethal I imagine if the golf ball were to strike someone. Also golf balls aren't cheap, cheapest I saw when researching it was ~50c a ball when bought in bulk... pretty expensive per shot imo |
| #75 12:43pm 30/12/04 |
Go pay like $8 for a big bucket of them at a driving range... and do a runner ;)
| #76 12:47pm 30/12/04 |
rodolphe
...or take the cannon to the driving range and see who wins eheh
| #77 12:50pm 30/12/04 |
| #78 01:14pm 30/12/04 |
Someone start a funeral preparation thread. It's better to plan early and book ahead to get us a discount.
| #79 02:31pm 30/12/04 |
Last spud cannon i had a go off was all PVC. :P
Was like a 2.5 inch barrel, with a 4 - 5 inch combustion chamber. It was all done with standard PVC drain parts, igniter was the static thing from a lighter. Funniest thing was a guy attempting to load a mango into it after a missfire. He stood the thing vertically, pushed the mango in and put the base of it on the ground. That clicked the igniter, and out shot the mango straight into his face. It mightn't have been so funny if i didn't think the guy was a complete cockwallet. |
| #80 02:43pm 30/12/04 |
Grunt
although it's pretty cool.. does anyone else think it's incredibly stupid to use a 45kg bottle of gas that you FOUND ??
you probably found it for a reason, cos it was farked.. |
| #81 03:11pm 30/12/04 |
could have come off the back of a ute or truck.. (not secured properly) still dodgy.. Rodolphe where do you work?? I work for my dad and we do workshop fabrication work, fabricating pressure piping and s*** like that for fuel refineries like caltex/bp.. We have oxy and acetylene bottles up to our ears :) and about 10 bottles of LPG (130kg) bottles oh and one very old bottle of Helium (dunno why)... Oh and acetylene will only stay a light if it has the perfect ratio of air to acetylene. So in theory acetylene when lit won't travel up up your hose as there is no presence of air (in the same tube). Flashback arrestors are just a way of making money for the guys who invented them and for the supplier and to comply with legislation.... Thats all. |
| #82 03:19pm 30/12/04 |
Helium... sweet.
| #83 03:22pm 30/12/04 |
Helium is used for laser cutters I believe, we have huge laser cutters at work and I'm pretty sure they use argon,oxy and helium. Also flashback arresters do work, one of the tradies at work had a flame suck in through the pipe, blew the pipe off and had a little flame coming out the bottle ( he was a moron and just ran out the factory and didn't tell anyone), when he came back the flame had subsided but he was lucky. I wouldn't ever use an oxy without one. Also another story, out in the darling downs area they use to use acetylene bottles (small ones) which would open and close the valve at set times during the night and s*** to scare away crows.
| #84 03:26pm 30/12/04 |
Hello energex how can I help you?
Hi, would you like to know what gas bottles are being used for? I will send over some pictures and a movie. Yep, works at the uni, yeah, name's josh, thats the one.....cya! |
| #85 03:27pm 30/12/04 |
Might I also add that just have oxy and acetylene unlit at high pressures will explode.
There was a worker killed over in Charlotte, NC(USA) a couple of years ago that didn't have them on his cutting rig. He ran out of oxygen and went to get another bottle without shutting everything down correctly so that acetylene flowed back through the lines and accumulated in the O2 regulator. When he changed his bottle and cut the O2 on, the resulting explosion buried the t-handle from the regulator in his chest...killing him |
| #86 03:35pm 30/12/04 |
Remind me never to touch any of this s***.
| #87 03:44pm 30/12/04 |
i have enuff dramas just attaching the gas bottle to the bbq
stupid reverse threads |
| #88 03:47pm 30/12/04 |
Oh yeah just another tidbit, if the check valves on the torch stuff up, or you dont have them, thats when the s*** hits the fan, and I can guarentee 100% if you didn't have an arrester it would flashback and blow the cannister
| #89 03:55pm 30/12/04 |
lthoughdoes anyone else think it's incredibly stupid to use a 45kg bottle of gas that you FOUND ?? Next door is getting demolished to make way for a subdevision - they cut the bottles off the side of the house and threw them in the junkheap Being the alert citizen, i removed the gas bottle before it was picked up and punchered by the excavator. Last time i checked the council didn't like people dumping full 50kg lpg tanks at the tip. Think of it as a service im doing to the community (apart from blowing myelf up) |
| #90 04:01pm 30/12/04 |
Last time i checked the council didn't like people dumping full 50kg lpg tanks at the tip. Last time i checked the council didn't like people using them as flame throwers either Think of it as a service im doing to the community (apart from blowing myelf up) Think of it as a service im doing to the community (including blowing myself up) or your elf, either one |
| #91 04:03pm 30/12/04 |
stop being a hater astroboy, it doesn't suit you
| #92 04:47pm 30/12/04 |
Grunt
lol.. okayokay
my dad works for kleenheat gas actually so he knows ALL |
| #93 05:12pm 30/12/04 |
you finished chemo anyway grunt?
| #94 05:17pm 30/12/04 |
rodolphe
i am a fitter/machinist at a small machinery manufacturing workshop... nothing exciting. i do all the cnc machining and some lathe work.
only good thing is access to good materials (platics, ally and steel) to make foreigners :D |
| #95 05:20pm 30/12/04 |
can you make me an asian?
last edited by Astroboy at 17:42:15 30/Dec/04 |
| #96 05:42pm 30/12/04 |
lol cnc's, the most boring of all jobs is doing work on CNC's, I guess its ok to do setups and code but otherwise it's ghey. I only did it because I had to do it as part of my aprenticeship but I plan to never touch them again.
I'm also pretty lucky in regards to steel, also rodolphe whats the name of the company, and do you or have you heard of Cox Industries? |
| #97 05:41pm 30/12/04 |
do you work for cox spoon?
teehee |
| #98 05:44pm 30/12/04 |
rodolphe
yer cnc is gay, but i am programmer AND operator so it is ok, and we only ever 20 off for a part so i'm not hitting cycle start for the same part 1000 times :o)
The name of the company is Modra Automation it is at meadowbrook... i think I have heard of cox mowers... related company ?? The people who do our gold pasivating (uniline) do the stuff for cox mowers I think and a guy I work with used to work at cox mowers... |
| #99 05:45pm 30/12/04 |
Lol which guy, I work in the R&D department, so we got the best equipment and best looked after. When I was doing the CNC's is was when we were selling them and outsourcing so we were doing 600-1000 parts each go to get stock up, deburring was fun..or not. But yeah Cox Industries was Cox Mowers, we just changed the name.
name of guy plz |
| #100 05:52pm 30/12/04 |
rodolphe
His name is Jason, a Canadian guy...
| #101 05:54pm 30/12/04 |
grey hair and s***? I only knew of one candian dude and he was the fabricater there
| #102 06:03pm 30/12/04 |
rodolphe
negative, ~30 yrs old with long black hair, afaik he was on lathe work... meh, teh world isn't so small after all :P
| #103 06:06pm 30/12/04 |
But yeah Cox Industries was Cox Mowers, we just changed the name your mowers throw belts and the springs break |
| #104 06:28pm 30/12/04 |
which model? Because I know the conquests do. Personally I don't like the new machines, the old ones were the best.
Which machine and which springs? |
| #105 08:05pm 30/12/04 |
new red one with headlights. Ill go to the shed later on and find out exactly. i think the clutch cone has a f***ing chip out of it too :/
| #106 09:56pm 30/12/04 |
Yeah mang thats the New Gen, they are actually a pretty good machine. The clutch cone is probably f***ed, I suggest you get a new one with this material we are using, its magic gear.
I use to work in service and I have never seen a broken spring, nor has the belt come off, the belt rolls when it goes up to far though and I assume the deck needs adjusting. I might also add the belt will come off if the springs aren't on there because they are what tensions the belt, unless you are speaking drive belts which I just can't see happening unless you got like a heaps old school one. Take it back to the dealer. If you are having probs with it and the dealer isn't giving you satisfaction you can ring warranty/service dept and they can collect the mower or you bring it in and fix it for you and usually do a whole service eg new cone, new oil, air filters, oil all components. It's not rare that you get a lemon because they push like 40 of them things off the line a day, even upwards of 50 some days. Edit: also the line isn't automated it's all built by hand so yeah someone might have been slack and missed something to do with the belts. gimme some more info and I can tell you what to do with it. last edited by spoon at 22:12:52 30/Dec/04 last edited by spoon at 22:14:54 30/Dec/04 |
| #107 10:14pm 30/12/04 |
So when is the next thing being exploded/set fire to?
| #108 10:16pm 30/12/04 |
when i get back from syd next sunday and get a flashback arrestor and some kevlar
| #109 11:53pm 30/12/04 |
hey spoony
nah mate she just threw her main drive belt, i slid it back on and its fine now. Spring broke that holds the blade engagement lever in the upright position so the blades will come down easily because there is no backward resistance on the lever to prevent it. Its around 2 years old tho and yea its new gen cox. Ive had no probs with it, great little thing. I need to replace the blades tho and get a service for the tensioners and springs and crap like that. How much would that cost with you guys? Out local cox dealer is a f***ing dodgey bastad.. wrote off our old mower as a "fire" so we could claim it on insurance and get a new mower off him.. hes been ripping us off ever since with parts for the cox so we just have started going direct (to you guys i guess) to get replacement parts. |
| #110 11:57pm 30/12/04 |
Oh yeah, kind of weird thing to happen, but yeah the spring is under a fair bit of tension for the engagement lever, I would say possibly that the spring was a bit dodgey a flaw in the material or something. I think unless you are having serious issues with the machine you will have to take it to a dealer, but ring and find out anyway. And if you can tell me the name of the dealer because I know most of em and have met most of em. Also is the whole machine red, or is it black and red, eg black chassis and red trim?
Edit: I can prolly hook you up with a good dealer who will do the right thing by you, my old man is the GM at cox mowers so maybe I can work something out last edited by spoon at 00:03:30 31/Dec/04 |
| #111 12:03am 31/12/04 |
hot s*** buddy
Completly red with headlights (j0r) ill drop you an email next weekend and ill grab the details off you. I put the poor thing through .5m grass today (only 1m long) and it got mad at me, then i drove it up 45deg incline and the blades hit the ground You dont wanna hear that do you i took good care of it :D Also, pic of next project http://img96.exs.cx/img96/9048/image30tx.jpg |
| #112 12:11am 31/12/04 |
that hose isn't gona be near the flames btw, its psp's fault of that.
The red thing is an armor shield made out of cardboard .. no seriously |
| #113 12:13am 31/12/04 |
lol, the height of the grass is fine, but yeah usually 15degree inclines are max, that is if you were contantly mowing at that incline, otherwise I reckon it would be fine. I can probably find the part number for the blades and grab some for free for ya.
anyway email me at jokah@optusnet.com.au |
| #114 12:19am 31/12/04 |
corrugated cardboard???
| #115 12:53pm 31/12/04 |
rodolphe
on the subject of bubbling gas through water and igniting it... i tried this trick once many years ago on aust day while very drunk... i got a can of butane (the ones you use to fill lighters) and stuck it under the water of a kiddie shell pool, i pushed back the valve and stuck a lighter above the water to light it... i ended up singeing my eye brow, hair on my head, chest hair and one of my arm pits... thank f*** i was pissed, therefore it was funny, not stupid.
| #116 03:14pm 31/12/04 |
they push like 40 of them things off the line a day, even upwards of 50 some days. Production lines kick ass, I got a tour of the Hitachi one in Japan where they push out 180 excavators a day. |
| #117 04:24pm 31/12/04 |
Yeah, we only got like prolly 12 dudes on that line aswell, so it's a top effort. We do everything in haus too except for machining parts since we sold the CNC's, but we do all the fabrication from getting the steel off a truck all the way to being painted, which we also do there.
It's a great place for foreigners tho, we got f***ing huge laser machines and turrent punches and automated benders. Some dude at work got a FPV logo cut out with was like 1.5mx1m and got it all painted n shiz. I'd like to see some of the more advanced assembly lines tho but I think we maybe getting some automated things put in, like conveyers which bring completed parts into each workstation etc. Alot of it is becoming automated now we have 2 big robot welders there. Edit: I would never become an assembler :) It's the gayest of all jobs. last edited by spoon at 16:33:15 31/Dec/04 |
| #118 04:33pm 31/12/04 |
The red thing is an armor shield made out of cardboardPity it's not really going to do anything to help you if the god damn bottle wants to go kaboom, and that's what I'd be worried about, particularly since it's on the same side of the "shield" as you. lol |
| #119 04:53pm 31/12/04 |
i think the shield is to protect the fire from more stupidity
| #120 05:31pm 31/12/04 |
nice one partyhat have a good one tonite! |
| #121 05:33pm 31/12/04 |
hrm im a bit of a pyro but i dont think id be f***ing around with a 45 kg can-o-gas thats just asking for something really REALLY bad to happen :)
| #122 05:34pm 31/12/04 |
cheers dude, u too!
| #123 05:34pm 31/12/04 |
Danjor
hrm im a bit of a pyro but i dont think id be f***ing around with a 45 kg can-o-gas thats just asking for something really REALLY bad to happen :) im in the same boat as you i dont think i would be stupud enough to make somthing like that although i did make a potato cannon which was pretty dangerous |
| #124 06:36pm 31/12/04 |
| #124 |