Topic: Where to hire/buy keg and equipment??
sikgem
Okay guys I'm planning a mega pissup pretty soon and I need to know where I can hire and/or buy kegs and/or equipment. I've looked at a few places but anyone got any recos?
You wont finish a keg of beer by yourself hunter.
sikgem
Don't be a smartarse, at least reply with something useful.

EDIT: Ohyeah and btw, I reckon I could have a good go at a keg.

last edited by sikgem at 22:01:58 12/Aug/04
Top Dog
search was thread on it a while ago

doesnt even end up like cheaper i think
sikgem
Search doesn't like 3 letter searches (gay).
hahah, maybe a mini keg you newbie.
Trumpto

rofl at space ninja's call
sikgem
spidz, dude, you haven't seen me drink mate :). Its both an accomplishment and a shame to admit I can drink a f***load before passing out, especially considering how little I weigh.

EDIT: Oh and yeah really do need a keg... sif cartons.

last edited by sikgem at 22:38:03 12/Aug/04
without getting in a pissing contest I can safely say I'd drink you under the table.

however rather than being proud of this fact, its quite a shame I did some silly things in 'that' period of my life where I didn't nothing but drink 7 days a week.

having said that, I have attended AA meetings and even there I would never have come accross anyone who could possibly even go close to drinking a whole keg themselves - hell even boonie wouldn't have a chance.
sikgem
Depends on how long you drink it over I guess. The pissup I have planned is for about 5 to 6 people over 2 days. A keg or two should keep us happy (along with new amp and speakers to blast out our f*** off big music collections out of).
Talk yourself up a bit more hunter.
1 keg for 5 or 6 people over two days would be about right.

however you _did_ say earlier you could have a go at a keg yourself, which was f***ing rediculous.

I doubt you could drink a keg of water in 24 hours.

PS: cartons are cheaper.

I have all the equipment for a keg, I'd be happy to hire it to you for $$ you have to buy your actual keg elsewhere though.

I hope you know how to set up a temp rite or you will be wasting plenty of beer.
cartons are cheaper and less hassle.
sikgem
A what??

Also, how many litres is a keg?
Deadly-Fly
My brothers buying a keg system for the fridge. I think it's costing him about $400 dollars all up (not including grog which is another $120 for 120L) for 3 small 30L(IIRC) kegs, gas system and tap. He's getting it from a micro brewery, can't remember where(southside so I guess that's out of the question for you :P) but there's one in Zilmere that also hire out/sell keg systems. Should be in the yellow pages.
sikgem
Hmm okay, sounds like cartons are cheaper. I've just finished my 3rd double shot rum and coke and they're pretty effective but the AGBs are lethal.
Deadly-Fly
A what??

Also, how many litres is a keg?
A temp rite is what keeps the temp rite :)

120 I think.

Edit: sorry that's 120 bottles, you do the math.

last edited by Deadly-Fly at 22:57:28 12/Aug/04
isn't there something like 200 schooners to a keg?
if you don't even know what a temp rite is I strongly suggest you just buy cartons - and make sure they're twistops as you may have trouble opening them otherwise ....

I have everything you need for a keg except the beer and my gas bottle is currently empty.

I have two setups, one with the lines going through a hole I cut in a fridge and the other is a mini temp rite setup through an esky.
Today the average beer keg in Australia is approximately 50 litres and made of stainless steel.
sikgem
I can open all types of beers smartarse :D. I do drink guinness frequently and the bottled variety has the type you open with a bottle opener so I do know how :D
most kegs are 50l but you can get 80l ones.

if you pay standard retail prices - assuming you know nobody in the industry, you can expect to pay about $180 for the keg alone.

you then have to setup and hire a temp rite and as you clearly have no clue this will be a pain in the arse and you will have a wastage of at least 3 litres of beer.

so you do the maths ;)

Edit: f***ing typo's galore :/

last edited by spidz at 22:58:51 12/Aug/04
hahaha hunter http://www.users.bigpond.net.au/evis/smilies/weaksauce.gif
Trumpto
My god, hunter.

You claimed you could drink a whole keg without even knowing how many litres are in it? pfft.

You're a tryhard. Who are you trying to impress? Is your boyfriend reading?
sikgem
If you're trying to pickup, stop.
You're already in.
sikgem
I was estimating about 40 litres in a keg... it could be drunk by one person, but it would take a day or so...
try a week newbie.
1 day to drink 40 litres?

u f***ing kidding me?

if u didn't pass out first, you'd drown.
sikgem
I was exaggerating haha. I wasn't being entirely seriously... as f***ing if you could drink that much fluid let alone alcohol in that amount of time.
like I said, you couldn't drink a keg of water :P
You're talking something like 1.5 - 2.0 kg of ethanol in a keg of beer. You're liver can breakdown 10 grams an hour, maybe more, maybe less.

You do the math.
We tried the keg thing once, and it really wasn't worth the hassle. If you are planning a multiday beer drinking session, clear a table and keep a trophy. Make sure you hold services for any bottles that go MIA :(

We drank a couple of hundred beers in 3 days in a two bed room apartment at Kira once. It was a sight worth remembering, which is about all I remember from thhat weekend.
You can hire kegs from a lot of pubs these days - the RE hotel does, and if the party is within a reasonable distance, they may even deliver it for you. You would have to get the temprite and gas somewhere else though.

As has been mentioned, they really are a pain in the arse for inexperienced users and you will waste a considerable amount of beer. Best bet is buying cartons, in particular cans. Although they tend to taste worse than stubbies (the aluminium flavours the beer somewhat) they are a hell of a lot easier to clean up.
stick
Yo. I haven't read any replies, but I posted the same thing a little while ago.

Kenmore Tavern is pretty much the only place in the Western Suburbs that will rent out all the gear. Keg plus temprite is $190, plus a $200 bond.

Keg beer tastes awesome, and, if you pay attention to the instructions, it's a piece of cake to set up despite what people say. Also, the novelty factor is awesome.

My mates and I are big drinkers, and a keg is a lot of beer for 10 people, and a good amount for 15. Any questions?
stick
I just read Zak's reply. The first time we got a keg the hardest part was hooking it up. It took about 45 minutes before we took it back to the shop and they told us they had given us a faulty part. When they replaced it we fixed it instantly.

Amount of beer wasted - give the thing 10 minutes to cool down, max wastage = 1 cup of beer.

Most people don't realise that when you poor from a keg, you have to turn the tap either full on or full off. There is no in between, and trying to find an in between will result in wasted beer. Although as I said earlier, if you listen to the instructions they give you when you get the thing, you won't have any problems.

Again, the beer from the keg tastes sooooooo much better, and there is far less mess to clean as far as bottles etc go.
Agreed, it tastes way better. However, noob users (myself included) can be a dangerous thing with a beer tap in hand.
why not take your cash and buy a lot of speed or cocaine? i guarantee you'll have more fun

PS. the whole 'i can drink so much man' brag is so high school. once you develop some maturity you'll start to focus on the company you keep and the conversation, not how many jugs youve downed.

CrIpZ
PPS. i downed like 3 and a half bottles of absinthe in 12 hours by myself!!!!!!!!!!

I can drink you all under the table!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!becoz i'm cool
f***ing bogans.
aha
tiny little hunter teh drinking machine

hohoho

AND AFTER HE HAS DRUNK ALL TEH BEER HE WILL STILL OUTDRIVE ALL OF US MAENS!!!!!1
© Copyright 2001-2025 AusGamers Pty Ltd. ACN 093 772 242.