bjp
Just heard on Fox News and know that there are a lot of cricket supporters here.
RIP David Hookes A great cricketer A great bloke bjp |
| #0 07:56pm 19/01/04 |
so he didnt pull through eh, damn
| #1 07:59pm 19/01/04 |
news.com.au hasn't been updated yet but I also heard the same from another place; pretty sad story there. I don't know the full details yet of what happened (ie, how he actually got in to the fight) - anyone got the full goss?
| #2 08:00pm 19/01/04 |
Avarice
s*** - i never really knew him as a player, but ive always liked his out spoken style as a coach/commentator.
was completely stunned when i heard this this morning wonder how that young bouncer feels now... |
| #3 08:03pm 19/01/04 |
Apparently a bouncer at a hotel took a shine to him and after an altercation inside the pub, they had a brawl... But the thing is the bouncer beat the crap out of this guy like 30m away from where he was supposed to be in the pub.
No idea why yet! |
| #4 08:08pm 19/01/04 |
Will the bouncers charge now be put up to Murder? Maybe not 1st degree, but punching someone so they fall and hit their head and then die seems like murder to me.
| #5 08:09pm 19/01/04 |
SacredSperm
http://www.smh.com.au/articles/2004/01/19/1074360685418.html
SMH just updated with an article about it. :( |
| #6 08:10pm 19/01/04 |
episime.
That's sad. It's a real shame that things can escalate to that point. |
| #7 08:13pm 19/01/04 |
just heard too. whoa !!
i remember when i was about 10 going to the gabba with hte old man. sitting near the old hill: he was lobbing six after six against qld left right and centre of us. gg david hookes. rip last edited by sleepy at 20:16:54 19/Jan/04 last edited by sleepy at 20:17:04 19/Jan/04 |
| #8 08:17pm 19/01/04 |
bjp
| #9 08:22pm 19/01/04 |
CSIRAC
what i heard on 7 news was hookes tried to stop a fight/arguement that broke out in the pub, and when he was walking away the bouncer knocked him into the ground. a witness said he heard a sickning thrack as his head hit the concrete. :(
| #10 08:30pm 19/01/04 |
General Specific
lol i read it as RIP dead hookers lol
but yeah, poor guy. |
| #11 08:32pm 19/01/04 |
Will the bouncers charge now be put up to Murder? Maybe not 1st degree, but punching someone so they fall and hit their head and then die seems like murder to me. Thats what I thought but I was told that it will probably be manslaughter, not murder. last edited by Triamks at 20:52:46 19/Jan/04 |
| #12 08:52pm 19/01/04 |
Boofe
I hope that egotistical girl (hitting someone from behind) of a bouncer gets whats coming to him. Hope the bouncer rotts in hell.
| #13 09:02pm 19/01/04 |
Deadly-Fly
Apparently a bouncer at a hotel took a shine to him and after an altercation inside the pub, they had a brawl... But the thing is the bouncer beat the crap out of this guy like 30m away from where he was supposed to be in the pub. one punch is hardly a brawl. |
| #14 09:31pm 19/01/04 |
Murderer
:[
| #15 09:39pm 19/01/04 |
Reso, manslaughter is what the charge will probably be.
Edit: f***, beaten. last edited by exo at 21:50:43 19/Jan/04 |
| #16 09:50pm 19/01/04 |
kroogz
So did he start the fight then try and stop it or was he not actually involved at all, then tried to stop it ?
| #17 09:58pm 19/01/04 |
the news said there was an argument between some of the bouncers and a few of hte wives/gf's of the vic team and he stepped in to try sort things out, he was then hit in the back of the head after leaving the pub.
| #18 10:01pm 19/01/04 |
poiuty
Yeah he was walking away when he was hit, just a stupid senseless act
http://smh.com.au/articles/2004/01/19/1074360694090.html |
| #19 10:19pm 19/01/04 |
RIP, australia loses another legend, first slim, now hooksey.
| #20 10:19pm 19/01/04 |
KappA
EDIT: Sorry for upsetting u boxhead. RIP Hookes.
last edited by KappA at 22:51:45 19/Jan/04 |
| #21 10:51pm 19/01/04 |
what kind of scum would do that?
sure isn't giving bouncers a good name, hope he rots in hell, and hope david hookes rests in peace. |
| #22 10:45pm 19/01/04 |
Kappa try reading threads first dude...
edited.. kappa seriously... read... last edited by Boxhead at 23:03:07 19/Jan/04 |
| #23 11:03pm 19/01/04 |
Don Benjico
bloody bouncers...how the hell does punching an old guy like hookes in the head solve any problems. bouncers should not be employed at such a yound and immature age as 21. they need some life experience and common sense to get a job that requires a cool head in pressure situations. :( RIP |
| #24 10:58pm 19/01/04 |
It's not right for this to happen to anyone, but for a sporting legend to go like this is just s***.
I reckon if the bouncer was more than 5m from the door then he should be charged with murder - their job is at the club/pub, not anywhere else. If he's left the door for this to happen then it's basically intent in my book. |
| #25 11:05pm 19/01/04 |
Kinda ironic that a top aussie batsman meets his end to a bouncer.
| #26 11:06pm 19/01/04 |
Avarice
omg - so trying not to find that funny...
| #27 11:07pm 19/01/04 |
CSIRAC
nf, *snicker*, not funny!!!
| #28 11:29pm 19/01/04 |
in my personal opinion I though hooks was an outspoken smartass, that more then likely picked a fight with the wrong bloke at the pub.
However I may be wrong about the fight, I still didn't like him that much |
| #29 11:50pm 19/01/04 |
You weren't in melbourne last night by any chance were you?
| #30 11:51pm 19/01/04 |
funky
well done series, make some AWESOMELY calculated judgement when the story about what happened isn't even certain yet, so many different scenarios could of happened...
| #31 12:05am 20/01/04 |
Sancho
umm on the news didnt the witness say that he got left hooked in the jaw and fell back onto the road cracking his head? so if he got hit in the jaw wouldnt he vae to be looking at the guy?
| #32 12:09am 20/01/04 |
SuSPEcT
"absolute cock, who knows nothing about anything." - so u know exactly what happened do u? or are u just being an absolute cock, who knows nothing about anything
im pretty sure that regardless who it is, if someone got punched and killed leaving a hotel, no one would be cheering anyone. |
| #33 12:10am 20/01/04 |
If Hookes wasn't famous they'd give the bouncer a f***ing medal.no they wouldn't.. he killed someone... |
| #34 12:14am 20/01/04 |
Series - Are you a bouncer or something? If so then I could perhaps understand your viewpoint (maybe you guys have a secret meatheads club/fraternity that we don't know about).
But to say that he would get a medal if Hookes wasn't famous? Are you kidding? HE KILLED SOMEONE WHO HAD HIS BACK TURNED. Being in any sort of argument with a person does not grant you permission to punch the back/side of the head of that person. We won't know the full story for some time, and yes it will get heaps of publicity because he is famous. But to feel sorry for the bouncer is disgusting. How can you seriously justify his actions? His life was not in danger, nor apparently was that of other patrons. He had his back turned. Hookes was almost 50 years old for christs sake, how much of a threat could he have posed! No doubt Hookes would have had a few words to say to him at some point, I will agree with you on that. He has always been someone willing to speak his mind and stand by it. But if this bouncer reacted so badly to something that Hookes had to say, then he obviously has some serious anger issues. I'm sure most bouncers aren't like that. I know quite a few myself, and generally they are very easy going. However, most of us have stories either involving us/friends/something we have seen in regards to the unecessary forceful/violent behaviour of security guards and crowd controllers. For some it seems like obtaining a security license is their "license to kill". As for Hookes, he was a legend and will be missed by most Aussie cricket lovers. Fastest domestic century in Australia, five 4's in a row off Tony Greig, huge sixes - many memories. |
| #35 12:16am 20/01/04 |
The sarcasm is lost with the meaning of your comment being that had David Hookes not been famous, the bouncer's actions would not have been condemned (regardless of the medal bit).
You kill someone in a violent way, you do not deserve sympathy. Period. You made your point, it was horrible. Don't bother with the sarcasm excuse as it's too late - I think correct judgement has already been cast upon you by all. |
| #36 12:23am 20/01/04 |
Think outside the square you areAnd go into your perverse world of death and decay? where ppl are rewarded for assaulting one another? especially when the victim is famous??? None of what you posted was sarcasm, it was retarded dribble.. gb2gbs OH WAIT YOU CANT because you were stupid f*** there like you are here... The facts are that he has a wife and daughter who were at his bedside and his Adelaide-based son was on his way to Melbourne.so chances are he wasn't chatting up chicks at a bar... news reports indicate that there was an inital incident in the pub involving vic players, hookes attempted to stop the behaviour, the situation was resolved (presumeably with hookes saying something to the bouncer), something took place outside and the bouncer ended up following hookes some 30m away from the hotel (onto the pavement) where he hit him |
| #37 12:24am 20/01/04 |
Also. Hookes was a frail man, the bouncer probably didnt know what strength to hit him with.You're kidding right.. he's a trained professional.. with anger problems apparantly.. even more reason to not use excessive force to control the situation... if they really were drunk then it wouldn't have taken much effort at all to subdue them no need to punch him to death or you could keep posting and deleting at will series... last edited by Boxhead at 00:33:06 20/Jan/04 |
| #38 12:33am 20/01/04 |
http://www.gothamtoys.com/straws.jpg
You are now clutching these far tooo tightly... face it, the bouncer went over the top... everyones decisions have consequences, more severe decisions have larger consequences.. in this case throwing a punch, hitting someone in the back of the head killed him... |
| #39 12:38am 20/01/04 |
How about just not punching him? When you punch someone, you are doing so with the intent of causing some sort of harm to a person, perhaps even death (and punch to the temple region is enough to cause someones death without them hitting their head on something else).
To make excuses like Hookes was frail was ridiculous. Even if he was, even the more reason not to hit him. And yes, please stop deleting your posts and let others see the nonsense that is spewing forth from your fingertips. |
| #40 12:42am 20/01/04 |
Deadly-Fly
Series - Are you a bouncer or something? If so then I could perhaps understand your viewpoint (maybe you guys have a secret meatheads club/fraternity that we don't know about). The main witness who was on the news that had seen and heard the whole thing was a bouncer and he was pretty disgusted with the actions of his union buddy so don't chuck all bouncers in with this guy. He said that the bouncer followed him outside and Hookes was telling him to leave it alone and was trying to walk away when the guy hit him. The witness said he could hear the guys head hit the pavement and he was inside at the time. They also said on the news that he had suffered a major heart attack most likely triggered by the concusion he got. last edited by Deadly-Fly at 00:52:11 20/Jan/04 |
| #41 12:52am 20/01/04 |
Welcome back to sanity.
Deadly-fly: I agree, like I said in that same post, I know a few bouncers and they are generally pretty well adjusted. Just seems to be a small number of them who have temper/anger management issues, and that is the portion who are always going to stand out more than the others. |
| #42 12:58am 20/01/04 |
Frightning as it is, i'm going to have to agree with series on this one.
Hookes is known to have a mouth bigger than he is, and thats obviously what made him such a great coach. I'm not saying he deserved this, but in the heat of the moment, things can turn around and bite you. The bouncer might have been wrong to punch him, who knows. People get decked all the time by bouncers, and there is always a reason for it, whether or not its justified. Hookes was unlucky, but i doubt he was innocent. Its an accident not murder. EDIT: series changed his mind mid-stream, thank god, i can disagree with him again. last edited by nF at 01:04:28 20/Jan/04 |
| #43 01:04am 20/01/04 |
And we've slipped back into the surreal it seems...
I don't think you can make a sweeping generalisation that most people would hunt down someone in order to violently harm them after being "humiliated". I think most people will agree that this sort of person would be in the minority of society. You might think about hitting someone, but your conscience knows it is wrong. Again, I agree that Hookes most likely had something cheeky to say to the bouncer - I would doubt he hit Hookes without some sort of verbal exchange. However, a bouncer being paid to ensure the SAFETY of patrons should have enough tact and professionalism to not chase after someone who is: A) More than twice their age. B) Most likely weaker/lighter build. C) Consumed alcohol, perhaps to the point of intoxication. D) Walking away. E) Not on premise. F) Unlikely to have thrown a punch at him (although we don't know exact details yet, so this one is a maybe). If someone humiliates you at your place of work, do you retaliate violently? Do you jump over the counter and beat senseless a person who is complaining about the service they are receiving? Not likely. Why then should a bouncer/security guard get away with it? I'm sure he didn't mean to kill Hookes, but the fact is he did. He will not get charged with murder, but definately something along the lines of manslaughter or assault causing death/accidental death (not sure of the correct legal terms). I say once again, you can not feel sorry for a person who intentionally acted violently towards someone and caused their accidental death. Your intent is to harm, the extent is irrelevant. |
| #44 01:21am 20/01/04 |
Adz
Senseless act of violence!
R.I.P. Hookes |
| #45 01:22am 20/01/04 |
Deadly-fly: I agree, like I said in that same post, I know a few bouncers and they are generally pretty well adjusted. Just seems to be a small number of them who have temper/anger management issues, and that is the portion who are always going to stand out more than the others. Im going to say this with confidence...I have been to many pubs/clubs, and almost all the fights with bouncers that I have seen have been involving a black bouncer usually an islander, BUT not all the time though, the other times were by non-Australians....blah blah blah your racist. These are facts! Hookes was hit by a guy named Zdravco Micevic, and what a real aussie name that is... I was giving details to police about another fight between a bouncer (islander) and a group of people, one of the bouncers pushed me in front of a cab while talking to the police!!! Just dont let these f***ers into australia. Mr Howard said in a statement: "The tragic death of David Hookes, in such violent circumstances, will sadden not only cricket fans but all Australians. why cant people get some balls and say what they are really thinking....ok the guy was a non-australian im over that bit for the moment, but at least say, "im going to string this f***er up by his balls" Anyone else see this little trend? last edited by Astroboy at 04:42:59 20/Jan/04 |
| #46 04:42am 20/01/04 |
. People get pissed off, and most people would probably follow a loud mouthed man and punch the s*** out of him. I know i would. What world do you live in? Most people walk away because they are unwilling to fight, or can't fight. It's only wankers/phsycopaths that follow guys trying to start things. Which one are you? |
| #47 05:01am 20/01/04 |
ok for 1, i don't know how you people can say that it was an 'accident' or 'he deserved it coz he was a loudmouth' because thats basically what you are saying.
bouncers are there to break up fights, or stop them from occuring. bouncers know when people are drunk, they don't have the strength of a sober person. bouncers know you dont have to KING HIT SOMEONE IN THE FACE WITH A LEFT HOOK with enough force to knock someone flat and slam his head on the ground to subdue them. bouncers shouldn't be walking after someone who obviously does not want to fight, just wants to leave the situation and attack them. causing someones death through you own actions is murder imo. but he'll get charged and found guilty of manslaughter, and spend a long time in jail. all i can say to the bouncer, is suck s*** you roid freak, every action has a consequence, and your inability to not get so angry due to the roids u pump will cost you 20-25 years, and the knowledge that you killed someone. he's gonna wanna brush up on his fighting skills when he gets to jail, he's gonna get torn apart in there, in more ways then one. |
| #48 06:26am 20/01/04 |
and i'm sorry, but after reading some of your responses, some of you are really f***ing idiots. take note.
anyone dieing due to someone else's actions is f***ed up, and your defending that c*******s actions. |
| #49 06:29am 20/01/04 |
Gregory
Its bouncer likes these that give other bounces a bad name. dont matter who he hit famous or not if they fella died and if had nething to do with the Hit to him then the bouncer deserves to be punished accordingly.
| #50 06:56am 20/01/04 |
Trapper
I have yet to read the news stories but just from what i have read in the thread here, i must condem the bouncers actions. this is comeing from a bouncer, if he followed him down the street not only does he deserve what he gets but even if he isn't brought up on charges he left his work place and will get fired. I know personaly i have had a couple of problems but alot of the time if you have a fight that involves a bouncer its 50 50 split as to responsability. Bouncers are taught how to deal with the situation without resorting to violence.
To the person who said that bouncers shouldn't be given work unless they have reached a certain age i partialy agree. I am 22 but haven't been able to get much work due to my age, it is also unfair on some people who are good at their job (with a proven track record) to discriminate due to age. |
| #51 07:53am 20/01/04 |
Grosby
And if i killed him..that would be an accident. No, it's called Manslaughter. Killing someone with only the intent to hurt. Think about it. British Nannies get chargd with it for shaking a baby to death, and that was an 'accident' RIP Hookesy |
| #52 08:11am 20/01/04 |
Spidz*
I don't doubt that Hookes probably mouthed off a bit, that doesn't mean he deserved to be king hit from behind and die. The guy was a little outspoken, so what he was also probably a target too.
RIP Hookesy :*( |
| #53 10:14am 20/01/04 |
All I want to know, is how many years he will get? What a f***ing idiot, I hope his life gets fully f***ed up. Hope he can't get a job after this.
The fact, that hookes walked away... and the bouncer snuck up on him and smashed him in the back on the head deserves f***ing murder. Anyone know how years manslaughter carries? |
| #54 10:29am 20/01/04 |
Spidz*
the sentencing judge knows...
| #55 10:38am 20/01/04 |
5+ years and I would be satisfied... 10 would make me happier.
They have TV's in jail right? The inmates are going to rape the s*** out of him for being such a pussy and killing a cricketer. |
| #56 10:48am 20/01/04 |
Deadly-Fly
causing someones death through you own actions is murder imo. but he'll get charged and found guilty of manslaughter, and spend a long time in jail. While I agree that the guy should get f***ed up for his actions, there is a huge difference between murder and manslaughter. It's all about intent, the guy was an idiot and probably thought he was real tough and wanted to prove he was a man by hitting him, but I seriously doubt that killing him had ever crossed his mind. I'm not defending his actions in anyway but I think some of you need to put yourselves in the other guys shoes for a moment. Just think if you had killed someone through a stupid, in the heat of the moment, action, and don't say you'd never do what this guy did because chances are there has been a moment in your lives when your comonsense has taken a break and you have done something dangerous and stupid that could have ended badly. You'd be tearing yourself apart if you had killed someone while showing off doing something dangerous. While this guy is guilty of assult and manslaughter, he is not a murderer. The difference between intent to kill and a stupid action is huge. |
| #57 11:07am 20/01/04 |
OK as I was leaving for work this morning my Nan who is staying with us a couple of days gave me the run down from the morning news.
The bouncer said some derrogatory things to Darren Leahmans wife/gf whatever she is. Leahmann took offense was and was gonna have a go at the bouncer. Hookes got between them to stop Leahmann doing something that would permanently stop him from being able to get back into the Australian team. As a result he copped a punch from the bouncer, nfi if it was directed at him or at Leahmann though. If the dude had anger problems maybe he hit Hookes cause he was keeping the bouncer from having a rumble. |
| #58 12:35pm 20/01/04 |
The paper today said that someone in the pub (not necessarily the bouncer) said something to a player's wfe/girlfriend. Hookes stepped in to sort it out, and ended up getting turfed out. He had something to say to the bouncer, Lehmann got placed in a headlock and thrown to the ground, then Hookes and Lehmann walked off (about 70m away). As they did, three bouncers followed them, one of which saying "you want to play smart mouth, now face the music." Hookes was hit from behind with a fist, and fell to the ground.
Absolutely gutless. He is going to get what's coming to him in jail, if not before hand. He is already up on another assault charge from 2002 - surely there has to be something wrong with security licensing regulation if a man with an assault charge hanging over him can continue working in crowd control. |
| #59 12:42pm 20/01/04 |
Poor bugger a classic case of being a wrong place at the wrong time. The bouncer action, if accurate, was excessive to say the least.
I don't care if David Hookes was a legend or an ordinary Joe, the bouncer action was unacceptable -- he should be punished for his action. I had some friends of mine roughed up by bouncers as well, for no apparent reason other than the boucer didn't like the way my mate looks. It's sad to say the least there isn't some sort of tighter regulation controlling the bouncers or how to qualify to become one. |
| #60 12:49pm 20/01/04 |
David Hookes was an awesome player and all round good guy.
As for the bouncer, the incident took place over 20metres from the pub on the main street next to his parked car, how come a bouncer was 20 metres from the place he was supose to be offer protection to. The guy killed someone for no reason, intent was definately there otherwise it would have take place inside or just outside the hotel for which he was working. I hate over zealous bouncers, in 1985 a good friend of mines cousin was killed by a bouncer on the Gold Coast, he never served a single day in prison for killing another human being, all my friends cousin did was walk up the stair to the paradise room to gain entry while drunk and the bouncer throw him down the stairs and he rolled out onto the road in cavil ave and was struck in the head by a car. |
| #61 12:59pm 20/01/04 |
Trapper
umm gumby you might want to get the full story behind that, i happen to know the partner of the bouncer involved with that one and the reson he didn't serve time in jail.
just a little edit in responce to opec, the regulation already is quite tough in queensland, not sure about down south but currently you need to go thru 3 weeks of training and pass a fedral police background check before you will be handed your licence (which by the way a new licence disquals alot of ppl with the price 280 bucks.) last edited by Trapper at 13:41:25 20/Jan/04 |
| #62 01:41pm 20/01/04 |
Wow, small world.
| #63 02:34pm 20/01/04 |
funky
i wouldn't of thought it would be darren lehmann because he's a South Australian player and i doubt he would be out celebrating his teams loss with the Coach of the opposing team
| #64 02:38pm 20/01/04 |
Spidz*
both team were out drinking together and hookes is a South Australian who coaches vic.
1985 - s*** trapper you would have been like 3 years old? |
| #65 02:45pm 20/01/04 |
Actually, i've heard thats a fairly common occurance with cricketers. Even in international matches.
| #66 02:45pm 20/01/04 |
Someone should of posted that "YOU'RE GOING TO GET RAPED!" pic by now :)
| #67 02:45pm 20/01/04 |
funky
fair enough - i stand corrected :D
| #68 02:48pm 20/01/04 |
Trapper - the guy caused the death of someone, if he was in a car he would have been charged with Man Slaughter and served time most likely. As for not knowing the whole story lets see Kelly was out with her cousin when he was killed, that makes it a First Hand account of the incident. Additionally if the guy was so innocent why did he flee QLD and go into hiding, eventually being extradited back.
| #69 02:59pm 20/01/04 |
series
A friend of a friend of mine told me that the only reason David Hookes was drinking lots was so he could get drunk and become a drunken boxer and beat up the bouncer and faked dying to cover his tracks.
| #70 05:06pm 20/01/04 |
according to courier mail he got kinghit in the back of the head then suffered a heart attack.
f*** knows what the real story is RIP tho, is was a good/funny bloke |
| #71 05:08pm 20/01/04 |
aSph
My condolences to Mr Hooks' family and friends...
the world has just lost a great husband, son, uncle, dad and also coach. it is a tragic loss by any means, however the cricket world must move on. RIP Dave. Luke. |
| #72 09:25pm 20/01/04 |
and series sets a new all time record for retardedness..
| #73 10:09pm 20/01/04 |
Trapper
4 that year to be correct spidz.
As for being innocent i am not saying he is, even his partner said it was his fault but he did not serve time in jail as i was told becuase the fellow was drunk and their for also responsible. his punishment tho so you know was that he could never work in security again. This really upset the poor bastad on top of the grieve he felt over the guy dieing. |
| #74 11:31pm 20/01/04 |
aSph
QUOTE: "A friend of a friend of mine told me that the only reason David Hookes was drinking lots was so he could get drunk and become a drunken boxer and beat up the bouncer and faked dying to cover his tracks." -- Series
DEADSET Series you are a f***ing idiot... |
| #75 11:36pm 20/01/04 |
kroogz
I dont trust media anymore at all.
Not saying what happened was right, but theres always more to the story. Why would the bouncer have gone all that way ? Its a little sceptical. Also I have heard from a few people now that he was smartass, so I am starting to think that he may have started this whole thing anyways. As if the media is gonna back up the bouncer, of course they will take the side of the famous person. For their sake it makes a bigger story, when its innocent Australian hero is killed, than Australian hero starts fight. I dunno thats the way I look at it. I would only trust what happened if I saw it, because media is so corrupt its a joke. |
| #76 11:43pm 20/01/04 |
CHARISMATech
Hooksey was a legend and an told-it-how-it-was genius.
As for the dudes bringing up the past a bit of decorum and respect here. This thread - RIP Hookesy' is exactly that. Please take your personal matters elsewhere. Thankyou. |
| #77 11:46pm 20/01/04 |
kroogz
Its a discussion, stop trying to tell everyone what to say.
I am not disrespecting him at all, just expressing what I feel about the whole media frenzy matter. As you can see there are like 5 different stories about the same thing. |
| #78 11:49pm 20/01/04 |
CHARISMATech
i wasnt talking to you kroogz! You just happpened to post a message the same time i did. Read back a bit and youll get the picture
| #79 11:50pm 20/01/04 |
kroogz
okay sorry. my bad.
| #80 11:52pm 20/01/04 |
Why would the bouncer have gone all that way ? Its a little sceptical. I would say you are a normal person who thinks rationally, and you assume the bouncer is. Some people are just morons, and yes they do do moronic things. What do you think happened anyway? Do you think hookes dragged the bouncer 20 meters away from the club, then turned his back on him? |
| #81 12:12am 21/01/04 |
kroogz
No. Dont get me wrong, the bouncer is most likely at fault. I am just trying to stress that their is always another side that the media never tell, or you find out 10 years later.
Fight could have started at the door of hotel then moved into road. Cant always believe the witnesses. |
| #82 12:19am 21/01/04 |
Manshoon
I think the bouncer should get everything coming to him. Only 2 people know the EXACT situation of what happened and one is dead. The other by bystanders watching will have their own perception of the incident.
I know people who are bouncers and they are really nice people who wouldnt hurt a fly. I also know a few guys who "go out to kick the s*** out of someone cos its fun". When I point out that its just senseless violence they just look at me like Im an idiot. Some people think its fun to kick the s*** out of someone else......these people in my opinion need to have the s*** kicked out of them so that they almost die.....then they might get a new perspective on what its like. |
| #83 12:22am 21/01/04 |
kroogz
I see what you mean Manshoon.
I am just thinking that maybe the bouncer was provoked and the bouncer pushed him and he tripped and fell cause he might have been drunk. No bystander will tell it that way though. This is just a hyperthetical situation. |
| #84 12:25am 21/01/04 |
bouncers dont push.
they punch, theyre all thugs, why else would you get into the business ? to hit people and get paid to do so. why do people join the army.. to shoot guns and get paid to do so. |
| #85 06:50am 21/01/04 |
Trapper
cainer your a fool.
edit now i have thought about it a bit i might be able to explain why. this is my personal experience. I always wanted to join the cops or the military, becuase as part of my nature i want to make sure everyone is ok. i couldn't get into either of them so i decided instead to do security work which has sort of the same role. and plus the pay is great last edited by Trapper at 07:24:40 21/Jan/04 |
| #86 07:24am 21/01/04 |
Not just to fight, but also they are so uneducated, and so brain-dead, they wouldn't be employed doing something else
| #87 08:58am 21/01/04 |
Trapper
*grumbles* what if some people don't want to work in IT or an office job, they could be a people person. They go do security. i know i am going to be flamed for saying this but it is a fun job to work in and maybe you should all appreciate a bit more what they do. If pubs and clubs didn't have bouncers i assure you there would be more fights then there are now.
| #88 09:42am 21/01/04 |
Spidz*
and if some pub clubs didn't have bouncers there would be none - thers an exception to every rule
| #89 09:48am 21/01/04 |
Kathleen
I think it is an absolute disgrace what happened to him. It has made me think a lot more (I already think this anyway) about how things can just happen. Hit by a bus and gone..etc
My thoughts go out to him and his family and friends. However what i think is worse is the fact that something is now being done about it simply because it was a 'famous' person that it happened too. Reforms should come in place because there is a problem, not because a famouse person gets injured/killed. last edited by Kathleen at 09:51:34 21/Jan/04 |
| #90 09:51am 21/01/04 |
Trapper
probley should rephrase that spidz, its not the pub/club that hires them its normaly a seperate company (altho there are some exceptions for example mary street hires their own)but i don't like the idea that ppl are claiming that all bouncers/security are uneducated or thugs. i agree some of them are far from the best choice for bouncer but there are some that are wonders at their jobs. One of the guys i know would be pushing 45 46 now is called loyd. Massive guy looks like a bikey or thug, one of the most soft spoken and shy guys i know outside of work enviroments but when he is on the job he is totaly professional. Dosn't start fights with customers and has bailed me out once or twice when a customer and his mates decided to jump on me while dealing with another problem.
| #91 09:55am 21/01/04 |
Grosby
which would you perfer boys.
Uneducated Thugs or being in a bar brwal while you're being skull f***ed with no big burly people to break it up? That said, Not all bouncers, in fact not many bouncers, are uneducated thugs, you do know you have to do some sort of a course? I know Trapper and he's not an Uneducated Thug by any means. :) |
| #92 10:01am 21/01/04 |
Kathleen
My [ex] best friend used to be a bouncer. She was a bouncer at the fitzy's bar at Logan.
Not a nice place to work, but she was taught to use minimum force and that it was her job to keep the peace not make the peace (or something). She knew her place and that was to help, it wasn't to be a cop. Not all Security guards are thugs, just like not all politicians are crooked :p |
| #93 10:07am 21/01/04 |
Not a nice place to work, but she was taught to use minimum force and that it was her job to keep the peace not make the peace (or something). Just because they are told that, doesnt mean they will do that.... Was she even big enough to stamp some authority into patrons?? |
| #94 10:14am 21/01/04 |
Kathleen
I know she upheld it. Which is why I used her as an example.
If you want to paint everone guilty first, then that is fine, but it is people like you who deserve to have the good guys turn nasty on your arse! |
| #95 10:39am 21/01/04 |
Trapper
if its the person i think your talking about kathleen my old man was scared s***less of her. he got thrown out on his ass one night becuase he wouldn't keep the noise down and was argueing with the bar staff.
| #96 10:42am 21/01/04 |
Kathleen
This was about 4 years ago now so, unless it was that far back it wasn't her. She has since joined the army and become a dyke |
| #97 10:50am 21/01/04 |
Trapper
hehe that would be about right, i lived in logan with my family for 22 years.
| #98 10:55am 21/01/04 |
Kathleen
hahah nice one. last edited by Kathleen at 11:00:51 21/Jan/04 |
| #99 11:00am 21/01/04 |
Not saying what happened was right, but theres always more to the story. Why would the bouncer have gone all that way ? Its a little sceptical. Also I have heard from a few people now that he was smartass, so I am starting to think that he may have started this whole thing anyways. As if the media is gonna back up the bouncer, of course they will take the side of the famous person. For their sake it makes a bigger story, when its innocent Australian hero is killed, than Australian hero starts fight.On aca (heh not the most reputable news outlet ever) basically a fella watching from his balcony (a bouncer) basically re-enacted what happened, the bouncers following hookes and leahman to their car, CUT..CUT..CUT unable to tell the specific details of what happened due to the investigation, other then he came at Hookes and Hookes' head was snapped back violently... This is where his head ended up on the road, some 70m from the establishment.... 30mins later he was "revived" then 16 hours later he was "dead" for the 2nd time.... It was pretty superficial, other then the lead up to the event, eg something happening inside, it gets taken outside, hookes and leahman attempt to walk away from it and it "follows" them... |
| #100 11:45am 21/01/04 |
Spidz*
probley should rephrase that spidz, its not the pub/club that hires them its normaly a seperate company erm no, the pub/club contracts a security company to provide staff. The bouncers are employed by that security company and pay them a portion of what the club pays the company. However, when the bouncer arrives for their first shift, if he/she is not deemed suitable they call the company and get another. I used to be a Bar Manager and I would send bouncers home left right and centre for not following my pubs policies. I just kept telling the company to send new ones until i found a suitable guard. I even called the cops myself and got them to arrest one of my own bouncers after I caught him kick a drunken patron in the head when he was on the ground after a scuffle. |
| #101 12:01pm 21/01/04 |
Well done Spidz* more Bar/club owners/managers should be more responsible for thier so security personel. Far too often they simply choose to ignore the problems and let unsuitable security to work. |
| #102 12:14pm 21/01/04 |
Spidz*
its basically a matter of who they contract - you pay for quality.
Where I was manager, we got new owners and they started cutting costs, one was to change security providers (we were with Prosystems, which is the best imo) so we had a whole new security team, after that we seemed to have more incidents in their first 2 months than we had in the past year. Even though I constantly requested new guards, each was as bad as the previous one. The best bouncers work for the best companies, and get paid better money - just like any other industry I guess. |
| #103 12:23pm 21/01/04 |
Boxhead I saw that report and thought it was crap, but it made me wonder why the incident had to take place 70m away from where the bouncer was supposed to be bouncing. Surely it the antagonist has left the vacinity of the premises then there is no reason for the bouncer to do anything?
| #104 01:30pm 21/01/04 |
Trapper
ohh yeah prosystems is one of the best companies around. I personaly know i have never been sent away by a manager. I phrased mine wrong, thanks for sorting it out for people to understand. and your right you pay for quality.
| #105 01:55pm 21/01/04 |
Eye
Fights always seem to start because of a women. Whether is be that the woman has mouthed off to the wrong person, or a guy feels the need to step in and be a hero. Theres a differece between defending a woman and being a hero. I see that situation get played out time after time at parties/pubs/clubs.
I'm not being sexist, but this is more of a personal observation. What the bouncer did was cowardly, no questions asked. I hope he gets a cricket loving Big Bubba of a in-mate to help him sleep at night. I wonder how differently this would of turned out if it wasn't an Australian icon that died. RIP Hookesy. :~( |
| #106 02:33pm 21/01/04 |
Spidz*
would have got a bit of news coverage I reckon and people would still question the role of bouncers, but the public outcry would have been far less imo.
| #107 02:37pm 21/01/04 |
Kathleen
and the actiuon taken by security forces/laws/reforms whatever they are doing
| #108 02:38pm 21/01/04 |
fubar
i heard this morning that he is donating his organs or something. good on him last good deed
| #109 06:52pm 21/01/04 |
Manshoon
Yes he donated his organs and probably has saved a couple of lives. I have had a think about what I posted last night and I have come up with a better punsihment for the bouncer. Let the family and friends of Hookes have some time in a room with the guy.....even if it means the guy is restrained. This doesnt just apply to him cos hes famous....ANYONE WHO HAS THIS HAPPEN TO THEM deserves time alone with the person if they want it.....be it to kick the s*** out of them or talk to them and remind them of the pain they have caused.
Eye for an Eye and and Eye for a tooth. |
| #110 08:49pm 21/01/04 |
I say 10 years minimum in jail would be the best. I'm sure there is plenty of cricket fans in jail, that will give him a bit of a workout ;)
YOU'RE GONNA GET RAPED! |
| #111 08:52pm 21/01/04 |
Kathleen
He donated his organs and you are going 'good for him'???
People donate organs every day. Hell it is a decision thats made when you go for your license, not AFTER you die. God people just love to 'praise the famous guy'. Farking sad |
| #112 09:06pm 21/01/04 |
Yep Kathleen :) Although if someone else (non-famous) was in place of David... I still would be pissed off.
The extra attention this case will get because someone famous is involved is welcomed though, he will more likely be bought to justice. I'm marked as a organ donor on my license, I hope there is a QGL praise thread when I die :P *waits for someone to make a joke* |
| #113 09:11pm 21/01/04 |
Aphex
Of course this will receive more attention than if Joe Blows got smacked by a bouncer, Hookes was a widely known personality, and to some, a sporting hero. Fact of life. It's both good and bad. Case in point, Princess Diana's televised motorcade funeral procession etc, even though I couldn't give a rats about the death of some useless aristocrat, everyone was forced to endure watching it on every free to air channel, because others did. So please don't whine in this thread about the injustices or inequalities of society. :P
| #114 10:26pm 21/01/04 |
He donated his organs and you are going 'good for him'???No its not a "praise" the famous thing at all, its more looking at the situation, someone in the prime of their life had it cut short by an unfortunate incident that will leave many many people scarred for a long time.. family, close friends and the wider community.. What happened was sickening and terrible.. ATLEAST SOME GOOD will now come of it, eg someone else will be touched with life and hopefully that person can acknowledge what a special privledge that is.. having a 2nd chance an all... |
| #115 10:33pm 21/01/04 |
Is it just me or is Kathleen one of those attention seekers?
HEY GUYS LOOK AT ME IM NAKED. HEY GUYS IM BEING ARGUMENTIVE JUST CAUSE I CAN. HEY GUYS DID YOU SEE THESE BRUISES??? HEY GUYS I WORKED AT GAMEDUDE???? |
| #116 10:45pm 21/01/04 |
Kathleen
How can I seek the attention when you give it to me of your own free will reso?
| #117 11:24pm 21/01/04 |
Just pointing out an observation.
I think most would agree. last edited by reso at 23:29:23 21/Jan/04 |
| #118 11:29pm 21/01/04 |
I agree...
| #119 11:32pm 21/01/04 |
I agree...
| #120 12:29am 22/01/04 |
I agree...
Also, bouncer following him or not, King-hits are for f*****s. If he planned to punch the man, the least he could do was tap him on the shoulder then punch him in the face. Punching someone in the back of the head is deadset murder. last edited by maxe at 01:09:45 22/Jan/04 |
| #121 01:09am 22/01/04 |
Trapper
may i point out that from what i have seen in news reports it was the fall that did the damage that caused death not the punch, therefore manslaughter.
| #122 09:18am 22/01/04 |
Kathleen
Thats what I heard on the news before he even died. It was the 'smack' on the ground that caused the injuries, and lead to the brain damage.
| #123 09:26am 22/01/04 |
as if you wouldnt donate your organs
you'd have to be some sort of major scumbag not to |
| #124 09:56am 22/01/04 |
Kathleen
Anyway, it isn't as if you die peacefully in your bed that they cut you up. It is only in emergancies when your body is still alive, or only just gone....
Isn't it? Or else the organs aren't working properly :) |
| #125 09:58am 22/01/04 |
any time the organs are still good and yor dead afaik
| #126 10:03am 22/01/04 |
Kathleen
But if your body dies, then blood stops getting pumped through the organs and in turn the organs die.....
I thought organs were taken when the organs are still alive, ie major accident, life support turned off, etc.. not natural death |
| #127 10:05am 22/01/04 |
| #128 10:11am 22/01/04 |
Kathleen
That is the states and doesn't actually say when the organs can or cannot be donated (unless i just can't read)
| #129 10:15am 22/01/04 |
Anyone that isn't marked down for organ donor on there license, deserves a kick to the head.
It literally makes no sense to think otherwise. |
| #130 10:17am 22/01/04 |
Spidz*
I agree.
and I think certain organs are only good for a limited amount of time while others can be preserved for a bit longer till they find a match. corect me if I'm wrong. and good on him for donating - lets not downgrade him cause hes famous either. PS: I heard on the news this morning that staff at the pub, including but not limited to bouncers claim that Hookes threw the first punch. I have now heard like5 different stories from national news stories. Some say the ground was what did it, other say he was dead before he hit the ground, others say he got hit from behind, other say he got hit face to face. Simple fact is: he's dead, the bouncer is responsible for him being dead, in all likelihood he may have been provoked in some way, he obviously didn't want to kill him, but I guess if you punch enough people as it sounds like this guy did, you are ventually gonna connect in the wrong place and someone will die. |
| #131 10:20am 22/01/04 |
Give him manslaughter, that's what he deserves.
| #132 10:28am 22/01/04 |
may i point out that from what i have seen in news reports it was the fall that did the damage that caused death not the punch, therefore manslaughter.Its not as if hookes fell over by himself... I'm pretty sure a smack in the head is "help" enough to cause him to smack the pavement.. Other point to note the Bouncer is an ametuer boxer... /edit news.com.au reports that he did indeed get a manslaughter charge aswell as the assault charge last edited by Boxhead at 12:34:25 22/Jan/04 //double edit.. searching for the particular fella in google reveals his home address, phone number etc... hrmm thats a scary thought last edited by Boxhead at 12:36:40 22/Jan/04 |
| #133 12:36pm 22/01/04 |
Trapper
that is scary box, as for what i mean with the manslaughter murder charge of any sort has to have intent to kill. manslaughter dosn't
| #134 01:07pm 22/01/04 |
He didn't mean to kill him, it's as simple as that :) Manslaughter.
Although he deserves murder for being a f***wit, under law it's manslaughter. I wonder how long he'll go down for? |
| #135 01:09pm 22/01/04 |
the fact that he's a sucessful ametuer boxer won't go in his favour at all...
| #136 01:10pm 22/01/04 |
Spidz*
I think some people in this thread are confusing american law with australian law.
we either have murder or manslaughter here - there are no different degrees of murder in Australia, there MUST be intent. |
| #137 02:28pm 22/01/04 |
manslaughter + serious assault&battering with intent to cause physical harm
| #138 02:44pm 22/01/04 |