Topic: Leaving home <18
Gol
I am so pissed off, years of just constant s*** has finally gotten to me. Please no "your parents pay for everything for you blah blah". They pay for everything they want for me, maybe a bit extra for some minimal things I want. f*** your philosophy there. Just cause they pay for most of my stuff doesn't mean they can treat me s*** and suppress my BASIC HUMAN RIGHTS. That all the info I feel like givng after fking everything.

I want to leave home, what are my options?
/wrists
Dont let the door hit you on the way out.
sifnt leaving home @ 17
its how i get down
haha, once you're out you'll realise how easy you had it, and how expensive it can be to live.

LightAssassin
Centre link you either have to prove you're beatin, goto a counsellor to say your parents a mentally damaging you. Either those or hope they are poor as f***.

Otherwise it's job time with centre link assistance. Also moving half the country away helps.

I know people who've done it... but these people have no will to go anywhere in life (ala dole bludgers). Now if you want to go somewhere, austudy and rent assistance with a job and tafe/school/uni.

Good luck with what ever you decide to do... however, this is a gaming forum. What's the deal with this stuff? I'm here for games... I should create random.ausforums.com or something. I love the chit chat and all... but seriously not the place =\
Jem

doit my way, Cat5 network cable
dice
home life isn't easy
life isn't expensive

go for it gol

just get a job that pays well to everyone regardless of age (like telemarketing i think?) for the time being, stick with it, don't give up, take responsibility for everything in life because it's up to you to make it how you want it ...

oh and don't get disheartened by the 'rules' like 'you can't fly', they're there, deal with them. just treat life as a game and do the best you can within those guidelines
f*** leaving home. I love not having to pay for food (if I eat at home) and rent. Im at university and I would be so f***ed trying to pay for uni and everything else if I had to pay rent and buy all meals.

I dunno when Ill be leaving either. I guess when I finish uni :/ (assuming its only a few years)
eu4ia
your parents pay for everything for you blah blah
Tael
Just cause they pay for most of my stuff doesn't mean they can treat me s*** and suppress my BASIC HUMAN RIGHTS.
Yeah, cause you've got net access but no food, water, clothes, or shelter.
Random
Cry more.
your post clearly demonstrates you're not ready to be without parental guidance
cop it sweet and grow up
Gol unless they're abusive or something I'd really STFU if i were you. If they do stupid s*** like give you curfews and noise restrictions or whatever, get over it. What do they do that's so bad?

I would be so f***ed trying to pay for uni and everything else if I had to pay rent and buy all meals.

Yeah I'm doing that now and it's more trouble than it's worth.
They pay for everything they want for me, maybe a bit extra for some minimal things I want

umm, get a job and pay for it yourself?
and a haircut
ahah pwnt
pillsy
i hear tiny takes in homeless people
Show me on the doll where they touched you.
Irhabi
lol sif leave home, well i aint doing it till i finish uni cause rent, food, cable internet, cable TV(although i do pay for TV and interweb instead of paying rent and just general s*** i want) and all the other thing i have hear would cost way to much especially since i only work 2days a week atm.

dude what ever your parents did and im guessing from your post, they didn't let you go out for something silly like that, GET OVER IT! you have food, roof over your head, PC, internet access and you dont have to pay for it..what the f*ck more do you need.

/cue tissue link

last edited by Irhabi at 00:30:13 24/Sep/05
i hear tiny takes in homeless people

Yeah then you'll see him drag bags full of lime into his house to disolve their dead bodies in his bath tub.
A_W

Yeah bad idea. Unless they are doing something criminally wrong your just ranting without a cause. lol @ basic human rights oppression. You ganna call the UN on them? haha.

Everyone is right. Do you really want to pay for rent, food, power, water, net, phone and whatever other bills you pay. Oh yah, you gotta wash your own clothes and bed linen too. Then there's transport costs on top of all that, the list goes on. You probably won't last, it's very expensive. You have no experience, and regular good supply of money.

You think your the only person that really hates thier parents at certain times?? Get over it in time like always and realise how sweet living at home is.

I'll stay at home til im 30 for all i care, it's a safe cost effective (only pay $100/week for 'rents to do everything for me.) way to live. Will you enjoy cooking your own meals? no. being lonley? probably not.

You NEED financial security before you even THINK about leaving home. So quit the rebel teen act and get a reality check. The world aint that kind out there.

/end lecture.
What everyone else said!
Tuco
I'll stay at home til im 30 for all i care
would your parents let your girlfriend stay over?
Now that ive thought about it...just move out Gol,the only way your gonna see how good you got it is if you try to do it on your own.Guaranteed you'll be home in a week begging your parents to let you move back in.
Dopefish
My parents dont mind me living at home but i think it's really f***ing me up. Hopefully i'll move out soon and stay away for a couple of years atleast.

I think you should maybe calm down and think. eg, what are you going to do next year, year after, year after.. etc
Denominator
why ask permission an gaming website it's like the babysitters club forum in here
typical teenage bulls***.... just listen to some simple plan and go back to sleep
you should post a thread then not reply to the replies
maybe hes already left..
I'm all for moving out of home early, cause I think you would really grow up quickly. However, I would never tell anyone to move out of home when they are angry at their parents. If you do it after a fight it's gonna be much harder to crawl back to them when you realise you can't afford to pay for your BASIC HUMAN RIGHTS on your own.

I'd cool down, then sign up for Work USA on a ski field - garaunteed work for a few months, save money, travel, life experience, money, and you and your parents know that you intend on coming back after a while.
Billy's idea is a good one.

IMO you're not really a grown up until you've moved out and live on your own and pay your own way. Once you do that you will realise how easy it is you had at home dispite your hating the parent. Unless of course you have an abusive parent then get out ASAP and get government assistance to do so.

Obvious things you need to consider are:
a) you're not of legal age to sign and legal paper so can't sign bond etc
b) you'd still be getting < 18 pay award - which equates to f*** all even if you do long hours
c) you'll most likely still be at school or planning to go to uni, this will be very expensive - unless you're doing an apprenticeship of some sort after high school but you'll still need $

There are a lot less obvious things that I can't think off, but despite all of that it's not impossible to move out of home at your age. It would be very difficult but if you can sucessfully do it, my hat's off to you. I moved out as soon as I turned 18 and found it was quite diffcult the first few months but I eventually got used to it.

Good luck to you but like Billy said, you need to cool down and then make this decision rationally.
A_W

Certainly Tuco.
You are a little angsty teen, click here

last edited by Skitza at 10:48:28 24/Sep/05
Jem

my mum and dad pay for everything
-unlimited adsl
-foxtel
-driving lessons
-school fees
-car
-new house being built
-Some pc accessories (depends how much its needed, or if it benefits them)

my benefits
-no rent
-no bills (electricity, water,etc,etc)
-atm get driven everywhere - no petrol paying
-lots of cat5 cable
-prozac paid for by them ($28.60/month)
-medicals paid for (private dentist, doctor,etc)
-school equipment,etc
-no curfews

For me, the disadvantages of living at home (atm) are
-noise restrictions
-sibling arguments
-room sizes (i have 2 rooms atm, but am still out of space)
-depression
-no drugs or alcohol (although i don't do either anyway, except with my episode like 2 months ago)

now, we are having a new house built, in it i will be getting 2 more rooms, both about twice the size of what i have now, and my room will be well away from everyone else's so i wont need to worry about noise restrictions,etc

as for gol not posting, he probably ran away, and we'll have to wait for him to go to a net cafe and use the pocket money his parents gave him to pay to use the pc's
dice
i never realised how good i had it out of home until i read this thread
So what happened? Did they bust you wanking off to internet porn again?

LOLZ!
A_W
I think we scared him off.
its really hard to find an appartment when u move out that young tho. The owner of the appartment for rent looks at all the aplicants and a 17yr old person who has just moved out of home will be right down the bottom of the pile. U need to find someone to move in with who already has a house, so u can get a reference off them as a punctual bill payer, keeps things clean in good condition etc..

At 17 it will be pretty much impossible to find a half decent place to move out into.
if i was jem i'd probably off myself too. hard life!
I'm thinking of moving out in the next few moths/early next year because my parents are pissing the absolute f***in s*** out of me, i dont have to pay bills or anything but the whinging and bitching that i put up with by far outways having to pay $80 a week rent.

There is alot of things u have to think about before moving out tho:

On-going costs such as:
- food
- electricity
- water
- net
- transport
- cleaning products
- shampoo, deo, toilet paper etc

One-off costs such as:
- fridge
- washing machine/dryer
- pots and pans
- cooking utensils
- cutlery
- glasses
- plates
- bowls
- towels
- linen
- couches
- chairs
- dining table
- tv
- stereo

I have been living with my gf in her house she rents for the past 2 weeks and its awesome, but i have realised how tight money is. Food is probaly the biggest killer. After a while tho it gets easier, it just costs alot to get settled in. So for a few months after u move in u will be poor as a dog and not being able to aford anything.

Some of you come off as children
I think we scared him off.

Maybe his mummy said no more internet access.
Also try talking to your parents like an adult, I am guessing that stamping your feet and crying like a bitch doesn't always get you what you want.
Look for share accomodation...dont even think of a place on your own unless you got the money
Denominator
How much do you think it will cost when you move out just estimate how much you will need including internet.
amyescence
i moved out for a month and did some room sitting for a mate, turned out to be way more exspensive then id plan and i had to cut back on social outtings or go hungry.

now me and the gf have an arrangement with my parents and we live together, we share the kitchen and have our own bathroom and massive bedroom and access to more rooms if we want it. all because i sat down and spoke with my parents like an adult instead of chucking the s***s when they pissed me off.

now we all get along hunky dory.!

sif move out.

*posted by groydis.

last edited by amyescence at 16:11:11 24/Sep/05
Ensure you've got some money saved up, a secure job and someone that you can trust and depend on to move out with...then do it
step
move in with me eK!
Gol
Yes. Anyways, the "situation" has been resolved due to mums menopause induced hormone levels finding harmony. For now.

Thanks to everyone who contributed, it's greatly appreciated.

To the "others": f*** you. You have no clue of the situation at all but have some wanker comment to make? I ain't going to reply to any of your f***head jibes, get some empathy.
haha mummy not giving you any love? CRY MORE NEWB

WHERE IS MY BASIC HUMAN RIGHT OF CUDDLES BEFORE BED
*posted by groydis.
awww, ruin the dream that amyescense is lesbian why don't you!
A_W

lol. must be some big s*** going down if it prevented you from replying for 19 hours or so. =P

get some empathy.

get some clues.

All we heard was in a big screaming rant that your parents treat you like s*** and your basic rights are being oppressed. somehow.

Wow, so much information there! we can really feel sorry for you dude.

bah @ entire issue.

lesbians are weird.
Living at home with parents is da bomb since everything is being paid for.

home life isn't easy
life isn't expensive
Bulls***.
Dopefish
I am nearly 21 so i think it's time i leave anyway.

My main reasons are

- Bringing girls back to the house etc
(I am already a complete moron so i need as much help as i can get)

- Having some independance
(living at home in your 20's is kind of restrictive)

- I want to travel
(obviously i cant bring my familys house around with me wherever i go)

- Life experience
(Im going to have to move out sooner or later.. if i do it now and have some problems i can still move back in)
IMO you're not really a grown up until you've moved out and live on your own and pay your own way. Once you do that you will realise how easy it is you had at home dispite your hating the parent

winner of the thread = opec ^

i moved out about a months after i turned 19, from boondall to milton had a blast while i was working full time, then i decided i wanted to go to uni, had to start at tafe though. which cut my hours working to s*** all, so i moved back home

you really don't realise how good it is not having rent and s*** to pay each week until you have done it and moved back home
Dopefish, if you want to travel, don't move out of home.

As far as bringing girls back to your place is concerned, not much you can do except go back to theirs instead. Most chicks who go out on the prowl at night live out of home... in my experience anyway;)
You could always rent a hotel room for the night to give it that extra seedy feel.
cs_master
lol thats hookers that do that

you've had sex you didn't pay for right?
Jem
To the "others": f*** you. You have no clue of the situation at all but have some wanker comment to make? I ain't going to reply to any of your f***head jibes, get some empathy.

everyone might have a clue about the situation if you actually bothered to elaberate
-room sizes (i have 2 rooms atm, but am still out of space)
-depression
-no drugs or alcohol (although i don't do either anyway, except with my episode like 2 months ago)

OMFG, who's the biggest whining emo fag? Jem or Gol? That's a tough one. I think Jem just needs a bit of hard work.

Anyways, the "situation" has been resolved due to mums menopause induced hormone levels finding harmony

Yeah if your mum is going through menopause she is sure as s*** having a worse time of things than you and needs your emotional support. You being an ungrateful little emo c***child crying on the internet about her "denying your basic human rights" doesn't help the situation.

last edited by Crizane Tribal at 02:21:26 25/Sep/05
A_W
^

much lol @ that post.
möoby
I left home when I was 17, never been back. My situation at home was fine, but they lived out in the sticks and i wanted to have fun.. yada yada.

Me and 3 mates got a house, paid $100 a week for bills / food / rent. Worked well. My opion, go for it. I never looked back. Had wicked parties at mine cause i didnt have parents around, got laid lots. What more could you ask for?

Taught me alot about beind dependent, budgeting, food shoping, bills, the dole ect.
yeah f*** that dude, you're mum is the one that needs the help if she's going through menopause. quit your bitching
Gol
Yeah haha you can all talk and bag me out as much as you want, fact is you're not in my shoes.

To the person who said I should elabroate on my situation? Yeah mate, just share my whole life with a some randoms off the nets. Niceeeeeeeeeeeee.

But to illustrate a point, I've been working for the last ~3 years and I will not be able to touch the money in my account until my mum dies, or lets me have access to it. It's not even in an investors account with a higher interest rate or fixed term deposit - NO BENEFIT WHAT SO EVER. The only reason I "have" to work is so I'm not "lazing around the house wasting my time". It's not enough I'm expected to be the top of the tops in school and also maintain a decent physique (gym, swimming, league, union). I wanted to do art and mum FLIPPED. This is just the tip of the iceberg. Who seriously has to be home before 9pm when they're >15years old? Me. OR ITS LOCKDOWN BABY.

If I refuse to do this AKA "Rebel against the (wo)man" I'll be thrown out on the streets (which has been done before and I relented after 2 days of being f***ing cold/hungry/tired. Homelessness isn't for me). Mum would lock me out of the house and she doesn't care what the neighbours think if I made a big scene about it. I ain't going to push my problems onto my friends either. I doubt the police/social services/whatever would do anything - she is a "good parent" by society's view as my parents provide food/clothing/housing.

So there, now you have it. Still, f*** all you haters.

/me awaits "well atleast you're not in Ethopia starvng to death" dip s*** comments like that. Or some wanker who needs someone to take his sexual frustration out on, so knit-picks at my post.

I ain't posting in this topic again, it was obviously a mistake in the first place. None of you f***ers have compassion.

PS. Everyones just a robot. lol.
PPS. Guess I need to start planning how I'll pay for my psychiatrist's bills in the future :P

The End.

Moving out ftw
well atleast you're not in Ethopia starvng to death
Pingu

Moving out ftw

Staying at home ftw!
Have you discussed these issues with your quack / mum in the same room?
gol. head down to a bank and open up another account, you can do this with a birth cert and report cards and student id and so forth, if your working get your work to change your bank account details to your new account,

get your statements sent to a different address so your mum doesnt clue on, ask a friend. each week deposit abit of money into the account you mum controls to keep her happy incase she looks to see.. i dont think she would clue on for about a month or two though depending on how bitchy she truely is.

that should give you enough funds to move out and in with a friend or something like that within a couple of months,

i got mates that had mothers that would controll there bank accounts and this is exactly what they did. when mum found out she chucked a spack attack and kicked them out but they were smart enough to save knowing that its probabl going to happen.

other then that kill her and get your money.
tsk you kids have it so easy these day...

Well, of course, we had it tough. We used to 'ave to get up out of shoebox at twelve o'clock at night and lick road clean wit' tongue. We had two bits of cold gravel, worked twenty-four hours a day at mill for sixpence every four years, and when we got home our Dad would slice us in two wit' bread knife.
I ain't posting in this topic again

Why dont you make it not post in this forum again and we'll all be happy!

yer, i was thinking that also

lesbians are so hawt right now

mmm, carpet munching
I had a little teen angst spack attack at my dad and moved out... now I'm back :) Living at home rocks (edit: well as far as not having to pay for anything, otherwise it sucks)

last edited by CHUB at 14:30:27 25/Sep/05
Yeah mate, just share my whole life with a some randoms off the nets. Niceeeeeeeeeeeee.

Then why the hell did you come here whining in the first place?

Whoever has that piss funny "im gonna go listen to some linkin park" picture, post it asap!!!

and dont have a go at us Gol, we are just expressing our BASIC HUMAN RIGHTS in replying

last edited by levels at 15:02:17 25/Sep/05
WhiteWolf
I lub living at home. but it rocks best for me because i got a sort of "granny flat" kinda thing working in the back yard. tis awesome.

plus, my mum is never on my case about anything, aslong as i give her 25-50$ a week depending on how much i earned that week, or the phone bill is extra large. then she doesn't have a problem. if im a cause for some major cost, then i foot the bill. other than that, i get almost compleat freedom.

But, when i was 16 (im assuming thats your age?) i felt the exact same way(some times). its all apart of growing up kiddo. you want freedom, parents don't want you to have freedom. don't worry, normally when you hit ~18 you get all your freedoms. and living at home becomes that much more awesome.

but yes, it probably does suck for you. but in reality its not really that bad. there is nothing stopping you from doing art in acouple of years?

also. i hear lately alot about "human rights". the only rights we have as humans is the right to concious thought. and even then if your unlucky, your f***ed. your "citizen rights" might be the thing that your talking about. but even then, its only what your government decide to give you. the "food, shelter, water" thing is basic we need to survive, not a "right".
You also have the right to defend yourself, and to keep your self alive.
A Letter from Gol to his mother:

Dear Mom,

I am a big wanker. I complain about everything and i'm sorry for this. I'm sorry that i'm a big cry baby bitch and i'm sorry that I am a waste of space. I can only hope that one day I will grow up and show some maturity in life. If I had the balls I would go and kill myself because I am such a waste of space that killing myself would be the only decent thing to do. Instead I will now go and post a dumbass thread on QGL in the utterly stupid hope of getting sympathy for my situation. If I had half a brain I would appreciate your discipline because I obviously have one hell of a lot of growing up to do. I'm 17 now mom, please help me to act like it. I don't want to be 17, stuck with a 10 year old brain no more.

Love you mom.

Gol.
kmart
I couldn't agree with you more, dynamite.

Gol - You are such a waste of space. Please grow up or at least ban yourself from this forum so you can no longer post such stupid dumbass threads in the future.

To the person who said I should elabroate on my situation? Yeah mate, just share my whole life with a some randoms off the nets. Niceeeeeeeeeeeee.

You mean the same bunch of randoms you turned to for advice and sympathy?

Who seriously has to be home before 9pm when they're >15years old? Me. OR ITS LOCKDOWN BABY.

Maybe somebody who has parents who care about them? While 9pm may be a little strict, your mum is just looking out for you. Maybe if you got mugged or beaten up you'd understand.

I doubt the police/social services/whatever would do anything - she is a "good parent" by society's view as my parents provide food/clothing/housing.

Fixed that.

/me awaits "well atleast you're not in Ethopia starvng to death" dip s*** comments like that. Or some wanker who needs someone to take his sexual frustration out on, so knitpicks at my post.

I know you may think you're really smart and cool at like 17 or however old you are, but when you reach 20 you'll realise just how immature and lame you were.
A_W

I could cook breakfast for 2 people with the amount of egg on Gol's face right now. hah.

C.T - That is so true. When you are in your early 20's , reflecting back earlier years does make you think WTF? lol, about some of the stuff you did.

His mum sounds like a strict control freak, but it's not cause she hates him to bits and wishes he wasn't still living at home, it's called parental love and responsiblity. And if the pressure is too much, major tantrums aren't the way to reduce it.
Just make sure you meet the man at the motortrade.
Gol
I don't care what you all say.

It's so easy to critisize from outside.
Jem=Jerry
PPS. Guess I need to start planning how I'll pay for my psychiatrist's bills in the future :P
my psychiatrist is provided free (well, tax payers' money pays for her wages), its the prozac that costs, but thats an optional extra i decided to take
I just wanna get inside your head Gol. Pick your brain. Learn from the complexity therein.
Haven't read all this crap but I agree with this:

I know you may think you're really smart and cool at like 17 or however old you are, but when you reach 20 you'll realise just how immature and lame you were.

As Dr Phil says this is that stage of your life when you are trying to define yourself as a man. Its difficult to see your mum ever trusting you enough to give you the room to do exactly that.

I agree with myself too. Gol, I think the site you were looking for can be found here.

You may think it's unfair or hard. Well life gets more unfair and harder. Just count your blessings and focus on something else. Don't accuse us of being unsympathetic either, cos I'm feeling a f*** load of sympathy for your mum right about now.

I am begging someone to post the linkin park picture
http://packy.dardan.com/walky/albums/album11/ael.thumb.jpg

Close enough?
skitza did already
WhiteWolf
Read the f***ing thread.
kmart
Gol, go and apologize to your mother immediately. Apologize for being a total and utter twit.

Just thank your lucky stars that you are not my son, because I would have kicked you out long ago.

I don't care what you all say.
I'm just posting to say that I don't care that you don't care...
boxhead you've got to be the most unoriginal and boring poster there is on qgl. you're worse than the nf/maxe circlejerking. if there was a poll titled "would you give head to the popular qgl posters" you'd first wait for a few popular posters to post and then agree with them, just making sure the circlejerk is on.

stop posting
ANGST!

You bet you wont say that when Boxhead is holding your head in place whilst a surgeon attacks your brain!
Well someones been in my account and changed my password or something... because I didnt post that. What the f***!
A_W

Gol is like a TV series, his story changes over time.

First: rant, bitch, cry, whinge, moan about how bad life is.

Second: I just wanted some sympathy, have you people no compassion? i didn't think i'd get any from a bunch of forum strangers on the net.

Third: f*** you all, you don't know what it's like. nevermind the fact i havent actually explained what my problems are.

Fourth: I don't care what you all say. It's easy to critisize from the outside.

What direction are we going in next??
DigitaL
I moved out when I was 15. Best thing I've ever done.

Wow.

Hmm, maybe gol is a twat but I could see myself considering moving out in that situation, depending on the somewhat lacking details of course. If your parents locked you out of the house for 2 days surely that is some form of abuse? Maybe after i turned 18 or something but I can see where he's coming from. To some degree.
Richard Branson's parents dumped him in the middile of a city or something as a kid and made him find his own way home, stuff like that. Now look at him!
Persay, boxhead wasn't always like that... Its a recent development, maybe he will grow out of it.
amyescence

yer, i was thinking that also

lesbians are so hawt right now

mmm, carpet munching

Ahahaha. Yeah, not a lesbian, sorry. Might give it a bash if presented with the opportunity and Groydis didn't mind, but nah - carpet's not my scene.

And my two cents' worth on the actual topic...

First off, you aren't the only teenager to have a tough homelife, although from what I can see you have it comparatively easy. You are not having your "basic human rights" trodden on as long as you have access to food, water, hygeinic waste desposal - not being allowed to do art is not a violation of basic human rights. It sucks, sure, but you can always pick up art later in life. I feel for your situation because most everyone has been in the same place, but dear lord. The way you write does nothing but emphasise how very UNREADY you are to go it alone.

You can't just post a "My life is so hard and my mother is a heinous bitch" type thread without background information and expect this bunch to give you solid advice. How can anyone make a fair judgement call on this if you won't even explain everything properly? I understand not wanting to air your dirty laundry or whatever, but you can't post an eighth of the story and expect that people aren't going to give you condescending replies.

Your parents locking you out clearly isn't achieving what I think they're hoping for - that you'll realise how silly and childish you are being. Clearly they're not keeping you locked in a broom cupboard and only bringing you out to administer a beating, so suck it up and deal.

Everyone is right when they say you have no idea how good you have it at home. And I have yet to meet a seventeen year old with the maturity and worldliness needed to even get by in the 'real world'. Stick it out till you hit eighteen. Then reassess and actually talk about this with your parents like an adult instead of on a relatively anonymous forum that portrays you as an immature whiner.

Also, try having some empathy for your menopausal mother. The last thing she needs with the coming of this hallmark of the end of her viable reproductive years is a whiny kid who is thinking only of himself.

last edited by amyescence at 08:44:40 26/Sep/05
At 17 and being a Male, your brain has not fully delevoped yet. You still have a couple years of growth left in your noggin. This growth allows you to predict, plan and understand the long term remifications of the actions you do at the present. Things such as driving really dangerously, spending money on whatever seems good at the time, thinking that drugs every weekend wont harm you, stuff like that.

It is a hard time, as you THINK you already can understand the remifications, it is true to a small part, as you are just starting to learn it. This is why you have a seemingly large issue with not being allowed to study art. Sure you wont be able to do art in the next 1-3 years. After that tho, you should be independent enough to do whatever you want. Remember, unless you do something stupid you will live to around 80 years of age, probably longer. There is PLENTY of time to do art and move away from home and live your own life.
If you really want to move out, sort out your finances in a way so that you have access to it.
How about you do a deal with your parents, tell them that if you have 100% access to your bank account and if you can show them you can play with your money safly then they will help back you for moving out. IF you f*** it up and spend your monies and show you cant do it, then you put your tail between your
legs and do what your parents tell you without whinging about it.
Perhaps there is a reason you arnt telling us of why your parents hoard you blings..

Just remember that your parents have invested ALOT of money into you, they wanna make sure their investment pays off.

There is truth to the wisdom of older people.
i moved out at 17 - to a university college ;)

never actually 'lived at home' since but if my parents hadn't moved overseas I probably woould have had a few money saving stints at home over the years.

i spent about a month at their place in NZ once when I was playing Rugby over there so I guess you could call that living at home for a bit. Also visited them in Shanghai a few times in the past 18 months.

would love to have lived at home in the latter part of my uni years.
Well put amyescence.