G.B
Apart from the people that paid to get into the open beta, did anyone actually end up getting a spot? Both file planet and the world of warcraft site where getting hammered.
I for one did not. edit: The sign ups have started again visit http://signup.worldofwarcraft.com/ good luck. |
| #0 06:52pm 09/11/04 |
not much of an open beta if not everyone can play
| #1 02:03pm 09/11/04 |
they're trying to trickle the numbers in
i don't think you fully comprehend how many people want to play this game blizzard website died from the hits alone when fileplanet ran out of keys, so stop your whinging, and be patient you could have paid your 10 bucks to be guaranteed a key, but meh, depends how badly each person wants to play really |
| #2 02:06pm 09/11/04 |
you talking to me or G.B? becasue for one i wanst whinging. i odnt even want to play the game anymore... was just commenting that people should be able to play in the open beta to see what its like before they make the decision about buying the game.
| #3 02:10pm 09/11/04 |
i got in. spent an hour straight as soon as i got to work refreshing fileplanet.
downloading it now. |
| #4 02:35pm 09/11/04 |
mmm the blizzard downloader is a bit stuffed... it takes up all available upload bandwidth which in turn throttles the download...
| #5 02:43pm 09/11/04 |
YoungNastyMan
I managed to get in between a lot of timed out pages. Downloaded the client last week on a torrent thankfully, so good to go when I get a break from work.
| #6 02:53pm 09/11/04 |
where the torrent link?
| #7 02:56pm 09/11/04 |
I can't see any reason anymore why we can't mirror the open beta client; trying to confirm now
| #8 02:56pm 09/11/04 |
i think i somehow got lucky, i went to file planet this morning and clicked the link to be told all the keys had been given out.. i accidently hit F5 on the page went i meant to on a different site..
the page reloading and came up saying congratualtions you have got a wow open beta key.. i went hmm strange, went to the site where it says what keys u have received off fp.. it had it listed so im quite happy.. just waiting for wow to come up so i can see if it really does work. |
| #9 03:01pm 09/11/04 |
trog that would be awesome
| #10 03:07pm 09/11/04 |
Trumpto
put it on GA too pls. ta :) |
| #11 03:11pm 09/11/04 |
YoungNastyMan
Can't remember the torrent link, but it was posted on here in one of these WoW threads. I'll see if I can find it if Trog doesn't get the go ahead for a mirror.
| #12 03:24pm 09/11/04 |
mmm the blizzard downloader is a bit stuffed... it takes up all available upload bandwidth which in turn throttles the download... Yeah, its retarded like that, when I'm using it I install Netlimiter and use Netlimiter to limit its upload to about 10k/s. |
| #13 03:48pm 09/11/04 |
indeed trog, that would rock. i'll be stuck on this torrent overnight.
| #14 03:48pm 09/11/04 |
CSIRAC
Khel. limit it to 5/sec. at 10 ull still choke your dl's and at 5 ull still get full speeds.
also if u keep refreshing ull eventually find pockets where the page works :D got 2 :) |
| #15 04:33pm 09/11/04 |
i got in
but i paid haha f*** im annoyin |
| #16 04:39pm 09/11/04 |
palekid
the WoW website still allows downloads does that mean after the download i can still get in ?
and what time did the open beta open? i wanted to play so bad and missed it OMG |
| #17 04:54pm 09/11/04 |
f*** im annoyin yes |
| #18 05:00pm 09/11/04 |
[Q]
i got ini got in but i didnt pay haha |
| #19 07:15pm 09/11/04 |
damn created an account and tried to download and it says the download has expired. :(
| #20 07:36pm 09/11/04 |
i just signed up... looking for a decent way to d/l though
| #21 08:05pm 09/11/04 |
Dirty1thirtY
I signed up too... but same thing...
Says the download has expired :( |
| #22 08:12pm 09/11/04 |
by the way
EASTERN SERVER 7 SOMEONE COME f***ING PLAY WITH ME DEFI AND GLENNY |
| #23 08:15pm 09/11/04 |
Farseeker
I would, but I cannot download it :(((
| #24 08:23pm 09/11/04 |
Deadly-Fly
I was half way through making an account when the power went off. All good now though.
| #25 08:24pm 09/11/04 |
Yeh I'm in too - should have it DLed by the time the game ships !
| #26 08:26pm 09/11/04 |
applor
The Lord Lakmaeran saga:
There is a certain level 62 elite named chimaera on the southern island of Feralas, and today we decided we would try and take him down. This aint no ordinary elite either as you will plainly see. He is not quest related or anything, this was just for something to do and see what he dropped, since he has never before been slain. Our first raid consisted of 18 players at level 60, whom all were soundly slain while only taking off 15% of his health. This meant business. We gather together the Worlds finest warriors and mages and priests and so forth and assembled and summoned to a nearby staging point: http://ls.ausgamers.com/WoW1.jpg You can see him lurking in the back left: http://ls.ausgamers.com/WoW2.jpg inspire the troops! http://ls.ausgamers.com/WoW3.jpg For the cause! http://ls.ausgamers.com/WoW4.jpg take2, regroup: http://ls.ausgamers.com/WoW5.jpg looking good, looking good: http://ls.ausgamers.com/WoW6.jpg s***, not looking good: http://ls.ausgamers.com/WoW7.jpg Same result as last try: http://ls.ausgamers.com/WoW8.jpg He finishes off the remnant of the coalition. Our arms scattered and our banners soaking in pools of blood. http://ls.ausgamers.com/WoW9.jpg After two attempts with nearly a full raid we still failed to slay the ominous beast. 3rd attempt is under way now but I really need to get to bed and we've lost a few players. |
| #27 11:19pm 09/11/04 |
anyone want to test a download for me ?
| #28 12:15am 10/11/04 |
sure
| #29 12:18am 10/11/04 |
I have to recompile apache because its so f***ing useless, hang a bit
| #30 12:23am 10/11/04 |
Darius
im in , server 9 too
bought account at fileplanet |
| #31 12:36am 10/11/04 |
http://syd2.ausgamers.com:88/incoming/wow/wowopenbeta.zip.aa
http://syd2.ausgamers.com:88/incoming/wow/wowopenbeta.zip.ab This is a TWO PART FILE - you will need to join the two parts together, which you can do in Windows thusly: copy /b wowopenbeta.zip.?? wowopenbeta.zip DISCLAIMER #1: I don't know if this will work for you so don't blame me if you download 2.5gb and it doesn't. It should, unless you newb it up somehow. DISCLAIMER #2: Still not sure if I can mirror this legitimately - this is just for TESTING PURPOSES and I will confirm further on the morrow. |
| #32 12:40am 10/11/04 |
teehee
no gamearena loving? |
| #33 12:43am 10/11/04 |
not until I've cleared it
| #34 12:47am 10/11/04 |
lol applor.
| #35 12:52am 10/11/04 |
now thats the s*** i'm talkin bout
| #36 01:08am 10/11/04 |
My Blizzard Downloader download of the WoW client has slowed to 0.00kb/s. Great system they have there. Has anyone told them they need to have at least one seed up all the time?
| #37 01:11am 10/11/04 |
no word if the mirrored files work?
| #38 01:14am 10/11/04 |
Only someone on cable coulda nabbed them by now. I remain steadfastly confident that they do work and encourage anyone not on a limited download plan to just download them and have some faith!
... and if they don't work, well, I'll try again |
| #39 01:16am 10/11/04 |
[Q]
HRMMMMM. I might just risk it and try nabbing those two files. If they dont work im forgetting your disclaimer and crying murder trog :(
The blizzard downloader is truly s***. Im getting it on a private tracker but my internet is going spastic tonight and bit torrent keeps spacking out. |
| #40 01:57am 10/11/04 |
kun
I've just downloaded the two files Trog put up (ta trog), done that copy thing to put them together, extracted the zip, and am running the installer now (which is taking ages). Hasn't had any problems, so I'm assuming it's all safe for others to waste bandwidth on..
| #41 04:14am 10/11/04 |
i signed up through the WoW website and it all seemed to work, downloading the client through them was painfully slow so im currently downloading both of trogs files at good speed.
Whats the go with joining them together? |
| #42 06:56am 10/11/04 |
There was an issue with the zip not working with WinRAR or WinACE, so if you get any compression errors... try using WinZIP before you call it a night.
| #43 07:59am 10/11/04 |
The Blizzard downloader is so s***. The uplink is completely throttling my download. 1500/256...downloading at like 2KB/s constantly and uploading constantly at 28KB/s-31KB/s. Was going well until I got into the 13% range...then the speeds went to crap. I will install the netlimiter trial when I get home tonight. I have uploaded 3 times more than I have downloaded...good system pricks... |
| #44 08:17am 10/11/04 |
im getting it from fileplanet, 170kb/s constant.
| #45 10:18am 10/11/04 |
wholey f*** applor
that is f***ING NUTTS AHHHHHHHH imscared my lvl 16 of pwn will own him no worries :> oh mad s*** applor youre a warrior noob_at_life@hotmail.com can you add me to msn please or post your email, i need some help in like what skills work best :) thanks last edited by existence` at 10:24:29 10/Nov/04 |
| #46 10:24am 10/11/04 |
The download system I described above definitely works - so if you've started doing it that way, don't worry, it will work.
For others, its been split into two zip files to make it even easier - it'll be up at www.ausgamers.com/files/ soon. |
| #47 10:51am 10/11/04 |
its hosted on anothe forum i visit and its going down the pipe to brisbane BPA users @ 700kb/sec
:D |
| #48 11:17am 10/11/04 |
Yertle
its now hosted on Gamearena.
love you trog! |
| #49 11:19am 10/11/04 |
i got the open beta ages ago off the blizzard downloader.. ended up downloading the 2.56gig or something and upload about 2 gig :(
anyway who else got it? im sitting on a lvl 10 Tauren Druid atm |
| #50 11:47am 10/11/04 |
Erik-the-Red
i'm all for uploading torrents, but that's rediculous. besides, GA mirror rocks.
i thought i was going to blow my 10gb with this last download, but no, trog saved my cap :) |
| #51 12:17pm 10/11/04 |
YoungNastyMan
Which realm do you people get the best ping to, or is it much of a muchness?
| #52 12:44pm 10/11/04 |
downloading first file now.. gonna take 1 hr 50 though :( how much space will i need for the full thing installed?
| #53 12:48pm 10/11/04 |
first file seems to have gone....
ermm trog??? |
| #54 01:03pm 10/11/04 |
i concur the split file thing worked
| #55 01:15pm 10/11/04 |
damn its jumped up to 4 hrs now :/
| #56 01:24pm 10/11/04 |
| #57 01:29pm 10/11/04 |
nah i was meaning the other version of the files that trog originally posted... got all the way though 2 but 1 took aaages and i only managed to get 50% before he took the link down :(
| #58 01:35pm 10/11/04 |
well i'm in and playing...
whats everyone names in there...?? i'm just Superform |
| #59 01:45pm 10/11/04 |
ummm well i'm not quite playing yet... theres a few patches it seems...
and there doesnt seem to be any seeds for the patch... cause its going through the friggin downloader... so its not downloading... GRUMBLE |
| #60 01:47pm 10/11/04 |
nah i was meaning the other version of the files that trog originally posted... got all the way though 2 but 1 took aaages and i only managed to get 50% before he took the link down :(! Doh, sorry :( I deleted the files thinking that noone would use them now the dual zip option was avaiable (and that anyone still downloading would still be able to finish the download). I forgot about people that might need to resume. |
| #61 02:20pm 10/11/04 |
Its ok trog.. ireland beat australia in the Australian rules challenge.. so i can live with it :p
(any chance of it going back up? or should i just kick my adsl modem some more til it gets the 2 new files :( ) |
| #62 02:25pm 10/11/04 |
I think I eradicated all trace of it, stupidly. Sorry, I feel like a grade-a moron!
| #63 02:27pm 10/11/04 |
you're going to BOVINE UNIVERSITY when you grow up... :p
| #64 02:42pm 10/11/04 |
file 1 is sitll going. 2 hrs 19 left :(
| #65 03:06pm 10/11/04 |
I know this isnt the right place but I thought i'd quickly ask is anyone able to download the second(b) zip from gamearena?
| #66 05:48pm 10/11/04 |
yer but mine just finished downloading.
| #67 05:51pm 10/11/04 |
nothing to see here
last edited by ravn0s at 18:05:31 10/Nov/04 |
| #68 06:05pm 10/11/04 |
dl now, made account yesterday, hopefully its good or im gonna be annoyed, i could have used the 2.5 gb....
| #69 06:07pm 10/11/04 |
to download more movie? :P
| #70 06:08pm 10/11/04 |
how do you join the two original files trog put up, im not sure on the specifics.
| #71 06:34pm 10/11/04 |
You ONLY need to do this if you have the first release (the .aa/.ab files)! If you have the two .zips just extract them into the same locaton as you would any other .zip file.
1) copy them to c:\temp (or wherever) 2) go to a command prompt (start->run->cmd.exe) 3) type 'cd \temp' to change into that directory 4) type 'copy /b wowopenbeta.zip.?? wowopenbeta.zip' 5) unzip the .zip file and install last edited by trog at 18:42:45 10/Nov/04 |
| #72 06:42pm 10/11/04 |
applor
Well the saga didn't end there. We came across a strategy that looked like it could work on the third attempt. This involved one player tanking and holding agro with all the healers keeping him alive. Everyone else was to use ranged to stay out of Lakmaerans brutal AOE chain lightning like spell.
It Begins: http://ls.ausgamers.com/WoW10.jpg He's down to 1/3hp! closest yet: http://ls.ausgamers.com/WoW11.jpg The mighty one is about to fall!: http://ls.ausgamers.com/WoW12.jpg Defeated at last! Lets bow our heads in respect: http://ls.ausgamers.com/WoW13.jpg After a total of some 3 hours since we first starting organising a raid we slew Lord Lakmaeran. Now for the part we were looking foward to: loot:D Except, there was none T_T We have come to the conclusion that this guy was mose likely the boss to one of the outdoor raids blizzard has mentioned, but hasn't been fully implemented yet. So we all went home empty handed, but at least we had the pride on being the first to slay the great chimaera. |
| #73 07:09pm 10/11/04 |
I doubt hes a raid boss, looks too easy.
Edit: and too small. last edited by Khel at 19:37:09 10/Nov/04 |
| #74 07:37pm 10/11/04 |
wd applor
| #75 08:01pm 10/11/04 |
Okay, someone mentioned earlier that people should play games before they buy them.
Why? You know its a game, it holds entertainment value? I didnt test SPACE QUEST from Sierra in the old days, but it was worthwhile, and that was before the internet had reviews. You know its gonna be good, else wait two weeks and ask your friends. |
| #76 08:20pm 10/11/04 |
what realm is everyone in?
| #77 10:38pm 10/11/04 |
Most of my characters are still on the closed beta server, but I made an alliance character on server 9. Have they brought more servers online now or what? Cos they were already way overpopulated during the stress test, to the point where you have trouble doing quests because spawns are so heavily camped (and everyone is too noob to actually group up and do the quests, they all want to do them by themselves).
| #78 10:44pm 10/11/04 |
I was set to install it at about 6:30 ... until I did something silly and deleted a wrong file, after I'd already removed the original off my mp3 player (which I transported the installed home on)
Still downloading.. |
| #79 10:46pm 10/11/04 |
is open beta staying open until the release day?
| #80 10:47pm 10/11/04 |
RARRRRRRRRRR
I died. :( how does the respawn work? is it closest to where ever u binded (inn) I'm a druid, when do I get to be a bear? ROOARRRRRRR |
| #81 04:05am 11/11/04 |
[Q]
Im an undead rogue. Loving the game so far. Im actually considering playing for a couple months, first MMO that has interested me.
I like the way it all works. With fighting you feel involved enough to have fun but its still pretty uncontrolable. Got up to level 11 tonight. It gets cool after ten becuase you get talents and as a rogue, dual wield which is cool. |
| #82 05:04am 11/11/04 |
how does the respawn work? Its closest graveyard to wherever you die. I'm a druid, when do I get to be a bear? Level 10 |
| #83 05:24am 11/11/04 |
i got in as a mage and made it to lvl 12 before going to bed... but thats all for me cause g/f is back today... but it does look hella cool
its kinda a cross between diablo 2 warcraft 3 and a few others thrown in for good measure still havnt found a person to train me as an enchanter... but have found everyone else... |
| #84 08:06am 11/11/04 |
Blackout
server 9, lvl 22 human paladin... they changed the paladin heaps just b4 it went to open beta
| #85 09:08am 11/11/04 |
aaaaaaaaaaawwwwwww applor you leet c***
im level 18 now, i went to loch modan and did heaps of quests there it helped me level good. i suggest it for everyone if youre human and ran outta good places to quest! also... in westfall, you know the dead sailer / pirate dude on the westfall light house that gives u the quest to kill old murk eye well i killed him, and he didnt drop the scale... i even killed him twice and he still didn't wtf mate still havnt found a person to train me as an enchanter... but have found everyone else... go to stormwind, speak to a guard, ask for directions go.. skill trainer > enchanter (crrect me if im wrong) last edited by existence` at 09:19:27 11/Nov/04 |
| #86 09:19am 11/11/04 |
Dead_Rock
hey ive never posted here b4 as u can see ^_^ im also in beta, was on server 9 but it was majorly lagged so me and some friends moved to 32.
i think it goes professions > enchanter or something ;o last edited by Dead_Rock at 09:48:12 11/Nov/04 |
| #87 09:48am 11/11/04 |
Genesis
Server 9 is very laggy :(
My 28 Druid (yes, the unloved class) is on there. |
| #88 10:23am 11/11/04 |
khel are u sure u get bear at lvl 10 druid?
im lvl 13 and can't? :| |
| #89 10:30am 11/11/04 |
Lunch
26 undead priest having heaps of fun. Had my first pvp ecounter in the game yesterday, seemed ok but more about who can run away the fastest more than anything else. Oh well, plenty of time for pvp to be tweaked and rewards to be implemented.
| #90 10:49am 11/11/04 |
Darius
Im a lvl 20 paladin on server 9 too and have a lvl 5 or something tauren shaman on server 33 but i think ill stick to the h00man for now
| #91 11:12am 11/11/04 |
yup, can't figure out how to shapeshift even though level 13 help ne-one? :d
| #92 11:13am 11/11/04 |
Dead_Rock
i have no experience with druid but im guessing you'd have to go to a druid trainer and buy skills? :P i dunno
Ive heard rumors that you will be able to keep the characters you make in beta once the retail comes out.. anyone know anything about that? |
| #93 11:31am 11/11/04 |
kal
Level 15 Human Priest on server 9. Character name Kalman if you want to look me up.
last edited by kal at 12:19:22 11/Nov/04 |
| #94 12:19pm 11/11/04 |
whats with the bloody patching? ive downloaded 48kb of the 19 mb patch in the last 5 mins.
| #95 12:42pm 11/11/04 |
peacekeeper
I was playing my ne druid last night, got her to 10, there is some quest about readying yourself to be able to shapeshift into a bear you have to do. I haven't finished it yet, but I'm assuming that will allow you to. I prefer priests ><
Also, im on server 32, 9 was packed and the lag spikes made it dongs. |
| #96 01:22pm 11/11/04 |
palekid
im also a level 4 go me undead rogue, server 2 is that an ok server?
anyone else on server 2? |
| #97 01:49pm 11/11/04 |
yer that might be the quest that i am on atm, had to go talk with some big spirit bear
| #98 01:52pm 11/11/04 |
still buggy...
i'm on realm 30 i think... but when i go to sign in it sits on the load screen with the progress bar at full... after awhile i close the program down but when i try to log in again it says that i'm allready in the server... BORKED |
| #99 01:59pm 11/11/04 |
Boofe
im a nightelf hutner on server 9.
erm, how do u sell stuff thats in ur bag? |
| #100 02:11pm 11/11/04 |
I usually just right click on stuff to sell it.
| #101 02:23pm 11/11/04 |
woops was on boofes account.. yer i figured that out shad lol
have to say i love the game so far. its really fun and easy to play. been playing for about and hour and my hunter is lvl 4 or 5. |
| #102 03:01pm 11/11/04 |
yup, can't figure out how to shapeshift even though level 13 help ne-one? Theres a quest you do at level 10 to get it. Most classes have quests they do every 10 levels to get some new skill or class specific item. |
| #103 03:58pm 11/11/04 |
like epic quests in daoc?
around what lvl do u really need to leave ur starting area? |
| #104 04:56pm 11/11/04 |
server 9 is sooo laggy.
I went to get my dead body and some how managed to die then respawn back in camp ALIVE :/ |
| #105 05:39pm 11/11/04 |
hmm well i've got a quest which just keeps going onto new ones.. i can get spells that i can only use in bear form but i can't shape shift yet.. i bet i missed something :\
| #106 05:49pm 11/11/04 |
palekid
ok i was playing i sold my crappy dagger and was going to buy a stileto and then every time i clicked something nothing would happen i tried to logout and it didnt work ??
so i pressed alt+F4 to close it down cause nothing was working and now when i try to log on it says a character already has my name...:( |
| #107 06:33pm 11/11/04 |
You were probably just really lagged, stuff stops responding when you get a lag spike.
| #108 06:51pm 11/11/04 |
palekid
yeah thats what happened. i eventually loged on again and the lag caught up and i ended up spending all my money buying stiletos so i was kinda angry but owell
| #109 06:57pm 11/11/04 |
Darius
lol palekid that happened to me when i started playing the game .... ended up just starting a new character
| #110 07:26pm 11/11/04 |
haha dam shape shift is awesome, chuck wild spirit on go bear.. build up some rage and just maul baby :D
| #111 07:51pm 11/11/04 |
man, I f***en TP'd to Moonglad.
and I got PVP'd by some lvl 16 dude :( now I can't get my body. so harsh >:( |
| #112 07:52pm 11/11/04 |
applor
Existence: thx, but its a bit hard to MSN you if you're never online.
My MSN is swatz0r@yahoo.com |
| #113 08:13pm 11/11/04 |
G.B
I have been playing on Server for a few days and it lags like a whore. Playing as a rogue was awesome fun, too bad taruens can be rogues :/.
I find after you reach level 7 or so everything becomes harder, your items become old and finding new ones are hard and expensive... or is it just with me? |
| #114 08:17pm 11/11/04 |
im lvl 7 and at some palce caleld donnassus or soemthing. lots of quests there that give new items. im on server 9 and the lag isnt too bad... a few lag spikes but its pretty lag free for me.
| #115 08:27pm 11/11/04 |
lvl 14 on server 30
| #116 08:28pm 11/11/04 |
anyone play on eastern time server 21?
if so come play im lvl 15 druid and bored out of my brain .. need a party :) |
| #117 08:33pm 11/11/04 |
im on server 9 and the lag isnt too bad... a few lag spikes but its pretty lag free for me. Were you playing tonight? Cos I was just on there and its lagging like a dirty slut. Its a weird sort of lag though. My ping was only 400ms, and chat was still instantaneous, but stuff like vendors and crafting were lagging like absolute bitches. Click a button to buy something for a vendor... sit there for a minute waiting for it to respond... item finally goes into your inventory. The AH was totally broken and not working at all cos of the lag, and trying to craft anything was equally painful. Combat was a pain in the ass too, cos even though my attacks and stuff seemed to be responding normally, the mobs were never in the same place as my client thought they were. So I'd line up behind them and try and do a backstab or something, and I'd get errors about not being behind your opponent or being out of range, and then the mob would magically teleport 15 feet away and be totally not where my client thought. |
| #118 11:57pm 11/11/04 |
Deadly-Fly
I just started playing today. I'm level 3 of j0rness on server 37 because I'm a pansy and don't want people to kill me. Rogue human named Centauri, I wanted a different name but the letter limit pwned me.
Not much lag either despite the fact that I'm currently shapped at modem speeds. |
| #119 12:10am 12/11/04 |
Darius
even though im playing on a PVP server ive never actualy ever seen enemy players .......
| #120 12:14am 12/11/04 |
the game is running like crap at the moment... the item management is slow as s***.
I assume they are trying to get more servers to manage the load. Interesting question for trog/other game server admin - would a game of this size be using a cluster of servers per "server" or would it be one psycho box sitting there pumping out the megs? |
| #121 12:18am 12/11/04 |
It'd have to be a cluster I'm thinking, theres no way one box could run that entire game world.
Chat definately resides on a different server, cos even when the game world is lagging to f***, chat is still quick and responsive. |
| #122 12:21am 12/11/04 |
I think you'd be suprised at what hardware they're able to run it on. I know I was when it was eventually leaked what mythic were running daoc on, around 2 years after it came out.
| #123 01:01am 12/11/04 |
Genesis
What were they running it on Jim? Frontiers couldn't run on the POS servers correctly when that came out.
| #124 01:04am 12/11/04 |
CSIRAC
the servers are being hammered :( esp. server 9. its been unplayable last few days *during 11pm and 1pm, i gave up and went to 32*. even server 14 is totally slowing down. (no its not just me, the whole area screams when it lags) the otehr servers are totally fine tho :D. I hope for the sake of blizzards reputation that they fix this up by retail because the servers arnt even that full.
| #125 03:20am 12/11/04 |
Yeah, its definately server lag and not connection lag, cos you can be pinging fine but s*** just takes forever to respond.
| #126 03:23am 12/11/04 |
genesis: I can't remember exactly now, but it was something like plain desktop p2's for a couple of them, which were later upgraded. I read it in some article someone wrote after they were invited to mythic's offices for a tour.
| #127 04:51am 12/11/04 |
Anyone got any spare accounts?
interested in playing! :D but gonna have to fix my vid card :S |
| #128 10:11am 12/11/04 |
It really is noob-a-rific at the moment, I'm getting kinda tired of giving out the same info and being ignored or having the same arguments with people over the same topics. And I'm also sick of people not even bothering to read their quest descriptions and just jumping straight into General chat and asking what they have to do or where they have to go, to the point where my first response to any question at all about quests now is "Read the quest description".
While some (a lot?) of the questions are borne of stupidity, its becoming apparent that people are having some genuine problems getting to grips with some of the game mechanics. I reckon it'd be a good idea to put in some kind of tutorial that eases people into the more advanced parts of the game, such as taking up Professions, training Talents, and training new weapons (that seems to be a really, really common question people ask, how to learn some weapon or another). I'm also getting sick of this: SomeNoob: OMG theres horde in our newbie starting area! Run for your lives we're all going to die! Me: Its ok, they can't kill you unless you attack first. SomeNoob: Dude, this is a PvP server, they can kill you any time. Me: No, if you're Alliance you're safe in Alliance zones unless you attack first. SomeNoob: No way man, this is a PvP server, you can be killed anywhere at any time! You dont even need to have your PvP flag on! I can understand maybe not knowing the intricacies of how the PvP system works, but so many people just flat out refuse to even try and understand it, and then argue with you and tell you you're wrong when you try and explain it to them, its crazy! I think thats what makes it so frustrating, I mean, you expect there to be a lot of people still getting the hang of the game, and I've got no problem helping most of them out, everyone was new at some stage. Its the ones that steadfastly refuse to learn and refuse to accept help and insist that their (incorrect) version of things is the one true way that really s*** me. Ok, end of rant. last edited by Khel at 10:30:12 12/Nov/04 |
| #129 10:30am 12/11/04 |
Genesis
www.worldofwarcraft.com has all the documentation you need but people just dont read it. Even has the level range of crap to kill listed for every zone.
| #130 11:54am 12/11/04 |
Deadly-Fly
Fireblood, I made a spare account by mistake (the power went out just as I'd finished and I didn't think it worked). So email me and I'll give you the details.
| #131 11:59am 12/11/04 |
so who is actually going to buy the game when its released? im thinking of quitting daoc to play this if there is enough qgl peeps playing
also does anyone know how much the wow collectors addition will cost? last edited by ravn0s at 12:23:50 12/Nov/04 |
| #132 12:23pm 12/11/04 |
Anyone got the GA link?
Doing a search and couldnt find it...ill keep trying but :) |
| #133 02:02pm 12/11/04 |
Darius
i will buy this game if i can get a 100% guarantee of the servers not running like they are now !
| #134 02:03pm 12/11/04 |
its alright i found it! :)
500kb sec! FARK YEAH BRING IT ON! :D |
| #135 02:04pm 12/11/04 |
lol khel i ask in general heaps of questions
after iv had a good look but |
| #136 03:56pm 12/11/04 |
post ur name if u are on server 9 so we can talk to eachother.
my name is Ravnoss |
| #137 04:09pm 12/11/04 |
I'm on server 1 at the moment and really copping a severe beating...the stress test certainly is stressing things :] last edited by Twisted at 16:18:06 12/Nov/04 |
| #138 04:18pm 12/11/04 |
I have a rogue on server 9, not playing it at the moment though because when I was on there last night it was basically unplayable thanks to the severe lag.
Started a new character on 32 and it seems to be less laggy. |
| #139 04:19pm 12/11/04 |
ermm might join server 9 :)
Unless you wanna team up on 32 khel? ;) lemme get it installed and s*** first through :( probably wont be able to play till monday :'( But hey, gf takes preference! :D |
| #140 04:21pm 12/11/04 |
Khel the simple solution is to just not read the chat mate. I sit on TS with either the guys in my guild or a couple of mates from outside the guild that play every night.
I almost never even cast a wondering eye over the chat because to be honest there is usualy nothing but moaning little kiddies bitching. Oh btw I play on server 9 and have been hanging around Hillsbrad for the past few days. The lag is a right pain in the arse as you guys mentioned but it hasn't affected any of my fighting as yet, which is good. Guys post your in game names too as I would like to know who I'm stabing in the back :P WoW Nick = Taipan ..... No suprise there right. I also go by the name of Krack but that char is on server 32 I believe. |
| #141 04:24pm 12/11/04 |
Yeah, sometimes I turned General off if I'm in a group, but when I'm soloing at least it gives me something to read and a constant source of newbies to rag on :P
Besides, I dont mind helping the people who have genuine questions and aren't just too lazy to find out or figure it out for themselves. I am Khelaire on server 9 (Gnome Rogue) and Kheltic on server 32 (Night Elf Priest). |
| #142 04:27pm 12/11/04 |
is server 32 less laggy then 9? might make a character on there if it is.
right now couple of quests have been pissing me off.. they are both in some B (dunno name) Den with these shaman bears etc. I cant find 2 items for 2 quests in there. i ask in general but no one replies cause they are to busy whinging about the lag. anyone done these quests and can help out? |
| #143 04:57pm 12/11/04 |
Yeah, from my experiences last night, 32 is way less laggy than 9.
| #144 05:04pm 12/11/04 |
Darius
Im a level 21 paladin on 9 and my names Dariusjs ingame, right now im at the wetlands getting snapped by horde each time i go into the mars :S
might start a character on 32 same as you guys too, youre all alliance right? |
| #145 05:11pm 12/11/04 |
might make myself a night elf warrior on 32
| #146 05:18pm 12/11/04 |
My char on server 9 is an Undead horde Rogue. Been having abit of a laugh over the past few nights killing Alliance people that have tried to jump me and my 2 mates while we Xp around tauren mill. Of course they always wait until we are fighting mobs but as yet we haven't had any trouble dealing with them :)
Actually from what I have seen it looks to me like a pretty high percentage of people on server 9 don't come from a pvp background. The reason I say this is because I don't think I have ever seen so many casters try to melee me to death before (not a smart move against a melee char) lol. |
| #147 05:21pm 12/11/04 |
I'm only on server 9 at the moment, as a night elf rogue.
What professions are you guys doing? I skin and leathercraft... I can make Embossed Vests, Boots etc.. |
| #148 05:31pm 12/11/04 |
Darius
im a miner and blacksmith :) cool to make weapons and armour out of stuff ive collected
| #149 05:32pm 12/11/04 |
havent bothered getting a profession yet. should i?
| #150 05:36pm 12/11/04 |
Darius
not really, i mean i just did it to see what its all about, you probablywould loose precious time that you could have been XP'ing anyway heh :)
| #151 05:42pm 12/11/04 |
how long is the beta going to go for? i think ill dl the install files, but how long can i play it for before i have to start paying? liek a couple of months or...
| #152 05:44pm 12/11/04 |
dont know how long tis going for but u have until nov 22
| #153 05:56pm 12/11/04 |
Actually from what I have seen it looks to me like a pretty high percentage of people on server 9 don't come from a pvp background. The reason I say this is because I don't think I have ever seen so many casters try to melee me to death before (not a smart move against a melee char) I think its just that a very, very large percentage of people on the servers dont know how to play the game properly yet. With my rogue, I was dueling warriors a couple of levels above me and slapping them down just because they didn't know how to use their character properly (and its not like I'm particularly good with a rogue or anything, it was the first time I'd ever played one). People will pick it up though, and the general skill level will increase. Hillsbrad on the closed beta servers was vicious. You start getting quests there as Horde at level 20 or so, and there would be level 50 alliance guys wandering around just ganking all the lowbies because they could. That would then bring high level horde people into the zone to retaliate and before you knew it one side was raiding the other side's town and all hell would be breaking loose. |
| #154 05:58pm 12/11/04 |
Deadly-Fly
^^That sounds awesome :D
The only reason I'm not in the PvP servers is because I've never played it before and I want to get a feel for the game first. I'll jump in PvP once I feel I can handle it without coming across to n00bie. So I'm guessing by the way people are talking that you can't transfer your character between servers? |
| #155 06:03pm 12/11/04 |
khel can you verify
did IF or SW ever get assaulted? that would be _________THE________ coolest thing to watch, ever, on any computer game ever |
| #156 06:07pm 12/11/04 |
applor
Yes there have been several raids on IF and SW. They always fail though because the guards start spawning in mass numbers and you can't take em down.
| #157 06:25pm 12/11/04 |
made a elf priest on 32.. lvl 3 and seems pretty good class so far.
| #158 06:32pm 12/11/04 |
Also, Orgrimmar has been attacked a few times, and someone has managed to kill Thrall once in the past.
| #159 06:35pm 12/11/04 |
what lvl is thrall?
| #160 09:04pm 12/11/04 |
heh what annoyed me i was going to get my aquatic form of my druid.. landed on the southern side of the eastern kingdoms.. couldn't find a way to fly up so i ran the entire way... weee 2 hrs but atleast i got my aquatic form :D
ANGRY SEAL! |
| #161 10:26pm 12/11/04 |
Is there any updates/patches etc you need to dl after the 2 install files are dl, because i only have 1gb left after the second half of the install dl :( if there is, how big are they?
(the second half is at 3% now =D) |
| #162 12:14am 13/11/04 |
Deadly-Fly if you want to play pvp in the future you're really wasting your time messing around on a carebear server. You can pick up WoW easily enough on the pvp servers as there are plenty of places to xp in relative safety.
Being Pked doesn't cost you anything either in items, cash or XP so it's no big deal if you die. Plus the only way to learn how to use a char well in pvp is to play pvp. There is a big difference between killing mobs and killing players, so all slashing mobs will do is teach you the basic controls. |
| #163 12:17am 13/11/04 |
whats the best character to start with? i havnt played a mmorg in ages. Would a warrior be the best/easiest to learn with?
| #164 12:56am 13/11/04 |
Raider: What level did you get the aquatic form at?
Was it another of those 3 step quest before you get the skill? >_< |
| #165 05:37am 13/11/04 |
applor
they're all easy to learn and play.
| #166 09:08am 13/11/04 |
whats the best character to start with? i havnt played a mmorg in ages. Would a warrior be the best/easiest to learn with?Not being a big rpg person... I've found going warrior first to be frustrating.. just seems you've gotta bash the f*** out of alot of little rabbits before you lvl (ok boars or something) then if i go anywhere else i get eaten by scorpians :p I'd go a paladin or a hunter maybe, progression early on seems alot easier (read: I didn't die as much :p) |
| #167 10:53am 13/11/04 |
start off as a hunter scoobs. they do very nice damage at range and alright damage in melee.
| #168 11:30am 13/11/04 |
| #168 |